Mark Seaby

Hille is not as young as he once was and next year he won't be the player he used to be. That leaves Ryder, with Bellchambers and Bock who so far are just not up to it, plus Hooker who is a defender and not a ruck. Another option in the ruck would be fantastic.
Laycock? if he can get past his injuries then there is no way seaby would see game time at Essendon.

He would be a terrific fit for Collingwood, can then get rid of Wood. Fraser playing forward would help them in a major way, having a solid chop out rather than Wood who really just isn't good enough. I hope Essendon make a play for him. Hille is starting to get on and Ryder can't be expected to shoulder the load almost by himself (Hooker isn't much chop in the ruck) again. If Seaby came to Essendon I think he would get regular game time.

Exactly, every year like this one with Ryder playing ruck will take a year off his career IMO. You don't want a quality KPP like Ryder getting bashed and smashed every week in the ruck.

Also Seaby can take a good pack mark up forward, with Lloyd and Lucas getting on and Seaby only 25 he can got a job up forward for parts of the game.

This season has seen a fair few clubs lose ruckmen and have been forced to play non ruckmen or underdeveloped rucks. I hope Seaby plays the rest of the year, he's definately shown more than last year and another 5 games at his current form will attack interest from 2-3 clubs IMO.

Good luck Seab's:thumbsu:

im a seaby fan and think he could do well at a new club. he is a great club man and dedicated to his craft, at various times in his career he has held up the number 1 ruck spot very well and is a handy resting forward too. his confidence is down and his career has stagnated, but he could do well at the right club.

if there is more than one club interested then it will most likely be a early second rounder.

if there is a single club interested, then a third or even fourth rounder will be fine.

if noone is interested, then we will keep him until his contract expires

Laycock? if he can get past his injuries then there is no way seaby would see game time at Essendon.

In a strange way this is the great value of Seaby. He is a brilliant insurance policy. I would keep him. Ruckmen do get injured!

Look at melbourne on the weekend without a ruckman - well they have one but he was in for tank therapy.

If he leaves WCE at the end of the year and it sounds as if he will, he definitely has some value left and he will find a club, whether it's through a trade or the PSD, someone will take a shot on him. Collingwood as many others have said, i think is the best avenue for him to take. Seaby or Charman should be pursued by the Woods, they cant win a premiership with just Fraser in the ruck and they cant do it with Bryan or Wood IMO.

Seaby/Charman and Fraser would be a great ruck set up for them and it would put them all the more closer to being able to challenge the top 2.

How is Warnock working out for you? And how much did you give up for him again? :D

Seaby will be a bargain pickup for whoever gets him.

Let me answer these two questions and put you at ease:

1. Might be a bit early to make any final pronouncements on Warnock. He is coming back from injury and just played his first VFL game over the weekend. At 206cm, with much more bulk on him and with plenty of youth on his side, he's a much better prospect than Seaby.

2. We gave up a second rounder and swapped our fourth round pick. Freo picked up Suban and he looks good. We would have taken Mitchell Robinson with our second pick but got him with our third. So we did well too. So it ended up being a third rounder in practicality and swapping a fourth rounder.

Very happy with the deal.

Now I realise that you've got a vested interest in talking up Seaby but he's really not that good for a mature ruckman. I know plenty of Eagles' supporters who see him as a list-clogger. Anyone who gives more than a fourth rounder for him is being dudded. In fact, he's a better PSD prospect.

Lets not forget that ruckman usually get 1 round more value than they are worth
They have done in the past few years because there has been a very large amount of teams who desperately needed a ruckman.

Not so many teams need ruckmen = demand is lower = price will be lower.

Ha, we'd have trouble offloading him for a 2nd rounder even without a compromised draft.

It'll be 3rd at best.

He's certainly servicable and sides could do worse than taking him if they need a ruckman, and I think he'd do better in a side that gave him more opportunity. But you're kidding yourself.

I think the "compromised draft" you speak of will actually decrease the value of picks this year. The only way the draft is compromised this year is that there is only 8 months worth of new kids available. Many of the kids no longer eligible are guns too. The predictions are there is talent till around pick 20 and then it drops off fast. So, there will be fewer good picks than usual at around 30-50, decreasing the value of these picks considerably and making a club more likely to consider trading their 2nd/3rd round pick.

