Jesse Hogan(mini-draft)- priority for us

F**ks sake, not again.

So much for the mini-draft helping GWS get mature bodies while giving the established clubs a crack at some youngsters for a change. Nice work AFL.

I agree, what a farce this has turned in to. So basically, we have to watch the new clubs get absolutely flogged every single week for 3-4 years until they start absolutely flogging teams once the young players they have stockpiled mature. Cant see how this is the ideal outcome for the national competition.

Looks like we're no chance now. GWS don't seem to be interested in any deal involving Moller. The whole AFL needs a cleanout.

You actually think the AFL is run fairly and well? And you think the mini-draft has been a success?

Exactly, the mini draft was to enable GWS to get some mature bodies. All that has been done is they have traded picks with GC. Gee, you think that the AFL would have seen this coming :rolleyes:, they are useless.

You actually think the AFL is run fairly and well? And you think the mini-draft has been a success?

The AFL is by far, the best administered game in Australia and a leading figure in regards to maintaining fairness anywhere in the world.

Take your hand of it.

The AFL is by far, the best administered game in Australia and a leading figure in regards to maintaining fairness anywhere in the world.

Take your hand of it.

You obviously don't watch Footy. The rules have never been more unclear.

I watch plenty of football.

I'm just sick of people making broad statements without any detail attached to them.

Yes, GWS and the GC have been provided with some generous concessions, when expanding into hostile markets the key crowd puller is always success.

These rules have been known and drafted by AFL clubs for years now and only when X club doesn't get Y player is there a fuss.

The AFL, in terms of fairness, is in the upper echelons when compared to other elite sporting codes around the world.​

I'm just sick of people making broad statements without any detail attached to them.

Yes, GWS and the GC have been provided with some generous concessions, when expanding into hostile markets the key crowd puller is always success.

These rules have been known and drafted by AFL clubs for years now and only when X club doesn't get Y player is there a fuss.

The AFL, in terms of fairness, is in the upper echelons when compared to other elite sporting codes around the world.​

Well there are other clubs that are really, really struggling who could use some help. Eg Port Adelaide.

Have your sook elsewhere. This thread is about the mini-draft which has been a huge failure.

I don't dislike GWS any more after seeing them pick up more high picks again this year.

I disliked them when they first started, can't like 'em any more after seeing this.

I'm sure the AFL would've hoped for a more competitive team sooner rather than later. They must be a bit disappointed with the way things are turning out.

Well there are other clubs that are really, really struggling who could use some help. Eg Port Adelaide.

Have your sook elsewhere. This thread is about the mini-draft which has been a huge failure.

Lol, go and sit in the corner.

Yes, the AFL thought a team of kids with some ageing stars would win the premiership in their first season.

Do we have the dumbest supporters on BF?

Lol, go and sit in the corner.

You shot yourself in the foot when you said that the crowd puller is always success. The mini-draft was put in place to get GWS some senior, experienced players to make them more competitive and attractive in the early years. Instead of using it for its proper purpose they have been selfish and banked top draft picks for future years.

Huge fail. Everyone but you can see that.

Rules are rules. There will always be clubs looking for loop holes and shortcuts. No use crying about them now. Clubs shouldnt have allowed them in the first place.

You shot yourself in the foot when you said that the crowd puller is always success. The mini-draft was put in place to get GWS some senior, experienced players to make them more competitive and attractive in the early years. Instead of using it for its proper purpose they have been selfish and banked top draft picks for future years.

You're totally correct Yakka Man, it is a disgrace. The sooner all of these concessions are finished with the better for AFL footy.

Sorry what?

GWS were never going to be in a position to challenge for a flag in their first few years, acquiring the best talent in the first few drafts will have a large say in whether they are successful yes, but it's the people and structures that make the difference.

GWS picked up senior players so the kids wouldn't be completely flogged as the kids mature.

That's exactly what's happened.

These concessions were drafted and agreed upon by the clubs.

If and when GWS and GC become succesful, the sport will grow in two key markets, TV rights deal becomes a monster, advertisers will flock to the best run sport in the country in Sydney and the GC.

What does that mean for Fremantle?

Higher caps, better facilities, expanded development budgets that come with greater distributions from the AFL.

The game grows.

If we're good enough we will win a flag, just look at Sydney this year, Hawthorn far and away have a more talented list, Sydney won that flag through sheer hard work and a hard edge.

No doubt on the back of the culture created by Roos/Lyon and Longmire.

So much whinging about a system designed to grow the game, agreed to by all the clubs probably the best way to kick start two new expansion clubs.

The AFL, in terms of fairness, is in the upper echelons when compared to other elite sporting codes around the world.
Off topic, but it is hard to argue this given the uneven draw. I'd say one of the few elite comps in the world where you don't play each time equally home and away

I dunno, you're here.

I await some more surly PMs :)

For those wanting to know the content of the PM's.

I suggested Clay get a purpose in life, right now it revolves around "trying to out me"

Pathetic.

Melbourne are at it again, if as suggested they have offered pick 3 for Hogan, this club has no real plan for success, or how
to re-build. Watt were they thinking?

Off topic, but it is hard to argue this given the uneven draw. I'd say one of the few elite comps in the world where you don't play each time equally home and away

Put forward some comps you think are run in a fairer way.

Melbourne are at it again, if as suggested they have offered pick 3 for Hogan, this club has no real plan for success, or how
to re-build. Watt were they thinking?

That's a quality move.

Pick three to snare a CHF, with some real physical presence whom you can build a side around for years to come.

Seems reasonable to me.

Sorry what?

GWS were never going to be in a position to challenge for a flag in their first few years, acquiring the best talent in the first few drafts will have a large say in whether they are successful yes, but it's the people and structures that make the difference.

GWS picked up senior players so the kids wouldn't be completely flogged as the kids mature.

That's exactly what's happened.

These concessions were drafted and agreed upon by the clubs.

If and when GWS and GC become succesful, the sport will grow in two key markets, TV rights deal becomes a monster, advertisers will flock to the best run sport in the country in Sydney and the GC.

What does that mean for Fremantle?

Higher caps, better facilities, expanded development budgets that come with greater distributions from the AFL.

The game grows.

If we're good enough we will win a flag, just look at Sydney this year, Hawthorn far and away have a more talented list, Sydney won that flag through sheer hard work and a hard edge.

No doubt on the back of the culture created by Roos/Lyon and Longmire.

So much whinging about a system designed to grow the game, agreed to by all the clubs probably the best way to kick start two new expansion clubs.

tl;dr

I covered everything in my previous post.