If you could draft any player from history?

So to prove your point, you compare a guy like Buddy to Sautner?

Did you watch Michael play?
Sautner was an all-time great in the second-best league in the country, and couldn't make it at the top level. Michael was a very good player in, at best, the fourth-best competition in the county, and never played at the top level. So yeah, seems a pretty good comparison.

Edit - found a pretty close comparison - would you say Vic Aanensen is the greatest player to ever play the game - or a very good player in a local competition?

No, I didn't see a local footballer play in a substandard competition 40 years ago. There is no way a 188cm ruckman would dominate today's AFL, let alone the 1980's.
We all walk on eggshells pandering to the delusional WA supporters trying not to hurt their feelings, but no player ever decided to challenge themselves to play at a higher level by leaving Victoria to play in WA. Some did it for money, some did it for lifestyle. But never once in history did anyone consider the WAFL remotely close to the VFL. To say a good player in your local league was among the greatest players of all time when never having challenged himself at the top level is absolutely laughable and embarrassing for you (and the annual drunken footy trips that the Vic team took for fun do not count).

Sautner was an all-time great in the second-best league in the country, and couldn't make it at the top level. Michael was a very good player in, at best, the fourth-best competition in the county, and never played at the top level. So yeah, seems a pretty good comparison.

Edit - found a pretty close comparison - would you say Vic Aanensen is the greatest player to ever play the game - or a very good player in a local competition?

Given you never saw him play, you wouldn't have a clue

So a 188 cm, ruckman from a local competition who was never tested at the top level should be first drafted if you can put every AFL play in history into a draft? The WA inferiority complex is out of control.
Stephen Michael won the WAFL B+F with Maurice Rioli and Brad Hardie as team-mates. You can dismiss Hardie's Brownlow and 3 Tassie medals if you have to, but you'll have to work hard to dismiss Rioli's 3 All-Australians, 2 Richmond B+Fs and Norm Smith.

But, yeah, pretty shitty local competition...

I'm East Fremantle so it's particularly high praise when I say Michael was one of the most influential/impactful players I have ever seen.

You are just talking out of your arse.

All this horsecock about "great player in a local competition" - were either of your mates Sautner or Aanenson made captain of the All Australian side?

They didn't even make it in the VFL, mate. The VFL came begging Michael to play.

Seriously, you need a little bit of actual knowledge if you're going to be successful as an edge-lord.

All this horsecock about "great player in a local competition" - were either of your mates Sautner or Aanenson made captain of the All Australian side?

They didn't even make it in the VFL, mate. The VFL came begging Michael to play.

Seriously, you need a little bit of actual knowledge if you're going to be successful as an edge-lord.

State of Origin died because it was a kick and giggle for Victorians, nobody took it seriouslt, but it was the biggest moment of their lives for second and third tier SA and WA players. Has about as much relevance as Melbournes win in AFLX.

Stephen Michael won the WAFL B+F with Maurice Rioli and Brad Hardie as team-mates. You can dismiss Hardie's Brownlow and 3 Tassie medals if you have to, but you'll have to work hard to dismiss Rioli's 3 All-Australians, 2 Richmond B+Fs and Norm Smith.

But, yeah, pretty shitty local competition...

I'm East Fremantle so it's particularly high praise when I say Michael was one of the most influential/impactful players I have ever seen.

You are just talking out of your arse.
To say a player that never played at the top level is an all-time great is just laughable.

A player in his prime better than an 18 year. I'm shocked!!!

Dominating local footy hardly compares with the top league. I've seen players dominate a game at Vermont that wouldn't get a touch in the AFL. A 188 cm ruckman is not making it in AFL football. The pandering to WA and South Australians to pretend their local clubs were anywhere near the top competition is just embarrassing for all involved.

Christ on a bike.
You're talking about Stephen Michael

Out of interest how do you imagine Ablett Snr being played in the modern game given his height (185cm)? I mean he would obviously still be extremely good but I imagine he would need to play a different role to what he actually played.
He was a winger when he started so I would imagine he would be a mid , however he could still dominate at HF like he did in his career

giphy.gif

OK, a 188 cm ruckman is going to be the first drafted in the current AFL history.....

Perth was a large country town with a third tier local comp, but to pander to the current population so the AFL can make money off them we all have to pretend their local comp was up there with the best competition out of the major city. it is just cringeworthy.

TI regularly played against a ruck Brownlow Medallist (rare buggers they are), and came out on top.

Thumped Don Scott & Simon Madden ......

Quit whilst your behind, in the 80’s WA was not a fourth best competition.

Don’t comment on things that you have not researched or know nuppin about.

I rate TI above Cox, easily. Hey Cox was not bad by the way.

I didn't have access to interstate local footy 40 years ago. How much of Vermont's 1980's dynasty did you watch? Probably about the same, but I don't try and say their players are the greatest to ever play the game.
Were any of those Vermont players lauded by their interstate peers, voted by their cultural group as the best ever player of that culture out of a history full of brilliance, or made All Australian captain?

State of Origin died because it was a kick and giggle for Victorians, nobody took it seriouslt, but it was the biggest moment of their lives for second and third tier SA and WA players. Has about as much relevance as Melbournes win in AFLX.
State of Origin died because the Vics…. realised that maybe they weren’t the invincibles.

But sure, keep playing the role, arrogance and ignorance suits you.

To say a player that never played at the top level is an all-time great is just laughable.

A player in his prime better than an 18 year. I'm shocked!!!
You know that when he played, there was no “AFL top level”. There were state competitions.

Why don’t you do SOME history?

State of Origin died because the Vics…. realised that maybe they weren’t the invincibles.

But sure, keep playing the role, arrogance and ignorance suits you.
The only reason state of origin was introduced was because of interstate supporters sooking that all their best players were in the highest level of the game, the VFL

Actually, correct, you reinforce my point.

The VFL was not all Victorian players, and yet Victorians claimed it as some kind of proof that Victorian footballers were better.
Which wasmshot down once SoO started, and then not supported by the AFL with its VFL hat on.

Who would be closest to Stephen Michael in the last 10 years in the AFL?
Thinking maybe Adam Goodes?
I never saw Michael play but he is often mentioned as the greatest WA player so he must have been handy.

If you could draft any player from history?