Autopsy "I remember when"

I also went to a day nighter when I had just finished year 12 against India.. Punter made a ton, Ganguly did for India and I think it was the 1st game that both Shane and Brett Lee played in.. being a 17 year old I spent more time looking at the chicks in the crowd and just the general mischief than I did the game I reckon :D

And showing the type of behavior the BCCI today show when one of the Indians got ran out in a tight call the Indian fans cracked the shits and had the game stopped for half an hour or so because they started pegging bottles and rubbish on the ground

Good times

Sounds like it would've been hard getting a taxi that night too. All the drivers were at the cricket! :p

Only cricket game I went to was an ODI against New Zealand at the MCG back in the 90's. Was yelling and chanting so much that night I strained my larynx and couldn't talk for a week. It annoyed the hell out of me, but my brothers thought it was hilarious.

Dean Jones was playing back then, and made 87 or something, and we won easily.

I remember going to the G the day before a one dayer for training back when the nets were outside the ground complex.
As a 7-8 year old kid getting autographs from Lillee, Marsh, Border, Walker, Pascoe, Walters.

To this day i'll never forget seeing Dougie Walters walk out the cages, pulling a pack of smokes out of his thigh pad and lighting on up.

It was the best thing ever. Most horrible habit in the world and I do not condone anything to do with it but for split second there, Dug Walters made it cool .

Then Lillee off the LONG run, Thomo from the other end, Baccus out there talking shit….

AWESOME..

Not to mention the Windies giving it all back with interest….
Marshall, Dujon, Garner, Viv, Lloyd, Dessie, GG… Wow that was a team….

Go Catters

Seeing where in the cricket season-with the Ashes coming up - i will post something in memory lane -relevant to that

I can remember going to the Melbourne Show around 1970 - there was all the usual stuff - rides - side shows - but mixed in with that - they had a net set up - there was Bill Lawry ( who could have been Australian captain at the time) John Scholes and Allan Connolly all in their creams

Scholes was batting - Connolly who was a fast bowler was bowling - and Lawry had the microphone - and was keeping the onlookers informed - re technique wise - after Scholes played certain shots - i can vividly remember after Scholes played one shot - Lawry saying - that was a beautiful cover drive by John Scholes

I dont reckon you would get the Australian captain today - out at the Melbourne show - giving an all day cricket clinic - but back in those days - money hadnt feucked sport up
Heehee, great memories. I attended a junior clinic around that time, run by Alan Connolly. Top bloke! Also got to bowl at Lawry ;) ...and to Paul Sheehen on occasion, as a junior. Good times. Geeez, the pidgeon man was easily upset when a kid whistled one through him :D

You're correct as well. Better times all 'round before we maximised greed, profit and loss.

After I left the Army in 90 I drove for a security company at night.
I worked in Melbourne and lived in Geelong West.

I can clearly remember a particular day night game where the Aussies lost the toss and bowled first.
Which meant I wasn't going to get to see Dean Jones bat.

Called in sick.

I can also remember playing cricket for St Joeys.
It was just a bunch of older guys that I knew playing 6ths for fun so I joined them.

We had one guy who bowled spin. I can't remember his first name, it was a bit strange. Might have been quinten.
But I do remember that he was missing a hand and he had a hook instead.

Often his 15 year old son would be there watching and chatting while we were batting.
A couple of times he filled in and opened.
Who would have known where that kid would end up. Cameron Ling.

I'm not much of a cricket watcher. Have only attended 2 games at the MCG, but they were pearlers. First was the '77 Centenary Test - watching David Hookes demolish Tony Greig,.. Rick McCosker (with broken jaw) support Marsh to a memorable ton,.. and the chants of "Lillee! Lillee! Lillee!" as the great man pummelled the Poms.

The second was Craig McDermott's debut against the Windies. Glad I got to see the great West Indies before their decline. :)

Actually I was there on day 2 of the boxing day test a few years back where Hussey batted with McGrath for ages... Huss got a ton and McGrath made about 15

Agro's cartoon connection was must watch television as you were getting ready for school :)
And after the school the Looney Tunes show with Holly Brisley as the host :D

I remember....​
Cat_zps8db66cbc.jpg
....:D

I remember going to the G the day before a one dayer for training back when the nets were outside the ground complex.
As a 7-8 year old kid getting autographs from Lillee, Marsh, Border, Walker, Pascoe, Walters.

To this day i'll never forget seeing Dougie Walters walk out the cages, pulling a pack of smokes out of his thigh pad and lighting on up.

It was the best thing ever. Most horrible habit in the world and I do not condone anything to do with it but for split second there, Dug Walters made it cool .

Then Lillee off the LONG run, Thomo from the other end, Baccus out there talking shit….

AWESOME..

