Autopsy Hawks defeated by Cats

Meh i'm proud as **** of the team, not all were/are good enough to be playing at AFL level at the moment but they will always give it 100% and that is all i can ask when we get beaten over the head with the injury stick this many times.

P.s **** Geelong

Really interesting game.

Before the game Clarko said we would need to be hard enough for long enough to beat Geelong. Red time goals absolutely killed us. We couldn't sustain it.
How I would have loved to have Shiels and Buroyne out there today.

Mitch Lewis is going to be a gun. Some of his ground work after not clunking the pack mark resulted in goals. Really impressed with him. Think we looked a lot better with him in the side than Ceglar. He's a dangerous player.

Forward line isn't cohesive - Wingard and Breust will take a while to learn each other - they're cancelling each other out on many occasions. Wingard a long way off what we want him to be doing. Too many turnovers today. 10 possessions and 5 didn't hit the target.

McEvoy is a monster. Dominated all game and it's no surprise our run on came to a halt when he went off in the 4th.

Roughy should play that role every week. Gets him involved. He is at his worst when standing in the pcket telling midfielders to kick it on top of his head. The less of that he does the better. Did some seriously good things.

Worpel - just wanna fast forward this guy to 100 games.

Gunston, Smith, Impey and Breust all looked lost and out of action today. We won't win many games where all 4 of them are quiet on the same day.

We really shut Hawkins out of it. So good. Sicily and Brand alternating on him and both did really well. Brand took 3 or 4 great backline marks and I think he's a perfect depth player for us. He won't push Stratton or Frawley out of a fit side, but reckon he offers a lot more than Mirra.

When your depth is stretched it's those annoying hacks from other clubs that pop up. Ablett and Danger - sure, they'll always get you at some point - but when Rohan kicks 4 you know that part of the collective defence is leaking.

Strategically - I think we went in with the right plan. There were times when we tired, and the movement up the ground stopped and the creativity from the backline slowed - this is when Geelong got on top.

I'm happy with that performance overall. Well done hawks. Really well done to the young players.

Hendo - Carter best form

Jags - battled & carrying the midfield

Sicily - excellent!

Worps - exceptional

Smith - .... look at me I kick it a long way. Been off smith for a while & he is keeping it fresh.

Howe - unfit but ok

Scully - finding his way

Dimma - solid but didn’t star. Want to see him up the ground at the hb line

Scrimshaw - work in progress & coming along nicely

BB - warrior & should have been named captain

Chad - finding his way & fitnesses. Midfield beckons....

Impey - did some great stuff & crap as well. Evens it self out but expect more.

Lewis - has to play & should have been played from rd1. Great first game 2019!
Can’t wait til Hawthorn kick to a lead inside 50...

Gunston - played ok out of position. Should have played forward.

Mirra - sorry Davo.... BH only

Rough - ok. Play second ruck ffs or rr. I can not watch another double handed palm down inside 50 when you are a forward.

Poppy - best game this year. Set the bar

Breust - went missing against the cats.... again

KB - proved handy & another who should have played from rd1

Morrison - been ordinary to date & continues that form. BH awaits

Cousins - looked to be tagging but didn’t find enough himself. First box ticked for bad games & gets a free pass

Nash - enough is enough. Love what he may bring but learn it at vfl.

Out - Nash, Mirra, Morrison
In - TOB, Stratts, Shiels

Thought today was a pass.
Nash needs to spend the next 17 weeks at CHB for Box Hill. Has height, strength, closing speed.
Brand needs to spend the next 17 weeks at CHB for Hawthorn. Going straight out as soon as Frawley is fit is not the way to develop.
Gunston forward with Lewis, and Rough second ruck.

I've grabbed the players from AFL.COM and they come in order of fantasy points which is interesting from a Geelong point of view as Gary Rohan came 12th for them and arguably won the game for them by half time. Anyway in General I've tried to look at the positive, a few you can't at the moment but they are senior players. I've taken it from the point of view that Geelong are the best team in the comp right now on exposed form so far this season. (Not that they should be favourites to win a premiership or anything like that)

