How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?

Apr 1, 2007
Vic
West Indies
I am a 1st year apprentice and I was wondering what can you do to save money, eat, live and have a good time while earning something like 220 a week!

Fuel - 80 bucks a week
Savings - 50 bucks a week

That leaves me 90 bucks for the week/weekend. It sucks...

How did/do you spend your money being on a low wage? Be it an apprentice or a uni student.

Pre-drink a lot so you don't have to spend much when you go out. Find out the cheaper places. Like where you can get cheap jugs/pots/shots etc. Um duno what else. Maybe if you're not too tired get a shift somewhere during the week after work.

I'm at uni and i earn $400-$550 a week so its not really a problem for me, or most uni students (still living at home) that i know but i do know a lot of tradies in your position.

Nearly all of them have another job. Just like McDonalds or pizza delivery or something like that. Gets another $70-$150 a week and your sweet. Easy money...

Either that or sell drugs... I suppose thats a job too tho..

• Banned
Pre-drink a lot so you don't have to spend much when you go out. Find out the cheaper places. Like where you can get cheap jugs/pots/shots etc. Um duno what else. Maybe if you're not too tired get a shift somewhere during the week after work.
Yeah, Pre-drinking is a good idea. A second job? I don't like the idea of that. Too much effort...espeically with me sometimes working until 7 at night and sometimes on saturdays.
Don't go out every weekend.

Haha, I already do that...
Two words: Mi goreng

Yeah, I eat a lot of them.. Get the 5 packet deals. But I can't eat them at wrk for lunch because we are always on the road, no microwaves in our work ute. Is there some sort of special container which you can keep them in that keeps them nice and hot if you made them in the morning?

Easy to cut out (or reduce) this one... ride a bike to work.

In all seriousness, I for one don't understand why more people don't do this.

I spend $50 on fuel each week.

I could reduce it slightly by riding a bike but not easily.

I live in the SE of Melbourne and make a trip to and from Bendigo each week. + work nights which would include a 40 minute bike ride 2-4 times a week after midnight.

This guy is spending $80 a week on fuel, he's probably doing a pretty solid 100kms a day. Riding probably isn't realistic.

....As for the drinking idea...

I work in a pub, and as I get out and help with the glasses on the floor, I'm amazed by the number of beers/bottles of drinks left alone for ever... ESPECIALLY on tables near to the smoking exit.

It would be easy enough to just pinch someones drink from there and have it for nothing. -I personally wouldn't do it due to moral and hygene issues. But it could be easily done.

As I clean glasses I regularly throw entire beers/bottles of drinks into the bin - which as far as the punters are concerned, it may as well have just been drunk by someone else...

....But no one complains... If you just stick your drink down on a table outside the toilet or smoking area, chances are you're smashed and don't really care about that drink - or you should have concerns of drink spiking and such.

...So if you're comfortable with it... Drink some random peoples drinks :)

Weekly bus tickets is only about 9.60 bucks if you are a student, that would save you a cool 70 right there vs. Of course it depends on how much you drive around but yeah...

I am a 1st year apprentice and I was wondering what can you do to save money, eat, live and have a good time while earning something like 220 a week!

Fuel - 80 bucks a week
Savings - 50 bucks a week

That leaves me 90 bucks for the week/weekend. It sucks...

How did/do you spend your money being on a low wage? Be it an apprentice or a uni student.
i think your being under payed. i get 290 on first year 50 away each week and blow rest on grpg clothes and food,

Easy to cut out (or reduce) this one... ride a bike to work.

In all seriousness, I for one don't understand why more people don't do this.
I could...but I only work like 5 mins away.

I own a VL Commodore, they are fuel whores. I drive a lot after work, and with my girlfriend. I go through a tank a week.

I own a Hyundai, but I semi gave it to my mum. That costs 40 bucks to fill up and would last 2 weeks on a full tank. Should I tell the bitch I want it back? :p
....As for the drinking idea...

