GF-89 vs GF-06

• Thread starter Thread starter Big Nasty

This Grand Final was awesome, yes, but it doesnt compare to 89. Ablett, Horforn at their mighty best, the game back when it was still as tough as guts, Dermie and Yeats, high scoring- it had it all. Today's was still a decent game of footy, but it had nothing on the drama that unfolded that day.

id say a reasonable percentage of posters on this board wouldnt be old enuff to remember '89. and i agree totally with what whipper has said. while today was a thrilling contest, it just didnt have all of the ingredients that '89 had. that game had scoring, brilliant individual performances from players on both sides, a big comeback, serious injuries and tough physical contests.

Yep I'd agree with the last two posters.
Today's match was thrilling, but having seen both, I'd still rate '89 as better in as much as non stop action, scoring, brutal physicality and awesome individual efforts are concerned.

Two top games IMO, but both very different in the way they were played, but with some similarities, Geelong were stitched up early by Hawthorn and stormed home in the last 15-20 minutes to fail by a goal, and the Swans were ordinary for much of the first two and half quarters and gave it a real shot in the end.

was at the '89 grand final, me and a mate procured tickets as 15 year olds ...

I'm pretty sure it's still the highest scoring Grand Final, yet it was also a game renowned for it's fierce physical clashes.

* I well remember seeing Dermie spew as he ran towards the pocket where I sat (well, stood) to recover from Yeates' big hit.

* I recall Gary Ablett's incredible 2nd quarter ruck contest grab-n-snap, which remains to this day the best goal I've ever seen - apart from the sheer audacity of the act itself (he leapt over the competing ruckman and grabbed the ball as if he was completeing a specky - his feet had barely touched the ground before he'd managed get the ball to his boot), the power of the kick from not even one step was incredible; the angle ridiculous, he was facing the wrong way ...

* I recall the (topless) streaker, dressed in a batgirl costume, whom I later found out came from *my* little country town (I've sinced moved) - nice one Sarah !

* I remember Gary Ablett lining up to kick his 9th only a few metres away from where I was standing

So many now-legendary moments ...

Today's game might take a while to digest, I doubt most would have a true perspective of it's greatness or otherwise at this early stage.
The tight margain certainly suggests a classic hard-fought contest, but in truth there seemed to be large patches of the game in which each team clearly held sway, the '89 pendulum swung a little differently again...

The skill errors that Sydney made (Buchanan, Kennelly, Roberts-Thompson) have been mentioned as a negative, but Geelong's decision making was erratic throughout the '89 grand final, I remember Paul Couch (the Brownlow medallist in '89), Garry Hocking and Andrew Bews making terrible mistakes.

I think the slightly more gladiator-vibe of '89, along with Gary Ablett's exquisite skills (bananna kicks, hangers under pressure, one-handers under pressure, *that* goal) gives it the slight edge, but like I said, its too early to have a true perspective on today's game.

Ive never seen the 89 one but i hear its awesom but i voted for 2006 one because its fresh in my mind.

Great poll. 89 would have more memorable moments. Dipper getting crunched. Dermie getting crunced. 9 goals from Abblett. It was harder and tougher.

89 just a shade better. Saturday was incredible. Good to see the Weaglets win. :D

the 89 grand final sees probably the greatest performance by any player with the great Gary Ablett.

06, because we didn't get rolled in this one.

89 for sure... Dermie getting snipered, Dipper's collapsed lung, throw in Dippers chicken wing on a young Garry Hocking (which shatted Buddah's teeth), McGuiness running back into the behind post, Dipper v Bruns and Bews in a punch on, 280-odd points being kicked in the game, John Farnham singing our national anthem, the first quarter blitz by Hawthorn, the dramatic come back by the cats (f*ck you Robert Scott for missing that goal in the dying seconds but hey.. who holds a grudge! lol) A skinny Billy Brownless, the Toyota Corolla ads during the commercial breaks, BAT WOMAN, Ablett speaking publicly, Ablett's rucking goal, Ablett's 9 goals, Ablett himself, Chris Mew's mo, Denis Commetti commentating with Drew Morphet, EJ Whitten presenting the medallians to Hawthorn...

What did saturday's game have compared to that..

44 players absolutely spent in the last quarter, Goldspink getting cramp in the last quarter, McVeigh bitch slapping Cousins, two of the greatest modern day players battling it out in Judd and Goodes, a one point victory, Fevola winning the half time sprint, the 'Schmaco' 'movie-length' advertisment, Glass confirming he is the number one tall backman in the league, John Worsfold becoming the third (?) person to captain and then coach a premiership team, a modern day rivalry at its best!

Both good games but the 89 will always be the greatest...

I think people need to watch the 89 grand final again. 2006 was actaully not that great until the last quarter. The 1989 started with a bang. People got broken ribs, collapsed lung. Juddie plays with a bad shoulder???? try collapsed organs!!! IT Had dermie throwing up and kicking brilliant goals, ablett kicking 9 of the best. The whole game was brilliant where as i reckon not so with 2006. It was great in parts but come on how can a game of 169 points be near a game of which over 220 points were scored.????

Best Quarter not game :mad: