How do you fix Melbourne?

Reckon Tappy was a mistake, and I was mad keen on him. Wanted him at pick 11, and was ecstatic when he slid to 18. Looks like he slid for good reason: These kids all sound like the nuts in pre-draft reports, but the hype rarely equals the reality.

Not a mistake in overlooking Fyfe, more in taking Tapscott. At least he keeps JT happy.

Talking of kids taken ahead of Fyfe, what was the deal with Gysberts? I admit I've only seen bits and pieces of him but he looked quite average to me (accounting for the fact he was still quite young and inexperienced) and of course in the end Melbourne traded him out.

Yeah, Melbourne's not the only one to blame here, so if you want to mark Tapscott as a failure you shouldn't really factor in that Fyfe was taken two picks after him.
I don't know about Tapscott to be honest. The Adelaide game late last year definitely showed signs. He needs to be played on a HFF in that big-bodied Chapman style role...that's about all he's good for though it seems.

Talking of kids taken ahead of Fyfe, what was the deal with Gysberts? I admit I've only seen bits and pieces of him but he looked quite average to me (accounting for the fact he was still quite young and inexperienced) and of course in the end Melbourne traded him out.
Injuries and a sht attitude. Seems to be doing well early at North. Kind of the opposite of Pedersen, actually. Having said that, it's only NAB Cup and there's everything to play for.

I don't know about Tapscott to be honest. The Adelaide game late last year definitely showed signs. He needs to be played on a HFF in that big-bodied Chapman style role...that's about all he's good for though it seems.
I sat on that flank in the first quarter, he was superb to the point that we were looking at each other in disbelief.

Reckon Tappy was a mistake, and I was mad keen on him. Wanted him at pick 11, and was ecstatic when he slid to 18. Looks like he slid for good reason: These kids all sound like the nuts in pre-draft reports, but the hype rarely equals the reality.

Not a mistake in overlooking Fyfe, more in taking Tapscott. At least he keeps JT happy.

Same here, I was happy to get him, but at the same time I was dirty on the club for passing on Talia for Gysberts. I would have even been happy with Jetta, and we know how that turned out.

He had the amazing game against Geelong. Couldn't get on the park much at all and then when he finally did under Neeld he just didn't seem to give a toss, picked up sub-10 touches which through the midfield is unforgiveable.

North are jizzing over him, but honestly, whatever. His couple of games late last year where he hadn't put on any size and simply didn't look interested meant that I was meh about he was going. If he does well for North, whatever. We'll probably be the losers, but we were the losers if he stayed because he wasn't doing a thing at the Dees anyway.

Injuries and a sht attitude. Seems to be doing well early at North. Kind of the opposite of Pedersen, actually. Having said that, it's only NAB Cup and there's everything to play for.

He only had 3 touches or so down at Geelong last weekend, so he isn't doing THAT well. Agree that Pedersen hasn't exactly set the world on fire.

Same here, I was happy to get him, but at the same time I was dirty on the club for passing on Talia for Gysberts. I would have even been happy with Jetta, and we know how that turned out.
I was mad keen on Talia II over Taggert, and was spitting when we overlooked him. Pretty happy with Frawley and McDonald as our two KPB's; but Garland and Sellar have everything to play for this year. Davis and Gillies too.

He only had 3 touches or so down at Geelong last weekend, so he isn't doing THAT well. Agree that Pedersen hasn't exactly set the world on fire.
I just don't think he's good enough as a ruckman or a forward, but we have to give him time.

I was mad keen on Talia II over Taggert, and was spitting when we overlooked him. Pretty happy with Frawley and McDonald as our two KPB's; but Garland and Sellar have everything to play for this year. Davis and Gillies too.

Oh no doubt, not complaining about our backs in the slightest. Talia was touted as both a CHF/CHB type player, and he would have (possibly) been handy up forward. Better than Gys at any rate.

Our backs kind of sum up our list going into the new season. Frawley and McDonald are really solid, but the depth just haven't done enough to be called reliable yet. If Garland goes back to what he was, and Sellar keeps improving and Gillies flourishes after getting a good go - we might see ourselves do well.

Maybe I'm just tired and jaded after a long day's work, but I reckon this thread should just **** off and die.

I believe it should remain open for now and constructive debate is encouraged.

However, the pointless potshots (people know what they are) are to be avoided. Don't turn this into a thread for Bay 13-style insults.

I believe it should remain open for now and constructive debate is encouraged.

However, the pointless potshots (people know what they are) are to be avoided. Don't turn this into a thread for Bay 13-style insults.

Hey, despite my explicit language, of course it should remain open. It's a discussion board after all, and peeps obvs wanna talk fixing Melbourne. Wierdos.

Oh, and before you were a mod, you used to be cool ;)

Hey, despite my explicit language, of course it should remain open. It's a discussion board after all, and peeps obvs wanna talk fixing Melbourne. Weirdos.

Oh, and before you were a mod, you used to be cool ;)

Hey, I'm still cool! :cool:

The thread was started by a Melbourne supporter by the way. If it was an opposition supporter I'd probably examine the topic post extremely closely.

Give the kid a break mate, he's had one full pre-season and 29 games.

He's got good attributes, give him a chance.

Gysberts was the mistake, but even then we were all high on him for a while but just wondered wtf went wrong in 2011 and 2012.

I don't think he'll get a run at North unless there's injuries to be honest.

To be fair though Jacobs was robbed last year, no way NicNat should've got AA.

I recall having this debate with you in another thread, but Naitanui was definitely a worthy AA. Contentious maybe, but there is no way Jacobs was 'robbed'.

Was me I believe!

My question to BF is what they would do as coach to make Melbourne at least challenging for finals, if not the flag, as soon as possible.
I don't think the current coach is the issue. He can only do so much with the players he has and a good number need some time. At least he is driving the right culture. MFC's issues have been in the admin for a long time. "Sacking" Schwab and then changing course is evidence of the headless chook approach but the only person that has had a big part in MFC off field that I would give 2 bob for was Stynes and that might even go back as far as Norm Smith's sacking.

From time to time the MCC has also been a weight around the neck.

We can go one better and fix both the Bulldogs and the Demons. A simple merger would suffice.
How would that actually help? A short term list improvement doesn't change the quality of administrators or improve decision making.

A person's opinion on merging is a great window into their intelligence. It takes a special kind of nuffy to suddenly up and decide two clubs towards the bottom half of the ladder need to merge to make them better. In five or so years when these sides aren't at the bottom, their names are substituted for whoever is struggling at that one time.

This is usually done by the same posters who have the collective grasp on reality of five year olds.