Oppo Camp Non Eagles Discussion Thread

Correct. In hindsight gws be kicking themselves. Well probably not actually, whats 1 more first rounder to them...just help to stack the neafl. Probably just having a good ol troll of everyone
Waiting for them to reject a first round pick and accept a second round just cos yolo and **** collingwood

But not fine if it was old mate Jason?
I know, right? Subtext is more powerful than most comprehend.

If it were the ex-eagle, he wouldn't be the only gay in the village. Though no one has come out, many in the Perth community were aware back in the day of the social activities of a few past eagles players. No idea why it's such a big issue. Most people would be surprised at the sheer volume of people on Grindr in every single neighbourhood.

It must be a big deal, because as yet no current or past AFL player that I know of has come out and said they are gay. AFL is a manly sport and they probably think people will feel differently about them. In my opinion it would show their strength of character if a current player did come out, but they are probably still worried what their team mates may feel

NRL players have and to be honest it is quite a bit tougher as a game.

The AFL is a bit of a sad boys club with massive inconsistencies'.

I hope these people respect total fireban days. We wouldn't want another hill's fire situation.

Don't think their teammates would even care to be honest, it's probably more the attention those players may get from other players/supporters on gameday that may have more of a bearing on it.

The media would be the biggest concern IMO - forever known as the first to come out with the rest of your footy achievements overshadowed. Not many these days know that Ian Roberts was one of the best rugby league players of his time, representing state and country.

Barring a few morons I honestly don't think fans would care.

The media would be the biggest concern IMO - forever known as the first to come out with the rest of your footy achievements overshadowed. Not many these days know that Ian Roberts was one of the best rugby league players of his time, representing state and country.

Barring a few morons I honestly don't think fans would care.
Judd was asked about this in an interview year or 2 ago, and said he new of gay players, and a few thought to be gay. The fact he differentiated between the 2 made me think he was pretty certain. Made me think some players are out, but only to team mates, so maybe it is more the media reaction that is keeping them from coming out more generally.
Was surprised not more was made of that interview tbh.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

There is obviously a reason why though it hasn't happened, hopefully someone comes out and other players will then follow suit. Some people may think differently about them but you would hope it wont affect their career too much.

The reason may be the media itself.

The problem with being the "first openly gay football player" is that, regardless of your achievements on the field, you will always be known in the media and indeed in the game's history as "the first gay player" or "that gay player". A lot of people don't want that kind of legacy, especially if they don't consider it an overly important part of who they are (eg: a perspective of "Im a football player who happens to be gay").

A lot of the younger brigade these days don't seem to care about your sexual preference, so it wouldn't surprise me if this was why moreso than bullying.

3 months

Sounds like he got off lightly reading through that

His (female) lawyer actually argued that he shouldn't get jail time because "it's not like he's a terrorist or a murderer".

**** me, talk about the 99% of lawyers giving the other 1% a bad name :mad:

Possibly one of the factors that contributed to drug use in the individual I had in mind in my post. Such a shame. The manliest men are those who aren't ashamed of who they are, not those who would ridicule someone for being who they are. No joke - there are heaps of rough and tumble jock types who hang around on grindr. But yes, some of them would probably be living that life on the DL.

I wouldn't put it past a player to belt another bloke on the field if he was a homophobe and the opposition had an openly gay player.
In the AFL? Yeah- nah, firstly they'd struggle to keep that attitude a secret if it was something they felt so strongly about and no modern AFL club would want them. And secondly the AFL would absolutely throw the book at them, like a season-long suspension.

Hope north come out firing and angry tonight. Tenderize and inflict a few bruises for next weeks game