Is it time for a Demolition Derby ?

• Thread starter Thread starter Topdock65

Consider yourself, our mate.;)

Don't even joke about that Keyser. (Cool name by the way, great movie*)

I'd sooner pull out my own teeth with pliers and become a Collingwood supporter than ever barrack for the eagles.

*The greatest trick the eagles crowd ever pulled was being so quiet and lifeless they convinced the world they didn't exist ;)

Don't even joke about that Keyser. (Cool name by the way, great movie*)

I'd sooner pull out my own teeth with pliers and become a Collingwood supporter than ever barrack for the eagles.

*The greatest trick the eagles crowd ever pulled was being so quiet and lifeless they convinced the world they didn't exist ;)

And just like that, pfft, Freo were gone.:p

Surely it wouldn't hurt too much pulling out those last couple of teeth.

I'd try explaining it to you but glory hunting bandwagoners never understand.

This thread is pathetic. :thumbsd:

Shows how childish both WCE and Freo supporters are.

I feel ashamed to be a West Australian.:o

You're ashamed to be West Australian, I'm ashamed to be a perfectly good Queenslander supporting a West Australian club instead of the home one. However if there's one thing you have to love it's the atmosphere that the derby builds. It really is a spectacle, even if the game itself isn't sometimes. Hell it's the entertainment of the week.

Oh and for those concerned I'm not a freagle, just a frion ;)

A fitting farewell

1st August 2007, 6:30 WST

Fremantle are almost certain to honour a request from club stalwart Troy Cook to let him play the three AFL games he needs to reach the 150-game milestone and become eligible for life membership before retiring.

Cook is out of contract at the end of the year and is unlikely to be offered a new deal. He has played six games this year to take his Dockers tally to 147.

Players who amass 150 games for Fremantle are nominated for life membership and only five have reached that milestone: Shane Parker (238), Shaun McManus (212), Matthew Pavlich (170), Paul Hasleby (162) and James Walker (151), with Peter Bell (145) on the verge if he remains injury free.

Cook, the 2000 best-and-fairest winner, hasn’t been selected since round 12 but has been an emergency in the past two games. His manager, Peter Gilkison, said the veteran was desperate to achieve life membership.

“Troy has approached the club and made them aware that he only needs three games to get to 150 and he’s asked for the opportunity to do that,” Gilkison said.

“He’s never asked for much during his career and he’s always been a team man. He would love to be a life member because it would allow him to be part of, and help to build, the club’s tradition.”

Fremantle coach Mark Harvey received an emotional farewell game during his illustrious career at Essendon and said he believed sentiment still had a place in the AFL.

Harvey was rested for round 21, 1997, to be fit for the last home game of the season, when the 14th-placed Bombers shocked eventual premiers Adelaide in what was also Kevin Sheedy’s 400th game as coach.

The Dockers are unlikely to play finals, so the round-21 match against Melbourne will be their last home game this year.

The club has an opportunity to give Cook and Parker, the games record holder, a farewell in the same match.

Parker, 34, who will also retire, has played only seven games this year. A hamstring injury will keep him out for at least one more match.

His manager, Wayne Loxley, said Parker was more interested in being part of Cook’s celebrations than having any tribute to himself.

“Shane would love to be involved in Troy Cook’s 150th game,” Loxley said. “He’s got such a team focus and Troy is one of the club’s real team men. Whether home or away, Shane would love to celebrate with him.”

The Dockers face a delicate balancing act in the next five weeks.

Upgraded rookie Andrew Foster, young midfielder Garrick Ibbotson and ruckman Robbie Warnock are likely to have increased opportunities.

Warnock is almost certain to play in Sunday’s western derby after Aaron Sandilands (hernia) was ruled out for the rest of the season. Cook will come into calculations because of his vigour.

West Coast stars Chad Fletcher and David Wirrpanda will try to prove their fitness today.

But premiership midfielder Sam Butler suffered another blow in his bid to force his way back into the team when he injured a groin in the WAFL last weekend. He is expected to be sidelined for two weeks.

