triple J Hottest 100 of 2022

I can't wrap my head around Flume being a dual hottest 100 winner. It's like Jason Castagna being a dual premiership player.
And from memory, the 2019 mixtape which was his best work by daylight didn't make an appearance. Although, I'm not sure if any of the tracks on there were released as singles.

I’m 27 years old. I don’t agree with a lot of songs but people seem to fail to understand that this countdown is a SUBJECTIVE music poll.
I get that. It's a numbers game and young people are voting for those songs. My take is this:

I'm 44. Looking back, 20-25 was the worst period in my life for musical interests. I look back on that period with disgust.

My contrarian ass thinks the list looks about as average as every H100 list has looked.

I was asked at work if there was any track I was looking out for and I had to bluntly reply "no" because I couldn't pull a legitimate answer out of my ass.

Not trying to be a w***er, I guess my general point is every year people say it's gone to shit, and I don't think that's true. The quality has always been roughly the same IMHO.

So here's my thoughts on the top 100. Take it as you wish. I listen to a lot of music and don't think much of that top 25.

Actual PositionMy Ultimate and Definitive RankingArtistTrackRankingThoughts
13​
1​
Gorillaz ft. Tame Impala/Bootie BrownNew Gold
140​
Still got it. At least we had something decent in this "Top 20" Best song
18​
2​
Fred again & Swedish House MafiaTurn on the lights again
138​
Nice little dance/house track probably the best in this list
35​
3​
King StingrayLet's Go
125​
Just not meant for this audience. King Stingray not appreciated. Great feel, beats, chilled.
43​
4​
King StingrayYellow
120​
This is incredible. Can't knock this at all
31​
5​
Baker Boy Ft Bernard FanningWish You Well
117​
Great remake, loved it
82​
6​
The WombatsIs This What It Feels Like To Feel Like This?
116​
Catchy, Feel like this should be much higher
41​
7​
Kendrick LamarN95
115​
Love Kendrick's style gives me a Mac Miller feel. Not my favorite song but it's great
32​
8​
Billie EnglishTV
108​
Nice moody song
29​
9​
Vance JoyClarity
106​
Nice feel from Vance
78​
10​
Violent SohoKamikaze
105​
Sick beats, energetic, reminds me of Neighbor Neighbor
70​
11​
Amy SharkOnly Wanna be with you
98​
Very catchy, nice song
89​
12​
The Amity AfflictionShow Me Your God
95​
Great vocal range. People don't appreciate screamo, it's more of an art form than autotune
81​
13​
BeneeBeach Boy
93​
Nice vocals, beat, sultry, moody, my style. Chorus is a little weak
80​
14​
Denzel CurryWalkin
92​
Great RnB vibes, good rhythm
86​
15​
Parkway DriveGlitch
90​
Great Gym music, heavy and full of energy
40​
16​
Spacey JaneYet
89​
nice song
84​
17​
Billie EnglishThe 30th
88​
Beautiful song, not what I'd expected, building intensity
56​
18​
Ocean AlleyDeepest Darkness
88​
Nice heavy rock song, Vocals are a little overpowering
79​
19​
Arctic MonkeysBody Paint
87​
Fresh easy going feeling
95​
20​
Omar ApolloEvergreen (You Didn't Deserve Me At All
85​
Nice vibes, got the feels
76​
21​
DrakeJimmy Cooks (feat 21 Savage)
85​
Not bad, chiled
9​
22​
Gang of YouthsIn the wake of your leave
85​
Not bad, They've got better songs
94​
23​
King StingrayLupa
84​
Don't like it. You're racist
75​
24​
Spacey JaneBrothers Me
82​
Nice song, would nominate
36​
25​
Lizzo2 Be Loved (Am I Ready)
82​
Not too bad, catchy some 80s vibes to it
87​
26​
Genesis OwusuGTFO
81​
Cool chilled vibes, autotune pisses me off, could have been really good.
97​
27​
Yung GravyBetty (Get Money)
80​
Upbeat, and fresh
77​
28​
Arctic MonkeysThere'd Better Be A Mirror Ball
80​
Nice but not really selling it to me
47​
29​
RuelGrowing Up Is
80​
Again, without Autotune this could have been great. The.F with Autotune these days
33​
30​
The Kid LaroiThousand Miles
80​
Not Bad
73​
31​
Tame ImpalaNo Choice
79​
Not my favorite Tame Impala song
39​
32​
Central CeeDoja
78​
It's ok for RnB, but not my favorite of songs
42​
33​
BeyoncéBreak My Soul
77​
catchy
64​
34​
The RionsAnakin
76​
It's a standard rock song
55​
35​
Teen Jesus And The Jean TeasersGirl Sports
76​
Nice beats, But really doesn't deliver anything special
92​
36​
Sam FenderAlright
75​
It's Alright
68​
37​
Fisher ft MeryllYeah The Girls
75​
It's ok for a dance tune, could do better
57​
38​
Pacific AvenueLeaving For London
75​
Unremarkable
28​
39​
Luude & MattafixBig City Life
75​
It's reasonable
27​
40​
King StingrayCamp Dog
75​
Not as good as others
6​
41​
Spacey JaneSitting Up
75​
One of their better ones. I don't find Spacey Jane to be groundbreaking. I wouldn't listen to them over any hits from the 70s and 80s
3​
42​
Spacey JaneHardlight
75​
