Sydneyfan

S’roos, Brisbane Lions, N Syd Bears
Should there be AFL Football on Good Friday? Yes or No?

Personally, I would like to see football played on Good Friday but then again I'm not particularly religious anymore so Good Friday doesn't hold as much meaning to me as it might have in the past.

In other sports in western countries, including here, matches are played on Christian holidays. The NRL holds matches on Good Friday, there's one tonight between the Roosters and Broncos. American Football has games on Christmas Day.

Do you think that it's best that no football's played on Good Friday due to its significance to Christians and because of tradition, or do you think that since Australia's now a multicultural, multi-religious nation with not a huge proportion of (week in, week out church attending) practicing Christians that it wouldn't be too bad if a game was played on Good Friday?

Im catholic, I dont eat any meat at all on Good Friday however I cant think for the life of me why footy isnt played on the day.

Australia is very multi-cultural - some will turn up, others wont.

If anybody has a problem with it, they dont have to go nor watch.

In regards to players/coaches - it is their job, any christian, if rostered to work good friday, would.

I dont see it as a big problem.

I know Id go/watch - just wouldnt eat a pie, thats all.

No BLOODY way it is a sacred day and leave it like that.
Let these morons in the bubgy league make idiots of themselves.They dont even get a big crowd to Good Friday matches.Most people with any sense are at home with their folks.
No we dont need AFL on Good Friday

I wouldn't have a problem with a night game on Good Friday.
If people want to go to church on Good Friday it's usually in the morning, so there's no reason why someone can't go to church during the day if they want to and then go to to the football that night.

And Fat Alfred, I'm not a Catholic, but the not eating of red meat on Good Friday was an old church tradition. Not sure how many people still observe it, but that's entirely up to them and their beliefs.

Originally posted by Rocky
No BLOODY way it is a sacred day and leave it like that.
Let these morons in the bubgy league make idiots of themselves.They dont even get a big crowd to Good Friday matches.Most people with any sense are at home with their folks.
No we dont need AFL on Good Friday

what a stupid post.

as for my opinion they should play it because its not like ill get mad! its only a harmless footy game!

The only problem is that you cant go to the Footy without being able to purchase a pie.

However, a pie at the footy contains little or no meat, so it probably wont be as bigger issue :p

of course there should be football on good friday. it is extremely arrogant of the christian community to think that the rest of us should set aside a day out of our lives so that they can worship. we don't do it for any other religion why should we for theirs.

saints vs demons would be an appropriate game. :D

In short, No, there shouldn't be. I'm not particularly religious, but my reasoning is- its a public holiday, the kiddies are home from school, and its one of the few days where a footy player would be able to spend time with their families. Also, there are a fairly large percentage of guys in the AFL who are religious, so what about them- do you host games knowing that a players are going to be pressured to go against their beliefs and play?
As a fan i'd have no problem with watching a game on good friday, but I don't think it is fair to the players- same goes for american football on christmas day- i don't care whether you're earning $200k+, there are some days you deserve to spend with your family, so if there's no pressing reasons to play on good friday, why force it on players?

Originally posted by Mead
In short, No, there shouldn't be. I'm not particularly religious, but my reasoning is- its a public holiday, the kiddies are home from school, and its one of the few days where a footy player would be able to spend time with their families. Also, there are a fairly large percentage of guys in the AFL who are religious, so what about them- do you host games knowing that a players are going to be pressured to go against their beliefs and play?
As a fan i'd have no problem with watching a game on good friday, but I don't think it is fair to the players- same goes for american football on christmas day- i don't care whether you're earning $200k+, there are some days you deserve to spend with your family, so if there's no pressing reasons to play on good friday, why force it on players?

but who gives if you play footy on good friday?

Originally posted by Fat Alfred

why??:confused: :rolleyes:

Im not sure what you mean by that.

"Why" as in why dont I eat meat? Well, it's the Catholic tradition.

or

"why" as in asking the significance of such a tradition. Well, its all about beleif, history, traditions evolve etc.

I could ask the same sorts of questions to numerous religions - ie
Why do certain people not cut their hair?
Why do certain people wear funny things on their heads?
Why do certain people give presents to other people towards the end of december?

Im sure this thread doesnt want to go down this path.

Why are footballers special?

Everyday in this world different people have work commitments which limit their time with their family. Im sure many execs have been out of the country for childrens birthdays, christmas etc.

Its called sacrifice.

Footballers know that if they DECIDE to take this path, they are going to have to sacrifice here and there.

Besides, which religion states you arnt allowed to play footy on Good Friday. :confused:

Hell, the official religion (practised by 93% of the poplutation) of Argentina is Catholic - yet they play Soccer on Good Friday.

Last time I checked the Vatican isnt cursing the Argentinians.

We are making a big deal out of absolutely nothing!
Schedule the game - people will go.

Its the one constant I have heard today - "gee there's f*ck all to do!"

The Herald Sun is one of only a few papers on sale today - I dont hear too many complaining.

Saint v Demons - Good Friday Footy

So what your saying is that our over payed over pampered football players should get the day off, when most only work about 3-5 hours a day during the week, but those of us in the Armed Services, the Ambos, Firies, Coppers, McJobs, Ushers, Bartenders, Waiters or Chefs etc should work on Good Friday. Talk about double standards. Last year I didn't just work Christmas/New Year, arguably more important family time than Easter, I was overseas with no way to contact my family and loved ones, bar email and a 5 minute phone call. Now it was my choice to go into my line of work, and I'm proud of the contribution I make, but to suggest that footballers deserve to be at home with the relos purely because of their beliefs.......pure bollox!!:mad:

Besides, it'd only be 2/16 teams, and they could make it a tradition, like the Essendon/Collingwood (or Norwood/Port if in SA) games on ANZAC Day. Clubs like St.Kilda and Melbourne should get proactive & look into it, instead of expecting the AFL to come up with all the solutions. After all, some are not exactly swimming in the folding stuff eh?

The Christian rationale for not playing footy on Good Friday has always been hard to justify as Australia has always been a secular society. It's now becoming more so as the Christian faith gradually recedes and becomes a less dominant force in Australian society. To take one superficial example, the amount of Christian-based television on the commercial networks has decreased significantly to my knowledge in the last 10 years or so.

However, not playing footy on this day has become a tradition in itself and it seems there isn't enough of a groundswell of support from the fans and enough financial benefits from the AFL's point of view for the situation to be changed.... yet.

I voted NO in the poll, but in truth, I have no real good reason why footy shouldn't be played today, I only have the teachings of a bygone day, the words of my dear old Mum to go on.

Oz is no longer a christian society, the %'s of our community that are Muslim, Hindu, Buddist, or whatever else are increasing all the time. I actually look forward to the time an African-American, or Chinese, or Greek, or whatever descendant person is elected Prime Minister of Australia. So having public holidays based on Christian calendars only hardly seems fair.

Anyway, I was brought up a christian, my Mum still nags at me about it, so the last vestiges of it in me says no to footy today.

Didn't stop the family and I from having a damn nice BBQ for lunch.

I'm in NO way religous at all and what really gets me is that we cannot play football on Good Friday.. today was sooooo boring...

It really pisses me off to think that religion is about one's belief in something bigger and yet people still push and try to force it onto others...

Let people make their minds up for themselves.. people will go to the footy.. people will not... being a public holiday and all, you would assume alot of people would go... I for one would..

P.S Like your idea Still Crowing about Saints vs Demons.. could be a goa if it ever eventuated but it leaves the conotation that St Kilda is a based around being a religous club and that is false..