Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

I'm increasingly seeing Blakely going earlier and probably somewhere around pick 20, perhaps even a touch earlier. It's plausible that Blakely is still available at 31 but increasingly unlikely.
Him being just a tick under 189cm now probably won't hurt his cause. If he's still growing he could get into that really desirable (as far as some, if not all clubs are concerned) 190cm+ range.

Hi Km , how do you rate harry dear potential wise, not taking into account his injury problems . Seems to me he is a great size , is athletic , can ruck , has a strong grab and has a good kick for goal... Am I missing something ?

Hey Knightmare,

What's your thoughts on Billy Frampton from South Fremantle?
He's very bottom aged but looks to have all the right tools to play Forward/Ruck to a high level.
Not seeing him in any Phantoms though, believe he was invited to the combine so there would be some interest.

Cheers.

Frampton finds it around the ground in bunches but not a dominant tap ruckman. He is a chance given the weakness in this years ruck prospects but not many of those ruck prospects are certain selections.

Hey KM, Kangas fan, some phantom's have Sam Durdin sliding a bit. Any slim chance he could fall as far as Pick 16? Is there anyone else that you think is on the slippery dip?!
Awesome reading your thoughts each year!

Hard to see Durdin sliding that far. Geelong, Richmond, Fremantle, hard to see him sliding beyond Adelaide at 14.

Stranger things have happened but I wouldn't be counting on it.

Any idea who might jump in on Newton from Port?

Likely those lower ranked Victorian clubs take a look. Any of Melbourne/St Kilda/Western Bulldogs could probably use Newton.

Hi Km , how do you rate harry dear potential wise, not taking into account his injury problems . Seems to me he is a great size , is athletic , can ruck , has a strong grab and has a good kick for goal... Am I missing something ?

Nice height and intriguing with his athletic traits. His ceiling is something like Sam Grimley as a best case scenario but I see him as more a state leaguer than AFL standard guy. Production at this point just isn't high enough to be someone I'd consider - forward or ruck. In the TAC he has only had the one 4 goals game, has never taken more than 5 marks or had more than 13 disposals in a game. He has the one 35 hitout game but otherwise no more than 14 hitouts.

I'd like to see him come back again next year in the TAC Cup. When looking for a guy who plays predominantly forward you just really need to be more dominant than that.

Hey KM, do you know much on Matthew Panos (I think that's his name)

Hight, weight, age, position, bio?

Thanks

Panos was previously listed by Western Bulldogs. Back then he played mostly key forward and also at times got swung into key defence. Back then he had a Matthew Lloyd like feel up forward as a quick leading forward who just about never missed his set shots as one of the sweetest kicking set shot goalkicking key forwards you'll ever find. Just not quite as tall as you'd like for a key forward and perhaps not quite enough tricks overall to make it in that role full time.

This year in the SANFL he has played through the midfield and it has been interesting. He is a tall midfielder at roughly 192cm. Terrific kick. Can win some of his own ball. Has pretty good acceleration. Numbers not incredible but good enough to spike the interest. He is a 1991 born so 23 years of age. Given the newness to the role while he won't give you immediate impact he has some scope to develop. The main thing he'll need to work on is his endurance and getting that up to a midfielders standard as that is still below par and a work in progress by position.

G'day KM, just wondering what you thought the chances of Weller slipping to us at 10 are? He'd be a really good fit for us i think.

Secondly, do you know anything about a potential flight risk that Pickett may or may not possess?

Cheers mate. :)

In my next update when I get that up perhaps next Sunday evening I actually have Weller going to Geelong, curious as that is as a result of Gold Coast taking Kyle Langford who I feel will appeal to them.

Whether go-home-factor will be relevant with Pickett is unknown. I imagine that would have come out during the player interviews but I don't have information on that.

Is De Goey any chance at 5 for the Pies or is it a bridge too far?

Not likely. De Goey likely goes somewhere closer to 15. He isn't so well performed that he'll go so high.

Collingwood are most heavily linked to Laverde and Ahern.

Hey KM... No doubt you've been asked this, but who would be the best three users by foot?

Caleb Daniel, Jayden Short and Daniel McKenzie are my three best and for completely different reasons.

Daniel is the most efficient kick in the draft. More a short - medium distance kicker but rarely misses a target, under pressure never makes a mistake and vision terrific.

Short is a sub 180cm, really thin guy but another terrifically efficient user of the footy. Efficient, can hit the scoreboard and hits some damaging targets, but again not your extreme penetrator.

McKenzie is efficient but also penetrating. Doesn't always unload the long kick but he can kick is 60m and do damage when given the time and space.

Caleb Daniel, Jayden Short and Daniel McKenzie are my three best and for completely different reasons.

Daniel is the most efficient kick in the draft. More a short - medium distance kicker but rarely misses a target, under pressure never makes a mistake and vision terrific.

Short is a sub 180cm, really thin guy but another terrifically efficient user of the footy. Efficient, can hit the scoreboard and hits some damaging targets, but again not your extreme penetrator.

McKenzie is efficient but also penetrating. Doesn't always unload the long kick but he can kick is 60m and do damage when given the time and space.

Josh Glenn?

Dillon Viojo-Rainbow?

Viojo-Rainbow like McKenzie is damaging but not as efficient. With Viojo-Rainbow he can have the odd poor kicks mixed in but overall terrific kick and top 10 kick in this draft.

Hey KM great work. Probably have a few too many picks for Ess though as we are upgrading Ambrose and still need to delist one more to take the min 3 picks in as we picked up cooney, giles & gwilt.

Any chance of Connors, Panos, Saad getting picked up or more likely PSD/Rookie?

Hey KM great work. Probably have a few too many picks for Ess though as we are upgrading Ambrose and still need to delist one more to take the min 3 picks in as we picked up cooney, giles & gwilt.

Any chance of Connors, Panos, Saad getting picked up or more likely PSD/Rookie?

Further to the above Knightmare, if things fall our way, can we get Mark Kovacevic late in the draft?

Also, have any of the Box Hill Hawks done enough to get drafted anywhere?
Have Xavier Murphy, David Mirra, Brandon Wood, Ryan Exon or Tom Goodwin* done enough to get drafted?

* = went to school with him.