Hussain and Atherton

Re: hussain/athers

Hussein i gather is their version of Ian Healy - completely one eyed and biased, gets the piss pulled out of him by other commentators.

The Gower/Warne combo works a treat when they commentate together.

Bumble Lloyd - Great commentator, great accent

Warney - Terrific insight into the game, you can see why he's such a great captain in the IPL

Holding - Can be a bit negative but mostly has good views on the game and is not biased

Atherton - Don't mind him, he usually has some interesting views

Hussain - Good as the 3rd man but not as smooth as a full-time commentator

Botham - Not a fan, he's ok but I don't think he really adds anything

Gower - Grumpy old man who seems out of place next to everyone else. Amazingly biased. The way he's ripped into Johnson for most of this series while not mentioning how terrible Stuart Broad is has just been so frustrating

i think some people are being pretty harsh on ch 9. there is no way in hell that sky com team can hold a candle to the ch 9 com tea. can you imagine summer without lawry screaming "gone" or "bang" and without greigy talking about his "aunt" up in the sri lankan hills.

i don't want to hear about stories that happened 30 years ago, most likely i have already heard them and it bores me. the most important thing is that the commentators call the game with spark and life. when Eng are getting thumped that sky com team goes quiet and into depression. how is that good commentary?

You don't want to hear about stories that happened 30 years ago - and yet claim to like the ch 9 comm team ? If you stopped Chappell talking about the 1970's he would be almost mute.

Jesus Christ.

It is an absolute pleasure having Atherton, Hussain, Botham, Lloyd and Gower calling the games. They are 10x better than our crappy commentators. Know their stuff without being know-alls, have interesting and insightful thoughts about the game that you'd never hear on 9 and they bounce off each other brilliantly.

Channel 9 needs a clean out.

Tend to agree. But Botham and Hussain are biased knobs who like to whinge and make excuses. Lloyd and Gower are bloody good and better than anyone we have.

Shane Warne is terrible.

Why don't you rate Warney as a commentator CC?

I've found it extremely interesting listening to him; you can see why, apart from his actual ability, he was so incredibly good - the guy is an absolute genius when it comes to cricket, both tactically and 'mentally.'

Knows his stuff cricket wise no doubt, but is not very intelligent or articulate and this comes across in the booth. This is made even more apparent as the English team are very articulate. As the great Richie Benaud always said... less is more.

Rambles on and on and on and on and on... just seems to talk for the sake of talking. He makes some excellent points but you need to filter out most of the inane waffle to get them. Also repeats points and statements he thinks are important at least 5 times, word for word.

Potential is there due to his deep knowledge but he definitely needs some coaching, and some tips to reduce his butchering of the English language.

Don't get some of the flak Dave Gower's getting, he's a class act just as he was as a player. Nothing wrong with what he says most the time and he adds a lot of poise to the comm box

Whoever that has anything positive to say about Ian bloody Botham need their heads examined, however. Beefy was, is and will always be absolutely woeful.

Knows his stuff cricket wise no doubt, but is not very intelligent or articulate and this comes across in the booth. This is made even more apparent as the English team are very articulate. As the great Richie Benaud always said... less is more.

Rambles on and on and on and on and on... just seems to talk for the sake of talking. He makes some excellent points but you need to filter out most of the inane waffle to get them. Also repeats points and statements he thinks are important at least 5 times, word for word.

Potential is there due to his deep knowledge but he definitely needs some coaching, and some tips to reduce his butchering of the English language.

strongly agree with the above

Personally I usually chuck TMS on.

That lot know how to add to the spectacle, no bias, good fun & serious when they need to be.

Blowers & Tufnell together, totally contrasting characters & yet it works.

Made a bit of a slip getting Hayden in but at least they gave him a go.

The trouble with the sky line up is that it's all a bit samey.

For me with commentators it's not just what they say but how they say it & Beefy, Hussain & Atherton have all got rather monotonous voices that grate after a while.
A great voice goes a long way as Michael Holding shows, or Tony Cozier.

And the eccentric plummy voiced brigade like Henry Blowfeld are great to listen too, even rambling on about pigeons & buses.

Bumble - ripper, great fun, does not take himself seriously at all, his love of the game really shines through

Holding - True legend of the game, no nonsense, speaks with great authority, amazing voice

Athers - really like his rambling drawl, good insights into the game

Nasser - steady but not spectacular

Both - totally lacks the charisma he had on the ground

Gower - all class, one of the best in the biz

SKW – as others have said some good insights into the game but is a bogan who rambles on over and over again about the same stuff (wait a minute...LtD gets a card...SKW appears in the commentary box...surely not...)

Potential is there due to his deep knowledge but he definitely needs some coaching, and some tips to reduce his butchering of the English language

could not agree more..great knowledge of the game but please warney, go on radio if you want to rabble so much

Disagree about some of the love for Holding in thread, he has become a bitter old man of late and is resembling a black version of Ian Chappell.

Bumble is a gun. Love his Twitter work.

Hussain is a flog, and Botham gives me the shits - but the rest of them are excellent.

Everything about the Sky coverage (commentators, graphics etc.) makes C9 look like a pile of garbage. (Which you could argue it is, I suppose)

Bumble is awesome.

I love the way Holding pronounces 'Onions'. "Urn-yarns"

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/YlQk1y00fvc&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/YlQk1y00fvc&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/5XDnOtU3r2k&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5XDnOtU3r2k&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

Jesus Christ.

It is an absolute pleasure having Atherton, Hussain, Botham, Lloyd and Gower calling the games. They are 10x better than our crappy commentators. Know their stuff without being know-alls, have interesting and insightful thoughts about the game that you'd never hear on 9 and they bounce off each other brilliantly.

Channel 9 needs a clean out.

:thumbsu:

And listening to Holding again is just delightful. Dont know why he left Nine but they must get him back.

The two best TV commentators in the game, right now, in my opinion.

That's not necessarily a glowing endorsement of them as the commentary stocks in world cricket are almost as low as the umpiring ones. South African series just past was an all time commentary low.

Holding is Brilliant! I was a bit of a trundler in my day and wish I had someone with his knowledge coaching me. Time and again his bowling insights are fantastic. Sadly I'm from the bush and had zip in the way of coaching:thumbsd:
Nasser is a bit of a drag but all in all they're not a bad commentary team. Bit quiet when things aren't going Englands way however lol!

Oh and the best commentator (more special comments really), by a mile, is Warnie. Always up, having a laugh, chipping the poms, good insights. Legend.
Gees I miss the bloke on the field.