Read above
1​
43​
FlumeSay Nothing [Ft. May-A]
75​
Second song from Flume, and I'm not getting much from it at all. The chorus is too repetitive. It's not terrible, but it's also not groundbreaking
66​
44​
Thelma PlumThe Brown Snake
74​
Good building song, grows on you
96​
45​
G FlipWaste Of Space
73​
Starts off shit, but builds into something interesting, too much repetition
83​
46​
Beddy RaysHandful
72​
Good but just good, a little generic
63​
47​
Teenage DadsTeddy
72​
Got a reasonable beat, and feel
58​
48​
The 1975I'm In Love With You
72​
Rasonable, nice beat
90​
49​
The Smith Street BandI don't wanna Do Nothing Forever
70​
Not bad for punk rodck
69​
50​
Machine Gun Kelly ft Bring Me The Horizonmaybe
70​
Feels Generic, like bits, hate other bits
10​
51​
JojiGlimpse of us
70​
It's ok
7​
52​
LizzoAbout damn time
70​
Slightly better than average
5​
53​
Spacey JaneIt's Been a long day
70​
Pretty much sums up Spacey Jane, good music without being great
2​
54​
Eliza Rose & Interplanetary Criminal B.O.T.AB.O.T.A (Baddest Of Them All)
70​
Not finding this overly inspiring. I'm not invested
71​
55​
Hilltop Hoods Ft AmonShow Business
68​
Nothing special
91​
56​
Florence + The MachineFree
66​
Get's a pass
99​
57​
Phoebe BridgesSidelines
65​
Unremarkable
38​
58​
Bring Me The HorizonsTraNgeRs
65​
Very generic for heavy metal. Unremarkable
30​
59​
Shooting StarsFlume Ft Toro y Moi
65​
average
12​
60​
Jack HarlowFirst Class
65​
Average RnB if you can call it that
59​
61​
Ocean AlleyDouble Vision
64​
Average
34​
62​
Lime CordialeColin
63​
Just not getting a vibe from this song. I'm not feeling it, but admit it's ok
67​
63​
Raye ft 070 ShakeEscapism
60​
Autotune sucks
60​
64​
Lime Cordiale & Idris ElbaCountry Club
60​
average
62​
65​
Ocean AlleyHome
58​
pass
49​
66​
Lil Nas XStar Walkin' (Leage Of Legends Worlds Anthem)
57​
Autotune ruins what could have been a great song
74​
67​
Tate McRaeShe's all I wanna be
56​
mediocre, not keen on the vocals
53​
68​
The Chats6L GTR
55​
Not overly fond of this one
24​
69​
BeyoncéCuff It
55​
Average, very generic
45​
70​
ParamoreThis Is Why
51​
I prefer Classic Paramore, this is mediocre
93​
71​
Lime Cordiale & Idris ElbaHoly Moly
50​
Meh
85​
72​
DMA'sEverybody's Saying Thursday's The Weekend
50​
The Beat is all it's got, poor vocals, weak
26​
73​
Fred AgainJungle
50​
Average
8​
74​
Ball Park MusicStars In My Eyes
50​
I really don't get the appeal with BPM. Music is very bland, and boring.
54​
75​
Hilltop Hoods Ft Montaigne/TomThumA Whole Day's Night
48​
Ordinary
46​
76​
SyccoRipple
48​
Don't get this
52​
77​
Skin On SkinBurn Dem Bridges
45​
I can find better dance music, that beat is crap
21​
78​
Thelma PlumBackseat of my mind
45​
Very uninspiring, generic, simple
19​
79​
SkegssStranger Days
45​
Vance Joy is 100 times better. I hate this crap
4​
80​
Steve LacyBad Habit
45​
Really don't like Steve Lacy at all, or even get the appeal for this artist. Terrible music, no inspiration, annoying repetition.
50​
81​
FlumeSlugger 1.4
42​
I'm not seeing the appeal in this at all
72​
82​
Steve LacyStatic
40​
No real feel to this one
44​
83​
drake & 21 SavageRich Flex
40​
crap
25​
84​
Spacey JanePulling Through
40​
Dross, very uninspiring
14​
85​
Fred AgainDelilah (Pull me out of this)
40​
Very ordinary comared to the better dance tracks. Didn't like
51​
86​
Post MaloneI Like You (A Happier Song)
37​
Autotune sucks, flimsy song, don't like much about this one
98​
87​
MeduzaBad Memories
35​
Vomit
17​
88​
Genesis OwusuGet Inspired
35​
Here we go again. This list is massively degenerating. Absolute garbage
16​
89​
Preach PRCGod is a freak
35​
More b.s autotune. The hell happened with Triple J?
11​
90​
G Flip Ft. Lauren SandersonGay 4 Me
35​
Really, really annoying
37​
91​
Dom Dolla Ft. Clementine DouglasMiracle Maker
33​
Yeah Nah, Plenty of dance music better than this
22​
92​
Doja CatVegas
25​
Another Crappy song, how does this even make it this far
15​
93​
Lime CordialeFacts of life
25​
Incredibly uninspiring, I couldn't be more bored
48​
94​
Fisher & ShermanologyIt's A Killa
24​
Absolute garbage. How do people like this crap
88​
95​
The 1975Oh Caroline
23​
Hard Pass, flimsy, weak vocals
100​
96​
Fried AgainSmile on my Face
20​
Trash, I hate it
61​
97​
Venbee X GoddardMessy In Heaven
20​
Trash, I hate it
23​
98​
Dune RatesAm I Ever gonna see your face again
20​
The original is possibly one of the most pretentious and overrated songs in history, this offers f.all
65​
99​
Peach PRCForever Drunk
15​
This song is a piece of crap, generic, simplistic, repetitive. It's a very simple song with simple samples
20​
100​
SZAShirt
10​
The F. is it with crappy autotune. The worst song so far. I'm going to be sick.

