Jack Viney

• Thread starter Thread starter Bails2008

Re: Jake Viney

Fellas thought you might be interested in this. Over the weekend I attended the National Coaching Conference in Adelaide. Was sitting next to the assistant coach of SA under 16's and chatting during one of the lectures discussing where we coach and just footy in general. We got to talking about Melbourne and he had had some very interesting things to say. His response was "you will get one of the best players in the country in a couple of season. Jake Viney is a gun and the single hardest player I have coached at this level."

He couldn't speak more highly of him. He declared he is as hard as his old boy, maybe even harder and highly skilled.

He also is involved in the football program at Prince Alfred College, where Trengove is from. Think Xavier College. Viney was apparently tearing that level up as a year 9. Very exciting.

On Trengove he was glowing in his praises. What excited me was his opinion of him as a kid. He said he was a ripping young bloke, no ego, prepares as well as any player he has seen and works his arse off.

Also sat in on a lecture by Sean Wellman. Was so impressed with his knowledge, his organisation and in particular his awareness of every defender in the AFL. As a teacher I can tell you his ability to convey his message is outstanding.

Left the weekend feeling really positive about a lot of what is happening at our footy club.

That's gold mate, thanks for sharing... exciting times ahead :thumbsu:

I will be very happy if he is anything like his old man, loved him as a footballer (even if he couldn't kick).

Hope the young fella ends up at the Dees.

Thanks for sharing Bails...

thought it was Jack as well. he has a younger brother called Tom i think any news on him

Bails... Mate... I have movement in the camp following your report!

But seriously it’s ripping good news to hear Todd's son coming along so well. It's just too bad that G Lyon jr isn't following suit! Nevermind.

Also it's good to hear that Wellman can articulate his message. Hopefully Chip and the lads are reading it loud and clear!

Guys, I was a really good mate with this guy as a kid before they moved to SA. He is as talented, if not more than his old man on the footy field, and will be a gem if you guys take him.

Jack has a brother??!!

Nice one mate - yeh the Dees are all over this kid. Would be great if we could still use a second round pick on him but at this stage it seems certain we'll have to use our first pick to take him as father-son.

Havnt seen him play myself but heard a few things and it sounds like he moves alot like his Dad but is strong overhead for his size, and is a skillful long kick too. :D:D:D:D:D :thumbsu:

So how does the new father-son rule (providing the AFL doesn't bugger around with it) work then?

If he's rated a first round pick and somebody else nominates that we'll take him then we have to give our next pick after that or something?

So how does the new father-son rule (providing the AFL doesn't bugger around with it) work then?

If he's rated a first round pick and somebody else nominates that we'll take him then we have to give our next pick after that or something?

Pretty sure that we nominate that we want to take him, then if someone else wants him they have to nominate which pick they would take him with, then it is back on us to use a pick of equality. so same round in other words, or thats how i believe it to be

Sorry lads, believe it is Jack. Was chatting and trying to listen to a workshop by Anthony Rock at the same time. Exciting news though plenty of water under the bridge still of course

Also it's good to hear that Wellman can articulate his message. Hopefully Chip and the lads are reading it loud and clear![/FONT][/COLOR]

Andy, he used footage of Chip through-out his presentation. Great illustration of how they train and then applying it in game situations. Showed a progression and increased intensity in various scenarios. Was fantastic to see. Showed an example of him playing on Richo following it.

Got a kick out of contested work between chip and Col. Two big units.

Does anyone know the answer to this;

If a club nominates that they will take Jack Viney with say pick 6, Melbourne would have to use their first round draft pick to get him (whether its pick 16 or pick 1).

But if Melbourne had say picks 3 and also pick 14 in the first round, could we use pick 14 or would we have to use pick 3?

Does anyone know the answer to this;

If a club nominates that they will take Jack Viney with say pick 6, Melbourne would have to use their first round draft pick to get him (whether its pick 16 or pick 1).

But if Melbourne had say picks 3 and also pick 14 in the first round, could we use pick 14 or would we have to use pick 3?

We would have to use our next available pick, not a pick from the same round necessarily... otherwise it would be unfair on the father-son club, forcing them to use a pick higher thaat what another club rates that particular player at...

By 2012, we should be making finals, so will likely have a selection outside the top 10... Sounds like he will be a steal, although it would've been handy if he were eligible when West sydney had their massive draft, we could've got him even later..

We would have to use our next available pick, not a pick from the same round necessarily... otherwise it would be unfair on the father-son club, forcing them to use a pick higher thaat what another club rates that particular player at...

By 2012, we should be making finals, so will likely have a selection outside the top 10... Sounds like he will be a steal, although it would've been handy if he were eligible when West sydney had their massive draft, we could've got him even later..

Thanks w00dy - makes sense.

So does that mean if we have say pick 8, and we know Jack is coming and will be worth pick 2 or 3, we could trade pick 8 for say picks 14 & 16, use pick 14 on Viney and then end up with Jack Viney plus pick 16 as a bit of a freebee?

Thanks w00dy - makes sense.

So does that mean if we have say pick 8, and we know Jack is coming and will be worth pick 2 or 3, we could trade pick 8 for say picks 14 & 16, use pick 14 on Viney and then end up with Jack Viney plus pick 16 as a bit of a freebee?

According to others more knowledgable, in relation to D&T rules, than I on this site, you cannot do this, as the bidding process and FS selections are organised prior to trade week.

As such, once a club has committed to using a given pick on a FS selection, they cannot trade that pick.

According to others more knowledgable, in relation to D&T rules, than I on this site, you cannot do this, as the bidding process and FS selections are organised prior to trade week.

As such, once a club has committed to using a given pick on a FS selection, they cannot trade that pick.

Nice one cannons - I thought that was the case but was only presuming.

Hopefully Jack ends up a standout pick 1 or 2. I would estimate we will be using pick 7 - 10 in that draft.

Nice one cannons - I thought that was the case but was only presuming.

Hopefully Jack ends up a standout pick 1 or 2. I would estimate we will be using pick 7 - 10 in that draft.

No worries ;)

Well, I think it is a very real possibilility that he could end up being the standout of his draft, given the hype surrounding him up until now. It's a pretty miraculous effort to be playing in your school's first XVIII when in year 9, so it looks like we've got a good player on our hands in any case.

Jake Viney is a gun and the single hardest player I have coached at this level."

This seems to be a common theme. My Brother sat next to his Ashburton juniors coach years ago where Jack won the B&F year in year out and said that he was seriously "hard". In fact they had to hold him back a bit because he was hurting kids. He was the hardest junior he coached with a "healthy dose of ****" on the footy field.

He also stated that his skills were better than his old man's.

Exactly what Ive heard about him Trav. Hard like his Dad but with better skills.

Dont know who around here remembers his Dad but definately the toughest/hardest player I have seen for Melb. Not dirty - all courage but would hurt others in the contest.

He wasnt in Melbs team of the century for nothing. I just cant keep a lid on being excited about what Im hearing of Jack.