McLean VS Mitchell (neutral supporters only)

• Thread starter Thread starter rick James

Didn't Johnno Brown have a couple of premierships under his belt at the same age? Could be wrong and happy to be corrected.

Personally, i think Franklin will be a gun, have nightmares about what he did to us at the start of the second quarter at the MCG.

Brown played in a premiership during his second season with the Lions. Although I would say that the reference was to what they had done as individual players by age 19.

J. BROWN = 38 games, 470 disp, 204 marks, 42 tackles, 43 goals, 24 behinds

L.FRANKLIN = 34 games, 369 disp, 128 marks, 64 tackles, 52 goals, 22 behinds.

Different types of footballer, with Brown getting more ball and taking more marks; but Franklin doing more defensively and showing greater finishing efficiency.

McLean had a strong year this year, but was by no means ahead of Franklin (assuming you can viably compare across differing playing types) at the same point in their careers.

As for Mitchell. Sammy is definitely ahead now, but McLean has more to his game and should move ahead of Sammy at some point in the future. I haven't seen anything yet from McLean to suggest he'll move too far ahead, however.

At any rate, a fit Hodge has both of them covered.

2001 draft
36Sam MitchellHawthornBox Hill HawksVFA
2003 draft
Round 15MelbourneBROCK MCLEANCALDER CANNONS

now lets see a 3rd round pick verse a first round pick. Mclean should be better based on that.

Mclean made it straight through while mitchell had to go the long way around.

so we base that and we asume MClean is a gun and mitchell is average at best but....

22 2006 Games 18

14.9 Kicks Per Game 13.8

12.0 Handballs Per Game 8.6

26.9 Disposals Per Game 22.3

5.4 Marks Per Game 5.2

0.1 Goals Per Game 0.8

0.3 Behinds Per Game 0.2

3.2 Tackles Per Game 4.3

0 Hitouts Per Game 0.1

1.4 Frees For Per Game 0.9

1.6 Frees Against Per Game 1.2

(mitchells stats on left)

Sammy debuted in 2003, while mclean 2004, so mitchell has only played one more season. Mitchell leads nearly all vital stats, apart from goals (as he is barely up forward) and tackles (because he nearly always has the ball)
Of corse that is just this season... but if anybody has the career comparrison that would be great

A few points:

- Franklin's year has been good, but patchy and inconsistent.
- McLean has been consistently good all year, especially in the finals series.
- Mitchell's stats are going to be better than McLean's because he is more physically developed, has played more games and is older. This doesn't mean he is better, it means that he gets more of the ball, but a lot of Mitchell's possessions are meaningless, he could rack up 30 touches and not do much.
- McLean doesn't do that, his touches count i.e. finals series.
- Even at the same age, Brown was better, more aggressive dangerous forward, can play anywhere. To compare Franklin with Carey or even Brown yet is idiocy.

That is all.

2001 draft
36Sam MitchellHawthornBox Hill HawksVFA
2003 draft
Round 15MelbourneBROCK MCLEANCALDER CANNONS

now lets see a 3rd round pick verse a first round pick. Mclean should be better based on that.

Mclean made it straight through while mitchell had to go the long way around.

so we base that and we asume MClean is a gun and mitchell is average at best but....

22 2006 Games 18

14.9 Kicks Per Game 13.8

12.0 Handballs Per Game 8.6

26.9 Disposals Per Game 22.3

5.4 Marks Per Game 5.2

0.1 Goals Per Game 0.8

0.3 Behinds Per Game 0.2

3.2 Tackles Per Game 4.3

0 Hitouts Per Game 0.1

1.4 Frees For Per Game 0.9

1.6 Frees Against Per Game 1.2

(mitchells stats on left)

Sammy debuted in 2003, while mclean 2004, so mitchell has only played one more season. Mitchell leads nearly all vital stats, apart from goals (as he is barely up forward) and tackles (because he nearly always has the ball)
Of corse that is just this season... but if anybody has the career comparrison that would be great

Sorry looking at those stats I'd say McLean has the edge: tackles and goals are very important and Mitchell only really beats McLean in disposals by any decent margin so to cliam he leads all vital stats is a lie.

Disposal numbers simply don't mean that much anymore, and whilst I rate Mitchell's ability to get the ball I must stand by my comments that he doesn't hurt the opposition to the level McLean does.

Sorry looking at those stats I'd say McLean has the edge: tackles and goals are very important and Mitchell only really beats McLean in disposals by any decent margin so to cliam he leads all vital stats is a lie.

Disposal numbers simply don't mean that much anymore, and whilst I rate Mitchell's ability to get the ball I must stand by my comments that he doesn't hurt the opposition to the level McLean does.

Mitchell doesnt play up forward, he isnt judd liek so you cant expectign him to boot goals, and if he has most of the ball, i very much doubt he should also have high tackle count.

And also, you lot are hypercrit! i have heard you lot say stats mean everything, especially when you come up with the uncontested thread.

Mitchell doesnt play up forward, he isnt judd liek so you cant expectign him to boot goals, and if he has most of the ball, i very much doubt he should also have high tackle count.

And also, you lot are hypercrit! i have heard you lot say stats mean everything, especially when you come up with the uncontested thread.

McLean doesn't play up forward either mate, he plays in the middle - he just kicks goals from there whilst Mitchell doesn't in spite of having more of the ball.

When has anyone said stats mean everything? I don't tihnk anyone would be that stupid outside of Hawthorn fans who forgot what winning or caring felt like long ago.

Actually he said disposal stats don't mean much, and they don't, it's what you do with the ball. But anyway McLean>Mitchell, he does so much more damage with the ball, if you asked 14 other clubs who they would rather, they would all pick McLean

good, i wouldnt want to see mitchell leave the club anyway. And i jut want to say, is mclean tagged as heavily as mitchell? because if you recall, a fair few matches mitchell was tagged so heavily he litterally could not move (refer to port adelaide and Adelaide matches)

McLean gets the best tagger usually, thuogh occasionally Johnstone gets it instead - either way, yes he gets tagged.

Thats not the point though.

Ask 14 clubs who is the better player, I reckon most would say Mitchell atm and McLean very soon.

According to this poll more people would say McLean is better

I think they're both guns, I also think every other team would take McLean, and I also think McLean is better now as well

Mitchell, best extractor in the business and will be for many seasons.

McLean is rated way to high, workhorse type, offers more run than mitchell but hardly a linebreaker.

According to Bigfooty hip hop is trash.

You don't come to a football site to get a decent opinion on music.

Footy on the other hand. . . you would at least expect a somehwat decent level of knowledge about footy.

You don't come to a football site to get a decent opinion on music.

Footy on the other hand. . . you would at least expect a somehwat decent level of knowledge about footy.
Yes, however most go with the popular opinion and actually dont watch the players being mentioned.

whos mclean??? seriously mitchell is way more value than mclean. he actually gets his own ball...

Also, if you need to know anything about the intelligence of the majority of Hawthorn fans on BF, check out who has voted for Mitchell in this poll