Off Season Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter daics_35

You forgot to mention kicking skill, forward stucture, forward entries and game plan.

Nothing less than a top 4 finish was expected given we were second last year and premiers the week before. Don't try and say that a top 4 finish was 'a huge vindication of Buckley'. Geelong's victory last year is what I call a huge vindication of a first year coach'.

A drover's dog could have led Geelong to the 2011 flag. He inherited a team from Bomber Thompson who were the best team going around since 2007. We have not reached those heights of success. Chris Scott's worth as a coach was shown this year, good but not brilliant.

It's good to be critical but you also have to be a realist about the 2012 season.

I don't get this "best" list in AFL rot? clearly they are not otherwise we'd be in a GF despite any coaching change. Yes we have a good list to very good but it has some major flaws by having multiple poorly skilled NQR role players.

We have several players who burn the ball, teams have worked out the press and can now score quite heavily from countering it, we have had several injuries, players have gotten older Taz, Dids, Johno, Jolly and Maxwell all have gotten injuries the last few seasons.

We have traded 4/5 first rund draft picks from the least 5 drafts, it was always going to come back to bite doing it so many years.

Also I know this might come as a shock but OTHER teams improve their players get better, stronger, fitter and fine tune their skill sets.

It's because we massively over rate our own. Win a premiership and your irreplaceable.

Not making a GF isn't good enough after the season we had in 2011. Malthouse would have out coached Longmire i have no doubt about that. Defensively we have lost the plot. Collingwood should never have sacked Malthouse.

The reality is as some people like to forget is that Malthouse WALKED OUT on the club, we did not boot him out. We wanted him to be coaching (not as the senior coach) next year and helping us out with strategy, giving advice to bucks and other coaches ect ect, instead he left in the middle of a contract. We did not sack him

Hes gone to the cheats and is one of them now. I hope they dont win a bloody game next year but lets not tell half truths. The role currently filled by Eade was not offered to Malthouse.

Where was it reported exactly what mick's job next year was? Whatever it was theres no way in hell the coaches wouldn't of gone to him for advice and guidance anyway, plus he would of stuck his nose in and given his idea's his that sort of a controlling guy.

Bingo!
I'm sick of being known as the breeder club for turning assistants into senior coaches, I want to be known as the club coaches want to be at like Hawthorn seem to be.

We need take advantage of the lack of restrictions around footy department expenses while its available and start poaching the best coaches from other clubs as opposed to losing them to everyone else. How hard would it be to attract coaches to our club. Who the hell wouldnt want to coach in the best facilities in the comp?? Says to me we're obviously not offering enough which i find amazing given we will send a player to Arazona mid season at the drop of a hat. we're not exactly short of cash.

Last year I said something similar and everyone said we should be proud our assistants go onto senior roles. Well
Look where we are now. A group of incompetent line coaches. I agree we have the resources to go out and get the best. Why wouldn't you go after choco Williams ? Richmond get him of all teams. If u don't think we have gone backwards since 2010/2011 you are living in a dream world and are probably one of those supporters who thinks "we made it to the prelim" as some sort of success.

Desperatly we need to toughen up.
Look at hawthorns midfield, very tough, our players look scared, (wellingham worst offender).
We also need to give witts a go and get some game time into him, we dont want to let him go to waste.
Be interesting to see who we get in Trade week.

Desperatly we need to toughen up.
Look at hawthorns midfield, very tough, our players look scared, (wellingham worst offender).
We also need to give witts a go and get some game time into him, we dont want to let him go to waste.
Be interesting to see who we get in Trade week.

Young, Smith and Ellis aren't exactly tough nuts mate. Toughness is not our problem, defensive accountability is.

-Witts need to be blooded next year, put him up against Giants, Suns, Power, Lions, Demons at the very least.
He may not win flat out the matchup but Magpies can salvage his short comings so that he gets experience and not get discouraged by having the team lose the game or get dominated.

-I'm all for trading Wellingham, for a better need... Which is a hard contest type midfielder who may not be as talented as Wellingham but someone who can make defensive impact in the middle and win hard ball out if stoppages.
No one wants to trade him for nothing...

-Blood Ceglar, Paine more... See how we'll they play next to Cloke... Maybe one of then can turn to the Leigh Brown role... Put them as subs or interchange against bottom rung teams.

- cant stop developing youth and recruiting youth just because the team is a top 4 team. Need good overlap with current stars and future potential stars.

I cant see how we can fit all of Brown, Reid, Keeffe, Maxwell, Obrien and Toovey into our backline next year. Looks far too top heavy.

What about trying Keeffe as backup ruck next year? This will allow Dawes to play forward full time. We should lock Keeffe in the gym over the summer as he seems a bit Josh Fraser like in his physique.

Young, Smith and Ellis aren't exactly tough nuts mate. Toughness is not our problem, defensive accountability is.

They may not be bulls but I've never seen them shirk a contest, it's half the reason Ellis is always injured plays like he is luke ball built like a stick insect.

hawthorn wont accept squibs they wouldn't get a game again some non negoitables

They may not be bulls but I've never seen them shirk a contest, it's half the reason Ellis is always injured plays like he is luke ball built like a stick insect.

hawthorn wont accept squibs they wouldn't get a game again some non negoitables

Um, go ask the Hawthorn board if they have ever seen these guys "squib" a contest and you will get a very different answer. Xavier Ellis playing like Luke Ball is perhaps the funniest thing I have read all year.

I mean in terms of putting his body in and copping a hit when he needs too, not in play style.

Ie he isn't didak soft.

You can add Suckling to that list. That guy is far from hard.

Lol at all the Wellingham soft rubbish. Just because the guy has a bad haircut doesn't make him soft. You can pick on him for poor decision making, disposal and for turning the ball over to easilly but don't bag him for being soft because it's just untrue.

agreed not soft, sometimes brilliant, sometimes shit, not soft

He hasn't been shown the door. Collingwood haven't made a decision on him yet, so in the meantime he is looking at other possibilities - which is sensible. I reckon Rounds has a lot to offer at 21 years of age. Personally would like him to say.

21? Feels like he's been around along time? Could we offer him up as a trade? Second chance somewhere without just turfing him out? Maybe we could offer him and C.Wood to the Suns or Giants. Feel kind of bad just delisting players when there's such a flurry of activity this trade season, well rumoured anyway!

what a silly thread title.

his problem has been that he came in as a bottom age and has always been behind the eight ball. He has done ok when he has come in but bc we have so many established players he can't get a consistent run. Is good enough IMO and wouldn't be surprised to see him rookied if he does decide to stay.

He hasn't been shown the door. Collingwood haven't made a decision on him yet, so in the meantime he is looking at other possibilities - which is sensible. I reckon Rounds has a lot to offer at 21 years of age. Personally would like him to say.

to bad that has zero chance of happening