If you could draft any player from history?

Surprised there is no love for Leigh Mathews. Voted the player of the century and also won 4 flags as a coach so could potentially be coaxed back to help the club a long time after the playing career is over.

His physique lets him down imo. Who would want a 178cm mid over a big bulls like Cripps, Trac, Danger or Dusty. Might have the better balls skills but good luck trying win the contest against these blokes who have like 10kg and 10cm on you and are most likely faster.

He also can’t thug his way to victory with todays rules either.

His physique lets him down imo. Who would want a 178cm mid over a big bulls like Cripps, Trac, Danger or Dusty. Might have the better balls skills but good luck trying win the contest against these blokes who have like 10kg and 10cm on you and are most likely faster.

Lachie Neale is pretty good at 178.

True, but his role is obsolete in the modern game. Forwards even go down and help the team get it out of defence in the modern game. I don’t quite see Lockett running up and down the ground all day. It doesn’t really matter it’s all hypothetical and opinion based.

I agree 100%, locket has very few athletic traits and lacks the height or endurance to be a key forward in the modern game. Tom Hawkins is 197cm (7cm bigger than locket) and a mountain of strength with a huge vertical leap, and he still had to reinvent himself to be a modern day player. Locket wouldn’t have had a chance.

Playing what position exactly?? Sitting out of FF at190cm with 203cm key defenders punching the ball away and defenders dropping back on him?? I reckon he wouldn’t stand a chance

Lachie Neale is pretty good at 178.

Yeah, but I’d rather Trac, Cripps and Dusty over Neale. I would not go out and purposely draft a short mid as a centrepiece for my team. I’d get more value from other positions/types of players.

Out of interest how do you imagine Ablett Snr being played in the modern game given his height (185cm)? I mean he would obviously still be extremely good but I imagine he would need to play a different role to what he actually played.

He'd do exactly what he did for the first 10 years of his career, play wing, centre, hff and dominate.

Lethal Lee would absolutely kill it now.
He'd bulldoze people at cb.

Then he goes fwd. Tall bloke on him and he's way too agile.

Short bloke on him and he's way too good overhead.

Same as GAJ.

They'd be absolutely deadly.

Think de goey but heaps better.

I rate Charlie Cameron highly but Jesus christ.

Gaj and lethal.would be absolutely diabolical for opposition.

Think dusty but way better overhead. Gaj can do dusty and then take a hanger on the head of Harris andrews.

Yes. As great as he was in his era, he would struggle against the modern day athletes

Have u ever seen Leigh Matthew's?

His physique is bizarre.

Almost unworldly and genetically designed for footy.

He's 5 foot wide. Strong as an ox. Skillful. Agile.
Athletic.

He's a freak.

None of those players u mentioned would stop him. .

Next ur gonna tell aker is no good.

Out of interest how do you imagine Ablett Snr being played in the modern game given his height (185cm)? I mean he would obviously still be extremely good but I imagine he would need to play a different role to what he actually played.
He's like Heeney but ten times better at absolutely everything.

I agree 100%, locket has very few athletic traits and lacks the height or endurance to be a key forward in the modern game. Tom Hawkins is 197cm (7cm bigger than locket) and a mountain of strength with a huge vertical leap, and he still had to reinvent himself to be a modern day player. Locket wouldn’t have had a chance.

Playing what position exactly?? Sitting out of FF at190cm with 203cm key defenders punching the ball away and defenders dropping back on him?? I reckon he wouldn’t stand a chance
Jack darling is 193 cm and Lockett is about 10 times better than JD at every single facet of the game.

Charlie curnow is 192cm and Lockett is ten times better at every single facet of the game.

Seriously.

Not sure if ur joking.

But if u think curnow and darling are better than Lockett then I have no words.

Plugger kicks 127.goals aged 21 but apparently he's not an athlete.

I mean Jesus christ.

Who u gonna put on him? Seriously?

Good luck. Put a tall on him ..no chance.
Put a short on him..no chance.

Bloke was lightning on a lead. Could crumb. Brilliant below his knees.

Most deadly kick of all time.

And ur telling.me jack darling has him covered??

And yes plugger could tackle way better than darling or curnow.

Ablett Snr played 6 games for Hawthorn in '82, played bush footy in '83 then went to Geelong in '84.

After 9 games at Geelong, so 15 in total in 3 seasons, he gets picked for Victoria to play State of Origin against WA. He kicked 8 off a hff in WA. The WA commentators didn't even know his name for the first half.

This isn't an indication of how poor the league was, that such an inexperienced player could kick 8 against the best of the best after only 15 games in total over 3 seasons, it was an indication of how much better he was than everyone else.

Jack darling is 193 cm and Lockett is about 10 times better than JD at every single facet of the game.

Charlie curnow is 192cm and Lockett is ten times better at every single facet of the game.

Seriously.

Not sure if ur joking.

I mean Jesus christ.

They tested Lockett up against some serious athletes at the time and he was Top 5 over the first 20m .... and he took plenty of hangers .... kicking snap goals from 60m out .... was as good on his left as on his right .... total freak player ... also kicked 10.7 on the Full Back of the Century .... would have easily surpassed 1600 goals if it wasnt for injuries .... anyone who says he wasnt athletic has no idea

Have u ever seen Leigh Matthew's?

His physique is bizarre.

Almost unworldly and genetically designed for footy.

He's 5 foot wide. Strong as an ox. Skillful. Agile.
Athletic.

He's a freak.

None of those players u mentioned would stop him. .

Next ur gonna tell aker is no good.

I don’t think anybody would be drafting Aker for their first pick either. Lethal would still be a good player but first pick for todays game? I just don’t see it.

Also footy skills do not equal athletic capabilities. I see a lot of people conflating the two. On pure strength Cripps, Dusty and Hawkins would eat Lethal alive. That’s not a joke.

I don’t think anybody would be drafting Aker for their first pick either. Lethal would still be a good player but first pick for todays game? I just don’t see it.

Also footy skills do not equal athletic capabilities. I see a lot of people conflating the two. On pure strength Cripps, Dusty and Hawkins would eat Lethal alive. That’s not a joke.

Lethal would snap Dusty in half

Seriously.

Not sure if ur joking.

I mean Jesus christ.

Jack darling and curnow are very fit mobile athletic forwards who bounce around the ground. If you think someone who is 190cm and has no aerobic tank could just sit there leading out and wrestling 200cm key defenders all day and the mass flooding back against all full time professional athletes than your probably a bit out of touch. Nobody can sit there and play the old fashioned way locket did in that era. He wouldn’t get very far.

Could locket reinvent himself up and down the field all day from FF to midfield up and down??

The closest comparison to locket in modern game is Hawkins, and look how far that got him early on, he had to go back to the drawing board and reinvent his playing style to add a lot more to his game. Locket would have to do the same.

If you could draft any player from history?