Intermittent fasting

BCAA are amino's aka protein - so 4 calories per gram (total 40 cals).

Ah yeah, of course,that makes sense.

If you wanted to be a cheapskate I guess you could have 10 grams of whey. You wouldn't get the same concentrate % of the 'branch chain' ones but you'd at least be getting 10 grams of the total.

40 cal. isn't actually too bad in a fasted state. i don't think that would affect your GH and Insulin levels too badly. It's about the same as having a coffee with a splash of milk.

And another quote:

BCAA vs whey
What's all this fuss about BCAA and could we not use another protein source such as whey protein? Strictly speaking, no. BCAA contains the three major amino acids intimately involved in activating muscle protein synthesis, including leucine which is the key player. Whey protein contains 25% BCAA. Other high-quality protein sources, such as meat, contain 17-18% BCAA. To get an equivalent amount of BCAAs into circulation during the fasted state would require 120-180 g protein from these sources. That's more than 500 calories (120 g protein plus tag-along carbs and fat), which is not far from a medium sized meal.

With BCAAs we are getting maximal benefits with regards to muscle protein synthesis for a minimal caloric load. The latter point being important to maintain the fasted state and to allow for a liberal 8-hour feeding window later in the day.

You can get bcaa for around $50 per kg, which will give you 33 training days worth (assuming 3 serves per day).

Assuming you train 4 days per week, that's little over 8 weeks worth.

Still expensive, but not massively.

So evo what's the deal with a 36 hour fasts and lifting on the fast day? Do you do it or have a day off?

Just thought I'd read that you should eat within a couple of hours of doing weights usually.

Was thinking of trying the 36 hour window but I don't take any supps or anything so I wouldn't be eating until 12 hours after the workout.

I don't lift on the fast day; I make the fast day a day I would've been resting anyway. But I lift on the morning just before or just after I break the fast. So last meal 8.30pm - fast all next day - train about 9am the following morning - eat.

So evo.

Was thinking of trying the 36 hour window but I don't take any supps or anything so I wouldn't be eating until 12 hours after the workout.

12 hours is too long I reckon. Arrange your fast so you eat soon after you train.

From my experience meal timing is irrelevant however I know people who swear by intermittent fasting. Some prefer to train on a full stomach and some prefer in a fasted state. Really it's whatever works for you however don't underestimate the placebo effect.

I have been worried about training during a fast, because most of what i do is on a 'half ball'. Worried about losing my balance and falling off.

Anyway i did another fast yesterday and enjoyed it. Will do it again thursday or friday.

I'm 16 hours into my fast. I've read the eat stop eat book and trying to follow his methods. Will probably go for a short run at around 22 hours then break the fast at 24.

Very happy I got into this been feeling better than I have in a long time.

Swim, eat then fast?
fast -> swim -> eat then lift weights

I've sort of gravitated towards swimming because I'm too lazy to do those interval sprints and swimming seems the next best thnig to get you into that really good fat burning zone. What do they call it, Vo2 Max or something?

Instead of working out fasted, I've started going for a swim just before I break the fast. Seems to work well; burns heaps of calories.

Yeah I did the 36 hour fast last week and was planning on doing weights before breaking it, but when the time rolled around I didn't feel in any condition to be cranking out deadlifts so I did some yoga instead. Even that was a bit of a stuggle.

Did weights later that evening instead (after breaking the fast in the morning) and found I had heaps of energy.

Another benefit of fasting is that it makes you more mindful of what you eat.

definitely. the psychology of it plays a big part I reckon.

I've even started getting into juicing now. Which is funny because the last 25 years I never gave shit what I ate now I'm drinking celery, apple and carrot juice every day. Combined with fasting every now and them I've got more energy now at 46 than I had at 25 I reckon.

I'm turning into this dude LOL...

watch

Hi guys, came in here to create a thread about IF, but already had been created..my mate pointed me into IF's direction a week ago..so I have been trialing the 16/8 leangains method...and I am suprised at how easy it is..at first I was feeling weird because I had not eaten anything but now i'm on my 5th day and it's been smooth sailing..

It's great reading about other people doing it and their stories, I will keep you all posted on my development also...

HEy evo sorry for bugging you mate, but you seem to be knowledgeable about this topic - some of my mates want to get into it but they don't lift, can they still use IF as a weight loss program without lifting?? They will be keeping at a defecit and they do work out with swimming/running etc. so obviously that will help lose weight but will IF improve the rate of weight lost? cheers if you can help :)

It should work fine. One of the main benefits is eating larger size meals rather than lots of small ones. They'd probably have a bit more flexibility (as they dont need to structure meals around weights) so might even be able to go up to 20/4 if they feel like it.

HEy evo sorry for bugging you mate, but you seem to be knowledgeable about this topic - some of my mates want to get into it but they don't lift, can they still use IF as a weight loss program without lifting?? They will be keeping at a defecit and they do work out with swimming/running etc. so obviously that will help lose weight but will IF improve the rate of weight lost? cheers if you can help :)
It will definitely work well for people who don't lift weights. I agree with CFOL that they can be more flexible. In fact in some ways they are at advantage to guys who are keen to put on muscle in that they can be more aggressive with it. On days I'm not fasting I go into calorie surplus so I can put on muscle so for much of the week I'm actually reversing what I achieved during the fast. However if you are just concerned with losing body fat on the days that you do eat you can still be calorie deficit thus attacking fat loss constantly.

dont need to do it every day
if you can source it, get the documentary "Eat, Fast and Live Longer" goes into some of the science and different ways of achieving a weight loss via fasting or calorie restriction. the host did 2 days of 600cals to achieve his results, and its quite visible at the end of the program

It will definitely work well for people who don't lift weights. I agree with CFOL that they can be more flexible. In fact in some ways they are at advantage to guys who are keen to put on muscle in that they can be more aggressive with it. On days I'm not fasting I go into calorie surplus so I can put on muscle so for much of the week I'm actually reversing what I achieved during the fast. However if you are just concerned with losing body fat on the days that you do eat you can still be calorie deficit thus attacking fat loss constantly.

As a female i don't 'lift', i do very light weights on a half ball with squats. I love swimming so swam 1.5kms towards then end of my fast yesterday, which was awesome. Would you suggest i keep a calorie deficient diet on my non fast days?

(lol, you've been appointed the IF oracle ;))

It depends how aggressive you want to be, nicky. I reckon in some ways it is preferable to have a 'cheat' day once or twice a week where you treat yourself and go into calorie surplus. It is good to keep the body guessing and keeps the metabolism nice and high. After all that is how our ancestors ate - some days they were eating 3000 calories, then 2000 calories another day, then nothing at all for a day. As long as you're in deficit as a total for the week, and have substantial periods where you are eating nothing at all, the body has a good opportunity to burn fat ( especially if you're exercising as well).

dont need to do it every day
if you can source it, get the documentary "Eat, Fast and Live Longer" goes into some of the science and different ways of achieving a weight loss via fasting or calorie restriction. the host did 2 days of 600cals to achieve his results, and its quite visible at the end of the program

It's on page 1 of the thread ;)

Intermittent fasting