Opinion Most Underated & Overated player from each team.

This is an easy one, overrated is Tom Stewart. If hes not guarding a hectre of grass, he's playing on one of the oppositions weakest forwards.

Same height as May and Sicily but can't play key position. Can't lockdown a forward either. After almost putting Prestia in a wheelchair, Geelong were completely fine without him for that month.

He plays his role well, but has a meltdown and gives away 10 frees when he gets attention. If Sicily was given Stewarts role, he'd average 45 disposals and 20 intercepts blindfolded.
He does set up well from half back

As much as I hate to say it Heeney for the Swans is overrated. His best is as good as anyones in the competition but he goes missing far too often. He can be truly brilliant a few weeks in a row and then for no reason has a game or two where he is barely sighted.
He played well in the grand final for us mate

As much as I hate to say it Heeney for the Swans is overrated. His best is as good as anyones in the competition but he goes missing far too often. He can be truly brilliant a few weeks in a row and then for no reason has a game or two where he is barely sighted.

watched him plenty (mostly for fantasy), you can tell 5 minutes into the game whether he will be good or not on the day. Some days he’ll fly for marks, others he can’t get off the ground. Reckon all the injuries have taken its toll, especially the ankle. Has no acceleration and a slow turn.

This is an easy one, overrated is Tom Stewart. If hes not guarding a hectre of grass, he's playing on one of the oppositions weakest forwards.

Same height as May and Sicily but can't play key position. Can't lockdown a forward either. After almost putting Prestia in a wheelchair, Geelong were completely fine without him for that month.

He plays his role well, but has a meltdown and gives away 10 frees when he gets attention. If Sicily was given Stewarts role, he'd average 45 disposals and 20 intercepts blindfolded.

Excellent post. How he made all Australian last season was an absolute farce. Sicily was robbed.

Stewart was completely tagged out of a few games. Got subbed out with concussion in another and missed over a month with suspension.

Stewart was 10 x better in 2021 than he was this season.

definitely a very good player, but i agree he's overrated only because the hype is ridiculous. He's a top 20-25 player in the league and a match winner on his day, but not at the very elite end, which is the type of commentary that he gets

Dylan Moore was the only player aside from Marcus Bontempelli to average over 20 disposals and a goal a game this season, yet I'd wager a large percentage of opposition supporters couldn't pick him out of a police lineup.

Zac Bailey went from underrated to overrated in the space of 12 months. However it's his consistency and that alone. His great games are exceptional for a player lacking genuine athletic traits. His bad games would see lesser players omitted the following week. I want to see him bridge that gap in 2023.

Cbf doing each team but the most overrated players imo are Kozi Pickett and Heeney

The most underrated is Tuohy and prior to this year cause of his AA selection I would’ve said Maynard by a mile. I felt like I was the only non pies person to rate him for some reason.

This is about the first sensible thing I've seen you post.

I agree with your last paragraph. If things aren't going his way they fall off a cliff and he doesn't know how to rectify it.

I get what he’s trying to say, I don’t think he’s super slow. But just the physique he has will make him naturally deficient in these areas. He’s a tall strong unit, that’s why you guys also ruck him in the F50. He isn’t there to crumb, he’s a power forward like Lynch. They’re galoops.

Jack is a little different he’s a more nimble forward that is better on ground level but isn’t as good at contested marking as Hawkins cause he doesn’t have the strength. Hence why Jack plays CHF for us and Lynch is FF. Same thing with Cameron and Hawkins. I’m not saying Hawkins is overrated btw.

Can’t explain Buddy he’s just good at everything.

Except grand finals

Dylan Moore was the only player aside from Marcus Bontempelli to average over 20 disposals and a goal a game this season, yet I'd wager a large percentage of opposition supporters couldn't pick him out of a police lineup.

Zac Bailey went from underrated to overrated in the space of 12 months. However it's his consistency and that alone. His great games are exceptional for a player lacking genuine athletic traits. His bad games would see lesser players omitted the following week. I want to see him bridge that gap in 2023.
That is what happens when your club decides to tank and becomes completely unwatchable. People stop watching and the handful of decent players get no attention.

He's been performing at an elite level for 2 years now.

Also don't pretend like you didn't see him destroy your mob early on Easter Monday and set the tone for our best victory of the season. Certainly puts a * next to that premiership losing to the unwatchable tankers.

Cbf doing each team but the most overrated players imo are Kozi Pickett and Heeney

The most underrated is Tuohy and prior to this year cause of his AA selection I would’ve said Maynard by a mile. I felt like I was the only non pies person to rate him for some reason.

lol I feel triggered hearing you say Pickett. Sure he has some quiet games and doesn't find a stack of the footy but 81 goals in 2 seasons as a 20 and 21 year old is basically as many goals as Cyril kicked at his peak. It's a good start to his career. That's all whilst having Ben Brown as his spud forward to crumb off :)

Overrated:
Cripps
Robbie Gray (yep I know he's retired)
Darcy Parish
Petracca
Serong

Underrated:
Membrey
Preuss
C.Guthrie
C.Oliver
Dylan Moore
Aaron Hall
You must be kidding me if you think Serong is overrated. He’s 21 years old and has the following awards already:

• AFL Rising Star: 2020.
  • AFLPA Best First Year Player Award: 2020.
  • AFLCA Best Young Player Award: 2020.
  • AFL Goal of the Year: 2021.
  • Glendinning–Allan Medal: 2021 (round 22)
  • 22under22 team: 2022.
  • Fremantle Player of the Finals 2022
He was also in the leadership group in his third season and is just as likely a future captain as Brayshaw is. He drives every single person on that list with his training standards.

You must be kidding me if you think Serong is overrated. He’s 21 years old and has the following awards already:

• AFL Rising Star: 2020.
  • AFLPA Best First Year Player Award: 2020.
  • AFLCA Best Young Player Award: 2020.
  • AFL Goal of the Year: 2021.
  • Glendinning–Allan Medal: 2021 (round 22)
  • 22under22 team: 2022.
  • Fremantle Player of the Finals 2022
He was also in the leadership group in his third season and is just as likely a future captain as Brayshaw is. He drives every single person on that list with his training standards.
rising star means nothing. Rhys palmer was also a rising star. A goal of the year? You kidding me right? That's how you evaluate players? Pretty sure Michael Newton got mark of the year playing for the dees.

22 under 22? Jaidyn Stephenson made last years 22under22 team.

Don't get me wrong, I think he is a good player and I like the intensity that he brings especially defensively but I think he lacks hurt factor and is a little one-paced. I think he'll be a good player but not sure he has the ceiling to ever be an AA in his career and freo fans talk about him like he is the next best thing.

rising star means nothing. Rhys palmer was also a rising star. A goal of the year? You kidding me right? That's how you evaluate players? Pretty sure Michael Newton got mark of the year playing for the dees.

22 under 22? Jaidyn Stephenson made last years 22under22 team.

Don't get me wrong, I think he is a good player and I like the intensity that he brings especially defensively but I think he lacks hurt factor and is a little one-paced. I think he'll be a good player but not sure he has the ceiling to ever be an AA in his career and freo fans talk about him like he is the next best thing.
We will have to agree to disagree on this.

He's been performing at an elite level for 2 years now.

Also don't pretend like you didn't see him destroy your mob early on Easter Monday and set the tone for our best victory of the season. Certainly puts a * next to that premiership losing to the unwatchable tankers.
I can honestly say that I haven’t thought about that game once since it happened. That game is about the least important thing that happened to Geelong all season.

You are correct about one thing - I couldn’t pick Dylan Moore out of a police lineup.

Opinion Most Underated & Overated player from each team.

Write your reply...