List Mgmt. MSD 2025 Prospects and Discussion Thread.

This post once again made me mad that we didn't draft Dan Curtin or Nate Caddy.
I still think we could have gotten both and Colby if we had a smarter operator…….we were getting stupid offers for pick 3. Blinkers was focused on Ried, I reckon, so didn’t massage all the other options.

That doesn't put him ahead of Duursma IMO. You're peering over the fence at a more advanced system than ours, at the same time this forum is pretty quick to make concrete decisions sometimes.
I think Curtin looked, and looks, an absolute ripper. Wish we had him.

Lachie Hosie
Jake the Muss Edwards
Charlie Ham
Kallan Dawson
Robert Hansen
Geordie Payne
Brynn Teakle
???

Bring it on. This is the year.
Missed Teakle.
2024 could still have promise. The rest is dogshit.

If I was to take a pick I would be looking at mids only and small forwards and try and prioritise the VFL. Mid season key position selections are for the tip. Woeful.

The forwards at VFL level doing well this year are all key position. Hard pass.
The mids? I think we're set for midfielders and the last thing we need is state league level kicks adding to our existing ball use concerns.

Pass. Hard Pass on both selections if I am being serious.

Missed Teakle.
2024 could still have promise. The rest is dogshit.

If I was to take a pick I would be looking at mids only and small forwards and try and prioritise the VFL. Mid season key position selections are for the tip. Woeful.

The forwards at VFL level doing well this year are all key position. Hard pass.
The mids? I think we're set for midfielders and the last thing we need is state league level kicks adding to our existing ball use concerns.

Pass. Hard Pass on both selections if I am being serious.
Ok

PS... give me Zac Banch over Archer May.
Dunno anything about Banch except apparently he's a small forward in the VFL....Cooper Harvey seems to have no problem impacting games and hitting the scoreboard at VFL and yet how many AFL games has he played??? Is he significantly better than Harvey?

While I'm not a fan, I think Coopers VFL form needs to be rewarded (as does that of Ford and Phillips, and possibly Teakle).

Dunno anything about Banch except apparently he's a small forward in the VFL....Cooper Harvey seems to have no problem impacting games and hitting the scoreboard at VFL and yet how many AFL games has he played??? Is he significantly better than Harvey?

While I'm not a fan, I think Coopers VFL form needs to be rewarded (as does that of Ford and Phillips, and possibly Teakle).
Banch has kicked 8 goals in 8 games for whats its worth.
Not being drafted for his scoreboard impact but his tackle count.

1748343036028.png
1748342995566.png
1748343017674.png

Prefacing this by again confirming I have little idea about the talent available, I think we should approach the midseason draft with a view to bringing in established, physically capable senior players that can contribute to the team right away. We definitely could use key position talent at either end, but history suggests you're more likely to find a role playing midfielder or flanker than a genuine tall in the MSD. We've drafted on potential many times and missed. Perhaps the safest option is the right option.

Why do they have to contribute right away?

Like we couldn't use a versatile 197cm guy in our midfield who can rotate forward or back?
Yeah don't think Curtin was really a proven big body mid in his junior year.
Banch has kicked 8 goals in 8 games for whats its worth.
Not being drafted for his scoreboard impact but his tackle count.

View attachment 2326912
View attachment 2326910
View attachment 2326911
Man with all due respect, im in my 50's and guarantee I could rack up more tackles than Cooper and Banch as well until I pop a hammy. I really think that's a low bar to be setting,,,,,I personally want to see a lot more footy credentials to make it on a list at the highest level than being able to lay some tackles and kick a goal a game at VFL level.

We’ve tried the small pressure player msd pick thing. It doesn’t work
I assume you’re referring to Payne who was 19 when selected. Although he hasn’t got his opportunity yet, think there is enough there to not put a line through that pick just yet. Bizarre call even from you.

Banch for the record is 22 (I believe) so will likely make an impact quicker. He also follows the trend of mature age players coming out of Werribee that have taken to the next level like ducks to water.

