Headliners Next Week

• Thread starter Thread starter musha_13

I did love that they mentioned certain SANFL coaches were giving their Crows listed players (and the Crows) a hard time back in 1991. Those coaches being Neil Craig, John Reid and Mick Nunan. Ironic don't you think?

Leaping Lindner said:
I did love that they mentioned certain SANFL coaches were giving their Crows listed players (and the Crows) a hard time back in 1991. Those coaches being Neil Craig, John Reid and Mick Nunan. Ironic don't you think?
Like the old saying goes,,,,, If ya can't beat em,,,

Seriously I enjoyed both parts of the show, but i think they skimmed over heaps of interesting stuff and proberbly could have added another hour with ease.

Bot isnt Ashley Porter a twit?

jc67 said:
Like the old saying goes,,,,, If ya can't beat em,,,

Seriously I enjoyed both parts of the show, but i think they skimmed over heaps of interesting stuff and proberbly could have added another hour with ease.

Bot isnt Ashley Porter a twit?

Though they could have gone into a lot more detail, Ashley Porter didn't come across real well :confused:

I think Porter writes the SANFL section in Inside Footy?

Leaping Lindner said:
When Mick Nunan was asked why he wasn't co-operating with something the Crows wanted he said something along the lines of "Why should I help a VFL side?". He went on to coach Fitzroy of course.

Also remember Craigy being less than accomodating, that's why Cornesy hates him so much, but don't recall John Reid doing the same.

CrowMagnum said:
When Mick Nunan was asked why he wasn't co-operating with something the Crows wanted he said something along the lines of "Why should I help a VFL side?". He went on to coach Fitzroy of course.

Also remember Craigy being less than accomodating, that's why Cornesy hates him so much, but don't recall John Reid doing the same.

At the time South couldn't even buy a win, so I don't think Reidy would have been knocking a chance to have a player with AFL experience running around in the navy blue.

PrideOf said:
At the time South couldn't even buy a win, so I don't think Reidy would have been knocking a chance to have a player with AFL experience running around in the navy blue.

South's disaster years were 1988 and 1989. They were minor premiers in 1991. They lost both the second semi (to North, I went with a mate who supported North) and then the prelim (to West) by a couple of goals in each game. IIRC South made the finals in 1990 and definitely in 1992. So after a couple of terrible years you can't really blame Reidy for being tough with his players transferring back and forth between the Crows.

dyertribe said:
Loved Greg Boulton's comment,

"If we didn't make a move the SANFL would still be twiddling their thumbs today."

That's what's been lost amongst all the scorn and vitriol that was poured on Port Adelaide.

Rightly or wrongly, the move propelled Adelaide and then Port Adelaide into the AFL - before the rest of our talent could bleed away and any future AFL bid would result in a team battling Fremantle as underdogs for the Mediocrity Shield.

Maxy and Lethal [sic] typified everything wrong with Adelaide as a town - and had there not been some sort of seismic shift as occurred we'd have missed the boat entirely.

It's the same mentality that has a prime piece of underdeveloped real estate festering five minutes from the CBD because a couple of hundred retirees won't agree to a 5-story hotel, cinema, shopping and carpark complex being built.

No future please, we're Adelaidean.

I disagree.

Easy to rely on that stereotype.

Max and Leigh did a good job with teh SANFL otherwise so who is to say they were not right that we needed to wait for better terms to go into the AFL

As it turned out, Port's treachery menat we had three months to get a team together. We suffered in the early years as a result.

dyertribe said:
Missed part two.

Anyone care to give a dot point summary? Also, what was wrong with how Ash Porter came across (Brad-clare, jc67)?

It was mostly about how everyone was in uncharted waters as it were and wasn't sure how it would all turn out, and how everything had to be done so quickly. Then how relieved everyone was when the first trial game was so hugely successful. Personally I found all that a little put on as I seem to recall the mood around town was nothing but positive from the start but that was outside looking in obviously. I remember the main stream media was on board from almost day one and once that happened it was never going to fail (or we certainly weren't going to hear about it;) )
Cornes mentioned his infamous post 1990 GF speech in the Port rooms - funny stuff - and they also mentioned how some coaches (Nunan, Craig and Reid were the ones named) gave the Crows and the players that the Crows wanted from their clubs a hard time.
Kerley had another go at Darren Jarman :rolleyes: . Let it go you senile old fool he won us two flags since. I'd also like to see Darren interviewed about his side of things one day.
Not bad but nowhere near as controversial as the first episode obviously.

PS - I thought Ashley Porter came across fine - Max Stevens on the other hand....:p

Leaping Lindner said:
It was mostly about how everyone was in uncharted waters as it were and wasn't sure how it would all turn out, and how everything had to be done so quickly. Then how relieved everyone was when the first trial game was so hugely successful. Personally I found all that a little put on as I seem to recall the mood around town was nothing but positive from the start but that was outside looking in obviously. I remember the main stream media was on board from almost day one and once that happened it was never going to fail (or we certainly weren't going to hear about it;) )
Cornes mentioned his infamous post 1990 GF speech in the Port rooms - funny stuff - and they also mentioned how some coaches (Nunan, Craig and Reid were the ones named) gave the Crows and the players that the Crows wanted from their clubs a hard time.
Kerley had another go at Darren Jarman :rolleyes: . Let it go you senile old fool he won us two flags since. I'd also like to see Darren interviewed about his side of things one day.
Not bad but nowhere near as controversial as the first episode obviously.

PS - I thought Ashley Porter came across fine - Max Stevens on the other hand....:p

I still have that on tape and when he said it Hodges was close by and he was the won that said F*#* you lets make it 4 in a row.

In 93 if we had Darren might have won the prelim as he might have had those 2 shots on goal not his superstar:rolleyes: brother

As the other have said they skimmed over some stuff.
Porter IMO looked like a know it all, was lounging back with hands folded behind his head talking in a droning voice and seemed condescending.
just came across like a typical twit.