John Blakey's list assessment

Highly recommended for all to read:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/104353/default.aspx

I am pleasantly surprised to see that its blunter than I thought it was going to be, and doesn't just pump up everyone on the list. Some interesting ones included:

Lewis Johnston
With Jesse White, Bradshaw and Goodes going forward, Lewis hasn't broken into the senior side. He missed all of last year with an injury so this was his first year at it and he played some good football in the seconds. He's a third tall forward that's going to be able to lead up and present and take plenty of marks. He's not too far away from making a mark.

Matthew O'Dwyer (delisted)
He played one game this year. He started the year very well over the pre-season and played some okay games in the NAB Cup. Unfortunately with the side up and going in the first part of the year, Matty wasn't able to force his way in.

Daniel Currie
His last five or six weeks in the seconds were his best period for the year. He is certainly developing, but the form of Mumford, Seaby when he was out there and Pyke didn't allow him to step up into the rucking role this year. He's a developing player who's improving each year and with another solid pre-season, he will be pushing these guys for selection.

You don't need to be an expert at reading between the lines to see what he was saying about Sumner. A talent but he's not making the effort to make the step up to play with the big boys.

I dont think that he is lazy or doesnt want it enough just home sick, when i read his season wrap he realy sounded like he was missing home and was distracted as a result. Lack of confidence because of his height also seemed to play a part though i think he will overcome this issue partly because of Kieran Jack's impact at senior level this year, he seems to have gained confidence from his success.

I think i remember reading that his girlfriend hasnt made the move to Sydney or he was going to see her when he went home, something along those lines and that would make him home sick and distracted as well.

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/103797/default.aspx

I dont think that he is lazy or doesnt want it enough just home sick, when i read his season wrap he realy sounded like he was missing home and was distracted as a result. Lack of confidence because of his height also seemed to play a part though i think he will overcome this issue partly because of Kieran Jack's impact at senior level this year, he seems to have gained confidence from his success.

I think i remember reading that his girlfriend hasnt made the move to Sydney or he was going to see her when he went home, something along those lines and that would make him home sick and distracted as well.

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/103797/default.aspx

I dont know what anyone else said but i cant imagane a coach would chuck use those words lightly.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/104353/default.aspx

He showed that he can play at the level but he just lacked a little bit of consistency with his effort, probably both on and off the field

I think it was well meant as a message to Byron for his 2011 season.

McVeigh is the golden child, can't do any wrong.
Great read though

You make me laugh Bedford.

In summary, this is how I see the whole MCVeigh situation.

Mcveigh has fooled his junior coaches when he was young, then he fooled the U18 knobs, then he fooled the Swans into picking him with an early draft pick, then he fooled the Swans coaches into giving him senior game time, then he kept fooling them into playing him week in week out, then he fooled them into teaching him to play a defensive taggers role, then he fooled them to teach him how to attack whilst still being defensive.
Then low & behold! He is such a cunning bloke that he then fooled Mick Maulthouse to take him to Ireland with him. To sit on the bench just in case?
No! To play him because he is a talented individual!

But guess what folks?

He still hasn't fooled Bedford!
You wise one you!;)

If only he could fool himself into winning a contested possession
Exactly 51. What bothers me is what they say about Goodes being up and down at times and thats fair enough as he can be, but his bad is still better than most, but when it comes to McVeigh there is always an excuse he is the golden child. Tedeski, i am quite entitled to my views on #3 and its the same with Moore who should have been traded as i believe he has had enough chances and in my opinion would be a good VFL player due to his lack of pace and ability to get enough of the ball.

Agreed, Bedders.

McVeigh is one of ours so I by no means dislike him. He frustrates me, sure, but I don't hate him. The thing that really does annoy me is just what Bedders said. The way Goodesy gets so harshly judged by the coaches and the rest of the public for being too inconsistent (which frankly I think has been a crock of shit for the past 2 years) but McVeigh is talked up so consistently by the coaches for being a consistent contributor is really annoying and I think it's disrespectful to one of our club's undisputed champions.

As AG has said before, it has come to the point where guys like Goodes and Judd are now actually underrated despite being the absolute champions of the game that they are.

Thanks 120, as i have said before i don't hate McVeigh its just that everyone you mention think he's perfect. He is a valuable member of the Swans, its just i don't hold him up on a pedistal like some others who may have a lack of footy knowledge. As i stated earlier it is a great read and a fantastic thing from our club to realise a coaches veiw on the list, whether you agree or not with some of it.

