Preview Hawthorn vs Essendon - Changes and Discussion

Well the way I saw it yesterday, I said to myself a few times "well done Murph", but can't recall saying "F****** MURPHY" at any stage. :D

To me that's enough. Like I said, he's a depth player for a reason and we all know it. I'm not expecting him to wow me.

Well the way I saw it yesterday, I said to myself a few times "well done Murph", but can't recall saying "F****** MURPHY" at any stage. :D

To me that's enough. Like I said, he's a depth player for a reason and we all know it. I'm not expecting him to wow me.

Was one in Q2 where he missed Whitecross and kicked it straight over his head where Sidebottom cleaned up.

IMO Hodge probably needs a full game this week & I think he probably has to get that in the 2's so he can be managed on/off the bench & rested around the ground if required. Big Max the same. I think both need to play games that suit their fitness/return schedules this week & if named in the 1sts they'd have to play roles that suited the team's requirements - I think they're both maybe a week off that at this stage.

In:
Goo
(*Buddy if fit)
Out:
Murphy
(*Cheney for Buddy)

Savage first out. Having a poor year.
Smith has also fallen away.
But...
Goo comes in for Guerra.
I would make Hodge the sub, for Savage who surely needs a whole game at BH.
Buddy then comes in, for Murphy.

Big Max will get a game V Port & GC while we rest a few players.

Not sure what Savage has done to upset you. He's been fine. Came on late yesterday and provided run when everyone was stuffed!
Smith has been far worse this year, but was good yesterday.
by the look of the limp hodge had at the end of the BHH game he is not ready. Why rush him?

Great game today by all, we are on a roll. But do we need a 'down' game before the finals?

The lid? What lid? Stuff keeping a lid on it. We are have just shown the rest of the comp that 'beat us if you can, but f..ken good luck'
We will give the bummers an absolute lesson on fri night and the put an end to the geel winning streak against us since 2008. After that, well, good luck.

Mate, I love the take no prisoners attitude, but we're not at the finals stage yet. Neither the Cats nor the dirty scum are to be taken lightly. None of them are.

Foot on the throat, Hawthorn Sons. We must avenge the disappointments of '09, 10 and 11. Take nothing for granted.

Not sure what Savage has done to upset you. He's been fine. Came on late yesterday and provided run when everyone was stuffed!
Smith has been far worse this year, but was good yesterday.
by the look of the limp hodge had at the end of the BHH game he is not ready. Why rush him?

Great game today by all, we are on a roll. But do we need a 'down' game before the finals?

Hill is the best sub on our list. Comes on and picks up the pace straight away.

Savage/Smith have looked lost to be honest in the sub role.

That's why, I'd send Savage back for a full game at BH and bring Hill into the sub role.

From what I saw at BH on saturday, he is more likely to miss the rest of the year with the knee than to have any sort of impact. He's a walking timebomb imo.

Firstly Buddy and Hodge should have AT LEAST another game out. I would be tempted to leave them out for Geelong as well if we can beat Essendon. Should Cheney and Murphy were solid but with Guerra coming back one of them will be going out. I feel that Savage will be important in finals and we need to play him into form. Maybe Smith for the sub vs Essendon?
Continue on from Saturday and I reckon we will win but the Bombers are not to be underestimated. When they turn up they are a very good side (see ANZAC day). Won't be attending which is annoying(should be at the G :mad:) but am looking forward to a cracker :D

Hodgey was OK at Vic Park. Very rusty and you could see he was just easing himself back in. BHH play Werribee on Saturday arvo, would prefer to see Hodgey playing on the slow BHH track rather than the rock at the Telecom Dome. Getting him right is the priority, no need to rush him.

Goo back in for Murphy is my tip.

Guerra in, Murphy out. Considered Cheney but Cheney has the pace to help us out against the Dons, whilst Murphy isn't that quick, and we'll probably need pace with Davey, Jetta etc up forward for Essendon

Leave Hodge and Bailey in the scoobs. 2 games in 20 weeks, and just 1 run in the scoobs, for Hodge means leave him out and bring him in for the Cats game if he continues to pull up well. Based on form, we don't need him. Even give him 3 in the scoobs and bring him in for the GC game and go from there. Bails, well he'll have to wait. Hale and Roughie doing enough to keep him out, plus our forwards are doing enough to allow us to keep it the way it is.
Murphy is actually quite quick, one of the biggest misconceptions about him.

Guerra in, Murphy out. Considered Cheney but Cheney has the pace to help us out against the Dons, whilst Murphy isn't that quick, and we'll probably need pace with Davey, Jetta etc up forward for Essendon
Guerra on one of Davey/ Jetta and Burgoyne (if played back) on the other. Burgoyne will smash whoever he plays on, has killed small forwards all year

I'm no Murph hater but if you dont see that he is the 21st or 22nd picked in that team at the moment that you are deluded.

Tom did some good things today but he also had 6 critical errors which for mine is too high when you have 16 touches.

Exactly, it's not like people hate the bloke, it is just that he purely makes too many errors in every game he plays and many of those errors cost us goals. And yes, others make errors too, but when you make these errors week-in-week-out and have a player like Guerra to come back in the side you have to take out the susceptible link for a stronger link in the chain.

