NAB Cup

B: Milburn – Scarlett – Hunt

HB: Enright – Egan – Rooke

C: Varcoe – Bartel – Mackie

HF: G. Ablett – N. Ablett – Mooney

FF: Gamble – Hawkins – Chapman

R: Blake – Corey – Selwood

I/C: Byrnes - Callan – Djerrkura - S.Hunt - D. Johnson - Kelly - Stokes – Tenace

???

B: Tim Callan - Sam Hunt - Matthew Spencer
HB: Kane Tenace- Henry Playfair - Nathan Djurkerra
C: Travis Varcoe - Joel Selwood - Andrew Mackie
HF: Brent Prismall- Nathan Ablett - Todd Grima
F: Shannon Byrnes - Tom Hawkins - Ryan Gamble
R Mark Blake - Cameron Ling - Joel Corey
INT: Trent West - Matty Egan - Corey Enright - David Wojinski - Stephen Owen - Matty Stokes

Play the kids, all the kids.

B: Tim Callan - Sam Hunt - Matthew Spencer
HB: Kane Tenace- Henry Playfair - Nathan Djurkerra
C: Travis Varcoe - Joel Selwood - Andrew Mackie
HF: Brent Prismall- Nathan Ablett - Todd Grima
F: Shannon Byrnes - Tom Hawkins - Ryan Gamble
R Mark Blake - Cameron Ling - Joel Corey
INT: Trent West - Matty Egan - Corey Enright - David Wojinski - Stephen Owen - Matty Stokes

Play the kids, all the kids.

Yeah, i thought about playing all kids but i think they will go for a mixture of kids and mature players. Completely forgot about Pris to - definitely in. Do we want to be competitive this time and try to win, or just see how far we can go playing the kids?

B: Milburn – Scarlett – Hunt

HB: Enright – Egan – Rooke

C: Tenace – Bartel – Mackie

HF: G. Ablett – N. Ablett – Mooney

FF: Gamble – Hawkins – Chapman

R: Blake – Corey – Stokes

I/C: Byrnes - Callan – Djerrkura - S.Hunt - D. Johnson - Kelly - Stokes – Tenace

Pretty good team there. As much as it's good to blood youngsters in the NAB Cup, I wouldn't have either Selwood or Varcoe. I'd have Tenace and Stokes instead. Seeing that everyone on the list is actually in full training, I'd send out the strongest side we can.

Not all kids - there needs to be some more experienced players out there to demonstrate some leadership and guidance to the youngsters, otherwise there is no point playing kids at all.

But yeah, the emphasis must be totally on developing our stocks, not winning matches.

Don't mind winning the odd NAB match but if we win the bloody thing I'll start worrying LOL.

King, Harley, Ottens and S. Johnson all have to play at least one or two NAB Cup matches to get fit for the season proper. Also, some of our 05 recruited players should get a go and some of the rookies. Some players also need to be tried in new positions. Some standard AFL players will also miss out. With all that in mind, this would be my team:

B: Callan, Scarlett, Egan
HB: S. Hunt, Harley, J. Hunt
C: G. Ablett, Rooke, Mackie
HF: Mooney, N. Ablett, Chapman
F: Gamble, Ottens, S. Johnson
R: King, Prismall, Bartel

Int: Ling, Wojcinski, Stokes, Hawkins, Blake and Playfair.

Also rotate into the side: Varcoe, Kelly, Tenace, Selwood, Byrnes and Grima.

Thompson has a tendency to go conservative on team selection. Hawkins may get a go, but I expect Tenace, Prismall etc will get a run over Djerrkura and Selwood.

Keep in mind all players on the list are competing for a spot. A seniors regular wouldn't be too happy for a draftee to play better than them, and thus leapfrog them into the team. Therefore assuming players are fit (and even sometimes when they aren't) they will always put their hands up to play.

B: Callan, Egan, Harley
HB: S. Hunt, H, J. Hunt
C: Vercoe, Rooke, Mackie
F: Gamble, Hawkins, S. Johnson
R: Blake, Prismall, Bartel

Int: Ling, Kelly, Stokes, Scarlo, Ottens, King

A lot of experience on the bench whilst trying to play the kids. Really want to see H at CHB a bit as his place in the team is in defence or not at all. I like him at CHB because he can pinch hit as a leading CHF or a forward flanker.

