Melbournes List Vs Richmonds List

Who has the better list moving forward?

We've been disappointing for sure but you can't underestimate the loss of Gawn.
In saying that, we played like millionaires in the first half on Sunday so Gawn wasn't the reason we lost.
At the start of the year I thought we'd be 50/50 to make finals this year but after losing Gawn, I think finals are gone.
One thing that makes me happy and will all year, is watching you flogs carry on like you've won it then fall down the ladder and out of the 8.
I'll take our list fully fit over yours every day of the week.
If you read my posts earlier in the thread. I actually think Melbourne's list is better on paper.

However, some people is this thread continue to trot out excuses. We get it Gawn is a big loss, he'll miss a lot of games. But injuries will happen to every side, every year. It can't all come down to the injury of one player for half a season, if it does, then it shows your list needs a lot of work. Sure, if you want to be middle of the road like Richmond for example, then 1 player can make a difference. But the great sides don't crumble after missing 1 player.

We are 5-2, I expect us to be 6-2. But you won't see me trotting out excuses like we lost because Nankervis and Prestia went out and we need time to adjust. We were smashed by Adelaide at AO because they are significantly better than us. We were beaten by the Dogs because they are better than us. Call it as it is, Melbourne seem to have a different excuse every week as I've mentioned.

If you read my posts earlier in the thread. I actually think Melbourne's list is better on paper.

However, some people is this thread continue to trot out excuses. We get it Gawn is a big loss, he'll miss a lot of games. But injuries will happen to every side, every year. It can't all come down to the injury of one player for half a season, if it does, then it shows your list needs a lot of work. Sure, if you want to be middle of the road like Richmond for example, then 1 player can make a difference. But the great sides don't crumble after missing 1 player.

We are 5-2, I expect us to be 6-2. But you won't see me trotting out excuses like we lost because Nankervis and Prestia went out and we need time to adjust. We were smashed by Adelaide at AO because they are significantly better than us. We were beaten by the Dogs because they are better than us. Call it as it is, Melbourne seem to have a different excuse every week as I've mentioned.
We've lost because we've played when it suits us no doubt.
To compare the loss of Nankervis to Gawn is laughable and Prestia is average at best.
It's not only that we lost Gawn, we lost his replacement too.
It's not an excuse but it's a factor.
To ignore it is folly.

We've lost because we've played when it suits us no doubt.
To compare the loss of Nankervis to Gawn is laughable and Prestia is average at best.
It's not only that we lost Gawn, we lost his replacement too.
It's not an excuse but it's a factor.
To ignore it is folly.
There are many factors that have an impact on a game, and so many variables. To isolate 1 is pointless and completely out of context. In the end, it comes down to how good you are. The sooner you realise this the better. Your whole season doesn't hinge on Gawn. If there were 21 other good players, it wouldn't be an issue.

So let me get this straight.
To go from having the comps most dominant ruckman to having NO ruckman, shouldn't make a difference to how your side performs?
I'm not using it as the excuse for the losses but like I said, it's a factor that yes we need to adjust to but a factor nonetheless.

Just as significant as losing Gawn was when we lost him, i.e. before half-time in a match where we were dominating our opponents.

We also lost Spencer before half-time in a match where we were dominating our opponents. To compound losing Spencer we lost Tim Smith before half-time too. To compound losing our rotations with only two on the bench for the second half we lose our best forward who has to go into the ruck to replace Spencer.

Yes, I realise these are more excuses, but we have had incredibly bad luck.

It is what it is and if we don't play finals so be it. It's not like I'm not used to it. Making up the numbers in finals doesn't give me any jollies anyway, although it's a required stepping stone to what we all crave.

Melbourne losing Gawn would be the equivalent of Richmond losing Rance or Riewoldt.
There's no doubt that losing one of your best players has an impact. The issue is them not being able to overcome it. Melbourne were meant to be "good", Richmond are middle of the road. If Melbourne want to be considered better as this thread suggests, they need to actually be better. A good side could overcome the loss of 1 player. I would say the same if we lost Rance, if we can't overcome 1 player, we aren't a good side.

WE DO NOT HAVE A RUCKMAN.

I don't know why Tigers supporters are so lippy. I think it's pretty straight forward - Melbourne have a very good list that hasn't performed to expectations.

Maybe bc richmond supporters have no issue conceding this yet still cop a barrage of smart arse replies. Everyone has their limits, we're not just going to roll over and be punching bags for lippy flogs wanting to sink the boots in at any chance

There's a different excuse every week with Melbourne, and it's never "we aren't good enough", it's always "it rained, we got injured, other team wanted it more, we don't have leaders, Lewis got suspended, etc, etc"
Im not sure how saying 'we didnt show up in the first quarter' is an excuse.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Gawn is a big loss and there is no doubt about it, but the demons mentality as a club is what hurts them.

