No runners allowed during gametime

I thought Hodge’s comments were a bit off.

I get that young teams need more instruction, and that runners can send nuanced messages during the course of play, but in the long run having them work out what to do via trial and error and not having to constantly refer back to the coaching group might actually fast track their development and give them more autonomy on the football field.

I’m any case they’ve got senior players around them to steady them and provide the kind of feedback you’d expect of runner anyway.

Our 1979 premiership team was last team to have playing coach on field. Alex Jesaulenko. He taught what he needed to during the week and coached during breaks of play at half time and quarter time breaks but generally on field, just the captain. More of players working out things themselves please. There is a zillion hours during week for coaches to educate players on things they can improve on.

Like I said, it’s much more fun when you go to the footy to watch the game instead of these other non issues.

You don't have to actively look or even think about them to notice them at times being a nuisance when watching the footy with a properly functioning set of eyeballs. They ARE in the game that's the problem.

They are NOT anymore. Problem solved!!! **** yeah!

You aren't very smart if you have ever used this sentence
Every other sport isn't our sport

Other sports have time outs, time to work out plays, technical fouls, punching allowed, shot clocks, super overs, full body padding an helmets etc

In soccer the players treat the referees like absoloute shit, rugby they couldn't be more respectful

Stop comparing Aussie Rules to other sports we it has different needs

Would you prefer the game to stop everytime a doctor or trainer enters the field like literally every other sport on earth?
**** off

Lol what a great dignified response...

Having runners on the field is amateur hour let’s face it. So now we can’t look at other sports for ideas and learn new ways to improve our own sport? Might as well go back to the 80s because we stole the draft from America and we came down hard on head-high contact because of lawsuits across the world in other sports.

Now I’m not saying we have to incorporate everything from other sports but select the things that would improve our sport. Good on you for thinking an outdated strategy that gets abused by the coaches and occasionally affects gameplay is still working. Go fax the afl to change the rules back, then again no one owns fax machines anymore because a better alternative exists!

The biggest beat up of all time the so called runner incident in last years grand final. It was a crap kick that missed its target horribly and you could of had the whole coaching staff out on the ground and Yeo would of still marked it. How that Collingwood player escaped the wrath of the media for his poor kick was amazing.

Ok maybe that the kick would have missed anyway, the real answer is we will never actually know. The point is the runner should not have been there in the first place. They shouldn’t have the potential ability to affect a game at all. The reality is our game is often decided by centimetres so why leave it up to chance?

Lol what a great dignified response...

Having runners on the field is amateur hour let’s face it. So now we can’t look at other sports for ideas and learn new ways to improve our own sport? Might as well go back to the 80s because we stole the draft from America and we came down hard on head-high contact because of lawsuits across the world in other sports.

Now I’m not saying we have to incorporate everything from other sports but select the things that would improve our sport. Good on you for thinking an outdated strategy that gets abused by the coaches and occasionally affects gameplay is still working. Go fax the afl to change the rules back, then again no one owns fax machines anymore because a better alternative exists!

That was a bunch of nonsense that made no sense

Ok maybe that the kick would have missed anyway, the real answer is we will never actually know. The point is the runner should not have been there in the first place. They shouldn’t have the potential ability to affect a game at all. The reality is our game is often decided by centimetres so why leave it up to chance?

Umpires in the way are ok though?

Can teams position coaching staff around the ground and wire them up? Have messages from the coach go to the guy closest to the player they want the message to go to then deliver it from the boundary closest to them? May look ugly but does stop runners on the field.
That's been my preference for years. We have trainers all round the ground, who come on after goals, etc. Give them a headset each and they can deliver messages at that point - so long as they are off the ground before play resumes (except when treating injury). Yes, their job right now isn't coaching. I believe they are actually prohibited from delivering messages, so it would take time to get right. Worth a pre-season trial or three, IMO.

I thought Hodge’s comments were a bit off.

I get that young teams need more instruction, and that runners can send nuanced messages during the course of play, but in the long run having them work out what to do via trial and error and not having to constantly refer back to the coaching group might actually fast track their development and give them more autonomy on the football field.

I’m any case they’ve got senior players around them to steady them and provide the kind of feedback you’d expect of runner anyway.

People have said for years that Hodge is a coach in waiting; his sooking about this just underlines it.

As others have said, that coaches are bemoaning this change shows its long overdue. Anything that ensures that coaches have less ability to micromanage the game is good news.

I think there was a much simpler solution. Interchange steward times runners. They must enter and leave the field within 60 seconds. Once off they cannot go back on for two minutes. They break this the penalty is the same as an interchange infringement, free kick and 50.

I like the new rule a lot. I couldn't stand other personnel being on the field during play unless attending to an injured player.

What I'd like to see though is a team being able to have up to 9 runners each. That way in between goals they can all run out and deliver messages to at least half the team. Then they all have to run off before the next centre bounce. That way, the coaches can deliver new messages to many players and nobody clutters the field during play. Win-win.

lol at Clarkson and Beveridge trying their bogan, bully, bullshit PR stuff in the media to try to get the runners back.
You're not fooling anyone
i can understand why clarkson is upset. Now coaches on the field are more important than ever and he had two great ones in hodge and lewis which he gave away for nothing who are now generals for sides competing with them for finals.

They should eliminate runners completely and bring back unlimited interchange (seeing as how reducing it had no effect on congestion whatsoever) and give messages to players from the bench.

i can understand why clarkson is upset. Now coaches on the field are more important than ever and he had two great ones in hodge and lewis which he gave away for nothing who are now generals for sides competing with them for finals.

They should eliminate runners completely and bring back unlimited interchange (seeing as how reducing it had no effect on congestion whatsoever) and give messages to players from the bench.

Sorry but but the overuse of the interchange is the reason we have so much congestion. The game went crazy when teams started using the interchange as a rotation

The raving of the older generation seeking a nostalgic type of football is quite amusing. A lot of people pretending to be "smarter" than others, painful to read.

"Oh I noticed such and such so many years ago, ergo am such a superior football viewer" :rolleyes:

Beveridge was back on the campaign again yesterday morning on SEN. Fair enough, it was Bulldogs' membership promo day, but still

About time, rule change is positive, runners have no plausible reason to be on the ground during game time.
Between Umpires, Runners and over use of bench rotations its farcical too disruptive they cause congestion and interfere with the game.
The next change hopefully AFL will allow names on players Jumpers too.
The level of player movement has increased, it’s hard to keep track.