New Stadium

cant stand channel eagle
whats the plan?

Waste more money on redeveloping subi or going elsewhere plz burswood still think that would be great especially night games, they would look great in that area plus after game can head into northbridge.
Or better yet waste another truckload of $$$ on a task force to consider best ideas, then never give an answer and scrap the idea all together

Perhaps a bit of pork barrelling for the next election campaign. They usually shelf the popular spending mid term and start to roll it out again when it suits their purpose.

Couldn't lower myself to watch Ch7 news.
What was said?
With the development of the East Perth area & the WACA, I would love to see a new stadium at Burswood.
What is everybody else's preference for the new stadium?

What was said?
With the development of the East Perth area & the WACA, I would love to see a new stadium at Burswood.

Hmm nah is Burswood too far away IMO. I reckon just redevelop Subiaco. Don't really see a problem in that to be honest.

What was said?
Burswood has got ample space to build an incredible stadium ,close proximty to road, rail & river.Downside nothing nearby inregards to bars,pubs,restaurants which help create atmosphere,could easily be created though at a price.I think I heard on the radio, no decision is going to be made until the announcement of the 2022, world cup.If Australia are successful in winning the right to host the 2022 cup.Fed. government will fund a fair amount of construction costs you would think.

Hmm nah is Burswood too far away IMO. I reckon just redevelop Subiaco. Don't really see a problem in that to be honest.

Edit: Oops, sorry. Just realised that you're not saying keep Subi, but redevelop it. My bad. The rest of the post still holds though.

It's poorly orientated, poorly facilitated, difficult to get to, uncomfortable (except for some of the newest sections on Subi side which aren't too bad), doesn't hold enough people, is held to ransom by the local snob of a council and looks like a piecemeal patchwork of development from people who got their architecture degrees from a packet of rice bubbles.

It sucks and we deserve a world class stadium.

Edit: Oops, sorry. Just realised that you're not saying keep Subi, but redevelop it. My bad. The rest of the post still holds though.

It's poorly orientated, poorly facilitated, difficult to get to, uncomfortable (except for some of the newest sections on Subi side which aren't too bad), doesn't hold enough people, is held to ransom by the local snob of a council and looks like a piecemeal patchwork of development from people who got their architecture degrees from a packet of rice bubbles.

It sucks and we deserve a world class stadium.

Well in the context of the stadium itself I agree Burswood would be fantastic. In the context on having to drive myself all the way from the western suburbs after a personal footy match there to Burswood isnt flattering by an stretch of the imagination. :thumbsdown:

The burswood owners were happy to put in a crap load of money to have it there.
Think its the WAFC who are strongly opposed to it as they want to keep all the $$$ in their pockets plus alot of them and their associates bought up houses around subi oval so if they can then get the government to pay to knock them down to make way for redevelopment its win win for them.

But i think Paul8241 and Free at last is on the money.
Its just abit of pork barreling.
No way there gonna fork out $$$ now for a stadium when if they just hold of a few more years they might be able to get fed govt to pay for most of it.

There was originally a suggestion for out in Cockburn. With the Railway, it'd be nice if there was some more entertainment/recreational infrastructure SotR.

I know its not really viable as you could build the Oval near more established entertainment scenes, and not have to fork out the extra money, but imagine how shit Perth will be in 10, 20, 30 years time where there is nothing but 50km of housing developments south of the city.

Redeveloping Subi in any form would be a waste of money.

If they want a stadium at Burswood, then whoever owns the Cassy (Packer?) should be chipping in a fair bit.

I'm pretty sure packer was keen to pay for the lot to have it. I say let him do it.

Well in the context of the stadium itself I agree Burswood would be fantastic. In the context on having to drive myself all the way from the western suburbs after a personal footy match there to Burswood isnt flattering by an stretch of the imagination. :thumbsdown:

Diddums. At Burswood it would cut off about 20 minutes of my 5 hour round trip.

I think that redeveloping Subi would be a disaster for WA. They need to have a good look at Burswood - on either the golf club site or the Belmont park site. All that crap they want to build where the belltower is should be shifted over to Burswood as well, so they can integrate the whole thing with stadium as well as entertainment, some office space and some desperately needed hotel space.

Yep I liked the idea of the full Burswoood complex, AFL stadium, rectangular ground, concert/events venue then you can combine transport and parking. It would either be brilliant or an absolute pain depending on how seriously they took scheduling and if they would set it up so that by combining the parking etc they get a bit extra rather than just hit the bare minimum in a best case senario (I know but its my dream :)).

Whatever would have been built if the Libs didn't shelve it again would probably have been a dogs breakfast but one thing's for sure, it is going to seem like a bargain compared to the cost of building it 10-15 years later.

Redevelop fremantle oval into a 60000 stadium, cafe's, pubs, resturants, everything is there already. If the weagles don't like it they can stay at subi.

In fact develop subi as well and they can have it. Love to see the weagles come play us at freo oval - 118 point smashings everytime!

Redevelop fremantle oval into a 60000 stadium, cafe's, pubs, resturants, everything is there already. If the weagles don't like it they can stay at subi.

In fact develop subi as well and they can have it. Love to see the weagles come play us at freo oval - 118 point smashings everytime!

I like that idea - not because of the 118 point smashings, but because it would give us a chance to establish our own home ground. As you've mentioned, there are lovely cafes, pubs etc already there, plus an excellent transport system. They would just need to build maybe another multi level car park and Bob's your uncle!

(I also like the idea of more parking because it would help the parking problem at uni :D)

Oh and another point - it would give us a chance to name the "wings" and stands - no more Chris Mainwaring wing!!

You mean we wouldn't have styrofoam cutouts of players in Eagles jumpers stuck to every stairwell :( Jesus that sh*ts me, the ground has two home teams whether the **** at WAFC like it or not! The sooner Subi is turned into something other than a football venue the better!

It has to be Burswood. Burswood has road, train and river access and plenty of room for parking. It also has entertainment in the form of the casino and bars. Plenty of other entertainment will spring up around it.

Burswood could be built for 70,000 with enough flexibility to add more if required. There is no way Subiaco could do this.

Get the footy out of a residential area with all the ongoing garbage about street parking, council bickering etc. Subiaco is a pain in the backside to drive to.

Can you imagine if we never had a footy ground of any sort and we looked at places to build a 70,000 stadium. There is not a chance in hell that anyone would choose to put a stadium in the middle of a crowded residential area. Redeveloping Kitchener park is just as bad. Shift it across to the river and start with a fresh slate.

I'm pretty sure packer was keen to pay for the lot to have it. I say let him do it.

Think you're wrong mate.

If that was the case we wouldn't need the Government to get involved at all, Packer could deal directly with the WAFC and everyone would be happy.

Donating a chunk of land to build a stadium makes sense and maybe external facilities (new roads, car park, etc) but spending $600+ million on a new stadium that's going to be operated by the Footy Commission would be a poor business decision. They'd need to get a hell of a lot of people dropping $100 at the tables pre/post-game to get a return on their investment.

New Stadium