Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 11
SuperCoach Rd 11 Rd 11 Talk - Trades - VC/C - Pendlebury Comp – Win A Badge - Fight MND Comp Returns ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 11 Rd 11 Talk - Trades - The VC/C Thread
Who's the best small forward Knightmare?
Think we're really lacking a good small forward that provides good tackle pressureMany like Jack Lonie and consider him the best small forward in this draft.
I personally most like Toby McLean as a small marking forward - B.O.G in the TAC Cup Grand Final and has put forward consistently strong performances as well as showing the ability to push through the midfield.
Think we're really lacking a good small forward that provides good tackle pressure
Maybe look at someone like Saad thenJack Lonie in that case if ok spending a 3rd round selection if there could be another option and has some Ballantyne to him. Not a great but good tackler.
Haiden Schloithe as a mature ager (ex Fremantle rookie) would be a secondary option and will be available as a rookie. Good midfielder, strong overhead, can hit the scoreboard but also a good pressure and tackling forward and in Sydney's situation the most immediate help which is the critical factor.
Overall not a great year for small, crumbing or pressure forwards but you can only pick from that group that are there.
Maybe look at someone like Saad then
Hey KM, was just wondering why there are virtually no ruckman being talked about in this years draft apart from of course Wright. I know you can take phantom drafts with a grain of salt but with many clubs looking to develop ruckman pretty much nobody except you included ruckman past round 1 in their drafts. last year Lobb and Nankervis were talked up a lot. Is this year just a poor year to draft ruckman, did they all have shocking championship games or are they just generally being ignored?
He said he was after someone who provides good tackling pressure though! Saad fits that bill much better.Would you be interested in giving T D-L a second chance at Sydney? Wouldn't cost much
If Pickett is gone by our pick, I reckon wce should pick up Weller over Ahern. He just seems like the smarter player with great skills. Even though Simpson has been going on about adding size, which Weller doesn't fit that scheme, he has also emphasized the need of players playing multiple positions that are smart and have skills, and too me Weller fits this. Do you reckon wce are considering Weller Knightmare?
Caleb Daniel ?????????
Predictably, this question is a fascination of mine too Popedelio. It would seem both Weller and Ahern are making late moves up the rankings, but perhaps Ahern has finished his run and mightn't end up being that top 12 prospect. Weller speaks well, seems really consistent, and may well be the better prospect long term, but I feel Ahern is still a better fit.
We've heard a lot from Simpson about what he loves to see in players (skill,size,flexibility), but the jury is out on what he and the recruiters will prioritise for their first pick. Personally I think it has to be speed before size that they first look to add to the midfield. WCE have two tall project-player mids in the wings, in Colledge and Tunbridge, to go with Yeo and Darling who are tipped to spend more time in the middle, but practically no pacy prospects to speak of. Ahern is quick. He's not big by any definition, and probably doesn't have a heap of strings to his bow, but that speed could make a huge difference to this "one-paced" midfield.
Unfortunately I don't hold out any hope that Pickett will still be there for the Eagles - he may last as long as pick #10, but I think we'll be back at #11 by draft day, and he won't get past Adelaide. By #11 you'd have to assume roughly five smalls will have been taken, with Petracca, Brayshaw and Pickett the locks. My feeling is the Eagles will prioritise Ahern just ahead of Weller. Either are ok by me but the taller types - Leverde and even Lamb, excite me a lot more. I'd be pretty pissed if they went for Clem Smith (who they love) with this pick. Not because he isn't a talent, nor because he's very small and not a brilliant kick, but because they don't need another back pocket and there's certainly no guarantee he's going to become a midfielder.
My guess at the Eagles' rankings (no talls)
1. Petracca
2. Brayshaw
3. Pickett
4. Leverde
5. Ahern
6. Weller
7. Smith
8. Lamb
9. De Goey
10. Ellis

KM do you reckon if tom lamb tests in the top bracket of prospects in the combine he will become a mid first rounder (Picks 10-16)
Caleb Daniel ?????????
In Brisbane's situation given Hanley, Rockliff and Aish would be considered the untouchables I would be offering one of Rich and Redden and trying to work out a secondary strong piece to put with them that appeals to Collingwood and therein will lie the challenge for Brisbane if fair dinkum about getting a deal done.
Lions need to get to the salary floor. They have a $1.5m hole at the moment. They must sign someone on a big salary. Bringing in Beans achieves that, but if it is at that expense of Rockliff or Hanley then they are back to square one. Brisbane will also be constrained in offering later picks because of their academy / fs options. Lions must bring in contracts for picks; they have little flexability.
Equally Collingwood may struggle to accommodate a deal if they give up $500k in Beams and get back $600k in Rockliff.
I can see Brisbane struggling to get a trade done with one hand basically tied behind their back.
This is a good point. What if clubs cant get to 95% of their TPP. Do they redo their existing player contracts to do this? What if they cant?Lions need to get to the salary floor. They have a $1.5m hole at the moment. They must sign someone on a big salary. Bringing in Beans achieves that, but if it is at that expense of Rockliff or Hanley then they are back to square one. Brisbane will also be constrained in offering later picks because of their academy / fs options. Lions must bring in contracts for picks; they have little flexability.
Equally Collingwood may struggle to accommodate a deal if they give up $500k in Beams and get back $600k in Rockliff.
I can see Brisbane struggling to get a trade done with one hand basically tied behind their back.
Lions need to get to the salary floor. They have a $1.5m hole at the moment. They must sign someone on a big salary. Bringing in Beans achieves that, but if it is at that expense of Rockliff or Hanley then they are back to square one. Brisbane will also be constrained in offering later picks because of their academy / fs options. Lions must bring in contracts for picks; they have little flexability.
Hey Knighter
How is la Verde's decision making ? Is it average or above average ?
First time posting on this thread, have read through large bits and pieces however and haven't found anything about Hodgson from the Bushrangers.
From memory he's about 188cm, mobile and versatile.
He's been invited to the combine and polled half a dozen votes in the Morrish Medal.
But what's really impressed me is that he's played a handful of senior games for Lavington in the O&M, and in most of those games has been named in the best.
Think he has a chance of going late in the draft? I'm thinking he'll probably get picked up in the rookie draft by Bulldogs, Richmond or even GWS.
Hey KM I saw Matthew Panos got a write up on the AFL website today, any thoughts on him? Is he any good or is he just the beneficiary of the interest in big bodied midfielders?
Handy intercept mark across half back. Can play hbf/mid reasonably well. Has been a solid performer for Murray and also did reasonably well for NSW/ACT through the u18 champs. Late/rookie draft he is in the mix without being a certainty.