They show up when they want too, and when the going gets tough most of there players crumble, Richmond are exactly the same in this way and until that changes neither club will be any good.

Talent wise though people saying Melbourne are heaps better have no clue at all.

I don't think Hogan will reach the level that Jack has consistently for years in his career, Don't think any of the midfielders will reach Martins output for the last year or so, and they haven't got a defender that will be anywhere near Rance.

However they do have more depth with players like Neal - Bullen, Stretch, Kent, Brayshaw, Tyson, Oscar McDonald where as we have guys like Lambert, Houli, Edwards, and a few others as our bottom 5.

Talent wise though people saying Melbourne are heaps better have no clue at all.

I don't think Hogan will reach the level that Jack has consistently for years in his career, Don't think any of the midfielders will reach Martins output for the last year or so, and they haven't got a defender that will be anywhere near Rance.

However they do have more depth with players like Neal - Bullen, Stretch, Kent, Brayshaw, Tyson, Oscar McDonald where as we have guys like Lambert, Houli, Edwards, and a few others as our bottom 5.
Hogan last year kicked 12 goals more than Riewoldt at the same age from the same amount of games. As for career averages, Jack averages 2.4 goals/game, Hogan 2.1. Hogan is far from his peak, how can you say he won't reach that level? Plain bias. Christian Petracca could easily become as good as Martin is and Clayton Oliver is right up there in terms of matching Martin so far this season. Tom McDonald may not get to the level of Rance but he's a bloody good player as well.

Plus "more talented" doesn't simply mean each side's top 3 players. I'd take Melbourne's top 10 ahead of Richmond's every day of the week, and you have rightly said that they have better depth too.

Hogan last year kicked 12 goals more than Riewoldt at the same age from the same amount of games. As for career averages, Jack averages 2.4 goals/game, Hogan 2.1. Hogan is far from his peak, how can you say he won't reach that level? Plain bias. Christian Petracca could easily become as good as Martin is and Clayton Oliver is right up there in terms of matching Martin so far this season. Tom McDonald may not get to the level of Rance but he's a bloody good player as well.

Plus "more talented" doesn't simply mean each side's top 3 players. I'd take Melbourne's top 10 ahead of Richmond's every day of the week, and you have rightly said that they have better depth too.
Good assessment.
Until Melbourne learn to play with intensity, the talent we have will take us nowhere but on paper, our list is better than Richmonds IMO.

Reiwoldt has won two Coleman medals, and is one of the most decorated forwards in the competition, Hogan has a long way to go too reach that.

Martin is still underrated by the footy public, he is unbelievably good and a top 5 player in the league. Oliver isn't nothing compared to Martin.

I think our top 10 is better than the demons, but there bottom 10 is a fair bit better than ours and therefore they are both pretty even.

Reiwoldt has won two Coleman medals, and is one of the most decorated forwards in the competition, Hogan has a long way to go too reach that.

Martin is still underrated by the footy public, he is unbelievably good and a top 5 player in the league. Oliver isn't nothing compared to Martin.
Yet Hogan at the same age is better. I never denied that Riewoldt is a very good player, nobody who kicks 500 goals in their career isn't. Just calling bullshit that Hogan will never reach his level.

Martin is a star but so far this season Oliver has been incredible. He's matched Martin so far this year, however he's unlikely to keep that up.

No doubt Richmonds senior players are better, comfortably better too.

When you talk about the under 25s on both lists then it becomes a very different story.

No doubt Richmonds senior players are better, comfortably better too.

When you talk about the under 25s on both lists then it becomes a very different story.

I agree with this sentiment.

NOR DO THE DOGS AND THEY DIDN'T HAVE ONE LAST YEAR
WHAT ?

Boyd is 200cm and a better ruck than forward and Roughead is also 200cms.

They didn't have a great first ruck, but 2 x 200cm players is a far better scenario than the 193cm VFL player Cam Pedersen and the he man Jack Watts.

When you put all the Melbourne supporters on "ignore" ... this is quite an interesting thread. :D

Melbourne have the better overall list without a second thought.
Richmond list has too many cloggers like Maric, Lambert, Morris, Batchelor, Townsend, Hampson, Lennon, Hunt.

Melbourne will get better when Gawn is back and should make finals.
Richmond will drop off and be lucky to make finals in my opinion.