CRAIG O’DONOGHUE

I'd try explaining it to you but glory hunting bandwagoners never understand.

Just so you know Keyser, I wasn't talking to you with this post. Rip or Sabre deleted the post I was responding to but left mine up there.

You are a glory hunting bandwagon eagles fan too though. ;)

estibador, you are the type of supporter that makes the rest of us look bad.:thumbsd:

This thread is pathetic. :thumbsd:

Shows how childish both WCE and Freo supporters are.

I feel ashamed to be a West Australian.:o

Zolloz, 1st I am as proud Western Australian as you can get...

The WCE are 1/16th of the AFL and are based in WA, But because of that does`nt mean we have to support them or support both WA Teams.

Freo fans support Freo, thats it...

Esti has written nothing to be ashamed of...

I just dont get where your coming from.. And I say that with respect and not having a go at your personally.

Cheers .

estibador, you are the type of supporter that makes the rest of us look bad.:thumbsd:

You're the type of fencesitting supporter nobody likes zolloz. Give me a real eagles supporter like Keyser to have a bit of a joust with any day over a Freagle like you.

All around the world people enjoy a bit of friendly (and sometimes not so friendly) banter with their local rivals. It's half the enjoyment of following a team. But you seem to be stuck in some time warp where all us good West Aussies need to band together against the bad men from the east.

If you want to be a Freagle that's fine but don't try to hold yourself up as some example of a superior supporter. Real eagles fans hate Freagles as much as we do. Plus when push comes to shove we know where a Freagle's loyalties really lie, and you've proved that in the past - I've seen you write far more derogatory comments about Freo than you ever do about the eagles.

I really don't get it either.

Not once have I ever stated that somone should support more than one AFL team (even though it's ok to do so).

But I will make this simple for my fellow Freo supporters and the Eagles supporters who only get enjoyment from harrassing Freo and watching them lose.

There is no need to hate another team just because they are the opposition or because they are from the same state. Derbies are great but there's no need to carry on like a raving lunatic out for blood.

I get enjoyment from watching my team play well and win. It has nothing to do with the other team except they are the current opposition.

But it seems alot of people seem to only get enjoyment from watching other teams lose even when their team isn't playing them!

Yes, I have read comments of people stating that they would rather see another team lose than their team win!!!

I don't get it. Please explain.:confused:

Well estibador, if you really believe that then its time you sought professional help.:thumbsd:

How could you possible hate someone because of the team they support?

That's discriminatory and as bad as hating someone because of their race or religion.

It's people like you that make this world ****ed up.

A derby is a derby, arch rivals ...

No matter if its two Bunbury teams playing each other, Port Hedland vrs South Hedland or two Kalgoorlie teams.

True Docker fans would understand this. Not sure if its cause your in Taiwan and maybe out of the picture, but Dockers fans have to put up with Pro WCE Perth Media running commericals for WCE veiled as a sports story.

Have to put up with the WCE fans ...

Its a rivally and probaly more fierce from true Dockers fans, compared with WCE Fans,

What your wrote on the WCE board attached below, and not many Ture Dockers fans would agree with what you wrote, You sound like a Freagle (i.e like Midorigreenwood).

No one understands where your coming from.

I don't get all the hype. They are both W.A teams. No need for blood to boil.

I'm a fanatic Freo supporter but since the Dockers finals hopes are screwed I would rather WCE win so they get another crack at the premiership and Freo get better draft picks. :thumbsu:

There's no need for hating another person just because of the team they support. C'mon guys get over it.

I also don't understand how a fellow Western Australian can take pleasure from seeing a footy team from their state lose. So what if you don't barrack for them, doesn't mean you need to wish them misfortune.

Why can't we all just get along.:D

Any sensible person can understand.

Rivalry is not something I am disputing nor would like to see dissolve.

But the unwarranted hate is.

Well if not hating someone because of their difference of choice or opinion makes me a fence sitter,

then I'll be sitting here till the day I die.