Not to mention the Windies giving it all back with interest….
Marshall, Dujon, Garner, Viv, Lloyd, Dessie, GG… Wow that was a team….

Go Catters

Cricket at the G in the very early 80s - you would go to non-Aussie games just to see those players from the Windies, India and Pack-it-in-stan just walk on the ground. Also remember getting in for free with about 20,000 other kids (school holidays) to see if Border and Thomo could continue to whittle down 'that' run chase. Alas, the game ended on a sour note, and we may have ended up playing Galaga at Hoyts Mid City before catching The Empire Strikes Back for the tenth time.

What an amazing thread

I remember a Preseason game down at Torquay were this one guy kept ripping it up. Sure there was handy players on the field but he made them all look average. Some Hawk discard somebody said.
Good year that one . Hawk discard. A Carlton reject that was slow than cold honey and a nutjob FF that was more circus act than footballer.

And what about the day we played North at Geelong . Sell out crowd must have been mid 30's. Funny I could sort of remember crowds in the 40 something at sometim in the past. Anyway , it was early 80's and North and Geelong were up there. Sellout , shoulder to shoulder.

Sellout back then was no place to have a phobia about being touched. I talking standing up the city end , like a sardine and if you went for call of nature you may never find your original spot. And back in those days people brought beer to the ground. Not just a can , but slabs. They brought Eskys stacked with ice, 2 or 3 cans a quarter. Messy in big crowds. Of course that changed to a two can purchase , must be opened.

Anyway , the North game started like that. Tight as a fish's proverbial. Then the rain came, and did it come. By half time id say there was only half the crowd left and by the last in the low thousands. If I'm correct North failed to score the second half.

Funny those games when condition were horrid can be the most memorable. I remember driving out to VFl park , a final I think. V Ess? The hail come down on the way there so strong we had to pull over. Then at the ground , miserable rain belt , just sitting there with garbage bags on , not want to move or the timber seats would get wet. Talk about a sitting duck.

In fact going to all the other grounds. Vic Park or Windy Hill. Princess Park. Junction Oval was a good one. One day there , our group got told to go in a certain gate which ended up being wrong. Then before we knew were getting ushered around the ground , inside the boundary and into the Social Club. Great Day. Still remember the bloke next to me of Italian extraction , him yelling "Cum on da Lie-ons"

Great memories. But the one I'll remember to my dying day is standing next to my girls in Q4 in 2007.

After so many painful losses , many when it was over after half time. GF and GF bad results , me being so woundup I could hardly eat , think , anything. Just once I thought , Id be nice to actually enjoy Halftime entertainment at the GF. Stuff a good game I want one when it our was beyond doubt.

Then 2007 happend. And could I enjoy it? Your kidding. If we could kick enough to be 50 somehing up , they could kick enough to get back. I could just see it , "best GF ever" and Geelong being on the wrong end of it again. But then we came out and kept going. 90 something at 3/4 time and I knew it but I didn't. Is this real? Then in the last , to be singing the song before the end of the game, with my children. What can I say. Thats a memory that I hope never to lose.

Great thread:thumbsu:

I played a cricket game against a team with Paul Sarah playing . Good bowler as I recall, moved it both ways. We were rolled for not very many. Those days they didn't mind players turning up for a game or two in summer

Actually I was there on day 2 of the boxing day test a few years back where Hussey batted with McGrath for ages... Huss got a ton and McGrath made about 15
I was in a superbox on boxing day when warney got his 700th.
Cost me $500. But it was bloody worth it.

I remember Billy Brownless spruiking outside a Butcher's shop on Moorabool Street, I think it was about 1998. I was walking with a mate, we were both about 14 or 15 at the time, and Billy, mid sentence changed what he was saying to "Well whatta we got here a couple of likely lads on the prowl for some girls no doubt good luck boys ah to be young and have hair again" before continuing on with that he was saying. More than a few people walking past had a chuckle.

This is a show I remember as a kid...

Did you ever put your old toe-nails in an envelope and send them to Claude the Crow? Gotta love 'kids' entertainment back in the day. Guys are doing time now for such 'normal' behaviour. :D

small edit - for those to young to know, Claude was a crow puppet on Shirl's left who requested kids to send in 'dirty' stuff for his 'collection'. Hard to believe, but very true.

Agro's cartoon connection was must watch television as you were getting ready for school :)
ha ha. I grew up watching the road runner, bugs bunny, Milton the monster.

After school it was always Shirls neighbourhood

And what about the day we played North at Geelong . Sell out crowd must have been mid 30's. Funny I could sort of remember crowds in the 40 something at sometim in the past. Anyway , it was early 80's and North and Geelong were up there. Sellout , shoulder to shoulder.

