Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Update:
A number of further draft profiles have been added to page one.

Will update the draft order/ladder positions/add further profiles next Sunday night if things go to plan.

Who's the best small forward Knightmare?

Many like Jack Lonie and consider him the best small forward in this draft.

I personally most like Toby McLean as a small marking forward - B.O.G in the TAC Cup Grand Final and has put forward consistently strong performances as well as showing the ability to push through the midfield.

Many like Jack Lonie and consider him the best small forward in this draft.

I personally most like Toby McLean as a small marking forward - B.O.G in the TAC Cup Grand Final and has put forward consistently strong performances as well as showing the ability to push through the midfield.
Think we're really lacking a good small forward that provides good tackle pressure

Jack Lonie in that case if ok spending a 3rd round selection if there could be another option and has some Ballantyne to him. Not a great but good tackler.

Haiden Schloithe as a mature ager (ex Fremantle rookie) would be a secondary option and will be available as a rookie. Good midfielder, strong overhead, can hit the scoreboard but also a good pressure and tackling forward and in Sydney's situation the most immediate help which is the critical factor.

Overall not a great year for small, crumbing or pressure forwards but you can only pick from that group that are there.

Jack Lonie in that case if ok spending a 3rd round selection if there could be another option and has some Ballantyne to him. Not a great but good tackler.

Haiden Schloithe as a mature ager (ex Fremantle rookie) would be a secondary option and will be available as a rookie. Good midfielder, strong overhead, can hit the scoreboard but also a good pressure and tackling forward and in Sydney's situation the most immediate help which is the critical factor.

Overall not a great year for small, crumbing or pressure forwards but you can only pick from that group that are there.
Maybe look at someone like Saad then

Hey KM, was just wondering why there are virtually no ruckman being talked about in this years draft apart from of course Wright. I know you can take phantom drafts with a grain of salt but with many clubs looking to develop ruckman pretty much nobody except you included ruckman past round 1 in their drafts. last year Lobb and Nankervis were talked up a lot. Is this year just a poor year to draft ruckman, did they all have shocking championship games or are they just generally being ignored?

There are some but they're not overly impressive. That and clubs today are more interested in taking established ruckmen out of the hands of other clubs.

This year there is Brayden Preuss from QLD who is an overager. Not a standout ruckman but looks good pushing back taking intercept marks.

Tom Reed is an average ruckman but can push forward and take a mark.

Rowan Marshall can find a bit of the ball around the ground but not a dominant tap ruckman.

Marc Pittonet is a pretty good tap ruckman but around the ground is poor.

Sam Baulderstone as a mature ager has been a good improver over the years, losing a stack of weight. Can find the footy and use it well but not a dominant tap ruckman or followup ruckman.

Mark Kovacevic is a pretty good tap ruckman and can take some strong marks around the ground.

Darcy Cameron as an overager got some games at WAFL League level and competed ok before playing the second half of the season at Reserves level.

Sam Tagliabue is probably the more interesting of the VFL ruckmen but I'd have him behind Baulderstone.

Cameron Loersch as an overager had a strong season up forward but only played colts in WA. Has also played some ruck in the past. But just being that year older and only playing colts, it's ideal progress.

There will be a few ruckmen taken but they are or should be rookie picks if taken.

If Pickett is gone by our pick, I reckon wce should pick up Weller over Ahern. He just seems like the smarter player with great skills. Even though Simpson has been going on about adding size, which Weller doesn't fit that scheme, he has also emphasized the need of players playing multiple positions that are smart and have skills, and too me Weller fits this. Do you reckon wce are considering Weller Knightmare?

Predictably, this question is a fascination of mine too Popedelio. It would seem both Weller and Ahern are making late moves up the rankings, but perhaps Ahern has finished his run and mightn't end up being that top 12 prospect. Weller speaks well, seems really consistent, and may well be the better prospect long term, but I feel Ahern is still a better fit.

We've heard a lot from Simpson about what he loves to see in players (skill,size,flexibility), but the jury is out on what he and the recruiters will prioritise for their first pick. Personally I think it has to be speed before size that they first look to add to the midfield. WCE have two tall project-player mids in the wings, in Colledge and Tunbridge, to go with Yeo and Darling who are tipped to spend more time in the middle, but practically no pacy prospects to speak of. Ahern is quick. He's not big by any definition, and probably doesn't have a heap of strings to his bow, but that speed could make a huge difference to this "one-paced" midfield.

Unfortunately I don't hold out any hope that Pickett will still be there for the Eagles - he may last as long as pick #10, but I think we'll be back at #11 by draft day, and he won't get past Adelaide. By #11 you'd have to assume roughly five smalls will have been taken, with Petracca, Brayshaw and Pickett the locks. My feeling is the Eagles will prioritise Ahern just ahead of Weller. Either are ok by me but the taller types - Leverde and even Lamb, excite me a lot more. I'd be pretty pissed if they went for Clem Smith (who they love) with this pick. Not because he isn't a talent, nor because he's very small and not a brilliant kick, but because they don't need another back pocket and there's certainly no guarantee he's going to become a midfielder.