In the end, just the 2 for me (Let's Go and Free) with Telenova the only other to make the 200. I was hoping for Big Thief, Hatchie, The Beths and Fontaines to all make it, but I'm not surprised they didn't. They're pretty much exclusively Double J acts and wouldn't feature for vast majority of voters.

In the end, I still vote and listen to the countdown out of sheer habit, but I'm well aware I've past the demographic of it. For people who are out of touch with JJJ, give Double J a go. That's very much an alternative station whereas JJJ is purely youth.

In the end, just the 2 for me (Let's Go and Free) with Telenova the only other to make the 200. I was hoping for Big Thief, Hatchie, The Beths and Fontaines to all make it, but I'm not surprised they didn't. They're pretty much exclusively Double J acts and wouldn't feature for vast majority of voters.

In the end, I still vote and listen to the countdown out of sheer habit, but I'm well aware I've past the demographic of it. For people who are out of touch with JJJ, give Double J a go. That's very much an alternative station whereas JJJ is purely youth.
I don't think I had any. An Aussie artist I love and are really good didn't even get in at all. Really disappointed.

I found Amy Shark really good, along with Billie English which is often frowned upon for a guy in his 40s

How does 3 tracks from the same artist make the top 10 FFS…..

GOY’s 3 was from an amazing album compared to this….
I don’t mind Spacey Jane, reckon they would have been popular in any era. But they are a bit samey. And certainly their new album doesn’t hold a candle to Go Farther In Lightness, which is a genuine five-star album, imo.

Just listening back through the 2002 countdown before today, these would be my current top 10 (of those that made the 100):

(SPOILERS if you are going to listen live without refreshing)

1. Electrical Storm (U2)
one of my favourite singles to make the ARIA top 10 that decade, and easily the best song they've done this century (well the William Orbit mix anyway). In 2005 I edited together a video of my two dogs soundtracked to this song, so I always think of them (now departed obviously) when I hear this.

