Nick Riewoldt

• Thread starter Thread starter GeeUUess

Probably. Scott West- 7 best and fairests, 5 all australians, 1 Lou Richards medal. Amazingly amassed 175 Brownlow medal votes over his career without winning the award once. Only Leigh Matthews got more without winning the award. Nick Riewoldt- 5 best and fairests, 4 all Australians, 1 Leigh Matthews Trophy. 95 career brownlow votes.

Westy is an out-and-out champion of the game...
Unfair to compare him with an average joe in N. Riewoldt..

Teddy Richards didn't line up on him from the first bounce. LRT did. Richards went onto to him later. So, it looks like you didn't even watch the match as your facts are wrong. And even so, Richards is very comptetent defender and probably should have made the AA squad.

He is our 2nd top goal scorer with 36 goals and leads the team in marks and so while he is extremely down on form from previous years, he defienetly deserves his spot in the side.

And to say Nick doesn't compete, just shows how little you know. One thing you couldn't say about Nick this season is that he has stopped trying. He is the hardest working player in team, despite his output.

LRT lined up on Riewoldt but Richards was on him by the time the first contest came about.

Thanks Gus. The Richards point came about in discussion with the Sydney fans that I watched the game with. Your opinion of should have made AA squad is irrelevant. A 4time AA versus a recyled 0 AA player; well I know who should win that contest.

I haven't said anything about his previous 20games. I talked about the Carlton game (1 goal in the 2nd half was it?) and specifically the Swans game with specific example (it was either the 2nd or 3rd quarter with exactly 7minutes left on the clock) where Riewoldt did not offer a contest yet being in the best position to mark.

I really believe part of the Saints culture is acceptance of defeat. I'll tell you what; if Swan, Judd, Hodge, Kerr had bad games their fans would be bitterly disapointed. In fact, the Hawks board were dissing Hodges kicking innefficieny on the weekend and WCE fans were calling for Kerrs head despite injury problems a few years ago (I'm not saying Saints should go that far but you get the point). Yet Saints fans are happy to accept sub-par performances, and downright ignore my specific references and go off on a tangent talking about 5 seasons ago or remembering past 'glories' off Prelim wins against the Bulldogs. Fair dinkum.

Nick has had to put up with the poorest delivery of his career this season as well as carrying a knee injury that probably would have seen other key position players, not about to play finals, be put in cotton wool for preseason.... Personally, i thought he was cooked after the West Coast game in round 17

Not to mention the distraction of all the offseason scandals directly affecting him, putting even more stress on the bloke after failing to perform in 3 grand finals in 2 years....

So he had a bad year? Not much he can do about it now other than recover from the knee issue & train hard in preseason.... He's certainly not a spud like some of you are implying

Thanks Gus. The Richards point came about in discussion with the Sydney fans that I watched the game with. Your opinion of should have made AA squad is irrelevant. A 4time AA versus a recyled 0 AA player; well I know who should win that contest.

I haven't said anything about his previous 20games. I talked about the Carlton game (1 goal in the 2nd half was it?) and specifically the Swans game with specific example (it was either the 2nd or 3rd quarter with exactly 7minutes left on the clock) where Riewoldt did not offer a contest yet being in the best position to mark.

I really believe part of the Saints culture is acceptance of defeat. I'll tell you what; if Swan, Judd, Hodge, Kerr had bad games their fans would be bitterly disapointed. In fact, the Hawks board were dissing Hodges kicking innefficieny on the weekend and WCE fans were calling for Kerrs head despite injury problems a few years ago (I'm not saying Saints should go that far but you get the point). Yet Saints fans are happy to accept sub-par performances, and downright ignore my specific references and go off on a tangent talking about 5 seasons ago or remembering past 'glories' off Prelim wins against the Bulldogs. Fair dinkum.

Two bad games hardly means your drop the 2nd best forward of the season and captain.

Not to mention previous awards hardly mean anything when discussing the current season/game. No doubt Richards has been a better player than Riewoldt this year, so I can hardly imagine someone expecting Riewoldt to dominate him.