I work in a pub, and as I get out and help with the glasses on the floor, I'm amazed by the number of beers/bottles of drinks left alone for ever... ESPECIALLY on tables near to the smoking exit.

It would be easy enough to just pinch someones drink from there and have it for nothing. -I personally wouldn't do it due to moral and hygene issues. But it could be easily done.

As I clean glasses I regularly throw entire beers/bottles of drinks into the bin - which as far as the punters are concerned, it may as well have just been drunk by someone else...

....But no one complains... If you just stick your drink down on a table outside the toilet or smoking area, chances are you're smashed and don't really care about that drink - or you should have concerns of drink spiking and such.

...So if you're comfortable with it... Drink some random peoples drinks :)

I'm not that desperate...

:eek:
i think your being under payed. i get 290 on first year 50 away each week and blow rest on grpg clothes and food,
Yeah, I know. Me and my mate are both 1st year apprentices, hes a plumber and I'm a sparky. But we only get 220 a week..

Isn't that worse then the minimum wage? We calculated what we earnt an hour, it came out like this.

220 bucks a week

That amounts to 44 bucks a day.

We work about 8 to 9 hours a day, so say we do 8 hour days we earn a pitiful 5 and a half dollars an hour!

Am I being under payed? The minimum wage can't be that low can it?

I own a VL Commodore, they are fuel whores. I drive a lot after work, and with my girlfriend. I go through a tank a week.

I own a Hyundai, but I semi gave it to my mum. That costs 40 bucks to fill up and would last 2 weeks on a full tank. Should I tell the bitch I want it back? :p

I'm not that desperate...

:eek:

Yeah, I know. Me and my mate are both 1st year apprentices, hes a plumber and I'm a sparky. But we only get 220 a week..

Isn't that worse then the minimum wage? We calculated what we earnt an hour, it came out like this.

220 bucks a week

We work about 8 to 9 hours a day, so say we do 8 hour days we earn a pitiful 5 and a half dollars an hour!

i think you could be, i got 230 for first 3 months then it got lifted to 290.

do you you get site allowonce or anything?

Pretty easy then.

Don't drive it as much.

When you're going out with your girlfriend, go somewhere close.

220 bucks a week

You're getting ripped off badly.

5 minutes in a car must be what.... 5km? You could do that on a pushie in about 15 minutes. And you'd get fitter in the process.

Probably only save you about 20 bucks a week max though..... maybe you need to talk to your boss about a pay rise! Do you have a union?

PS - before you get up your mum, bear in mind (it sounds like) you're getting free rent and board.... don't bite the hand that feeds ya!

220 bucks a week

My brother is an apprentice electrician, he is paid minimum wage by his employer which is $6.88 an hour. He earns about $230 a week on average after tax and only loses maybe $15-$20 (at maximum) a week in tax because he's an apprentice. He usually works seven hours a day, so 35 for the week.

Your employer is either screwing you over badly (and also illegally) or you are paying a shitload of tax. You might want to have a look into that a bit further.

I am 1st year apprentice Electrician. $8.50 p/h, 38 hour week, 9 Day Fortnight. Works out to about $290bucks a week I think(before tax). 2nd year is about $350, 3rd about $480 and 4th year a tad under $600. It changes every year though.

You must be shit.

I'm a Uni student and only just started getting Youth Allowance (thank F.A.R.C.)

Before that I was living on $140 a week from Red Rooster, with a bit extra from working full weeks elsewhere over the holidays. Obviously this means I had to live with my parents, which put me in a similar situation to what you are in now.

Basically, converting the car to gas was the smartest thing I ever did. 67 cents a litre sucks compared to the 39 I was paying two years ago, but it is still WAY better than $1.70 or whatever it is you suckers are paying for petrol now. If you drive a VL I would imagine that it could be converted, but you should look into this yourself.