The list of key forwards that have been drafted MSD, rookie or just generally mature age that go onto become good afl players is extremely small.

NMFC MSD 2025 TRANSCRIPT

Thursfield: You sure you want to make the pick?

Rawlings: Yeh mate I want to own our selection process, take responsibility

Thursfield: What if you **** it up again?

Sarah Jones on speaker "ok North Melbourne you're on the clock". North room dont notice

Rawlings: Easy mate, what do you mean?

Thursfield: Well Edwards was kind of on you?

Sarah Jones on speaker "North room do you need extra time? Your mics are live by the way guys"

Rawlings: You think it was all me when we said "North Melbourne select Jacob Edwards"? You're cooked mate, you were just riding Hartley's coattails anyway

Thursfield: What?!

Sarah Jones on speaker "We didn't quite catch the selection North you're over time now"

Rawlings: I said NORTH MELBOURNE SELECT JACOB EDWARDS.. you really think that was all on me?

Long pause as both men look up and it's North's pick with a timer running on the live coverage monitor..

Rawlings: Wait what just happen..

Sarah Jones on Fox Coverage: And North Melbourne have sprung the first major surprise, redrafting their former number 1 pick for a 2nd chance

Rawlings looks up at Todd with his Gil from Simpson's face: Um think I mightve made a woopsie again Mr Viney

I think Curtin looked, and looks, an absolute ripper. Wish we had him.

Absolutely agree and we definitely tried to trade in for him. Just reckon some are going too early on Duursma too, he’s the perfect example of where they are after 50 games and two or more proper off seasons.

Man with all due respect, im in my 50's and guarantee I could rack up more tackles than Cooper and Banch as well until I pop a hammy. I really think that's a low bar to be setting,,,,,I personally want to see a lot more footy credentials to make it on a list at the highest level than being able to lay some tackles and kick a goal a game at VFL level.
None taken chich
I said we should pass on both our picks at the top of the page. We just need to set expectations that this is the Mid season draft
Reckon we’ve had more than our fair share of small forwards that don’t ****ing kick goals tbh
Agreed

We’ve tried the whole KPP MSD pick thing. It doesn’t work.

Get me the best small pressure player that will never have questions over giving his all. That is Banch. Have heard from people that played with him he is an absolute animal.

Errr, might be a one off but I'm pretty certain no-one on our list can burst like that and kick a snag on the run from 65m.

That single highlight alone is enough to give Banch a crack.

Don’t forget watto and caddy in that draft too

Would’ve had Watto, caddy, Logan Morris and Philactides if I were in charge in that draft
You must be the only one in the country that rates Philactides haha

Been overlooked completely twice now, would've been one of our bigger draft disasters if we took him in the 20s.

Is quality KPF’s a thing in the msd
Its not impossible, but its rare, good young key forwards you usually get in the national draft or the trade and free agency period, ones that are established and experienced but most of the good ones usually sign on with the club that gives them their chance in the draft so lately its been bit of a baron field.

Since I'll be at work and wont know until I get home I'll give my thoughts on who I like from a potential point of view & our list point of view.
PICK#2 Zac Banch or Riley Mason I put Riley here because I think he might not make it to our pick 10.
PICK#10 William Patton / Frank Szekely / Rod Ali. ;)

I still think we could have gotten both and Colby if we had a smarter operator…….we were getting stupid offers for pick 3. Blinkers was focused on Ried, I reckon, so didn’t massage all the other options.
We did explore a mega deal with GC and Dees, but it fell through. That's the only way we could've gotten all three.
We would have had pick 2 (Colby), pick 5 off GC (Curtin) and pick 6 off Dees (Caddy/COS).

Fair to assume Dees F1 would have been traded to GC as part of it, given we got that offer seperately.
I would assume some of our assistance picks would have perhaps been involved.
The Dees traded 14 and two F2's to GC to get pick 11. So could assume that may have been part of it too.
We ended up getting pick 18 off GC to take Hardemann by trading our F2 assistance pick (Whitlock pick from Rioli trade).

List Mgmt. MSD 2025 Prospects and Discussion Thread.