Opinion Major changes for 2023

I’m sure if he’s told that he won’t be starting in the seniors he’ll take it in the right spirit and play decent footy for Casey.
I'd frame it as a promotion to the Globetrotters. What an accomplishment! Every "senior player" would be proud to be playing for Casey!

First major change is for Goodwin to realise what we were doing in the back half of the season didn’t work come finals time . If that doesn’t change then neither will our results . We are not longer the bench mark on the ground .

One changed I'd like to see THIS YEAR is a little bit more "ruthlessness" as far as trading and contracts go.

Tommy MacDonald, Benny Brown, Sam Weideman... without knowing their contracts I'd hope that they were giving back some "happy endings" somewhere along the line because their contracts have been very, very generous IMO.

I have seen no confirmation that Melbourne is contractually obliged to play Brayshaw in the centre but that would be ridiculous if it is true. We won a flag with him on the wing (although I think Jordon is has a fair claim on that spot) and he was massive on the HBF.

Being a part of the Melbourne Demons is it's own reward, we are the best club in the AFL if you don't want to take a little bit of a pay-cut to wear red and nice royal blue then quite frankly you can go f yourself.

One changed I'd like to see THIS YEAR is a little bit more "ruthlessness" as far as trading and contracts go.

Tommy MacDonald, Benny Brown, Sam Weideman... without knowing their contracts I'd hope that they were giving back some "happy endings" somewhere along the line because their contracts have been very, very generous IMO.

I have seen no confirmation that Melbourne is contractually obliged to play Brayshaw in the centre but that would be ridiculous if it is true. We won a flag with him on the wing (although I think Jordon is has a fair claim on that spot) and he was massive on the HBF.

Being a part of the Melbourne Demons is it's own reward, we are the best club in the AFL if you don't want to take a little bit of a pay-cut to wear red and nice royal blue then quite frankly you can go f yourself.
Don't know what TMac is on, but he signed a two year contract last year.

Considering that we had a 100% win rate with him in the team this year, and only a 50% win rate after he got injured, I'd say he's worth every penny.

We carried him to a flag last year, he should be playing for free.

Correlation isn't causation.

Our first half of the year was a much easier draw, teams started to work us out, a number of other injuries occurred and a glut of senior players fell out of form.

Can't really tie TMac to our winning form that easily.

Correlation isn't causation.

Our first half of the year was a much easier draw, teams started to work us out, a number of other injuries occurred and a glut of senior players fell out of form.

Can't really tie TMac to our winning form that easily.
Of course I can. I just did.

And if you deny that correlation is causation then that makes you a climate change denier!

I wouldn't like to be in your shoes :fire:.

So much this.

Goody craves consistency and stability which I agree is important, but you've also gotta mix things up if warranted. His selections have been so conservative and detrimental, especially in the second half of the year when so many players were out of form and banged up.

Being 10-0 made us a bit complacent too i reckon. Clearly pressure was an issue but we were winning, so why change things up! Our F50 was a mess but we were winning. We weren't outing teams away in the 2nd half but we were still winning. Salem coming back threw us out. He came straight in without playing 2nds. These blokes were getting gifted a game based on their name or what they did last year when clearly half our best 22 weren't near what they were last year. Bowey, JVR, Laurie, Dunstan, Bedford, Turner even Mitch Brown should have been getting games due to best 22 players out of form or we needed to rest some blokes. Lever didn't look right all year, neither did Salem or Gawn in the 2nd half of the year. We played Trac in a final with a broken leg FFS and he was still our best player. Too many blokes got games based on reputation. We played blokes underdone or under an injury cloud too often.

For me we need that hunger back. Even though we finished 2nd, we probably had a premiership hangover because we literally played 3 really good games all season. Our pressure in 2021 was electrifying for most of the season. This season stone cold last. Whether it's fitness or hunger I'm not sure, but that's where we start. Get some pieces in, find a way to transform our F50 and our F50 entries and that's a big part of the battle right there. Our backline when fully fit is still the best in the comp. Our mids probably needs someone who can hit targets with a bit of toe. Our F50 needs a contested marker or two(JVR/Petty?) and another small forward who can be goal hungry like Ginnivan. Can we transform Spargo into an outside mid? Do we put Angus back in defence where clearly he plays his best footy even though he wants mid time? Do we play Trac more up forward? Inject a few young Casey players? Put Harmes? Sparrow? Salem? Hunt? on the trade table while they are worth something? Trade in a couple of players who will genuinely be best 22 and fulfil a role. It's a big offseason and if we sit on our hands we tumble IMO.

I kept thinking we are keeping an ace up our sleeve, I whinged a lot during those ten wins but always thought wed build on our game as the year went on so didnt want to go too hard, it never happened.