And ask any fan and we are all bitterly dissapointed, with not only his season, but some of the other stars of the team in Montagna, Gilbert, Goddard etc and in fact the whole the team. However, the arguement that has arised from this thread is whether or not not Riewoldt is a champion, and I'm surprised some people even need to ask that question. But, we all know Bigfooty, have the memory of less than a week.

Two bad games hardly means your drop the 2nd best forward of the season and captain.

Not to mention previous awards hardly mean anything when discussing the current season/game. No doubt Richards has been a better player than Riewoldt this year, so I can hardly imagine someone expecting Riewoldt to dominate him.

And ask any fan and we are all bitterly dissapointed, with not only his season, but some of the other stars of the team in Montagna, Gilbert, Goddard etc and in fact the whole the team. However, the arguement that has arised from this thread is whether or not not Riewoldt is a champion, and I'm surprised some people even need to ask that question. But, we all know Bigfooty, have the memory of less than a week.
Thanks for admitting he had bad games against Carlton and Sydney. It takes a sensible yet courageous fan to say that. That is why I am going to respect you when you say he was your 2nd best forward for the rest of the season. I have went over the top judging him on 2 games and believing this happened for the whole season.
Richards has had a very good season; but I still thought Riewoldt would beat him. It is a shame seeing things like that happen; not just for Riewoldt but for stars in general. When stars get beaten by a lesser player its not good to see. However Richards did have a great game.
Thanks again; for being responsible in your opinion of the seasons of Montagna, Gilbert and Goddard. Still down on their efforts in the finals of last year which were sensational; but they all did their bits on Sat night I thought.
Also, just for my peace of my mind; I hope you know I myself am not questioning Riewoldts ability or his past feats.
Cheers Gary, very much appreciated.

Was that the one and only game saving mark or the one and only goal saving dive on the goal line?

if you want to get technical the kick after the (good) mark,

'touch' being footy speak for disposal rather than the literal - though I'm guessing you were on to that already :)

If Nick could barely run at training as others have said. Would it be a stretch to think he's possibly not been able to practice goal kicking most of the season?
(Just thinking out loud here)

Anyone knocking anything bar his goal kicking is delusional.

If Nick could barely run at training as others have said. Would it be a stretch to think he's possibly not been able to practice goal kicking most of the season?

Would it be a stretch to say he isn't doing the best thing for his side?

The things I knocked were specific examples. Explain that huh?

Was Travis Cloke doing the right thing on Saturday playing? Was Jack Riewoldt doing the right thing? Of course they were the same as Nick Riewoldt was playing all year.

Not practicing goal kicking...I bet you every other KPF would be doing this. You play as you train. If you can't train I would have thought you don't play. Some of the hardest training was the Hawks in the 80s. Blokes were rubbed out of GFs on the Thursday night because they couldn't train 100%. Ohh wait...Hawks have a winning culture...Saints have a losing culture.

Yeah Im sure all there guns were 100% fit going into GF.:rolleyes: Get out of your fantasy world little boy.

Saints have some big list management decisions.

There's no Geelong "rebound" fairytale here.

Is it time for guys like Clarke, Gram and Blake to go? Is it time to make some harder decisions on quality veterans who may still garner decent draft picks?

Stanley was good this year, McEvoy has been excellent too. Can St Kilda fans tell us who is knocking on the door and could make a difference in 2012?

You don't know shit, he played a whole 2 games, and was average.

if you want to get technical the kick after the (good) mark,

'touch' being footy speak for disposal rather than the literal - though I'm guessing you were on to that already :)
Onto it every bit as much as I presume your actual realisation that both literal touches were decive acts of a captain getting his team over (or to in this case) the line.

Not for the first time Maxwell did what had to be done at crunch time in a final to see his team through. Not for the last time he pulled a quality game out in a final this past weekend.

Surely if he was that crook he shouldn't have been playing.

Yeah because the Saints depth of fwd talent meant he was holding out someone who could do a better job.
Even with his pitiful goal kicking, he was still the best option St Kilda had to play the role.

Surely if he was that crook he shouldn't have been playing.
Well you wouldn't think so, living in Perth I obviously haven't seen him train this year, but if he couldn't do a lot of running I'd doubt he would be kicking a footy 40-50 metres over and over.

