Headliners Next Week

• Thread starter Thread starter musha_13

**** said:
As we know, this is in relation to the limit of 10 players who had been drafted and subsequently tied to other AFL clubs.

I'd be interested to know if anyone knows the full list of 10 (or 9 as it eventuated). I only know for sure of three players - Andrew Jarman, Chris McDermott and Rod Jameson, but there's another six. Of course we could guess who some might have been but I wonder if anyone knows for sure.

Darren Smith was one who was drafted to Essendon
Simon Tregenza was drafted to Footscray

I will give some thought about the others and I do think it was only 9 cos we missed out on Richard Champion.

DaveW said:
1989 AFL National Draft

11. Essendon - Darren Smith
25. Melbourne - Paul Rouvray
31. St Kilda - Darel Hart
52. North Melbourne - Rod Jameson
78. West Coast - Steven Schwerdt
79. Brisbane - David Brown
84. Collingwood - Matthew Kelly
100. Essendon - David Pittman

With McDermott (2. Bris 1987) & A Jarman (15. Bris 1987) that's probably your ten.

You are pretty close, but I definately remember that Simon Tregenza was one we took that was originally drafted by Footscray because they used to boo him in the early days.

Part 1 was pretty good, although port were made to look clean.
I wonder how serious norwoods attempt at the same time was?

Started off in shock at the how Whicker and Basheer were portrayed.:eek:

Some of the comments on there motives to me were shocking:thumbsd:

Ended up with a warm feeling of pride that even though Sa footy was turned on its head, a great club grew almost instantly out of the mire.:rolleyes:

rayven said:

Ended up with a warm feeling of pride that even though Sa footy was turned on its head, a great club grew almost instantly out of the mire.:rolleyes:

Thats what I expected from the show or is that my little brother syndrome kicking in again.

Didn't learn anything that we didn't already know.

PS : I disgaree that Port weren't played for patsies, I reckon they were - Ross made the comment, they always wanted the composite side first and after it established itself the second side would be an established club.

rayven said:

It probably would have for a non-port supporter.

Its all about perspective - on which we are probably miles apart....

The truth is always in the middle ... or more accurately - the truth is generally told by the winners. I would have liked to hear more of Norwood involvement, but I expect that will never come out in any detail.

rayven said:
I expect thats what next weeks episode will be.

PS - anyone with torrent of it PM me. (Im taping, but prefer a better version)

Malibu#27 said:
It probably would have for a non-port supporter.

Its all about perspective - on which we are probably miles apart....

The truth is always in the middle ... or more accurately - the truth is generally told by the winners. I would have liked to hear more of Norwood involvement, but I expect that will never come out in any detail.
Well Max had a point that they should of paid us to join the AFL and the initial talks way back in 82 stalled as the VFL thought we would be too strong.

If you look at the expansion terms of all 5 clubs, us and you are the the ones that got the worse deal.Thats what Max held off for not that he never wanted to join as suggested..

I expect thats what next weeks episode will be.
They say we had 184 days I thought it was 131????:confused: :confused: :confused:

rayven said:
If you look at the expansion terms of all 5 clubs, us and you are the the ones that got the worse deal.Thats what Max held off for not that he never wanted to join as suggested.

I don't know how you can say that.

Licence Fee
West Coast and Brisbane had to pay $4m upfront ie between Oct '86 an March '87. Adelaide paid $400k x 10 year between '91 and 2000, Fremantle $400k x 10 between '95 and '04 and Port $400k x 10 between '97 and '06. So given the time value of money, the 1987 licences of West Coast and Brisbane are a lot more expensive than the other three.

Players
Brisbane got the roughest deal. Each of the 12 clubs had to send them upto 7 players, they got 6 pre draft selections and any footballer registered in Queensland, ie zilch talent at the time. The other clubs basically sent them tired hacks who weren't good enough. West Coast got the most concessions, Adelaide's were nowhere as good as West Coast's, Freo's were a bit tougher than Adelaide's, and Port's were a bit tougher than Freo's.

