Lin Jong - Where do we go to from here

What will the club do after hearing about Jong touring other club facilities ?

Football payers arnt soldiers it's insulting to men and woman that die serving their countries. Makes me sick when people use this disgusting comparison.
It is a metaphor look it up.
Don't be getting all PC on us - it doesn't befit you.
What if one said dicksons goal kicking is surgical? Bont was the architect of that goal? Liber cleaned up the mess? Would you object to the disparagement of surgeons, architects or cleaners?

Do any of those occupations risk their lives in service to their country?

It's not a metaphor it's a poorly used comparison.

No one risks their lives walking onto a footy ground and to compare them is disrespectful.

The Anzac Day game makes me sick when they talk about brave football warriors!

Brave? Really?

No one risks their lives walking onto a footy ground and to compare them is disrespectful.

Brave? Really?
Fair point, though there is an element of bravery in football....

Brave? Really?

I played with a bloke who died on the footy field. To say there's no risk involved I'd imagine would be deeply disrespectful to his family.

Might not seem like it to you, but you can draw a bow in all different directions.

I played with a bloke who died on the footy field. To say there's no risk involved I'd imagine would be deeply disrespectful to his family.

Might not seem like it to you, but you can draw a bow in all different directions.

That's awful mate I too have also played a game in which a bloke passed away.

Heart attack was a horrible thing to see but in reality not related to the game more the blokes health

Do any of those occupations risk their lives in service to their country?
Nor do they kill other humans.

All war is for the benefit of the few at the cost of many.

Glorifying war is criminal.

The overwhelming majority of soldiers from any war know they were nothing but fodder for the vilest of purposes.

They return home to a public who doesn't give two hoots. But a naive duplicitous public who gullibly continue to swallow the sacredness of it all.

Further the overwhelming number of armed forces don't see any war - they have jobs no different to any of us and just as safe.

So please stop sprouting patriotic nonsense. It's done more than enough damage and it's time people called it out for the tragedy it continues to be.

The overwhelming majority of soldiers from any war know they were nothing but fodder for the vilest of purposes.

They return home to a public who doesn't give two hoots. But a naive duplicitous public who gullibly continue to swallow the sacredness of it all.

Further the overwhelming number of armed forces don't see any war - they have jobs no different to any of us and just as safe.

So please stop sprouting patriotic nonsense. It's done more than enough damage and it's time people called it out for the tragedy it continues to be.

Very good post but you are solely looking from a macro level.

I was referring to the soldiers that served countries in the wars before they became about economics and global conglomerations.

You believe that men that served and died in the first and Second World War did it for vile purposes?

You can generalise all you want but be clear about who you are disparaging because such a broad sweeping statement is as disgusting as the initial comment.

Well this thread has taken a left turn.

I was referring to the soldiers that served countries in the wars before they became about economics and global conglomerations.

You believe that men that served and died in the first and Second World War did it for vile purposes?

You can generalise all you want but be clear about who you are disparaging because such a broad sweeping statement is as disgusting as the initial comment.
You know that is not what I wrote.

The soldiers and the public are merely dupes, sacrificial lambs, fodder, tragic victims for futile mindless causes - and it has almost always been that way.

The idea of a good war or a just war as you intimate is entirely imaginary and the worst kind of propaganda - a fantasy propagated by those who have never been touched by war - which is nothing but senseless destruction.

Speak to those who have been in a war
Faced bullets and seen friends or family wounded crippled dead. There is nothing sacred about it.

Gotta appreciate how physically taxing the role Jong plays is though. Hit after hit as well as burst pace. Kinda understandable he can't always run around at full pace as well. The sort of player I reckon our other players would be very to keen to have in the side - if he wasn't there taking the punishment they would be!
Yeah the sort of bloke you'd like to have in the trenches with you. And when Bont came under enemy sniper fire was among the first to fly the flag. Soldiered on bravely when wounded. What a trooper.

Haha quality human

Sarcasm at men dying to have a shot at me.

Well done another one for ignore

MD everyone knows your opinion, Dickson, Hrovat and Jong are shite. Would just say that most of us come here for fun but the way you carry on is worse than my wife.

This is the first time in forty years that i have said that she is second to anyone in the nagging/harping stakes.
On the topic of wives mine will no longer allow my daughters to read bigfooty because of the comments regarding why Jong is on our list. Kicking some pretty big goals on here regarding free speech and the to hard basket.

You know that is not what I wrote.

The soldiers and the public are merely dupes, sacrificial lambs, fodder, tragic victims for futile mindless causes - and it has almost always been that way.

The idea of a good war or a just war as you intimate is entirely imaginary and the worst kind of propaganda - a fantasy propagated by those who have never been touched by war - which is nothing but senseless destruction.

Speak to those who have been in a war
Faced bullets and seen friends or family wounded crippled dead. There is nothing sacred about it.
WW1&2 weren't mindless causes from the allies point of view were they?

That's some quality satire

On the topic of wives mine will no longer allow my daughters to read bigfooty because of the comments regarding why Jong is on our list. Kicking some pretty big goals on here regarding free speech and the to hard basket.

Hahaha

You talk about free speech and then try to get me banned AGAIN

Oh the irony must really fly over your head.

You let your girls read this garbage? And then use them and your "wife" as a pathetic tool to again try to get me banned?

Seriously put me on ignore its not hard

This argument is like slamming my head against a brick wall. Repeatedly. Extremely hard.

Just grow up, for god sake. The people who think they're doing "the right thing", you are easily just as bad at ****ing up these threads and turning them into a cesspool of shitty posts. MD said Jong was good, people still jump down his throat. Don't like his posts, put him on ignore.
MD, stop posting "waaaa" bullshit, or telling people to not post about you. Ignore it. For the love of god, ignore it. It just creates more when you respond.

People can say whatever they ****ing like about the footy on here as long as it isn't against the rules. We aren't going to stop people from doing that. Don't like what someone says, ignore them, or harden up and try and actually talk about it instead of having a cry. We try to be fairly lenient on our posters on this board, since who wants to be walking on eggshells all the time hoping they don't get banned? But this shit is seriously testing our patience.

How ****ing sad is it that this even needs to be posted? Just cut the shit out. I'd rather not do it publicly but apparently people aren't understanding when they get personal messages.

MMM discussed Jong today:

BT described Jongy as a tackling machine and ferocious.

MBoyd acknowledged Jong's hardness and courage. Also noted that he is still young and some of the things he did last night was "huge" for us.

Carey noted that he was a young player who knows he is "sort of on the fringe" and is hungry to play finals footy.

Nice to see him get some recognition from inside and outside the club.

Hopefully he builds on this performance. If he can, then he might make it as best 22.