Hey guys, posted this preview up on our board, sorry about the jibes, but I really hate your mob. Hoping for another classic brawl soon, there hasn't been a good one all year, and it's about time we served up another one.

Essendon vs Hawthorn (27/07/2012):
Possible Teams:

Essendon:
B: Fletcher-Pears-Hardingham
HB: Dempsey-Carlisle-Hibberd
C: Stanton-Watson-Heppell
HF: Crameri-Gumbleton-Monfries
F: Davey-Hille-Jetta
R: Bellchambers-Hocking-Myers
I: Howlett-Browne-Dyson
S: Winderlich

Hawthorn:
B: Stratton-Gibson-Guerra
HB: Birchall-Schoenmakers-Suckling
C: Burgoyne-Mitchell-Hodge
HF: Bruest-Hale-Lewis
F: Rioli-Roughead-Gunston
R: Bailey-Sewell-Shiels
I: Puopolo-Savage-Smith
S: Young

Just looking at your teams and if you think Whitecross is not in our best 22 you are delusional. Has been a constantly improving player year after year and has now reached a very solid B+ grade rating and looking to crack the A grade status, which he seems to be doing.

From the weekends team the first 3 players who's spot is at risk in no particular order is Savage, Murphy and Cheney.

Just my 2 cents Guerra will definately come in for either Murphy or Cheney.

Hodge still needs to get match fitness and be right for finals. McGoo's for the next 2 weeks and bring him in for the Port game. A 4 game lead in of Port, GCS, Syd and WCE would be a good run in for finals. 2 easy teams first and then 2 hard teams.

Can't see Bailey, Hale and Roughy all in the same side. The team structure seems exactly right and wouldn't want to mess with that. Hale and Roughy working superbly. If it ain't broken don't fix it. Unfortunate for Bailey but great to know we have such a wonderful back up for an injury or suspension to a big fella. Bailey may find he gets some game time against the teams with solid ruck divisions such as Syd and Mumford and WCE and Cox, Nicnat. If Hale is sore this week then i can see Hale having a rest and Bailey being bought in.

Young to be on the field before Savage. Savage sub again.

Hodge looked a tad overweight. Hope its just me, but I'd give him another fortnight at Box Hill to regain match fitness.

Buddy, just sit in the box and learn some more

We really shouldn't under estimate Stuart Crameri, he is a gun IMO. His speed of the mark wow :eek: Who would be the right match up for him? Because he can play tall, he is good at ground level and can take a strong grab over head.

I would play Gibson on Crameri, Shoey on Gumbleton. Shoey swaps to resting ruck (Hille, Bellchambers), with Stratts sliding over to Gumby. Give Shoey licence to smash them on the rebound

Hill is the best sub on our list. Comes on and picks up the pace straight away.

Savage/Smith have looked lost to be honest in the sub role.

That's why, I'd send Savage back for a full game at BH and bring Hill into the sub role.

From what I saw at BH on saturday, he is more likely to miss the rest of the year with the knee than to have any sort of impact. He's a walking timebomb imo.

Do you think Hill's body is ready for a hard physical game yet. I think he is still too slight.

Malthouse said Murphy is in our best 18. We belted the flag favourite and his former club. He knows a bit.

Murphy stays.
malthouse last week said gunston was our 24th player. He is quickly reevaluating his views on us. The more i hear of him the more i am surprised about him not quite having his finger on the pulse with a few of his views. But generally his comments are excellent.

The pies arecarrying 1 too many talls and malthouse picked it up in the second half. Brown and goldsack cant play. One has to go.

Goo comes in fo either Murphy or Cheney. Unfortunately both were good against the pies, I think prob Myrphy goes out.

Team Changes

IN: Guerra
OUT: Cheney

B: Whitecross Gibson Stratton
HB: Birchall Schoenmakers Burgoyne
C: Young Mitchell Lewis
HF: Murphy Gunston Rioli
F: Breust Roughead Puopolo
R: Hale Sewell Shiels

INT: Smith Guerra Suckling Savage (Sub)

EMG: Cheney Hill Bailey

IMO Bailey needs another week in the VFL, Hodge likewise. With Buddy we should rest him for another week and get him cherry ripe for the Geelong game.
Why post this when 4 posts/5 hrs later your team selection changes? You seem to do that every week. Seems like such a waste of time just like posting a new team lineup every day when in modern football, unless you're a ruckman, KPP or starting on the bench, their positions are meaningless.

In fact I don't know why I'm even responding to this when you have Goo on the bench, WX in the back pocket and Murphy in the side and as a HFF. You fit my avatar perfectly.

Murphy is actually quite quick, one of the biggest misconceptions about him.

I love Murphy but to say he is quite quick is wrong IMO. He isn't slow but he definitely isn't quick. He actually can run at an ok pace which you are correct in when addressing the previous poster however it's his agility or lack of that makes him look slow. My mates and I were observing this in the last quarter at times and we realised he probably only looks really slow because he has Rioli and Puopolo around him and most people look slow around them haha.

I reckon Murphy or Cheney have to make way for Guerra. We can't play all 3 along with all the rest of our backs.

The best thing about this is that it means our team is that solid that we have players like Murphy and Cheney as either the 22nd player or as depth. Great sign for our club as they're both very solid players.