Just throwing this out there probably for Dogs supporters, how do they feel the Hudson trade has treated them as I see some similarities between Hudson and Seaby...

Don't think he can hold down a No 1 role at another club, maybe Port keen to fill Lade's spot as he surely will be pulling up stumps this year

All of Charman, Blake and Seaby will find new clubs if their respective teams are happy enough to let them go. All are a little surplus to their club's needs but others such as Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton could do worse than have a look at them. Even Hawthorn could do with one of them.

They have done in the past few years because there has been a very large amount of teams who desperately needed a ruckman.

Not so many teams need ruckmen = demand is lower = price will be lower.

I think you are waaaay off the mark mate. 3-4 teams this year have had major injury problems with their ruck division and these injuries will effect next year as well. Essendon, Brisbane, Collingwood, Adelaide and Hawthorn.

Ports rucks are getting old and Collingwood's rucks are its achillies heal, Frazer with a dodgy knee should be playing forward with spells in the ruck and Woods........well;).

Just go on dream team and check out the depth of the comps rucks, it's not that deep IMO.

Seaby isn't AA but he is solid, durable and is only 25. Plenty of coaches have said some rucks take until their late 20's early 30's to hit their straps and play their best footy.

Just throwing this out there probably for Dogs supporters, how do they feel the Hudson trade has treated them as I see some similarities between Hudson and Seaby...

Don't think he can hold down a No 1 role at another club, maybe Port keen to fill Lade's spot as he surely will be pulling up stumps this year

Hudson trade has been very good for Dogs. For someone that was got as a stop gap to fill a hole in list until young rucks develop he has been very good, will play on another couple of years if body holds. Minson has improved drastically alongside Hudson, so much so they have rarely been beaten in ruck this year.

Problem with Seaby is does he do enough besides ruck, Hudson wins plenty of hard balls and clearances, and ruckman must have more than one string to bow nowadays, hence why Blake is pretty much finished.

He would be a terrific fit for Collingwood, can then get rid of Wood. Fraser playing forward would help them in a major way, having a solid chop out rather than Wood who really just isn't good enough. I hope Essendon make a play for him. Hille is starting to get on and Ryder can't be expected to shoulder the load almost by himself (Hooker isn't much chop in the ruck) again. If Seaby came to Essendon I think he would get regular game time.

Nah we would keep wood and get rid of Bryan the club sees wood as more of a future prospect.

All of Charman, Blake and Seaby will find new clubs if their respective teams are happy enough to let them go. All are a little surplus to their club's needs but others such as Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton could do worse than have a look at them. Even Hawthorn could do with one of them.
Why do we need Seaby, Charman or Blake?

We have Hampson, Kreuzer, Jacobs and Warnock.

Warnock is the second coming of Justin Madden...

A huge man after watching his come back game on Saturday.

Seaby isn't a patch on Warnock, Hampson and Kreuzer who are mobile and athletic.

I don't know why Essendon would want Seaby.

They have Laycock and the younger Bellchambers to back up Ryder and Hille.

Second stringer at best.

Seaby is no Michael Gardiner and Steven King who were AA ruckman and guns at their best.

If Seaby is that good, why are West Coast fans wanting to get rid of him?

Rendell thinks this draft is light on for ruckman.

Are WCE fans wanting to rely on Cox, Naitanui and Lynch?

Seaby isn't a patch on Warnock, Hampson and Kreuzer who are mobile and athletic.

I don't know why Essendon would want Seaby.

They have Laycock and the younger Bellchambers to back up Ryder and Hille.

Second stringer at best.

Seaby is no Michael Gardiner and Steven King who were AA ruckman and guns at their best.

If Seaby is that good, why are West Coast fans wanting to get rid of him?

Rendell thinks this draft is light on for ruckman.

Are WCE fans wanting to rely on Cox, Naitanui and Lynch?

Seaby towled up Warnock when they faced off in the WAFL so you're stretching the truth there mate.;)

As posted Essendon's and other ruck divisions have had major injury problems this season which may effect next season. The last thing Essendon need is to flog Ryder playing first ruck every week.

And Seaby has put his hand up to be traded as Cox and NickNat are ahead of him for obvious reasons and Lynch as a backup is actually improving.

Seaby needs more game time and he isn't going to get it at the Eagles, simple really.

Mark Seaby