Seriously though, I stand corrected, 2 year contract extension is fine. His previous contract was 4 years though. That was extra friendly I thought.
The bloke clearly restructured his contract so we could fit all our "guns" in, just spread whatever he was on over more years. He may have been an absolute peanut as a defender with his shimmy move that would make Frosty cringe but he's more than capable as a forward so I'll live with the extra years

I kept thinking we are keeping an ace up our sleeve, I whinged a lot during those ten wins but always thought wed build on our game as the year went on so didnt want to go too hard, it never happened.
Yeah, I took it as good that we got to 10-0 without playing well and thought that at worst we would finish top 2. Like other sides that have won multiple flags, just do what you have to in the home and away and hit finals with fitness and a good grid position. But we just couldn’t find that extra gear when needed. We were clearly gassed and banged up. The heaviest scrutiny should be applied to the selection committee and player management. Salem should’ve come back through the VFL. Gawn and Jackson may well have come back too early. Surely Brown needed more support than Melksham and a banged up Gawn. Petracca showed balls of steel the other night but it was risky af and reeked of desperation playing him. Lever could barely move and Oliver looked to have been rushed back after his thumb surgery.

There were also times when Sparrow, Spargo and possibly Neal Bullen should’ve been dropped. Hindsight’s 20/20 but Laurie and Van Rooyen should have debuted. No premiership team has ever played together again, natural attrition comes into it but so does a hungry layer of players underneath putting selection pressure on. It seems we were happy to more or less pick blokes and hope their 21 form and fitness would miraculously return. The way we play requires a high level of fitness and our good players to be form in the end we had neither.

Agree with the above posts

There was talk of Burgo's strategy of getting players to push through injuries and niggles topping out at other clubs (I'd assume from our selections this year we haven't changed the philosophy)

Hard to disagree when we've got Gawn, Salem, Fritsch, Lever, Trac all hobbling in our last game of the year. Some of the injuries couldn't be avoided, but pushing through when you're clearly not right to go doesn't help anyone when so much of the team are doing it. It also robs a younger guy of an opportunity - we didn't debut one kid did we? Just Luke Dunstan.

When we are a grinding, defensive contest team we also have to win the running/pressure battle more often than not, which we failed to do at the G in big games.

Agree with the above posts

There was talk of Burgo's strategy of getting players to push through injuries and niggles topping out at other clubs (I'd assume from our selections this year we haven't changed the philosophy)

Hard to disagree when we've got Gawn, Salem, Fritsch, Lever, Trac all hobbling in our last game of the year. Some of the injuries couldn't be avoided, but pushing through when you're clearly not right to go doesn't help anyone when so much of the team are doing it. It also robs a younger guy of an opportunity - we didn't debut one kid did we? Just Luke Dunstan.

When we are a grinding, defensive contest team we also have to win the running/pressure battle more often than not, which we failed to do at the G in big games.
Turner our only debut for the year, and that only lasted half a game. Agree we should have rotated more blokes through the side.
Dunstan is limited, but would've been handy to give Clarry/Trac/Viney a break for a game or two, or could've given us a chance to try Trac forward more, leave Gus at HBF, etc. Bedford got a few games but was quickly pushed out again. He didn't set the world alight but had some spark with his pace and was willing to have a ping. We didn't need 6 changes a week but should have been more willing to change the side outside of forced changes through injury (and agree with you there that pushing through injuries bit us badly).

Danster was mostly right from the get go. Others were also saying what he was as well to be fair.

But just like Melbourne forward 50 entries, his delivery was poor. If he works on that I can see him easily break into the best 22 posters on this board next year.
I think most people just wanted to bask for a few weeks as reigning premier's before donning the veil again.

Goody's line about teams picking on our vulnerabilities was pretty funny in retrospect. When you play as predictably as we do its far easier to find vulnerabilities.

Its not just the game plan that needs changing, its needing to have a plan b, c and d... looked like he went into the year with one plan only and thought it would be enough, he will say its because of the faith he has in the group, I will say it was arrogance/laziness.

What needs to change:

• The biggest one is the coaches embracing and encouraging a more risky style of ball movement. Sure we might cough up a few goals on the counter but **** me we still coughed up a bunch against good teams just hacking it down the line. A lot of the stuff I mention below this won't matter if this doesn't change. A great example of our reluctance to do so this year is how ANB is locked into the 22 every week despite giving us **** all offensively because the coaches like his 'defensive running'. FMD would it kill us to have some pricks that can create scores outside Fritta and Kozzy?
  • Brayshaw back to half back. Doesn't offer anything different in the middle and he was legit AA form at half back
  • A willingness to throw different guys into the centre square. So often we just go with Oliver/Viney/Trac/Brayshaw and maybe Sparrow once in a blue moon. What happened to Kozzy in the middle like in 2021 to start a game?
  • Sparrow plays primarily midfield or is out of the side.
  • ANB and Spargo on notice with Chandler, Laurie and any other in form half forward at VFL level plays over them if they continue this rubbish form. They can also replace Sparrows nothing role floating forward-mid
  • Grundy is coming and we can't stop it so I'd imagine he does a lot of centre square rucking and Gawn is forward. This 'could' work as despite Jacksons trajectory Grundy is still much better at this stage of their careers, and we should see an improvement in clearances due to this. Whether Gawn actually does anything up forward is completely up to Max and how much he devotes himself to forward craft, he isn't going to ever be a gun forward but he gets enough shots at goal already to kick 35 goals if he kicks a bit better
  • Hunt out for Bowey and Salem put on serious notice. I've come around to trading Salem even though they'll never do it, bloke is a massive waste of ability. Bowey at least tries to create by foot, Turner is a bit similar to Lever so not sure he replaces Salem but we need to get a set back 6 and let them gel like we did in 2021
  • Trac goes to the same school of finishing that Gawn has to attend and gets more of a go up forward. It was quite mind boggling that Trac had a few really good weeks playing a close to 50-50 mid/fwd split, then Brayshaw goes into the middle and Tracs forward minutes go DOWN????
  • Brown out for good, JVR and TMac are the KPFs for round 1 next year. Weideman I'd trade for a packet of chips but no-one will take him, and we can't cut Brown with two years to go on his deal

The team I'd ideally go with for round 1 next year:

Lever May Hibberd
Bowey Petty Brayshaw
Langdon Viney Jordon
Laurie TMac Kozzy
Fritsch Gawn JVR
Grundy Oliver Petracca
Rivers Spargo Sparrow ????

Salem for me starts in the 2s unless he gets an attitude adjustment, he needs a rocket. Rivers hasn't set the world on fire either but I do like his endeavour more than Salem.

In a strange way im kind of glad the kids led by JVR and Laurie weren't subjected to our shit game style this year, could have ruined them as players, sucking any natural attacking flair out of them before their career even got started.

contest work and repeat stoppage > goals and hitting teammates in dangerous spots by foot.

There is no doubt if Goody rolls into next year with the same game plan again we aren't finishing top 8. Id very much hope this is the wake call he has needed for 6 months now.

What needs to change:

• The biggest one is the coaches embracing and encouraging a more risky style of ball movement. Sure we might cough up a few goals on the counter but * me we still coughed up a bunch against good teams just hacking it down the line. A lot of the stuff I mention below this won't matter if this doesn't change. A great example of our reluctance to do so this year is how ANB is locked into the 22 every week despite giving us * all offensively because the coaches like his 'defensive running'. FMD would it kill us to have some pricks that can create scores outside Fritta and Kozzy?
  • Brayshaw back to half back. Doesn't offer anything different in the middle and he was legit AA form at half back
  • A willingness to throw different guys into the centre square. So often we just go with Oliver/Viney/Trac/Brayshaw and maybe Sparrow once in a blue moon. What happened to Kozzy in the middle like in 2021 to start a game?
  • Sparrow plays primarily midfield or is out of the side.
  • ANB and Spargo on notice with Chandler, Laurie and any other in form half forward at VFL level plays over them if they continue this rubbish form. They can also replace Sparrows nothing role floating forward-mid
  • Grundy is coming and we can't stop it so I'd imagine he does a lot of centre square rucking and Gawn is forward. This 'could' work as despite Jacksons trajectory Grundy is still much better at this stage of their careers, and we should see an improvement in clearances due to this. Whether Gawn actually does anything up forward is completely up to Max and how much he devotes himself to forward craft, he isn't going to ever be a gun forward but he gets enough shots at goal already to kick 35 goals if he kicks a bit better
  • Hunt out for Bowey and Salem put on serious notice. I've come around to trading Salem even though they'll never do it, bloke is a massive waste of ability. Bowey at least tries to create by foot, Turner is a bit similar to Lever so not sure he replaces Salem but we need to get a set back 6 and let them gel like we did in 2021
  • Trac goes to the same school of finishing that Gawn has to attend and gets more of a go up forward. It was quite mind boggling that Trac had a few really good weeks playing a close to 50-50 mid/fwd split, then Brayshaw goes into the middle and Tracs forward minutes go DOWN????
  • Brown out for good, JVR and TMac are the KPFs for round 1 next year. Weideman I'd trade for a packet of chips but no-one will take him, and we can't cut Brown with two years to go on his deal

The team I'd ideally go with for round 1 next year:

Lever May Hibberd
Bowey Petty Brayshaw
Langdon Viney Jordon
Laurie TMac Kozzy
Fritsch Gawn JVR
Grundy Oliver Petracca
Rivers Spargo Sparrow ????

Salem for me starts in the 2s unless he gets an attitude adjustment, he needs a rocket. Rivers hasn't set the world on fire either but I do like his endeavour more than Salem.

Jeez that forward line is slow mate. Teams would be waltzing our of our D50. Gawn has to come off the bench rotating with Grundy if we are to get him imo.

Opinion Major changes for 2023