Yeah Im sure all there guns were 100% fit going into GF.:rolleyes: Get out of your fantasy world little boy.
No. But if they weren't 100% they found an extra gear, didn't sook about it and didn't give the fans a chance to use it as an excuse.

Do you have any idea how many players dont train mid week during a season. Some barely run at all so they can play on match day.
Well not everyone does so little in the game that a neutral, that has admired Riewoldt (and all class players for that matter) for his whole career, viewed Riewoldt as a passenger two weeks ago and a liability last week. You are fulla shit btw. The media is very quick to point out who isn't training.

Yeah because the Saints depth of fwd talent meant he was holding out someone who could do a better job.
Even with his pitiful goal kicking, he was still the best option St Kilda had to play the role.

Well you wouldn't think so, living in Perth I obviously haven't seen him train this year, but if he couldn't do a lot of running I'd doubt he would be kicking a footy 40-50 metres over and over.
Who played the role last season when he was out for the first half the year? You guys still fared well enough then. Plus all your talls had good games against Sydney.
It isnt just his goal kicking. Once; when in a great position to mark he didnt even offer a contest (with 7 minutes to go in either the 2nd or 3rd quarter). Then when the ball got spoiled and landed in a Saints players hands he ran backwards into the space of the leading Saints player.

If a first gamer done that they wouldnt be playing next week.

Seriously if you don't have someone on your list who could at least do that I feel very sorry for you guys; it will be a tough 5 years ahead for your forward line.

Who played the role last season when he was out for the first half the year? You guys still fared well enough then. Plus all your talls had good games against Sydney.
It isnt just his goal kicking. Once; when in a great position to mark he didnt even offer a contest (with 7 minutes to go in either the 2nd or 3rd quarter). Then when the ball got spoiled and landed in a Saints players hands he ran backwards into the space of the leading Saints player.

If a first gamer done that they wouldnt be playing next week.

Seriously if you don't have someone on your list who could at least do that I feel very sorry for you guys; it will be a tough 5 years ahead for your forward line.
No one for a couple of weeks and then Rhys Stanley?
There's no point going into why we fared well last year and didn't this year.

Find me a team that has a bloke running around in the VFL that could produce what Nick managed to do this year.

I will agree some of his efforts in contests at times weren't great, but St Kilda had to keep playing him in my opinion.

Find me a team that has a bloke running around in the VFL that could produce what Nick managed to do this year.

I will agree some of his efforts in contests at times weren't great, but St Kilda had to keep playing him in my opinion.

I guess I'm thinking they should have been finding someone young in the VFL that could have been getting some game time and learning how step up to AFL. Developing for the future. What was the point of him playing in the end? Out of the finals in the first week anyway. Perhaps they could have started on fixing his knee? Surely they have to be thinking of the future? The Saints just can't rely on Nick getting back to his old form again.

I was wrong on dropping him. His output in earlier in the year was, apparently, better. And the knee would have had to fall off for him to miss the Sydney game; you can't drop him after one bad game against Carlton.

But against Swans had Rhys Stanley played Nicks role he would have done it better and been an asset for the side. Not a liability. You had 17 players out there on Saturday night and you can't deny it.

Nick had an absolute shocker; injury and off-field misfortune does not forgive that.

If I was at St Kilda of course I wouldn't give up on Nick this pre-season because one bad game is merely a blimp on the radar for his carrer; but I'd also be putting a hell of a lot of time into a replacement; whether that be Rhys Stanley or somebody else.

I actually feel for him at the moment, on Saturday night to me the problem looked more mental than anything, most notably the chest mark he dropped 20 metres out from goal 5 mins into the game, it was a mark he would taken one handed 2 years ago.

He also seemed to be preferring to take marks on his chest rather than with his hands up. A lot of people think he hasn't been the same since the Grand Final but I think he hasn't been the same since he did his hammy early last year. I hope that doesn't ruin him like it did Lloyd.

Can't believe people who think he is a dud based on one ordinary year, baffling :eek:

If I were Ross Lyon I'd give him a training program and tell him not to come back to to the club for preseason training until Christmas time, I think he needs time off to refresh.