Anyway , the North game started like that. Tight as a fish's proverbial. Then the rain came, and did it come. By half time id say there was only half the crowd left and by the last in the low thousands. If I'm correct North failed to score the second half.

I remember that game.
I dont remember it being in the 30's

All I remember is we took our neighbour with us (he was my age)
And my dad had to take him home at 1/2 time he was so frozen.

I wasn't going anywhere. We were a couple of rows from the fence on the wing.

And that's the game where Ian Nankervis somehow found himself in the forward pocket.
He dodged and weaved around a few and snapped it through in torrential rain.

What an amazing thread

I remember a Preseason game down at Torquay were this one guy kept ripping it up. Sure there was handy players on the field but he made them all look average. Some Hawk discard somebody said.
Good year that one . Hawk discard. A Carlton reject that was slow than cold honey and a nutjob FF that was more circus act than footballer.

Sellout back then was no place to have a phobia about being touched. I talking standing up the city end , like a sardine and if you went for call of nature you may never find your original spot. And back in those days people brought beer to the ground. Not just a can , but slabs. They brought Eskys stacked with ice, 2 or 3 cans a quarter. Messy in big crowds. Of course that changed to a two can purchase , must be opened.

Funny those games when condition were horrid can be the most memorable. I remember driving out to VFl park , a final I think. V Ess? The hail come down on the way there so strong we had to pull over. Then at the ground , miserable rain belt , just sitting there with garbage bags on , not want to move or the timber seats would get wet. Talk about a sitting duck.

In fact going to all the other grounds. Vic Park or Windy Hill. Princess Park. Junction Oval was a good one. One day there , our group got told to go in a certain gate which ended up being wrong. Then before we knew were getting ushered around the ground , inside the boundary and into the Social Club. Great Day. Still remember the bloke next to me of Italian extraction , him yelling "Cum on da Lie-ons"

Great memories. But the one I'll remember to my dying day is standing next to my girls in Q4 in 2007.

After so many painful losses , many when it was over after half time. GF and GF bad results , me being so woundup I could hardly eat , think , anything. Just once I thought , Id be nice to actually enjoy Halftime entertainment at the GF. Stuff a good game I want one when it our was beyond doubt.

Then 2007 happend. And could I enjoy it? Your kidding. If we could kick enough to be 50 somehing up , they could kick enough to get back. I could just see it , "best GF ever" and Geelong being on the wrong end of it again. But then we came out and kept going. 90 something at 3/4 time and I knew it but I didn't. Is this real? Then in the last , to be singing the song before the end of the game, with my children. What can I say. Thats a memory that I hope never to lose.

Great thread:thumbsu:
Great post:thumbsu:

ha ha. I grew up watching the road runner, bugs bunny, Milton the monster.

After school it was always Shirls neighbourhood

Was watching Milton this morning while having breakfast (I have a Sat. morning ritual of watching old favourites) - have the complete set on DVD. Flukey Luke is especially hilarious. He stopped gangster Spider Webb (giddet?) from robbing Stiffanies (giddet??) of the Hopeless Diamond (giddet???). Again, guys are in jail now for writing this material. Thigh-slapping stuff. :D

I remember that game.
I dont remember it being in the 30's

All I remember is we took our neighbour with us (he was my age)
And my dad had to take him home at 1/2 time he was so frozen.

I wasn't going anywhere. We were a couple of rows from the fence on the wing.

And that's the game where Ian Nankervis somehow found himself in the forward pocket.
He dodged and weaved around a few and snapped it through in torrential rain.

You prompted me to look it up , shows how memory can be blurred.
Pretty sure this was the game due to Norths score. NM 2nd V Geelong 3rd at KP , those were the days

Geelong 1.3 5.6 11.6 13.6 84 Sat 28-Jun-1980 2:10 PM Att:21,555 Venue: Kardinia Park
North Melbourne 3.2 4.3 4.3 4.3 27 Geelong won by 57 pts [Match stats]
Ladder after Rd 14
RI 14 50 142.5
GE 14 40 122.3
CA 14 40 116.3
NM 14 36 121.5
HW 14 32 104.2
CW 14 30 104.0
SM 14 28 97.6
ES 14 24 107.0
ME 14 20 85.5
SK 14 14 73.5
FO 14 12 76.7
FI 14 10 80.8

Still , looking at the numbers there was big crowds at KP that year
Anzac Day V Hawks ...34,498
16Aug V Pies ...42,278

Hey sort shows those team were our natural adversaries even back then

At least my memory is correct that I Nankervis kicked a goal!
All my childhood memories would have come into doubt if he didn't :D

I can remember when channel 0 stopped being channel 0
What was it never called channel zero?

As my sergeant in the army used to drill into us. "it's zero. ****s say Oh!"

:)