Just so you know Keyser, I wasn't talking to you with this post. Rip or Sabre deleted the post I was responding to but left mine up there.

You are a glory hunting bandwagon eagles fan too though. ;)

No worries Esti.

I did happen to see the post you were referring to before it was deleted - no surprise to see it gone to be honest.

For your benefit I bolded the bit that explains exactly why I chose the Eagles over the Dockers.:p

No worries Esti.

I did happen to see the post you were referring to before it was deleted - no surprise to see it gone to be honest.

For your benefit I bolded the bit that explains exactly why I chose the Eagles over the Dockers.:p

Not having a go at you here Keyser..

you "choose" your club...:confused:
some choose, some have bestowed or christened upon them....

I suppose alot of people choose there club.

My choice was made for me and I am forever greatful... being taken to Fremantle Oval at a very young age, 4 or 5, cheering on "Sowfs"... I still remember the old greek/italian/slavic (not sure, but they didnt speak english - but loved the game) giving me oranges, grapes,apples and fruit and ruffling my hair and stuff. Same place - every home game. All that stuff has sadly passed away into time. At least that led me that led me to sowfs, which led me to the Dockers.....
Now thinking about it - my dad choose sowfs - on the great scientific basis of that when he came over from England - he couldnt find any decent football or rugby so he choose Souths as he liked Fremantle - but I think becuase red and white being the national english colours and that made it easy for him... I think he also liked the british bulldog as the club mascot.... yeah, so real scientific..

In a way... it is a shame that West Coast & Adelaide has no real pre AFL/Hertiage like Fremantle or Port Adelaide, even Sydney & Brisbane have has.....

I really don't get it either.

Then you're missing out on half the fun. This isn't the UN where we all need to love each other for world peace. It's football. We 'hate' each other for fun. And I mean 'hate' in a footy sense. Not real life violence and bombs hate.

How could you possible hate someone because of the team they support?

I don't hate people, I just like to give them crap about the team they support. I live in WA for gods sake, at least half my friends are eagles supporters. And I get on pretty well with most of the eagles supporters on here who have a sense of humour.

[/quote said:
That's discriminatory and as bad as hating someone because of their race or religion.

It's people like you that make this world ****ed up.

Speaking of carrying on like a raving lunatic, I think you take this football caper a little too seriously. It's not life or death, it's just a bit of fun. Lighten up.

this is going overboard.

cant we just say we hate eachothers guts and all get along??

Not having a go at you here Keyser..

you "choose" your club...:confused:
some choose, some have bestowed or christened upon them....

I suppose alot of people choose there club.

My choice was made for me and I am forever greatful... being taken to Fremantle Oval at a very young age, 4 or 5, cheering on "Sowfs"... I still remember the old greek/italian/slavic (not sure, but they didnt speak english - but loved the game) giving me oranges, grapes,apples and fruit and ruffling my hair and stuff. Same place - every home game. All that stuff has sadly passed away into time. At least that led me that led me to sowfs, which led me to the Dockers.....
Now thinking about it - my dad choose sowfs - on the great scientific basis of that when he came over from England - he couldnt find any decent football or rugby so he choose Souths as he liked Fremantle - but I think becuase red and white being the national english colours and that made it easy for him... I think he also liked the british bulldog as the club mascot.... yeah, so real scientific..

In a way... it is a shame that West Coast & Adelaide has no real pre AFL/Hertiage like Fremantle or Port Adelaide, even Sydney & Brisbane have has.....

Of course I "choose" my club.:rolleyes:

I'm an Eagles Bandwagonner remember.

My Lions jumper is currently in mothballs. I was eyeing off one of those cute purple jumpers at the start of the season but are now leaning towards blue and white hoops.:thumbsu:

For the record I was 19 when the Eagles were first formed and although I sort of followed North Melbourne at the time (same colours as Old Easts who I supported in the WAFL) I jumped at the chance to follow a team in the VFL that was WA based. By the time the dockers were formed I was too far gone to jump ship.

So I sort of did choose my club although it was really just following a WA based team into the big league.