One thing it is hard to pick this team which is good and bad.

B: N.Djerrkura M.Scarlett M.Egan
HB: D.Wojcinski T.Harley T.Callan
C: M.Rooke J.Bartel J.Corey
HF: R.Gamble C.Mooney P.Chapman
F: S.Johnson N.Ablett T.Hawkins
R: B.Ottens B.Prismall M.Stokes
INT: T.Grima J.Selwood J.Davenport S.Byrnes K.Tenace S.King

Reasons:

Backline-If we are playing Richmond I'd like to see the best tall defenders there in Egan, Harley and Scarlett to combat Richardson, Kingsley and Schulz, and make sure the Richmond supporters have nothing to give us hell about. Even if we lost, I'd be satisfied with keeping Kent to under five disposals. The smaller backmen are there to provide attack. I wanna see exciting football again from Geelong, and I think the run of those three players could provide that.

Midfield-Options. That's what I've gone for. Heat will still be a major factor at that time of year, and the Cats will need heaps of run. Give Stokes and Prismall a go alongside the experience of Bartel, Corey and Rooke, with back-up being Selwood, Byrnes and Tenace. This also means that Ling and Kelly will get a clear look at who they are competing with for a spot, and maybe make them realise they are far from being a permanent fixture in the Geelong team.

Forwards-I believe our forward structure will be based around Mooney, Ablett and Ottens this year, so they need to be there from the start. Hawkins can start there, give him a run on and off the field, just to show him he is up against the big guys now. Grima can start on the bench as that extra tall that can play either end, but I'd like to see him get a run in the forward line. If you want it more defensive, give Playfair a run instead, but I want the game plan to be attack, pure and simple. Small forwards speak for themself; Gamble needs to get in early to show what he can do, and Johnson needs a pre-season. Davenport I want to see what he can do against the real players. Give us an idea of his value to the club.

Left-out:
G.Ablett: Let's see how Nathan goes without Gaz on the field, because I think he draws alot of support from his brother, and it'd be good to see what happens without him.

Milburn: He's experienced enough now to let someone else have a go so we can experiment.

D.Johnson, J.Hunt: Same as Kelly and Ling, let them see what they are up against to prove they are no permanent fixture in the team.

Enright: Dunno why I left him out. Balance I guess. Youth v Experience and I think he is good enough to go without one game.

B: N.Djerrkura M.Scarlett M.Egan
HB: D.Wojcinski T.Harley T.Callan
C: M.Rooke J.Bartel J.Corey
HF: R.Gamble C.Mooney P.Chapman
F: S.Johnson N.Ablett T.Hawkins
R: B.Ottens B.Prismall M.Stokes
INT: T.Grima J.Selwood J.Davenport S.Byrnes K.Tenace S.King
quote]

Great team. Although i think i'd play Blake off the bench instead of King. Is Djerr's prefered position BF? Thought he was more of a mid/forward.

Also, so far no one has included rookie Reynolds. Is he a chance?

J Hunt along the HFF or Wing thanks.

I disagree with that he is a half back or at best an average wingman. he gets alot of his ball by recieving handballs and then he uses his kicking effectively. This is perfect for running out of our backline and hitting our chf or forwards when the backs run it up but as a HFF and Wing he would have to get more of his own ball also he generally only runs towards our goal at the moment I am not sure how he would go getting the ball with his back to goal and having to turn (he isn't all that agile compared to some of the others) and find a target. He has never had to provide productive leads to dangerous places and would probably end up getting in other players way.

Who would he replace?
G.Ablett
P.Chapman
A.Mackie
C.Enright
S.Johnson
J.Kelly
D.Milburn
D.Wojcinski

If any of them were to be replaced I would rather see Gamble, Stokes, Selwood, Djerrkura, Davenport, Prismall or Varcoe in there as at least they are young and given time can fill that role for the next 10 years.

I wouldnt worry too much. Even if we get knocked out we still play like 3 practice matches where the young ones get a go. Having the matches is also a good way to practice out game plays new structures etc..... thats why i dont reckon much youngters will really get a go.