Ricky Henderson - Probably passed JOM in our B&F after today at one stage this former supposedly Adelaide soft c*ck who never backed back into a pack did so and Tim Kelly decided he was safer not to contest. In case Ricky knocked him out even tho he couldn't see him. He's not just in career best form, he's arguably in the short list for All Australian.
Ben McEvoy - Got done a couple of times by sneeky Geelong pushing Stanley up forward as they swapped ruckman, said f'you I can do that too. And started to clunk them everywhere. Much better than his worst game of the year last week, losing him late who knows if that may have just got us and extra goal or two to put The game on the line.
James Worpel - Look a kid doing super, however a kid who is also a great blocker for centre clearances, watch JOM get the ball, watch JOM clear the ball or run clear with the ball, watch the bigger picture of Worpedo blocking every bloke near him to open the space that he does that without care everytime he hasn't got the ball, yet still impacts games through his other hardwork of getting the ball is super.
James Sicily - Class above anyone on our backline, perhaps any backline. Someone mentioned since the dogs game not a word from him... so also now mature.
Jaeger O'Meara - Good early, slowed down later, does have a tendency to do that but overall good.
Daniel Howe - That they moved Dangerfield to the forwardline says enough. He's more an accumulator than an impact player but as a tagger twas good early and looked much fitter than the week before.
Jack Gunston - Reasonable in defence certainly better than he's been up forward. A few shank kicks that gave away at least one goal, went forward late didn't really impact.
Jarryd Roughead - Played second ruck role as well as forward, he's okish in the second ruck role but it tires him out and his basically cactus as a forward half-way through the second because of it.
Blake Hardwick - Better overall, moreso in the first half, he was definitely trying to provide a little more run than previous weeks, which was good.
Jarman Impey - Strange Cat, was good, very good early but then disappeared for longer than Shaun Burgoyne does. I do wonder sometimes when he starts off well if teams try to play him on the 'dead' forward who's job is to go where the ball ain't. Always makes an attempt to be third man in.
Isaac Smith - Not sure about Smith this year, he hasn't been bad but he hasn't been good compared to say a Ricky Henderson... and maybe that's me noticing Ricky and thinking why isn't Smith better.
David Mirra - Certainly become the biggest scapegoat down back since Mark Graham. Mirra is a guy who tries his heart out, when no one runs to give an option Mirra does, when Mirra gets the ball and thinks, well he's in trouble. Needs to just stick with the limitations God gave him he was serviceable today.
Paul Puopolo - I'm almost 5'10", I used to play FB or CHB at times at local suburban footy... (so sh*t grade footy compared to this and I was way too short) Poppy's luck to be 5'7" he currently is our number one tall at an AFL team to bring the ball down against 6'4" inch athletic behomeths and it's usually two of them… how's he going... well he's doing a better Job than Conor Nash (who's not there to do the role), Jaryd Roughead and Jack Gunston and also Ceg's when he was playing... so I'd say definitely ok at his role given his height.
Chad Wingard - Somehow ended the day with 16 possessions, for a bloke who only needs 10 to win a game, that's the second week in a row he's had more and had basically zero impact on the game. Fitness? Dunno the only good thing was his 3 minute cameo in the centre when he got a few of those possies and looked dangerous.
Jack Scrimshaw - Not his best today, not horrid either. I'm ok with that I didn't expect much coming into the season, if that's his worst... there is an argument most would have thought that would be his best.
Tom Scully - Simply put a shocker, however played completely out of position and couldn't adapt. Given his first 3 games i'll cop that given the injury he's coming back from. Hopefully they don't make the same mistake again.
Luke Breust - Much Like Chad another stinker. Not sure what's wrong to be honest... something in me worries that playing a taller quick player on him removes all his aerial ability (much like Stratton on Betts) seems a bit lost too, like he can't work out why he isn't getting it.
Mitchell Lewis - Liked everything today... but most of all I reckon he set up at least two goals from push ons, or second punches stopping an opposition mark which wouldn't even get listed as stats, needs to be persisted with for as long as possible. Also seems like a bloke everyone loves at the club.
James Cousins - Exploited badly by Geelong the other way, I actually asked for him to go forward at half time and get Scully on the wing (as well as Smith and Hendo thru middle) They did send him forward a few times and I reckon he extracted the ball to set up a couple of goals we got. Make no doubt about it he's got pace and fitness issues... but so did Sam Mitchell early in his career so it just has to be managed and unfortunately we are short of true midfielders at the moment so he's carrying to big a load at this point in his career. He had a crack, just struggled and out of his depth against stronger opponents today.
Harry Morrison - The one thing I remember about harry in his first couple of games and then last year was his pace, the one thing I notice most about Harry this year is he seems not to be fast anymore compared to his opponent. I think that's his issue, I'm not sure why he seems slower either. He just can't quite break free.
Kaiden Brand - Geez way down here on Fantasy, don't think he did anything wrong, in fact struggle to think of one thing he did wrong off the top of my head (tho I do remember saying I'll wear that mistake because it was the right option) far better kick than Frawley, took a few good strong pack marks... TBH pretty hard to say anything else than a solid day in the office. He had a job and I reckon he beat his opponents overall. Quite happy with that.
Conor Nash - Doing a role asked of him... not sure what else he can do at this point of time... also not sure we have another player who could do it unless they try TOB or Schoe again.

