Hottest 100 of 2014 prediction thread

This song is a ripper.

Makes me wanna dust off the old MoS vinyl tracks and give em a spin.

They don't make house music like they used to ...

It's an absolute track hey, the first song released this year where I really thought "this is superb". Spun it plenty of times. Everything Duke Dumont has touched has turned to gold so far, it was a travesty that Need U 100% didn't make it into the H100 last year.

I think 2014 has been a good year (continuing on from the great form of 2012 and 2013). Hopefully The War on Drugs do well :thumbsu:

2009 was the worst year in hottest 100 history and 2010/2011 were pretty weak too, so I'm glad triple j has recovered from that period.

Fooies haven't had much airplay over their new album, Something from Nothing and Outside are doing ok but the j's aren't really flogging it like they have every other album.

It is surprising Triple J plays Foo Fighters at all honestly. Their vanilla brand of 'dad rock' sticks out like a sore thumb amongst the rest of the stations playlist.

if Kingsmill still likes them, they get played. many bands lately that used to get lots of love on the j's haven't made that cut (Pearl Jam, U2, Coldplay, Kings of Leon etc) so they're still doing something "right" for him I guess

I like Richard Kingsmill. Great voice and someone well versed in music and who's probably the only bloke in that building who's heard something from Brian Eno.

What about that song Delete by DMA's? Wasn't that popular on Triple J? Has all the ingredients of a top fiver (it's Australian, a new band, it's a ballad, it's bulk deep n s**t) except for the fact it was rinsed in February, March, April.

It's always a novelty song so pick one

I like Richard Kingsmill. Great voice and someone well versed in music and who's probably the only bloke in that building who's heard something from Brian Eno.

What about that song Delete by DMA's? Wasn't that popular on Triple J? Has all the ingredients of a top fiver (it's Australian, a new band, it's a ballad, it's bulk deep n s**t) except for the fact it was rinsed in February, March, April.
It's also a really good song! Haha, it doesn't seem like it has been played much recently though, might get forgotten.

Very good sound for band that look very odd, when you see them for the first time haha

It's always a novelty song so pick one
Cosby Sweater. By popular Aussie band with heaps of previous H100 success and released late in the yearish. The song is all over mainstream radio/tv, and it's novelty enough with its Cosby, solange knowles, bobby fisher refs. Just needs a few unnecessary naughty words and it would have H100 winner written all over it.

It's also a really good song! Haha, it doesn't seem like it has been played much recently though, might get forgotten.

Very good sound for band that look very odd, when you see them for the first time haha
That look is intentional and somewhere between smoking cigs at Cabramatta Bus Port and drinking White and Mackay at a Burnely council estate. And pulling chicks at Goodgod Small Club in 2014... "I love Carhatt! The Gallaghers were such fashionistas!" she says between conversation of Opening Ceremony

Not many songs stick out to me at all this year. I was thinking the other day of who I'd vote for and I struggled to get past 5 songs.
Will definitely be voting for Kingswood and Banks though.

Opening in Zombie is really good.

Rest of the song is derivative, K&Q-b-side, repetitive... it's by the numbers but it's not a bad song or anything. I reckon it'll be in the 15-25.

Opening in Zombie is really good.

Rest of the song is derivative, K&Q-b-side, repetitive... it's by the numbers but it's not a bad song or anything. I reckon it'll be in the 15-25.

You don't reckon the opening sounds like another "lonely bearded man with guitar" song? The guts of the song shits over the disjointed opening

Didn't that one win the Hottest 100 last year?