Time to get the team together
West Coast, Brisbane and Adelaide all got their licences in October and had to put a team together by the following March. Once again Brisbane had it the toughest as they had to relocate over 60 players. Brisbane didn't have a state footy league to help them out, a ground to train on, weren't sure if it was Brisbane or the Gold Coast, and most of the players at the other two clubs were already living in their home states. Freo had 2 years and Port thought they had 18 months which dragged out to 2.5 years, which had both advantages and disadvantages in getting prepared for their entry into the AFL.

3 points of last nights show that stood out to me were =

1. Greg Bolton without batting an eye lid admitted that he & his cohorts lied (which in fact was just a knife being twisted into the back of SA footy as we knew it. ) to the SANFL commission in regards to sticking by the decision to resist the AFLs latest proposal

2.The AFL more or less preferred a "generic" club before an established one to join first but if the worse come to the worse then they would settle for the next best option = a PA or even a Norwood.

3 A lot of bitterness in them dark days but the one great outcome of it all was the birth of the Adelaide Football Club.

I recall how angry everyone was at Port back in 1990. I was a teenager at the time and remember going to a Sturt vs Port game at Adelaide Oval. Sitting at the top of the members grandstand, I saw the late Bruce Webber walking down the stairs and my blood boiled. It wasn't the smartest thing I've ever done but, having just finished eating an apple, I threw it at him! :p

However, it wasn't much of a throw and it missed...:mad:

AAMI said:
I recall how angry everyone was at Port back in 1990. I was a teenager at the time and remember going to a Sturt vs Port game at Adelaide Oval. Sitting at the top of the members grandstand, I saw the late Bruce Webber walking down the stairs and my blood boiled. It wasn't the smartest thing I've ever done but, having just finished eating an apple, I threw it at him! :p

However, it wasn't much of a throw and it missed...:mad:

Didn’t some Port Adelaide nong (or at least try) and king hit KG one afternoon at Alberton oval as he was leaving the grandstand about ¾ time as he was leaving to do his channel 9 news job.

I only have vague memories of that time as I was about 9 or 10 but I knew that either you love Port Adelaide or you hate them, and I decided to be a good Glenelg boy and (sorry bad choice of words:mad: ) hate that rabble.

crows98 said:
Didn’t some Port Adelaide nong (or at least try) and king hit KG one afternoon at Alberton oval as he was leaving the grandstand about ¾ time as he was leaving to do his channel 9 news job.

I only have vague memories of that time as I was about 9 or 10 but I knew that either you love Port Adelaide or you hate them, and I decided to be a good Glenelg boy and (sorry bad choice of words:mad: ) hate that rabble.
I'm not sure that he hit him but I think he spat on him...:confused:

I dont believe either is true. Its well written out in From Port to a Power.

Its was pretty well planned from KG, he just wanted a reaction and he got it. KG left halfway through the last quarter of the match whilst Port was about 90 points up to go and do his 9 news work. Must have been magic that they had a channel 9 cameraman there filming him walking down the grandstand and through the crowd :rolleyes: If thats not the most rehearsed piece of garb ive ever seen then i dont know what is.

He knew exactly what he was doing and what he wanted. He started having a go at some Port supporters as he was walking down the stairs and some of them pulled him up for it and told him to F off.

Macca19 said:
I dont believe either is true. Its well written out in From Port to a Power.

Its was pretty well planned from KG, he just wanted a reaction and he got it. KG left halfway through the last quarter of the match whilst Port was about 90 points up to go and do his 9 news work. Must have been magic that they had a channel 9 cameraman there filming him walking down the grandstand and through the crowd :rolleyes: If thats not the most rehearsed piece of garb ive ever seen then i dont know what is.

He knew exactly what he was doing and what he wanted. He started having a go at some Port supporters as he was walking down the stairs and some of them pulled him up for it and told him to F off.
I think if you add in the context of the time it was a little less sinister than that.

IIRC - the whole controversy had dominated the airwaves in the weeks leading up to that game and some comments had been made to KG about not being welcome at Alberton especially given his stance on siding with the establishment as he normally does. KG of course kept his radio commitments and there was always potential for a clash - hence the Ch9 interest.

Loved Greg Boulton's comment,

"If we didn't make a move the SANFL would still be twiddling their thumbs today."

That's what's been lost amongst all the scorn and vitriol that was poured on Port Adelaide.