Really interesting game.
When your depth is stretched it's those annoying hacks from other clubs that pop up. Ablett and Danger - sure, they'll always get you at some point - but when Rohan kicks 4 you know that part of the collective defence is leaking.

Kind of galling to watch Rohan play the game of his life. I think you're spot on though - in these tight Geel-Haw games, the top drawer players seem to cancel out and it ends with a lesser light winning it... sadly that has been tilted heavily in Geelong's favour still since 2009. Oh well. Proud of the boys for giving it such a good crack despite the malfunctioning lineup.

Good to see the team fight it out in the 4th. Coughed up too many easy goals from turnovers and an inability to halve a lot of contests near the boundary. With the amount of possession Ablett, Dangerfield and Kelly had around mid-field the score could have been much uglier.
Seemed to be a lack of talk or maybe confidence, as there were at least a couple of times in that last quarter we won a clearance at half-forward and the players had time and space and clear air in front of them but chose to blindly kick forward and the ball was marked by Geelong defender.

Worpel was outstanding today.

I've been wanting Lewis in the side since the start of the year and he went better than I thought he would.
Was impressed with his follow-up efforts after the initial marking contest.
Roughy also looked more useful forward hovering around the contest and not competing in the air.

Scrimshaw had an ordinary first-half but didn't drop his bundle and finished the game well.

Morrison needs time at Box Hill to get some touch.

Stands out when we play Geelong for some reason, but it drives me nuts when players coming off half-back seem to either lack awareness or underestimate the nearby opposition's closing speed trying to pass the ball in that 30-40m range.

Not sure what to do with Nash. With his speed, he looks suited to getting goals over the back where he needs to outrun the last defender to the ball and then kick a goal from the square, but we don't create a lot of those opportunities and we have Poppy, Wingard and Breust for those plays as well.

For a bloke who came to us with a “soft” reputation jack scrim showed more metal than Bruester, Smith and Gunston.

The young guys led by Scrim, Brand and Lewis give me some hope.

Just finished watching the 1st quarter.

Clearly had the better of it and then concede a 2 goal lead to trail by a point in the final 60 seconds to Rohan.

Typical Geelong sort of game it seems. Out play them and find ourselves behind somehow.

Lewis' first quarter better than Nash's season output so far so hopefully that debate is settled for a few rounds and Lewis gets the ongoing run at it for the next month of footy.

Henderson's first quarter was huge. The guy is just getting better.

Lewis had 10 score involvements. That’s phenomenal. Was told he’s now 199cm and 100kg. He’s a beast.

Brand has to play all year. Was outstanding on whoever he had to take. He’s a keeper.

We had no answer for Gaz or Rohan. Gaz wound back the clock. Was unstoppable.

Shiels and Stratts back this week for
Nash/ Mirra or Morrison. Take your pick. If Cuz is fit, he stays as he’s had a top month, although putrid today.

Breust, wtf? We need you mate. Is he another that’s playing injured, coz he’s way off.

Fingers crossed for BB. Disaster if a long term injury.

Hendo would be leading our BnF and top 5 in Brownlow at present.

Birchall another that could be thrown in soon. Burger will be back for the Dees game, and Chip the week after.

We just have to hang on here. Surely we beat Carlton this week.

Easy to go into the negatives but will focus on positives here.
Big boy. We’ve had some big hearted blokes over the years, but McEvoy would be up there. I fear for us if he’s injured.
Henderson. Doing what Isaac used to do......and better. Leading bnf comfortably
Midfield. Cousins, worpel and omeara took it right up to the cats star studded midfield. We just lacked the depth to maintain it.
Lewis, competed hard, took some nice marks. Please please please, persist for a month at least.
Brand and Sicily, out sized but held there own.
Lastly, at 3qtr time I feared a flogging, but we fought it out.

