Opinion NMFC Board Cricket Thread III

West Indian cricket is a joke. How the mighty have fallen since the 1970s to 1980s. Its sad to see. There is no way back for them as there is just not enough money to keep players interested in playing test cricket for them. The standard of the pitches in this series and other series in the West Indies have been woeful and for what its worth day night test matches with a orange ball is destroying test cricket in my opinion as it just produces ridiculous situations that is not proper test cricket. The day night cricket balls are too much in favour of bowlers and has produced some crazy results and figures in test cricket. Just go back and check some day night test match cricket results to see what Im talking about.
The US colleges and sporting teams scour the WI for athletic talent from a young age. If they were doing that in the 70s and 80s the WI would never have had the cricket sides they used to have.

Eng v lndia got quite fiery yeh on the last day ?
It did a little bit but nothing over the top that wasnt good for the game and the spectators and players loved it but the two teams have alot of respect for one another and that was obvious at the end of the game. Similar to Flintoff and Lee at the end of the 2005 test match.
Another great test match between 2 very good teams in what has been 3 great matches so far.
I dont know what it is but test matches in UK produce some brilliant cricket.
I think the pitches and crowds are the best in the world without a doubt as the atmosphere is at fever pitch.
Most other test match grounds have 2 people and a dog and little atmosphere besides maybe boxing day in Australia and maybe the Sydney test match opening day.
For what its worth I reckon Australia's nemesis Stuart Broad is taking to commentary like a duck to water.
It reminds me of how insightful Shane Warne was when he started commentating.
You can tell they both love/d the game and had a great concept of what is happening in a game and both like/d a bit of controversy to fire the game up and give great insights to what is going on.

The Zimbabwean government and cricket board really did set the sport in the country back 50 years.

Williams aside, most of their talent were effectively driven to Aus and England.
Most of their white talent, apart from a few who refused to give in under the Mugabe regime. There's plenty of Black talent and even still some white. Now that he is gone, things have settled down a bit, but there isn't locally the funding. They'll pull one out occasionally, but they're about where they are.

It did a little bit but nothing over the top that wasnt good for the game and the spectators and players loved it but the two teams have alot of respect for one another and that was obvious at the end of the game. Similar to Flintoff and Lee at the end of the 2005 test match.
Another great test match between 2 very good teams in what has been 3 great matches so far.
I dont know what it is but test matches in UK produce some brilliant cricket.
I think the pitches and crowds are the best in the world without a doubt as the atmosphere is at fever pitch.
Most other test match grounds have 2 people and a dog and little atmosphere besides maybe boxing day in Australia and maybe the Sydney test match opening day.
For what its worth I reckon Australia's nemesis Stuart Broad is taking to commentary like a duck to water.
It reminds me of how insightful Shane Warne was when he started commentating.
You can tell they both love/d the game and had a great concept of what is happening in a game and both like/d a bit of controversy to fire the game up and give great insights to what is going on.
Agree that test cricket from England in the middle of our winter has generally been a pretty compelling watch, but some of the flatter, bazball-dictated decks of recent seasons have been less so. Feels like English cricket has become a bit less English under the stokes/McCullum regime.
To suggest the only good days on the Australian calendar are Boxing day and Sydney day 1 is a bit much. Did you not see pretty much every day of Adelaide, Melbourne (world record crowd by the way) and Sydney this summer just gone? I did, and the crowds/atmosphere were fabulous

Agree that test cricket from England in the middle of our winter has generally been a pretty compelling watch, but some of the flatter, bazball-dictated decks of recent seasons have been less so. Feels like English cricket has become a bit less English under the stokes/McCullum regime.
To suggest the only good days on the Australian calendar are Boxing day and Sydney day 1 is a bit much. Did you not see pretty much every day of Adelaide, Melbourne (world record crowd by the way) and Sydney this summer just gone? I did, and the crowds/atmosphere were fabulous
I love Adelaide oval, one of my favourite grounds for sure. Its really only when England and India come to Australia that the crowds are big. Brisbane and Perth really struggle to attract crowds. No doubt this coming season all grounds will be packed with England being here which is good. Its sad though to see cricket has fallen away here in Australia for popularity compared to the 80s and 90s. I guess its a changing world where young ones are more inclined to go for the shorter format of cricket or play on their computers and phones. I cant stand the IPL.

There seems to be a prevailing view that test crowds in Australia in the 80s and 90s were bigger. They weren't. It's a myth. People have conflated their memories of one day crowds in that era with test crowds.
The famous Boxing Day 1981 where Kim Hughes made a brilliant century and DK Lillee bowled Viv Richards on the last ball of the day to leave the Windies 4/10 had a crowd of 39000.

Eng v lndia;.

3 tests + 3 days ( 4th test ) 5408 runs have been scored with 15 big tons ( almost 16, a 99 )

What are they batting on ?
I presume they’re under instruction to prepare pitches that suit “bazball”. I have a look at the County cricket scores and there are heaps of 500 plus scores, recently there was a 700 and an 800!

Gotta laugh at the saviours of the game and bastion of all that is good throwing the toys out of the cot because apparently test cricket goes for 5 days and the Indians wanted to bat on to their hundreds. Here's a hint: if you prepare wickets so flat your tapped out bowlers can't take more than 4 wickets in 140 odd overs in the 4th innings AND the next test is 3 days away, fair chance the opposition will want to keep you out there for as long as possible

It was elite shithousery by India by refusing to shake hands and end the game with 15 overs to go so their guys could get their tons.

Seeing Stokes and Crawley sook it up onfield while the Indians were all laughing on the balcony was very funny, especially after Crawley and Duckett arrived late onfield in the previous Test so they wouldn't face an extra over before stumps.

Spirit of Cricket lives on. 🤣

Imagine my surprise when I went to bed at lunch to the sound of Duckett proclaiming it was "a matter of time at this end" (failing to take into consideration their spinner was Liam Dawson, lol) only to wake up and find they took not a single pole in the ensuing 4 hours of cricket

The US colleges and sporting teams scour the WI for athletic talent from a young age. If they were doing that in the 70s and 80s the WI would never have had the cricket sides they used to have.
Yep. And I recall an interview with Curtly Ambrose about 20 years ago where he said that very thing. The worst part about it is you can't really blame them, them being the players because the WICB is more corrupt than Trump.