Rightly or wrongly, the move propelled Adelaide and then Port Adelaide into the AFL - before the rest of our talent could bleed away and any future AFL bid would result in a team battling Fremantle as underdogs for the Mediocrity Shield.

Maxy and Lethal [sic] typified everything wrong with Adelaide as a town - and had there not been some sort of seismic shift as occurred we'd have missed the boat entirely.

It's the same mentality that has a prime piece of underdeveloped real estate festering five minutes from the CBD because a couple of hundred retirees won't agree to a 5-story hotel, cinema, shopping and carpark complex being built.

No future please, we're Adelaidean.

dyertribe said:

"If we didn't make a move the SANFL would still be twiddling their thumbs today."
That's what's been lost amongst all the scorn and vitriol that was poured on Port Adelaide.

Rightly or wrongly, the move propelled Adelaide and then Port Adelaide into the AFL - before the rest of our talent could bleed away and any future AFL bid would result in a team battling Fremantle as underdogs for the Mediocrity Shield.

Maxy and Lethal [sic] typified everything wrong with Adelaide as a town - and had there not been some sort of seismic shift as occurred we'd have missed the boat entirely.

It's the same mentality that has a prime piece of underdeveloped real estate festering five minutes from the CBD because a couple of hundred retirees won't agree to a 5-story hotel, cinema, shopping and carpark complex being built.

No future please, we're Adelaidean.

Hey Port Adelaide deserved what they got, there is absolutely NO excuse for whay they did and I will never accept that pathetic excuse. Port didnt enter for the state of SA, they did it for themselves and didnt give a flying crap about the SANFL. At the time I was a Port supporter::eek: thumbsd: and was just wanted a side in there for my own selfish reasons. After watching last night I was shocked at just how arrogant Port was. It was like I re-lived it all over again and my blood was boiling. How could they? What the F@@k were they thinking? Traitors was written all over the TV. I mean what did they think the SANFL were just going to say "Yeah no worries
here, Footy Park is at your convenience, dont worry about us we'll just take a back stage. In this case Arrogance and stupidity go hand in hand. Dont get me wrong, I can understand why they wanted to go in, but hell, the way they went about it did them no favours and I believe come back to bite them when they eventually did enter.

sworc36 said:
Hey Port Adelaide deserved what they got, there is absolutely NO excuse for whay they did and I will never accept that pathetic excuse.

OK, but at the end of the day:

dyertribe said:

All the hyperbole, betrayal and subsequent trauma aside, where would be without that initial move?

Crisis = Opportunity.

beartoo said:
Have you seen what's been done to that grand old house Auchendarroch in Mount Barker?
'Progress' ain't always good.

On the flipside, have you seen the airport?... :D

dyertribe said:

Pretentious bollocks. It may have taken longer, but the idea that an SANFL-based VFL wouldn't exist at all in any form at all without them is just laughable. He's just making the most out of a bad situation. They tried to get in, got shafted and were made to wait. Boulton saying this is trying to take complete credit to soften that blow.

PrideOf said:
Pretentious bollocks. It may have taken longer, but the idea that an SANFL-based VFL wouldn't exist at all in any form at all without them is just laughable. He's just making the most out of a bad situation. They tried to get in, got shafted and were made to wait. Boulton saying this is trying to take complete credit to soften that blow.

Made to wait by a massive 5-6 years.

Had they not made the move they might still be waiting - and if not - would probably have a squad on a par with Peel's given the talent all of us would have lost in the meantime.

dyertribe said:
Made to wait by a massive 5-6 years.

Had they not made the move they might still be waiting - and if not - would probably have a squad on a par with Peel's given the talent all of us would have lost in the meantime.

It's all ifs and buts. The thing I dislike is the certainty that Boulton uses. Fact is, he can't claim that certainty - it's not as if Port held ALL the cards and without them we'd be nowhere. They may have accelerated the move - which, incidentally, I have no problem in him saying.

Leaping Lindner said:
The "if" arguement doesn't work for me I'm afraid.

If Dinosaurs came back tomorrow we'd all be scared.

Mmmm, a 'Jurassic Park' theme couldn't be more apt, actually. ;)