Yeah, apart from the fact that's he neither bearded nor lonely

It is amusing watching Vance Joy try and do another 'Riptide' though. It'll never happen. A couple of admirable attempts on his album but nothing has that hit power and I think even the commercial radio stations have jumped off him now

Hottest 100 of 2014
  1. Sia - Chandelier
  2. Milky Chance - Stolen Dance
  3. Zhu - Faded
  4. Chet Faker - Talk Is Cheap
  5. Kendrick Lamar - i
  6. Peking Duk - High
  7. Jack White - Lazaretto
  8. Hilltop Hoods - Cosby Sweater
  9. Alt-J - Left Hand Free
  10. Mark Ronson - Uptown Funk
  11. Vance Joy - Mess Is Mine
  12. Lorde - Yellow Flicker Beat
  13. Tkay Maidza - Uh-Huh
  14. Ball Park Music - She Only Loves Me When I'm There
  15. Lana Del Rey - West Coast
  16. Peking Duk - Take Me Over
  17. Royal Blood - Little Monster
  18. Broods - Bridges
  19. Chet Faker - 1998
  20. The Kite String Tangle - Arcadia
  21. Sbtrkt - New Dorp, New York
  22. Flight Facilities - Two Bodies
  23. Chet Faker - Gold
  24. Future Islands - Seasons (Waiting On You)
  25. The Black Keys - Fever
  26. Jamie T - Zombie
  27. Illy - Tightrope
  28. The Preatures - Somebody's Talking
  29. Carmada - Maybe
  30. Major Lazer - Aerosol Can
  31. Hilltop Hoods - Won't Let You Down
  32. Martin Garrix - Animals
  33. Glass Animals - Gooey
  34. Alison Wonderland - I Want U
  35. The Presets - Goodbye Future
  36. Foster The People - Best Friend
  37. Matt Corby - What The Devil Has Made
  38. Sky Ferria - You're Not The One
  39. Tkay Maidza - Switch Lanes
  40. Angus & Julia Stone - Heart Beats Slow
  41. Banks - Begging For Thread
  42. La Roux - Uptight Downtown
  43. Asgier - King & Cross
  44. Ball Park Music - Trippin The Lights Fantastic
  45. Vic Mensa - Down On My Luck
  46. Grimes - Go
  47. San Cisco - Run
  48. Bluejuice - I'll Go Crazy
  49. Royal Blood - Figure It Out
  50. Nero - Satisfy
  51. Violent Soho - Seramona Said
  52. Fences - Arrows
  53. Watermat - Bullit
  54. Sticky Fingers - Gold Snafu
  55. Foster The People - Coming Of Age
  56. Coldplay - Magic
  57. Porter Robinson - Flicker
  58. Alt-J - Hunger Of The Pine
  59. Childish Gambino - Sober
  60. The Black Keys - Turn Blue
  61. Thundamentals - Something I Said
  62. Sia - Burn The Pages
  63. Broods - Mother & Father
  64. Tv On The Radio - Happy Idiot
  65. Vance Joy - First Time
  66. Safia - Paranoia, Ghosts & Other Sounds
  67. Asgeir - Going Home
  68. Robert Delong - Long Way Down
  69. Flight Facilities - Sunshine
  70. Sticky Fingers - If You Go
  71. Lana Del Rey - Ultraviolence
  72. Duke Dumont - I Got U
  73. Milky Chance - Junk Flashed Mind
  74. Phantogram - Fall In Love
  75. Deadmau5 - Seeya
  76. Fka Twigs - Two Weeks
  77. Sbtrkt - Temporary View
  78. Meg Mac - Grandma's Hands
  79. Clipping - Work Work
  80. Japanese Wallpaper - Between Friends
  81. Thelma Plum - How Much Does Your Love Cost?
  82. Alt-J - Every Other Freckle
  83. Royal Blood - Come On Over
  84. Jungle - Busy Earnin'
  85. Kingswood - Micro Wars
  86. Lana Del Rey - Brooklyn Baby
  87. Flight Facilities - Heart Attack
  88. Angus & Julia Stone - Get Home
  89. The Preatures - Two Tone Melody
  90. DMA's - Delete
  91. Skrillex - Recess
  92. Pharrell Williams - Marlyn Munroe
  93. Kim Churchill - Window To The Sky