King, Harley, Ottens and S. Johnson all have to play at least one or two NAB Cup matches to get fit for the season proper. Also, some of our 05 recruited players should get a go and some of the rookies. Some players also need to be tried in new positions. Some standard AFL players will also miss out. With all that in mind, this would be my team:

B: Callan, Scarlett, Egan
HB: S. Hunt, Harley, Hunt
C: G. Ablett, Rooke, Mackie
F: Gamble, Ottens, S. Johnson
R: King, Prismall, Bartel

Int: Ling, Wojcinski, Stokes, Hawkins, Blake and Playfair.

Also rotate into the side: Varcoe, Kelly, Tenace, Selwood, Byrnes and Grima.

Yeah, I think the Captain of the team should play a game or two !!! Everyone seems to have left him out of the squad. Even people who have suggested our best team play, they unfortunately left him out of the picture.

Have to Agree that the side should favor youth but have some seniors in it for balance. I guess some of the selections will depend on the fitness programs players are on. Hopefully there will noone being rested for soft tissue injuries like 2006 and they are all fit and firing to play.

I would like to see most on the list be given game time leading into round one. You would think that King, Ottens, Harley, Varcoe and SJ would be given every opportunity to get match fit prior to round one. All were underdone last year. Aside from Hawkins, I would think it is unlikely that any of the new draftees would play round one so maybe give them only limited game time, if any. I would be more concentrating on 2nd to 3rd year players such as Gamble, Prismall, Varcoe, Blake and Stokes. A possible side could be:

B: Callan Scarlett Egan
HB: Enright Harley Wojcinski
C: Varcoe Ling Tenace
HF: G Ablett N.Ablett S.Johnson
F: Stokes Mooney Hawkins

Foll: King Corey Bartel

Int: Blake, Ottens, Kelly, Prismall, Mackie, Grima

I would like to see most on the list be given game time leading into round one. You would think that King, Ottens, Harley, Varcoe and SJ would be given every opportunity to get match fit prior to round one. All were underdone last year. Aside from Hawkins, I would think it is unlikely that any of the new draftees would play round one so maybe give them only limited game time, if any. I would be more concentrating on 2nd to 3rd year players such as Gamble, Prismall, Varcoe, Blake and Stokes. A possible side could be:

B: Callan Scarlett Egan
HB: Enright Harley Wojcinski
C: Varcoe Ling Tenace
HF: G Ablett N.Ablett S.Johnson
F: Stokes Mooney Hawkins

Foll: King Corey Bartel

Int: Blake, Ottens, Kelly, Prismall, Mackie, Grima

most likely

Try to balance the need to develop form for your best 22 and the need to develop your support players and dont dismiss the playing of recently drafted kids to bolster positive attention. Inter match from should determine who is ready , who need s game time , so having a squad now is a little preemptive but...

I think when going gets tough most revert to their natural game preference , I would be supprised if Thompson wants to get back to us being a Backline to be respected.I suspect a 7/5 setup with more guys in that backhalf that can run with speed out of the backline & that can hit targets.

BL Wojo , Egan , Djurrika
HBL Mackie , Harley , Spencer , J.Hunt
C Tenace , Bartel , Byrnes
HFL G.Ablett , N.Ablett , Stokes
FL Mooney , Chapman

R Blake , Ling , J.Corey

Int Prismall , D.Johnson , Selwood , King , Enright , Gardiner

Let's just beat bloody Richmond first off with all the kids then not worry about wins so much after that.

Call me crazy, but I'd actually quite like Geelong to beat Richmond, and after that to go as far as possible. I know I'm the only footy fan in Australia who thinks this - but winning the preseason competition is NOT a bad thing. Success breeds success. It's also better than playing bollocks practice matches in the country.

We should send out a strong side, and play to win. Simple as that.

Call me crazy, but I'd actually quite like Geelong to beat Richmond, and after that to go as far as possible. I know I'm the only footy fan in Australia who thinks this - but winning the preseason competition is NOT a bad thing. Success breeds success. It's also better than playing bollocks practice matches in the country.

We should send out a strong side, and play to win. Simple as that.

That's not crazy, I agree with you. My only point was that I'm starting to develop a real dislike for Richmond supporters. Maybe my development in that area is a bit slow... ;)