Opinion Jackson Thurlow

• Thread starter Thread starter Biscut

Awesome debut , 13 touches (all quality) till half time and predictably tired in the second half
Imagine him with another 8-10 kilos and a few preseasons !!
You can see our versatility policy paying big dividends in the future , try locking us down once these kids reach their prime. Scott seems to be morphing a junior coach - rotating every quarter

The kid did not look out of place amongst the other players in the biggest game of the season.
Calm head and used the ball well.
A pity that he did not kick that set shot goal in his first game.

Good solid debut. With Taylor Hunt getting injured it opens the door for him to potentially get a little run of games. Guthrie steps up for Hunt, Thurlow slots in for Guthrie. Although there is the other Hunt looming. Good luck match committee.

Fantastic debut, just looked at home down back and it was his first game. Super talented, takes the ball at the highest point, quick, good kick, has everything to become a very, very good footballer.

And he helped my depleted backline in supercoach to boot!! :)

It was the first time I had seen him play, must say for a first gamer thrown in the deep end he was extremely cool headed.
Very impressed!!
Looks like Wells has found another gem - amazing.

Was at Etihad last night and its hard to notice too much, especially when you are in standing room surrounded by aggro young twat bombers supporters screaming out ball every two seconds and spilling beer on your Sheila. Just watching the replay and am really surprised by the contribution thurlow made in the first half. Poise, positioning, grace under pressure. He definitely has it. Course, he got tired later on, which is where I noticed and judged him. Always good to watch a replay. Mcavaney thinks he's sexy.

Big impressions from the match. Motlops AMA------zing run n the first quarter which almost resulted in a great goal. TV did not do it justice. Schroeders excellent goal. He looks Hard Yakka tough. Selwoods excellent, gutsy, brilliant --- ---aaah, it happened right in front of me --- tough tackle in the second half. Just about to watch it again.

Live is different to TV. Stevie pissed me off so much that it clouded how well he played. Motlop dazzled me. My mate rated Smedtsy big time, but I wasn't focused on him. Didn't even notice Thunt leave.

Another star debutant for Cats
ThurlowGame1_zps3ede1018.jpg
Jackson Thurlow cops the obligatory drenching after Geelong's win over Essendon on Friday night
GEELONG rolled yet another ready-made AFL player off its production line on Friday night when mobile defender Jackson Thurlow became the club's 12th debutant since it won the 2011 flag.

Thurlow, who was the Cats' first pick in last year's NAB AFL Draft, produced a very impressive first-up performance in the 28-point win over Essendon at Etihad Stadium.

The 19-year-old from Launceston in Tasmania finished with 17 possessions, five marks and three tackles. He looked extremely comfortable in the heat of battle, although he admitted after the game that he did not cope with footy at the elite level as easily as it appeared.

"Oh mate, I blew up in that first quarter," Thurlow said. "I was on the ground for 10 seconds, ran once, and I felt like I was going to be sick. "I wasn't too nervous before the game, but I said to Billie (Smedts), I've just got to be sick and I'll be right." "I dry-retched a few times in the toilets and from then on I was fine."

Despite gasping for air when he first entered the fray, Thurlow soon worked his way into the game. He picked up six touches in the opening quarter and had 13 to his name by half-time. At that stage he was in the best half-dozen Geelong players on the ground.

"The senior boys said that they would try and get me into the game early, so I can't thank them enough," he said. "The way they go about it and the way they involve everyone in it, there was no reason for me to not get a kick."

Thurlow was all smiles in Geelong's rooms after the match. A large contingent of family members were there to give him a hug and a pat on the back after he copped the obligatory Powerade spray during the club song.

"It was unreal, mate," he said as he revelled in the moment.

Geelong coach Chris Scott was full of praise for the way Thurlow and the Cats' other youngster held their own against the Bombers. "Credit to our senior players, but it was just as much our inexperienced players that stood up," Scott said. "We were really pleased to see Jackson Thurlow have such a strong influence in the first half, and he was pretty good after that as well. "Schroder and Horlin-Smith and those guys, they look at home to me."
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-11/cats-unveil-new-star

Awesome debut , 13 touches (all quality) till half time and predictably tired in the second half
Imagine him with another 8-10 kilos and a few preseasons !!
You can see our versatility policy paying big dividends in the future , try locking us down once these kids reach their prime. Scott seems to be morphing a junior coach - rotating every quarter
Will look a lot like this me thinks
geelong-star-corey-enright-ahead-of-the-cats-clash-with-port-adelaide-123065.jpg

Impressive first game. Does he get another run against the pies?

Yep. Scott has said new guys won't come in and then just be tossed out. Likely both he and Schroder (liked him a lot too) will stay in and other more experienced players will come out if Chapman, Corey, etc are ready.

