finrod

The Herald Sun had an article today talking about how good Kingy was in the VFL, and said he is a possibility for the preliminary... Anyone think he's a chance? As much as I love him, I think I'd want to keep Blake at the moment.

He played a ripper of a game in the VFL prelim on Saturday......But the difference in standard between the AFL and the VFL is pretty wide. King definately showed he was a class above VFL standard but I think Blake has done enough to keep his spot at this point. I have the feeling that King is only an option now if Ottens or Blake get injured.

Why not drop Byrnes and bring in King. King is very versatile, dont forget he can kick goals or play down back as an extra tall. This will also free up Ottens to play as a forward.

The Pies arent the paciest team so we dont need to worry about a lack of pace in our team.

If not king, i reckon Byrnes should be dropped anyway, perhaps Prismall?

NO change will be made...
Honestly I cannot choose which one of Blake or King is better.. IMO not much different.. if so.. our team is much settled with Blake since he has played more times than King..so Any change would not be desirable.

i say leave out garry abblett and mooney and bring in king and brynes that would be nice.

Why not drop Byrnes and bring in King. King is very versatile, dont forget he can kick goals or play down back as an extra tall. This will also free up Ottens to play as a forward.
Three talls? Now? When we need to win this game to get into the GF? You want us to experiment now? WHY NOW? >=|

Next you'll be calling for Tenace + his hammy to be in... Oh wait, you've already said that should happen a few weeks ago.
GOOFBALLS! :)

i say leave out garry abblett and mooney and bring in king and brynes that would be nice.
Byrnes is already in, pie.
How about you leave out Cloke & Medhurst? :thumbsu:

king still not up to AFL standard IMO. blake's been good for us, deserves to stay in the team. only reason to bring king in would be if otto or blake were injured.

Even though he dominated at the bounces we where smashed in the clearances. The only area he is superior to Blake is his kicking. He cannot jump at all Hes doing a great job where he is so leave him there to be called up only if a ruckman is injured

The Pies arent the paciest team so we dont need to worry about a lack of pace in our team.

"Make it stop" :rolleyes:

Why not drop Byrnes and bring in King. King is very versatile, dont forget he can kick goals or play down back as an extra tall.

No he cant :confused:

I would like to bring him in, but not straight into a final. Its another step up from the normal Round 1-22 pressure in the AFL.

Should have given him a month or so before Finals if we were serious about it. I dont think Blake played badly at all anyway on Sunday.

King's best is much better than Blake's best.

If you could guarantee me King would play close to his best, then I wouldn't hesitate to put him in ahead of Blake...but unfortunately I don't have a crystal ball.

Basically at the moment, King deserves a game, but Blake doesn't deserve to get dropped, so I doubt there will be any changes this week.

He's been playing well against substandard opponents. In the VFL.

Alas, in most teams that win flags, there is always one or two blokes that are unlucky to miss out due to injury (either getting injured themselves, or being replaced by an incumbent who had been out injured), and a club stalwart who is on the downturn and just couldn't hold his form long enuff to keep himself in the side to taste the ultimate success.

If we win it this year, Matthew Egan and Steven King will be those players.

He's been playing well against substandard opponents. In the VFL.

Alas, in most teams that win flags, there is always one or two blokes that are unlucky to miss out due to injury (either getting injured themselves, or being replaced by an incumbent who had been out injured), and a club stalwart who is on the downturn and just couldn't hold his form long enuff to keep himself in the side to taste the ultimate success.

If we win it this year, Matthew Egan and Steven King will be those players.

Isn't Egan a pretty hot chance to be ready for the GF?

Are you being sarcastic ? - King to swap with a fast small player? Lack of pace? Prismall is not match fit - looked OK at VFL level and who wants to tinker with a winning setup? Also there were the usual lazy field kicks which have marred King's game.

id play kingy!
Blakey had an awesome yr to date but remember the first 15min of our game against pies this year fraser absolutely dominated!!! Killed us...
King might be to smart for fraser... think blakey lacks it a bit up there sometimes;)

King kicked a goal 45m out on the boundary (if I remember the article correctly). If Blake could do that, then yes he can keep his spot, otherwise he can play in the next 3 years of finals.

It's not broke.

Doesn't need fixing!

Sure, there are a lot of players in the VFL team that deserve a game but the tough decision needs to be made and unfortunately a few are going to miss out.

The simple fact remains that King had ample opportunity to prove himself worthy at AFL level in the regular season.

They deliberately dropped an in-form Blake with 'general soreness' just to give him the opportunity.

He failed every time, and now he's paying the price.

Just because you dominate in the two's doesn't mean he'll cut it in the firsts. Wasn't Hank Playfair named BOG on the weekend? I rest my case.

The chorus of "bring back King" has become alot quieter around here. Maybe some people have been taking reality pills.

The fact is you play a player on his merrits and form. Blake has done more then enough to hold his spot. He was monstered against Port but I think that will be a different story if we meet them again.

Although King has been great in the VFL team I just think his time is up at the club unless we see an injury to Blake or Ottens on Friday (touch wood)!!

And SriLankanCat, mate seriously dropping Byrne to squease king in is hair-brained at best. You also described him as versatile which is his weakness and reason he isn't even our number 2 ruckman this year.

Must have seen a different game. Didn't think King looked that good in the VFL match.

He can't jumped and does not palm to advantage. He can kick better than Blake, but not much else.

No changes for this week.

Next year, King to go, develop Trent West (He could be real good).