But in 2005, our p'ship year, not one player was held up on a pedistal. It was an even effort with everyone doing their role.
That you guys are disappointed in McVeigh because he doesn't have too many contested possessions is not fair on the bloke. He is ultimately an outside player which we need in the team. He is more often then not, a very clean ball user & he finds space on the rebound just after being in a defensive situation.

When you coach a team, you can't have all your midfielders dropping low to contest the ball. A nominated few are told to stay out because they are the clean users of the ball. Bolton & co are the tough nuts that stick their head over the ball. If you have ever looked closely enough, after McVeigh disposes of the ball, he often gets crunched. He holds on till the last moment & wears the tackle which is a very important part of a game.
That's not something I reckon most of us might be able to handle. He often gets up worse for wear.
I'll be keen to see your thoughts on a player by the name of Jetta in a few years time. Because he was recruited purely as an outside player with pace. The coaches won't want him any where near a contested possession because he'll get broken.
The 3 most skillful players in our team are Goodes, McVeigh & now Jetta!

But one of those can play a defensive role brilliantly, keeping his opponent quiet, whilst having the ability to cause damage the other way. Guess who?
Yes, you are very entitled to your opinions, but you must allow for the fact that McVeigh is not the one responsible for how the coaches value him other then that he is obviously one of the most disciplined footballers in our team. He just does what is asked of him. EVERY WEEK! Even when injured & to the best of his ability.

Does Adam Goodes do what is asked of him? Every week! Perhaps he doesn't.
I enjoy watching him more then McVeigh, but I know that he goes missing in patches more then McVeigh does in a whole season. Whether it's girlfriend issues or whatever. Well that was the excuse a few years ago.
Who cares mate. Do your job!

Judge McVeigh for the role he is told to play. I'm sure Goodes is rewarded financially much better then McVeigh is.
Finally, Goodes is one of our Captains. How much more recognition do you want for him to get from those that know FAR more about a player than you or I!
Better get to work!
Cheers!

......................and Bedford! You need to be careful when you throw around the line "like some others who may have a lack of footy knowledge" on here because it comes across that a few regular posters on here seem to think that as the amount of years they have been posting on BF increases, it is just automatic that they have a far greater knowledge of anything football.

Personally, all I see with some on here is an increase in stubborness!
Not necessarily suggesting that you MAY be one of them!:footy::footy:

That is an Aussie Rules football isn't it?

......................and Bedford! You need to be careful when you throw around the line "like some others who may have a lack of footy knowledge" on here because it comes across that a few regular posters on here seem to think that as the amount of years they have been posting on BF increases, it is just automatic that they have a far greater knowledge of anything football.

Personally, all I see with some on here is an increase in stubborness!
Not necessarily suggesting that you MAY be one of them!:footy::footy:

That is an Aussie Rules football isn't it?
Not at all, there are a few who have only been following footy for a couple of years and make outlandish posts, but as i said on here it is free speech as long as you stay within the rules. There are some like Liz who have a great understanding of the modern game and i respect her posts even if i don't agree. Robbie for someone under 30 has a great knowledge of the history of South/Sydney.
Michaelg, good to see you back with an insightful post! was that gentle?

The thing about McVeigh is that he's not only inconsistent throughout the season, he's wildly inconsistent throughout a game itself. He goes from absolutely killing it in a quarter or a half, to making people wonder if he's even on the ground the next half. That's what he needs to fix.

I'm going to side with the people in the know on this one folks!
The people that seem to command so much respect from other teams that over the last 5 or so years, their system has been copied with much success.
The coaching staff! The ones that ACTUALLY give out the roles for our players to perform. The one's that give a player a role to do prior to the game, but then switch that player's role once the game has started in order to fix a situation that hasn't gone our way. McVeigh, whether you like it or not, is one of these players. That's why the coaches like him. That's why he came 5th or so in the B & F. Because the one's that give out the roles to do know more than you or I do.

You guys are seriously deluded if you honestly think that McVeigh gets favourable treatment from the coaches because ............."he's not only inconsistent throughout the season, he's wildly inconsistent throughout a game itself. He goes from absolutely killing it in a quarter or a half, to making people wonder if he's even on the ground the next half."

Why would you by a m'ship if you thought that happened in our club?

We clearly see things differently here.

If only he could fool himself into winning a contested possession

Well, now this is strange.... it seems he managed to fool himself into winning a contested possession 7 times a game in 2010.... and even stranger, hard nut, in-and-under, tough-as-guts Kirk only managed 6 contested possessions a game (note, this is not meant as a criticism of Kirk, merely a comparison).

On top of that, McVeigh managed 4 clearances per game.

McVeigh may be inconsistent, but he isn't nearly as soft as some people make him out to be.

John Blakey's list assessment

Write your reply...