2. Across the Night (Silverchair)
one of my favourite Australian singles of the 2000s, remember this always being on the school bus morning radio in the autumn of 2003

3. I Am Mine (Pearl Jam)
one of the tracks primarily responsible for getting me hooked on Pearl Jam, still very partial to that album and tour cycle

4. Show Me How to Live (Audioslave)
probably the track I return to most from that album (which wasn't the case initially)

5. Cochise (Audioslave)
it was the first Audioslave track we got and said what they were all about, one of my fave high school bands

6. The Greatest View (Silverchair)
remember hearing this for the first time one day at Jamberoo Recreation Park, was a little different from their prior opening singles yet still goes hard, chorus remains nostalgic

7. Breaking it Slowly (George)
their singles around that time were really special

8. We Are All Made of Stars (Moby)
the 18 era was just as good as the Play era and this was a good opening single, nice influences and production, catchy chorus

9. Release (George)
this opener wasn't a single but you've no doubt heard it heaps over the years

10. No Reason (Grinspoon)
their singles during this album cycle were all really solid and accessible, and this was the one I most preferred, representative pick

5 Fav albums from 2002:
1. Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (Wilco) - never left my top 10 fave albums since first heard it, around the time I passed my driving test
2. Stanley Climbfall (Lifehouse) - remember getting this during the 2005 easter holidays and I loved every track, was undoubtedly the CD I listened to most in my first car
3. Remission (Mastodon) - this was a grower, I didn't have the ears for it in my initial Mastodon phase, came back to this in about 2018/19 and absolutely loved it
4. Untouchables (Korn) - my fave Korn album, just sounds incredible, bit more gothic-industrial
=5. Gotta Get Through This (Daniel Bedingfield) - like Lifehouse, bit of a guilty pleasure but I remember picking this up on release week, which happened to be a few hours before the 2002 AFL Grand Final, and let's face it there weren't many great male pop albums that decade but this was one of the better ones
=5. Riot Act (Pearl Jam) - like Untouchables it is a bit underrated in their catalogue, a grower that sounds better every time you revisit it, bit more of a Matt Cameron presence, a lot of songwriting shared among the boys
=5. Audioslave (Audioslave) - Out of Exile is the one I love most and I might marginally prefer Revelations too which is a taut front-to-back listen but this still slays

Top 100 doesn't interest me anymore, don't think there was one song on my personal top 10 (though that list was pretty niche and random), but I mean Say Nothing is like quintessentially modern Triple J no.1 material.

In revisiting 2002 I think it was when things started to take a turn for the worse, it is noticeably declined from the prior couple years. It might be down to the artists that in turn released stuff that year. A lot of the typical JJJ-crowd acts released solid radio ready stuff but a bit less in the way of diverse outstanding tracks, more conformed radio edits and that sort of thing. This was the year that Grohl popped up ten times with QOTSA, Foos and a Nirvana track. It's fine, but moving away from 1993-2001 a tad, and not quite taken over yet by garage rock revival/PPR or 2000s indie, still with token rap cuts and several dance cuts.

I don’t mind Spacey Jane, reckon they would have been popular in any era. But they are a bit samey. And certainly their new album doesn’t hold a candle to Go Farther In Lightness, which is a genuine five-star album, imo.

Inoffensive soft rock bands like Spacey Jane have always been popular on JJJ. They are the Something for Kate of this era

Add to that, Triple J push certain artists and songs. If people don't venture out, then those songs gain traction. I know people disagree with my thoughts but Triple J ultimately influences it's listeners and what they listen to and vote for. One of the metal bands got into the top 100 without being in the Triple J playlists but it's rare. Think it was Amity Affliction.

I take the countdown for what it is. It's just a popularity contest and it's been demonstrated psychologically that people generally stick with what's popular, or do what others do because we are influenced by the people around us.

I Thought Swedish House Mafia was a solid tune.

Love the avatar btw. Love Severance.

I just went over the history and Editors only had one song, The National three and not even their best songs.

Add to that, Triple J push certain artists and songs. If people don't venture out, then those songs gain traction. I know people disagree with my thoughts but Triple J ultimately influences it's listeners and what they listen to and vote for. One of the metal bands got into the top 100 without being in the Triple J playlists but it's rare. Think it was Amity Affliction.

I take the countdown for what it is. It's just a popularity contest and it's been demonstrated psychologically that people generally stick with what's popular, or do what others do because we are influenced by the people around us.

I Thought Swedish House Mafia was a solid tune.

Love the avatar btw. Love Severance.

No doubt. Can see why Flume won. Popular sound, popular artist and a song that no doubt is soundtrack to a whole stack of instagirls thirst trap vids. JJJ have pushed certain artists/genres for eternity.

Pretty sure Triple J Ended End of Fashion because they wouldn't write the music Triple J demanded.

Pretty sure I've had a couple of people here on BF dismiss my comments on Triple J Being a closed shop, but here's the article

I thought it was undisputable that Kingsmill & Co are notorious for the push/pull of certain artists.
Well one of my favorite artists RN didn't even get into the top 200. Local talent from Queensland and yet they keep pushing artists like Beyoncé, Macklemore, etc.

1674976905083.png

triple J Hottest 100 of 2022