My guess at the Eagles' rankings (no talls)
1. Petracca
2. Brayshaw
3. Pickett
4. Leverde
5. Ahern
6. Weller
7. Smith
8. Lamb
9. De Goey
10. Ellis

KM do you reckon if tom lamb tests in the top bracket of prospects in the combine he will become a mid first rounder (Picks 10-16)

Predictably, this question is a fascination of mine too Popedelio. It would seem both Weller and Ahern are making late moves up the rankings, but perhaps Ahern has finished his run and mightn't end up being that top 12 prospect. Weller speaks well, seems really consistent, and may well be the better prospect long term, but I feel Ahern is still a better fit.

We've heard a lot from Simpson about what he loves to see in players (skill,size,flexibility), but the jury is out on what he and the recruiters will prioritise for their first pick. Personally I think it has to be speed before size that they first look to add to the midfield. WCE have two tall project-player mids in the wings, in Colledge and Tunbridge, to go with Yeo and Darling who are tipped to spend more time in the middle, but practically no pacy prospects to speak of. Ahern is quick. He's not big by any definition, and probably doesn't have a heap of strings to his bow, but that speed could make a huge difference to this "one-paced" midfield.

Unfortunately I don't hold out any hope that Pickett will still be there for the Eagles - he may last as long as pick #10, but I think we'll be back at #11 by draft day, and he won't get past Adelaide. By #11 you'd have to assume roughly five smalls will have been taken, with Petracca, Brayshaw and Pickett the locks. My feeling is the Eagles will prioritise Ahern just ahead of Weller. Either are ok by me but the taller types - Leverde and even Lamb, excite me a lot more. I'd be pretty pissed if they went for Clem Smith (who they love) with this pick. Not because he isn't a talent, nor because he's very small and not a brilliant kick, but because they don't need another back pocket and there's certainly no guarantee he's going to become a midfielder.

My guess at the Eagles' rankings (no talls)
1. Petracca
2. Brayshaw
3. Pickett
4. Leverde
5. Ahern
6. Weller
7. Smith
8. Lamb
9. De Goey
10. Ellis

Fair analysis DarlinCatchemnt. I like both Ahern and Weller, be interesting which player could make the more immediate impact in their first season, but ideally the better player over their entire career. I personally prefer Weller, imo he is almost just as quick as Ahern but seems the smarter player with his skills, not saying Ahern isn't skilled, just seems that Weller is that bit more classier and smarter. I almost prefer Weller over Pickett at times also, with his ability to improve inside and not just become the one trick pony, which Simpson has been seeking from day one. As you said most of the midfielders will be gone by our pick and if Pickett, Weller and Ahern are available I would choose Weller.

Sorry to clog up the thread with wce news, I'm excited to hear any draft whispers coming out of the draft combine :)

KM do you reckon if tom lamb tests in the top bracket of prospects in the combine he will become a mid first rounder (Picks 10-16)

Lamb should test well. Could test in the top 5-10 in a few categories. Perhaps not in the top few with Pickett, Cockatoo, Garlett and a few others more incredible athletes.

Lamb is still mostly considered as likely to go somewhere inside the first round. His final draft position is still relatively open and dependent on what clubs think.

I just tend not to rate him as high as at least the media seem to. His effort and want for the ball is just too low, too often. There just seems a lack of interest too often out on the field from what I've observed and a low AFL IQ and low defensive understanding of where he needs to be and what he needs to do.

Caleb Daniel ?????????

Caleb Daniel is the best sub 170cm mid in this draft but his height will obviously work against him. I like his skillset/decision making ability/vision. His performances at SANFL League level have been strong, as where his few U18 champs games. Just as a super small he isn't as fast as he needs to be. Against bigger bodies he's not going to be a dominant inside player so that only average pace will in the mind of clubs I imagine work against him.

In Brisbane's situation given Hanley, Rockliff and Aish would be considered the untouchables I would be offering one of Rich and Redden and trying to work out a secondary strong piece to put with them that appeals to Collingwood and therein will lie the challenge for Brisbane if fair dinkum about getting a deal done.

Lions need to get to the salary floor. They have a $1.5m hole at the moment. They must sign someone on a big salary. Bringing in Beans achieves that, but if it is at that expense of Rockliff or Hanley then they are back to square one. Brisbane will also be constrained in offering later picks because of their academy / fs options. Lions must bring in contracts for picks; they have little flexability.

Equally Collingwood may struggle to accommodate a deal if they give up $500k in Beams and get back $600k in Rockliff.

I can see Brisbane struggling to get a trade done with one hand basically tied behind their back.