The first thing I noticed about Thurlow is that he that classical footballers body. He shows a lot of promise and can see him in our midfield down the road. Long way to go for him yet so I hope he makes it.

The first thing I noticed about Thurlow is that he that classical footballers body.

The Bartel, Enright, Corey, Selwood, etc. build. Duncan, Menzel, Guthrie and GHS are also the same or similar. Even Taylor Hunt was sitting opponents who tried to line him up on their backsides back in 2010. I love it that we keep drafting no brainer gun footballers while other teams take stick figures, athletes and other types they hope might be good in about 5 years.

I love it that we keep drafting no brainer gun footballers while other teams take stick figures, athletes and other types they hope might be good in about 5 years.
Blicavs? Hamling?
Not mocking, but I have had the opposite opinion: that we have often drafted guys who need time to build bodies, tank or get past injuries.
I always thought that it was a luxury we had because of great list management, that many teams didn't. E.g. Clubs that need draftees to play 10+ games in their first season and improve the team.

I questioned why Wells picked him over Grundy last year. Very good pick up by Wells.
In Wells we trust

And now you know... In Wells we trust

Go Catters

I think the Wells drafting is brought about the success of the era. By that I mean, we can afford to draft players that don't NEED to make an impact immediately. Hammer is the perfect example. He would possibly go the Jack Watts route is was forced to play too soon. He is a great talent but needs to build the body.

Given our position each year, Wells doesn't need to draft impact now (Stringer, Couch, Omera) which is kinda hard from our picks so he does the next best thing - takes impact in 3 years time.

Now if they force their way in - all the better - but we dont need their performance immediately.

Go Catters

Agree t
Blicavs? Hamling?
Not mocking, but I have had the opposite opinion: that we have often drafted guys who need time to build bodies, tank or get past injuries.
I always thought that it was a luxury we had because of great list management, that many teams didn't. E.g. Clubs that need draftees to play 10+ games in their first season and improve the team.

Agree totally Varcoe,Selwood,Smedts,McCarthy,etc all had their injury concerns

Blicavs? Hamling?
I was more referring to non key position types. Blicavs is a different case but he wasn't a normal draft pick was he? And he had to shock the hell out of everyone with his VFL form then require injuries to 3 other rucks to play. Bigger guys will always take more time.

The Bartel, Enright, Corey, Selwood, etc. build. Duncan, Menzel, Guthrie and GHS are also the same or similar. Even Taylor Hunt was sitting opponents who tried to line him up on their backsides back in 2010. I love it that we keep drafting no brainer gun footballers while other teams take stick figures, athletes and other types they hope might be good in about 5 years.

It was only a few months ago some Cat posters were complaining that we wasted draft picks by drafting stick figures like Mitch Brown and Joel Hamling.

Did we not draft an athlete in Blicavs and take a punt on him developing in a few years?

The first thing I noticed about Thurlow is that he that classical footballers body. He shows a lot of promise and can see him in our midfield down the road. Long way to go for him yet so I hope he makes it.

Seem to have a longish face for what ever reason? But yes great size and nice skillset.

I think the Wells drafting is brought about the success of the era. By that I mean, we can afford to draft players that don't NEED to make an impact immediately. Hammer is the perfect example. He would possibly go the Jack Watts route is was forced to play too soon. He is a great talent but needs to build the body.

Given our position each year, Wells doesn't need to draft impact now (Stringer, Couch, Omera) which is kinda hard from our picks so he does the next best thing - takes impact in 3 years time.

Now if they force their way in - all the better - but we dont need their performance immediately.

Go Catters
I think you have nailed upon one of Wells key's Daz. How od Geelong keep getting good kids only having late picks? Because of lot of them are not ready to play next year.

They might have been injured , were overweight or under weight , tested badly in one area or has flown under the radar at least relative to their real worth.Either thru a bit of luck or thru sheer persistence Geelong he does not have the same immediate pressures as some other clubs. Look at the Dogs and you see a club , a team and group of supporters in the depths dire need. Any pick will be scrutinized , they do have the same time for development , imo

On Thurlow , he was injured last year. I have no doubt it would have effected his draft number. Still playing in Tas in itself is not like playing for Calder Canyons and Vic Metro. More than one of our Tas experts have said he could play Y1. M2T has been strong in his confidence. It make's me think we should be listening to his protestations on Tassie kids with even more respect.

As I said in the other thread about him, I was very impressed with his debut. He showed a lot of promise, and he was very assured with the ball in hand. He just didn't seem to panic, and used the ball quite well. It would have been great if he could have nailed that goal. If he gets more opportunities this season, I wouldn't be surprised at all if he receives a rising star nomination.

I am definitely not the type to anoint young players as future stars, but I honestly can't think of a second gamer who shows as much poise, composure and solid decision making as he has so far. And with the skills to back it up. Very impressed.