Merged Draft Threads - Part 3

I'd rather try to package our 2nd pick with Lovett for a mid first rounder to try to get someone like Hill or Blease if we pick Hurley, or Trengove if we pick Ziebell.
Yep, I like your thinking there mate. Much prefer the second option of Ziebell and Trengrove. Be a good end to a very poor year.

Another option of course is packaging Lovett and Hislop up for a mid 1st rounder. I don't want Hislop to go but there are mutterings about the place that he has a poor attitude and might be on the way out. Is out of contract and would much prefer to trade him then simply let him go. A boy with immense talent and a high pick in 2006.

Draft camp may help me decide whether Hurley is our man or not. Could be a blessing in disguise that we didn't get a higher 1st pick also. Massive question marks over Rich and especially Natanui. Watts I doubt we would take as we have Gumbleton. We may end up with the safer options like Hartlett for example.

Not with that kind of talk he won't!
Yep, positive reinforcement! I like it:)

Probably best that the great man stays away. With him and Sheedy gone it is all about the future now.

*sigh* But boy would I love him to make a comeback for a couple of years....

I would say that would be an easier thing to fix compared to say a kicking technique.

Any other major question marks on him?
Not too many others. Laziness is his main criticism and seems to be occurring with alarming regularity recently. Can't seem to shake a tag also but I wouldn't hold that against him at this stage of his career. His pace is ok without being express. Very good kick which is his main asset. Natanui is a much bigger risk and silently I am pleased that we probably won't be in a position to pick him up. But then again, there is plenty of potential there.

Can't seem to shake a tag also but I wouldn't hold that against him at this stage of his career.

Cotchin couldn't shake McGinnity off him from WA a year ago at the Champs and the Tiger's recruiters didn't show the slightest of concerns, so I wouldn't really hold that against him.

Hence why I said I wouldn't hold it against him. Back when it seemed we would certainly have a top 3 pick I was all for Rich. Perhaps deep inside I don't want him to become a very good player because for a while we might have had the chance to get him. Either way, we won't know for a few years whether Rich will be exposed or become an A Grade midfielder. Adding some class to our midfield is very appealing but also during up FB for the next decade is appealing. Nice dilemma to have though. Reckon this will be our final top 5 pick for a number of years unless one of the WA boys wants to return home after winning a premiership with us in 2011:cool:

Any other major question marks on him?

A few:
0565823700copy-1.jpg

Pfft. Couldn't even do it to a team in the top flight.....:p

The average age of the team was 19, with the oldest being keeper Fabianski at the ripe old age of 23.

I'll pay that one Goon. Not bad at all. :cool::thumbsu:

I thought it was cringeworthy, and was about to stop, when I thought to myself, "When have I ever backed away from a bad joke before?":cool:

:eek:

An Essendon Matera...

Matera name lives on at grand final

matera420-420x0.jpg
Brandon Matera.

The AFL grand final heritage of the Matera name will continue this Saturday when Brandon - son of former Eagle Wally and nephew of club greats Peter and Phil - steps out at the MCG.
And despite the obvious pressure the surname brings, given the feats of his elders - including the now legendary Norm Smith medal performance by Peter in the Eagles' 1992 premiership, the latest Matera off the production line says he harbours dreams of an AFL career - while shockingly admitting Essendon are his favourite club.
Matera will be part of the WA side which takes on Vic Metro in the deciding clash in the NAB AFL under-16 division one championship title as a curtain raiser to the blockbuster grand final in Melbourne on Saturday afternoon.
With the two sides having shared the last five under-16 titles, WA are looking for revenge after losing by 45 points in the opening game of this year's championship.
Flying out of Perth today, the WA squad will be hosted by Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond before Saturday's clash with the AFL clubs happy to host some of the best young talent in the country - while no doubt making a few notes in readiness for possible draft choices in years to come.
And Matera said he hoped to be part of that system, while first concentrating on repeating the tradition of Matera heroics at the MCG on the last day in September.
"We always had it in the back of our minds to make it onto the MCG to play," Matera said.
"I get a bit of (pressure) because everyone wants to see who I play like I suppose, if I play like Peter or Phil or Dad - but I have got to play my own way and my own style.
"Some people reckon I run like Peter and kick like Phil, but my Dad has taught me all of it. All the mental stuff comes from Dad, all the tips.
"I am actually a Bombers supporters and a Bombers member, my aunty is a mad Essendon supporter and got to me first."
Wally, who played with West Coast and Fitzroy in the AFL, eventually ended his career at South Fremantle in the WAFL, where he won the Bulldogs best and fairest and was made captain.Despite the footballing ties, Brandon also played tennis up until last year, but gave it up to concentrate on football - and has started his career where his father ended, playing for South Fremantle's colts this year and with hopes of graduating to the reserves next season,
"I actually have played tennis, but I gave that up last year. But I have always played footy ... Mum reckons I was born with a footy," Matera said.
"I have photos of me with the Norm Smith, and the year Dad won the foundation derby medal - so it is in my blood."
And with under-16 teammates Jack Darling and David Swallow - who were both rewarded for their efforts in the carnival with selection in the AIS-AFL scholarships program - Matera says he is ecstatic about being able to play on the MCG in front of a massive crowd.
"I have been watching videos of my uncle when he kicked those goals that day (in 1992), and I have been watching vision of my Dad as well, which has really fired me up," Matera said.

http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/matera-name-lives-on-at-grand-final-20080924-4n8f.html

Can someone shed some light on Brandon Matera? Worth a look at?

Re: An Essendon Matera...

He won't be eligible for a few more years. He's 17 next year, not sure if it is next year when the AFL are changing the age of draftees to 18? Ant might be able to help out on that one...

One to keep an eye on.

Re: An Essendon Matera...

Found this on eaglesflyinghigh...

Brandon Matera (Bull Creek/Leeming)- Wally Matera's son, small, but one of the better players in the squad. Amazing skills, goal-kicking midfielder. All-Australian in 15s.

I'd rather try to package our 2nd pick with Lovett for a mid first rounder to try to get someone like Hill or Blease if we pick Hurley, or Trengove if we pick Ziebell.

Spot on I think RIG. What has Warnock actually done to deserve this hype?? I would much rather look to late first round pick in a deep draft

What do people in the know think about Zaharikis? From the limited amount I've seen of him I was very impressed, would be very happy if he was still there at our second pick.

No left side.

I'd be VERY surprised to see Trengove slide out of the first round HFF, so I think that's a bit unrealistic.
If he does, I'll eat my hat with some barbeque sauce on top.

Merged Draft Threads - Part 3