Do you buy your lunch whilst out on the job? My brother is an apprentice and he wastes so much money on Maccas for lunch. If you wake up 10 minutes earlier to make your own lunch (just a couple of sandwiches and some fruit should do you) I suspect you will save a fair bit on that front.

Since you are earning bugger all, you should get all/most of your tax back (although I doubt you paid much) and this might be a handy bonus in a couple of months.

As for how much you should be earning in your job, you should look into this yourself - Wageline

Fairdinkum also brought up a good point. Make your own lunch if you don't already. I usually have Thursday as my Maccas/Pie Day. Saves me around $50+ bucks a day. I don't buy anything any other days. Haymans (Clipsal retailer) have a free Brekky Wednesdays which is good aswell :).

My brother is an apprentice electrician, he is paid minimum wage by his employer which is $6.88 an hour. He earns about $230 a week on average after tax and only loses maybe $15-$20 (at maximum) a week in tax because he's an apprentice. He usually works seven hours a day, so 35 for the week.

Your employer is either screwing you over badly (and also illegally) or you are paying a shitload of tax. You might want to have a look into that a bit further.

I'm paying the regular amount of tax. And it's not like I can ask for more money... I'm a first year and it's a 2 man business (me and him).

I am 1st year apprentice Electrician. $8.50 p/h, 38 hour week, 9 Day Fortnight. Works out to about $290bucks a week I think(before tax). 2nd year is about $350, 3rd about $480 and 4th year a tad under $600. It changes every year though.

You must be shit.
Give it a rest ########. Your probably on the same as me...

Tax would take about 70 bucks from that 290. If you calculate your wage after tax it wouldn't be too better then me.
I'm a Uni student and only just started getting Youth Allowance (thank F.A.R.C.)

Before that I was living on $140 a week from Red Rooster, with a bit extra from working full weeks elsewhere over the holidays. Obviously this means I had to live with my parents, which put me in a similar situation to what you are in now.

Basically, converting the car to gas was the smartest thing I ever did. 67 cents a litre sucks compared to the 39 I was paying two years ago, but it is still WAY better than $1.70 or whatever it is you suckers are paying for petrol now. If you drive a VL I would imagine that it could be converted, but you should look into this yourself.

Do you buy your lunch whilst out on the job? My brother is an apprentice and he wastes so much money on Maccas for lunch. If you wake up 10 minutes earlier to make your own lunch (just a couple of sandwiches and some fruit should do you) I suspect you will save a fair bit on that front.

Since you are earning bugger all, you should get all/most of your tax back (although I doubt you paid much) and this might be a handy bonus in a couple of months.

As for how much you should be earning in your job, you should look into this yourself - Wageline
Good post.

Yeah, I want to go gas. But the gas conversion process costs a couple of grand doesn't it? I would need to get a loan to get something like that... Im in no position to get a loan and get myself into debt. :p

I used to spend 100 bucks a week on lunches. 20 bucks a day. Now I pack my lunch everyday, sometimes I treat myself and buy my lunch one day a week.

Well before my apprenticeship I was working with a labouring agency earning nearly 600 a week, and paying a shit load in tax - will I get most of that back?

Give it a rest ########. Your probably on the same as me...

Tax would take about 70 bucks from that 290. If you calculate your wage after tax it wouldn't be too better then me.

Dude I have another mate from TAFE on $7.80 at Shortcircuit Electrical and another one on more than me $8.70 with an Engineering and Contracting mob. Mind you, it is different as you work for a small company. I am one of 2 1st years and there is a 3rd years aswell. I think it comes down to about $235 after tax.

Not bad considering it's a 9 day fortnight. Crap pay once you finish though. Defo wont be sticking around. It's kinda bad because there is to many blokes so we only usually have enough work to last us until 12-1ish. So we spend 2-3 hours doing shit all everyday. Can be abit of a drag. Ah well.

Do you do a TAFE course aswell?

How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?