Lions need to get to the salary floor. They have a $1.5m hole at the moment. They must sign someone on a big salary. Bringing in Beans achieves that, but if it is at that expense of Rockliff or Hanley then they are back to square one. Brisbane will also be constrained in offering later picks because of their academy / fs options. Lions must bring in contracts for picks; they have little flexability.

Equally Collingwood may struggle to accommodate a deal if they give up $500k in Beams and get back $600k in Rockliff.

I can see Brisbane struggling to get a trade done with one hand basically tied behind their back.

I reckon Coll will have to reluctantly accept Pick 4 plus one of either someone like Lester, Crisp, Golby. Whoever would agree to move to Victoria and Collingwood.

Brisbane might also offer Pick 4 plus Pick 23 instead if they don't have to commit 23 for one of Hammelmann, Dawson or Andrews at the Academy bidding before trade week.

I know Collingwood want a quality player in return for Beams but it might be up to them to do something with 4 and 23 to make that happen.

This is a good point. What if clubs cant get to 95% of their TPP. Do they redo their existing player contracts to do this? What if they cant?

Hey Knighter
How is la Verde's decision making ? Is it average or above average ?

First time posting on this thread, have read through large bits and pieces however and haven't found anything about Hodgson from the Bushrangers.
From memory he's about 188cm, mobile and versatile.
He's been invited to the combine and polled half a dozen votes in the Morrish Medal.
But what's really impressed me is that he's played a handful of senior games for Lavington in the O&M, and in most of those games has been named in the best.
Think he has a chance of going late in the draft? I'm thinking he'll probably get picked up in the rookie draft by Bulldogs, Richmond or even GWS.

The option I would be recommending to Brisbane is to talk to Sydney about trades for some of their senior players if looking to fill up their salary cap space. Many of those guys at Sydney are on big salaries and that would be a way to pretty quickly move up Brisbane's salary cap spending figure.

The other option for Brisbane would be to engage a third team and this is the more likely option being considered. That as one example could be GWS who have a number of players requesting a trade back to Victoria and others likely open to it.

Hey Knighter
How is la Verde's decision making ? Is it average or above average ?

Below average and it's Laverde's primary weakness for me. It's improved over the course of the season but he can at times try to do too much and particularly when he was played down back earlier on would choose some suspect targets at times.

First time posting on this thread, have read through large bits and pieces however and haven't found anything about Hodgson from the Bushrangers.
From memory he's about 188cm, mobile and versatile.
He's been invited to the combine and polled half a dozen votes in the Morrish Medal.
But what's really impressed me is that he's played a handful of senior games for Lavington in the O&M, and in most of those games has been named in the best.
Think he has a chance of going late in the draft? I'm thinking he'll probably get picked up in the rookie draft by Bulldogs, Richmond or even GWS.

Handy intercept mark across half back. Can play hbf/mid reasonably well. Has been a solid performer for Murray and also did reasonably well for NSW/ACT through the u18 champs. Late/rookie draft he is in the mix without being a certainty.

Hey KM I saw Matthew Panos got a write up on the AFL website today, any thoughts on him? Is he any good or is he just the beneficiary of the interest in big bodied midfielders?

Panos is a good one and I have been following some of his games. There is no real standout state leaguer this year who will go early draft - or not that I am aware of but Panos is the more intriguing giving he is new to the midfield role but has adjusted so well to it so quickly. I think he has a real chance late/rookie to get selected.
Panos isn't going to be a leading possession winner by position and isn't going to cover the most ground either by position but he can win the inside footy, uses it very well by foot but then also has the versatility to play forward or back as required. And they're the things you look for in a midfielder today. When you can do all that as a component of a midfield rotation I imagine a few clubs may think he has the opportunity to have a long term future with further development and work on his aerobic capacity which can in the AFL system generally be developed.

Handy intercept mark across half back. Can play hbf/mid reasonably well. Has been a solid performer for Murray and also did reasonably well for NSW/ACT through the u18 champs. Late/rookie draft he is in the mix without being a certainty.

I know that he was playing prominently at hbf and in the guts but the boy does love to kick a snag. Kicked a beauty one week that ended up on the Future Stars show, and I've been told that he kicked 14 in 3qtrs in a school game, although the competition wasn't impressive 14 is still ridiculous.

Hi Knightmare.

Long time lurker first time poster.

Just looking at your power rankings I'm really surprised that Laverde isn't within your top 10.

While I happily bow to your knowledge when it comes to these matters for me he strikes me as a player that possesses elite qualities within his skill set that many others do not and with further development these could set him apart from the pack in future years and elevate him to A grade level.

As a Collingwood fan he is the player I hope we take with the probable compensation pick of 4 (5) we receive for Beams.

If not Laverde who do you think Collingwood should take assuming we go for a midfield/flanker type?