Good signs

Mirra and Nash should never play another game.
3 positives were how good mitch lewis looked, worpel and big boy until he went down.
I'll continue to say this and cop heat but Jaeger just isnt what we are paying for. He hasnt become an elite game breaker just a good mid
Bring back burton after Chad's putrid efforts today
You’re just a troll.

Have you seen Stratton’s form in 2019 ??
Yeah he’s had a poor start to the season.. maybe feeling the pressure of the captaincy similar to what Roughy carried in his 1st year..
However, I still think his leadership and presence down back would’ve helped us contain a pretender like Rohan..

Is it just me or does Sicily appear to be playing predominantly last line of defense? I'd much prefer he was gathering the majority of his possessions at half back to wing. Anyone been to a few live games to see his positioning? Is he getting dragged back or is it by design? Bit hard to tell on the TV.

On CLT-L29 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Lewis had 10 score involvements. That’s phenomenal. Was told he’s now 199cm and 100kg. He’s a beast.

Brand has to play all year. Was outstanding on whoever he had to take. He’s a keeper.

We had no answer for Gaz or Rohan. Gaz wound back the clock. Was unstoppable.

Shiels and Stratts back this week for
Nash/ Mirra or Morrison. Take your pick. If Cuz is fit, he stays as he’s had a top month, although putrid today.

Breust, wtf? We need you mate. Is he another that’s playing injured, coz he’s way off.

Fingers crossed for BB. Disaster if a long term injury.

Hendo would be leading our BnF and top 5 in Brownlow at present.

Birchall another that could be thrown in soon. Burger will be back for the Dees game, and Chip the week after.

We just have to hang on here. Surely we beat Carlton this week.

Shiels and Stratton back this week would be significant. Reckon Mirra and Morrison are the guys to make way.

Like your Lewis stat! It shows that it was always a decision between Ceglar and Lewis, not Lewis and Nash. They're used in really different ways.

We are just gonna be a very different team with Shiels, Stratton, Burgoyne and Chip back.

I've grabbed the players from AFL.COM and they come in order of fantasy points which is interesting from a Geelong point of view as Gary Rohan came 12th for them and arguably won the game for them by half time. Anyway in General I've tried to look at the positive, a few you can't at the moment but they are senior players. I've taken it from the point of view that Geelong are the best team in the comp right now on exposed form so far this season. (Not that they should be favourites to win a premiership or anything like that)

