News Matthew Scarlett on Open Mike

i've met scarlett at 2 seperate non geelong corporate events a couple of years apart and the bloke is a deadset knob. One of the rudest people ive ever had the displeasure of meeting

christ he could play footy though

You mustn't have been his type :p ;)

"They know the formula to win premierships, a lot of sides don't" when asked about our chances this year.

i've met scarlett at 2 seperate non geelong corporate events a couple of years apart and the bloke is a deadset knob. One of the rudest people ive ever had the displeasure of meeting

christ he could play footy though
I never wanted to say it but I completely agree.
I love him because he is one of the greatest Geelong players of all time.
He is also a shizen bloke.
That is my understanding also.

Couple of my mates who are mad Cats fans have ran into him the last 2 boxing days after the cricket... the 1st year (when he was still a player) they said he was a champ.
Last year they said he was an arseh*le

agree with funk44 and Senatorguesty.... he can be an arseh*le off the field but for what he has done for our footy club on the field and helping build a non rubbish culture off it we will love him forever

couldn't care less if he's an arseh*le off the field, if I said hi and he said get farked, still be in awe and salute the great man :thumbsu:

Had the pleasure of meeting a few of the boys and they are always willing to give you some time for a photo or a chat.
A lot of fans don't realize the players still do a good deal of work in their free time and attending functions or media commitments would probably shit the best of us let alone someone who may not be all that good around people.
He may not intend to come across as arrogant or a complete knob, he's just a different kind of bloke is all.

I think there'd be a few folks in here who may understand what I mean as anyone who has done a bit of back packing or traveling up North...walk into one of those pubs in the middle of nowhere and you get welcomed with a nice "what'll it be corka?" :)

Is it possible for someone to please record Scarlo's interview, this Povolina Cats supporter can't afford Foxtel :(

About Scarlo, I'd always thought he was the type who doesn't suffer fools gladly, which is a quality I really like! At last year's Carji Greaves, with confidence enhanced by bubbles, I approached Scarlo, who was surrounded by Boy Cats and I thanked him, wished him well and it came up I was from Sydney. Scarlo, without missing a beat said he was born in Bondi and spent a few minutes trying to convince me he was from Sydney and that any info that said otherwise was lies. He was absolutely the sweetest guy, gave me a huge cuddle and had photos with me. I thought it extremely generous of him considering it was almost like his retirement party.

Just really hoping someone will record the interview, can't bear the thought of missing it.
After the show airs Fox Sports will put it up here...​
[click on the beard]​

agree with funk44 and Senatorguesty.... he can be an arseh*le off the field but for what he has done for our footy club on the field and helping build a non rubbish culture off it we will love him forever
Think he’s just a private person who isn’t into all the hype and adoration.

Can’t recall hearing a team mate say a bad word about him.

Thanks for the link HTR.:thumbsu:

Think he’s just a private person who isn’t into all the hype and adoration.

Can’t recall hearing a team mate say a bad word about him.

Thanks for the link HTR.:thumbsu:

I guess theres a reason he didn't want a lap of honour as a retireing player.

Not sure if Robert Harvey is a fan?

Scarlo looks a bit mean, but who cares? Our culture today puts too much value on people being nice. I think one of the strongest points in his favor was that he chose to leave the game under his own terms - quietly and with dignity.

Really, that's all that should matter. He has no duty to be pleasant to people he's never met before. If you're a private sort of person, it would be bloody aggravating to have strangers constantly wanting a piece of you.

Scarlo looks a bit mean, but who cares? Our culture today puts too much value on people being nice. I think one of the strongest points in his favor was that he chose to leave the game under his own terms - quietly and with dignity.

Really, that's all that should matter. He has no duty to be pleasant to people he's never met before. If you're a private sort of person, it would be bloody aggravating to have strangers constantly wanting a piece of you.
Maybe he's mellowed since retiring. Don't there is any way he would have done this sort of interview in his playing days.

Quick question: What/when was the game Scarlett and Robert Harvey had words?

Was trying to figure it out yesterday, but couldnt.
I think it was a final in Harvey's last year.

Remember when Scarlett got done for exposure in a kid's playground? What the hell was that about? Anyone recall the incident?

Great football player. Went to highschool with him actually. Was a year below.

He certainly treated new players differently. For example, when Christensen arrived, everyone called him Bundy, but Scarlo called him 'Chrisso'

Couple of my mates who are mad Cats fans have ran into him the last 2 boxing days after the cricket... the 1st year (when he was still a player) they said he was a champ.

Last year they said he was an arseh*le

I think that pretty much sums us all up though. Sometimes you're in the mood, sometimes you're not. The difference being, in Scarlett's case, everyone in the room will know him, but he won't know them (and they'll take his reaction - something that would happen to him dozens of times over the course of Boxing Day - to that chance meeting to their graves, particularly if they are Geelong supporters). I've seen Scarlett countless times on Boxing Day, but never approached him. Once I was in the bar and a friend of mine wanted to get a photo with Scarlett. He was a bit stand-offish (as you'd expect), but ok enough with it. And I've got other friends who have met him and said he was an absolute champ.

It's going to be very interesting viewing, that's for sure. I'd love him to get an hour.

Sorry to invade your board, that was a great interview with one of the games greats, i met him when you guys played in tassie, i was wearing swans stuff and he still gave me an autograph and a photo and a chat, thought he seemed a real good bloke.

Mike (asking about hitting Balla) 'How'd it feel'
Scarlo 'yeah it felt alright'

I know that cost us him and a game but I still laughed

News Matthew Scarlett on Open Mike