Members Day

Yeah we raised four corners of the globe for the H
ADELAIDE
Did anyone attend the Members Day for the club today? If so, I'd like to know what you thought of it.

Personally, I think the players need to take a long hard look at themselves and ask why the club has so many members. Its because we are so loyal and we attend games in the soaking wet rain. I don't think the players are greatful enough for what we do and how much support we give, because today was extreamely dissapointing.

They hardly stuck around to sign autograps, and when they did, players like Stiffy complained of how it was supposed to be his day off :rolleyes: And when they werent scheduled to be dong anything, they'd sneak off behind a wall.

Guys: Members Day actually means that you are supposed to socialise with the members and yes, you are obliged to sign autographs and actually look like you want to be there. :mad:

The day really was poorly organised. :(

Made the pilgramige to West Lakes for the 2nd time in 24 hours...

1st of all according to the official programming the players were to commence signing autographs at 11am... this began at 11.35.

2nd of all the only players i can honestly say looked as thought they were happy to be there and appreciated the members support were Nigel Smart, who stood at the premiership bar and actually interacted with the members, trent Hentschell looked happy to do it, Kris Massie took the time to ask my daughter her name, Kenny Mcgregor was jovial and thats about it really.

Hunted high and low for Andrew Mcleod, Mark Riccuito, Ben Hart and alas other than standing in the autograph line they were no where to be seen.

Rhett Biglands should take a long hard look at himself point blank refused to sign as he was busy going elswhere. We have the best support in the competion... Perhaps this is why the members are treated with such contemp.

Hate to praise the ferals but went to a Port thing with a friend last year and the players went out of there way to sign and chat to the kids. It isn't good enough and in time the young support who is who we need to keep this club a succes in the membership drive... will all head down Alberton way.

Not good enough boys, sure you have given us more pleasure than i could put a dollar value on, but we are loyal to you and only ask for a small amount in return.

I have to agree with you adelaide_girl anf RaDaR ReiLLy. It wasnt the best day, that's for sure.

I've seen the way the boys interact with fans at training, normally its great :D but today, well it wasnt nothing special, thats for sure.

Sure guys, you lost, but at least we came out and watched you!! The real supporters are the ones who will stick with you win lose or draw! All we ask for is a little back, it cant kill ya!!

I didn't actually go because I was working and by the sounds of things I made the right decision.

Everything you girls have said so far, is pretty much what the rest of my family had to say last night.

This has always been a problem with the AFC, the guys aren't presented to the public and therefore they have no idea how to act around supporters.

As much as I hate to say this you've gotta hand it to the Port players they know exactly how to please their fans off the field.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Sounds like the same that happened at The Dinner Auction in Adelaide last year poor effort on the players behalf, three player's for over 1000 people:(

That was nothing more than a ****ing disgrace.....saying that who's up for it this year :D

Is Members day basically teh same thing as Ports Family Day?

Maybe it would be better organised, and the players more willing to get involved if it was during hte pre season like every other clubs.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Going to the Melbourne one not the Adelaide one,Just good perv on Kristie's Brother's GF:p

Going to the Adelaide one not the Melbourne one as we're in Melbourne the week after.

She sits in front of me at the footy :p

I was disappointed in the Family Day.

I thought the player's attitudes when they got their guernseys was pretty poor. They looked bored, and when that part was over they all took off very quickly. There was a half hour to go, but as we left we saw a lot of players driving away.

Is there an attitude problem with these guys? Are their heads too big? Is their hair too big? :D

When I had a look at the players' photos in the Football extra magazine they were all terrible. Except for Mark Stevens. Who'd buy any of those photos?

banner_membership.jpg

Am I too early?...

Originally posted by noddy
Life must be pretty enjoyable on the Port board at the moment.:(
As you ought to know, it's always enjoyable at ...... this time of the year. ;) :D

Originally posted by noddy
By the way which one is you ??
None of them, but I reckon the one on the left looks like Ryan Fitzgerald.

I missed it as I was moving house.

A couple of years ago when they had it in teh pre-season on Max Basheer reserve it was a really good day with all the players very accesible

Matty Robran was even teaching people how to kick a torp. I have a photo of my terrible effort.:D

Why they now have it two games into the season is beyond me

The AFC players have always been precious to a degree but it appears to be getting worse. Overpaid and overhpyed is what they are.

i never personally been to a port members day or anything... but you always get good feed back about the boys "paying" attention to their supporters, i mean you go all the way down there to meet and greet them for a reason right? to show your support? without you there is no them kinda thing?

maybe next time they'll show you guys abit more respect in that way.

Well, maybe its my charm, wity personality or just plain good looks - but I had no trouble with any of the players at the family day. I got plenty of autographs and photographs. EVERY player I spoke to was friendly and approachable. In fact I thought there was less people there this year and so it was EASIER than usual to get near the players.

Stevo was fabulous and assured me his knee was "excellent" and that "I miss playing so I'll be back soon" which gave me lots of encouragement. He was smiling like a cheshire cat and it was nice seeing him smiling!

hmmm maybe I'm just a familliar face to them.......

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
Well, maybe its my charm, wity personality or just plain good looks - but I had no trouble with any of the players at the family day. I got plenty of autographs and photographs. EVERY player I spoke to was friendly and approachable. In fact I thought there was less people there this year and so it was EASIER than usual to get near the players.

Stevo was fabulous and assured me his knee was "excellent" and that "I miss playing so I'll be back soon" which gave me lots of encouragement. He was smiling like a cheshire cat and it was nice seeing him smiling!

hmmm maybe I'm just a familliar face to them.......

k
xx
Well if its familiar faces they wouldve been nice to me also! I go to training fairly often ( full time job now so its impossible) and Ive had copious amounts of photos with them...oh I really do pitty them for having to put up with me! :p

But still, no they werent that nice to me..although Aidan kinda grabbed me when I got my photo with him. Hes a really friendly guy that one..will make a good leader one day. :)

And Fergus Watts was his usual self, 'grooving' along to the music and trying to get some attention :p

But the rest were just rude. Even my very favourite player wasnt even interested in meeting his fans :eek: :(