Ricky Henderson - Probably passed JOM in our B&F after today at one stage this former supposedly Adelaide soft c*ck who never backed back into a pack did so and Tim Kelly decided he was safer not to contest. In case Ricky knocked him out even tho he couldn't see him. He's not just in career best form, he's arguably in the short list for All Australian.
Ben McEvoy - Got done a couple of times by sneeky Geelong pushing Stanley up forward as they swapped ruckman, said f'you I can do that too. And started to clunk them everywhere. Much better than his worst game of the year last week, losing him late who knows if that may have just got us and extra goal or two to put The game on the line.
James Worpel - Look a kid doing super, however a kid who is also a great blocker for centre clearances, watch JOM get the ball, watch JOM clear the ball or run clear with the ball, watch the bigger picture of Worpedo blocking every bloke near him to open the space that he does that without care everytime he hasn't got the ball, yet still impacts games through his other hardwork of getting the ball is super.
James Sicily - Class above anyone on our backline, perhaps any backline. Someone mentioned since the dogs game not a word from him... so also now mature.
Jaeger O'Meara - Good early, slowed down later, does have a tendency to do that but overall good.
Daniel Howe - That they moved Dangerfield to the forwardline says enough. He's more an accumulator than an impact player but as a tagger twas good early and looked much fitter than the week before.
Jack Gunston - Reasonable in defence certainly better than he's been up forward. A few shank kicks that gave away at least one goal, went forward late didn't really impact.
Jarryd Roughead - Played second ruck role as well as forward, he's okish in the second ruck role but it tires him out and his basically cactus as a forward half-way through the second because of it.
Blake Hardwick - Better overall, moreso in the first half, he was definitely trying to provide a little more run than previous weeks, which was good.
Jarman Impey - Strange Cat, was good, very good early but then disappeared for longer than Shaun Burgoyne does. I do wonder sometimes when he starts off well if teams try to play him on the 'dead' forward who's job is to go where the ball ain't. Always makes an attempt to be third man in.
Isaac Smith - Not sure about Smith this year, he hasn't been bad but he hasn't been good compared to say a Ricky Henderson... and maybe that's me noticing Ricky and thinking why isn't Smith better.
David Mirra - Certainly become the biggest scapegoat down back since Mark Graham. Mirra is a guy who tries his heart out, when no one runs to give an option Mirra does, when Mirra gets the ball and thinks, well he's in trouble. Needs to just stick with the limitations God gave him he was serviceable today.
Paul Puopolo - I'm almost 5'10", I used to play FB or CHB at times at local suburban footy... (so sh*t grade footy compared to this and I was way too short) Poppy's luck to be 5'7" he currently is our number one tall at an AFL team to bring the ball down against 6'4" inch athletic behomeths and it's usually two of them… how's he going... well he's doing a better Job than Conor Nash (who's not there to do the role), Jaryd Roughead and Jack Gunston and also Ceg's when he was playing... so I'd say definitely ok at his role given his height.
Chad Wingard - Somehow ended the day with 16 possessions, for a bloke who only needs 10 to win a game, that's the second week in a row he's had more and had basically zero impact on the game. Fitness? Dunno the only good thing was his 3 minute cameo in the centre when he got a few of those possies and looked dangerous.
Jack Scrimshaw - Not his best today, not horrid either. I'm ok with that I didn't expect much coming into the season, if that's his worst... there is an argument most would have thought that would be his best.
Tom Scully - Simply put a shocker, however played completely out of position and couldn't adapt. Given his first 3 games i'll cop that given the injury he's coming back from. Hopefully they don't make the same mistake again.
Luke Breust - Much Like Chad another stinker. Not sure what's wrong to be honest... something in me worries that playing a taller quick player on him removes all his aerial ability (much like Stratton on Betts) seems a bit lost too, like he can't work out why he isn't getting it.
Mitchell Lewis - Liked everything today... but most of all I reckon he set up at least two goals from push ons, or second punches stopping an opposition mark which wouldn't even get listed as stats, needs to be persisted with for as long as possible. Also seems like a bloke everyone loves at the club.
James Cousins - Exploited badly by Geelong the other way, I actually asked for him to go forward at half time and get Scully on the wing (as well as Smith and Hendo thru middle) They did send him forward a few times and I reckon he extracted the ball to set up a couple of goals we got. Make no doubt about it he's got pace and fitness issues... but so did Sam Mitchell early in his career so it just has to be managed and unfortunately we are short of true midfielders at the moment so he's carrying to big a load at this point in his career. He had a crack, just struggled and out of his depth against stronger opponents today.
Harry Morrison - The one thing I remember about harry in his first couple of games and then last year was his pace, the one thing I notice most about Harry this year is he seems not to be fast anymore compared to his opponent. I think that's his issue, I'm not sure why he seems slower either. He just can't quite break free.
Kaiden Brand - Geez way down here on Fantasy, don't think he did anything wrong, in fact struggle to think of one thing he did wrong off the top of my head (tho I do remember saying I'll wear that mistake because it was the right option) far better kick than Frawley, took a few good strong pack marks... TBH pretty hard to say anything else than a solid day in the office. He had a job and I reckon he beat his opponents overall. Quite happy with that.
Conor Nash - Doing a role asked of him... not sure what else he can do at this point of time... also not sure we have another player who could do it unless they try TOB or Schoe again.

This is for the sheer length of your post 😂

8207A1D8-1BF5-498E-9021-E8489C296670.gif

I just got back from the Richmond club, trying to drown my sorrows and despite being proud of the effort I’m still utterly disappointed.

I’m not even going to start on Conor Nash, I don’t think he has ever shown enough to warrant senior footy but it is what it is. What I’m really disappointed in is the inability to shut down Garry Rohan, who was playing on him?

KB was excellent, hats off.. Hendo sublime, Mitch Lewis provided a great target and Big Boy was excellent in the ruck (despite being touched up around the ground).

I’m not to disappointed and can see the positives, but as I’ve said before, this team can’t compete with the likes of Mirra and Nash playing senior footy.