Official Draft and Trade thread

foj1 said:
Am I the only person who suspects Essendon will enquire about Jared Brennan. I know he is not the sort of player we specifically need but I reckon he is the sort of player both Dodoro and Sheedy covet. Any thoughts?

PLEASE ENQUIRE AND PLEASE TAKE HIM!!! (for a fair deal though)

That being my heart speaking i doubt dons would want him after being sumwhat burnt by the cupido experience

go_the_bombers said:
LOL been listening to Barnsey again Longy;)

I didn't see much of the show, so I'm not actually sure what Barnes said.

But as a general rule, I try not to ;)

go_the_bombers said:
Where would we play Brennan?

I don't know, I don't really think he fits into our side. But Sheeds might have other plans.

Longy413 said:
Had the exact same thought last night while watching League Teams.

He could be our next McPhee like target, but I'm not sure he really fits into our mix.

You mean he could be our next 'Doc Wheildon' like target and set the EFC back even further. Get fair dinkum.

stander said:
You are sitting on the fence.

How?

I made a prediction as to what the club might do, and then said I don't think he's right for us.

That's not fence sitting.

Just out of curiosity, if I said the sky was blue, would you argue it's green?

Longy413 said:
How?

I made a prediction as to what the club might do, and then said I don't think he's right for us.

That's not fence sitting.

Just out of curiosity, if I said the sky was blue, would you argue it's green?

He could, and I'm not sure, that's fence sitting. If you said you were smart, there may be a need to argue. Curiosity satisfied now?

stander said:
He could, and I'm not sure, that's fence sitting. If you said you were smart, there may be a need to argue. Curiosity satisfied now?

If I had of said, he could be alright, but I don't think he's for us then that would be fence sitting.

The tangent I was heading along was obvious and didn't have anyone else confused.

Keep having a crack tiger.

stander said:
You mean he could be our next 'Doc Wheildon' like target and set the EFC back even further. Get fair dinkum.

You are not bad are you, talk about higlight evey poor choice a coach makes without even giving him credit for any of the sucess stories.
Must be terrible that Sheedy is the only coach in leauge history that has ever picked up dud players:rolleyes:

stander said:

If you said you where smart there would be a need to argue;)

lets face it, if a player isn't sucessfull under leigh Matthew then he aint going to be sucessfull at essendon, Matthews gives so much structure i mean he brought out the best in Darryl White, I'd say no to Brennan give me Polak and Aker.

Incidentally although his skills were down im generally excited about dempsey, gee our midfield could be lightning quick with the two lovetts, dyson, stanton and dempsey if we could get a aker or ritssy or gibbs well that will add the class we need.

Longy413 said:
If I had of said, he could be alright, but I don't think he's for us then that would be fence sitting.

The tangent I was heading along was obvious and didn't have anyone else confused.

Keep having a crack tiger.

They are still trying to work out if you want Brennan or not.

ant555 said:
You are not bad are you, talk about higlight evey poor choice a coach makes without even giving him credit for any of the sucess stories.
Must be terrible that Sheedy is the only coach in leauge history that has ever picked up dud players:rolleyes:

Ant robus, just balancing the ledger to some extent. We hear plenty of Sheedys success stories from the man himself. The Doc Wheildon draft is just a classic reminder of his fallibility- which needs some airplay every so often.

stander said:
Ant robus, just balancing the ledger to some extent. We hear plenty of Sheedys success stories from the man himself. The Doc Wheildon draft is just a classic reminder of his fallibility- which needs some airplay every so often.

Mate, with all due respect...the amount of negativity you place here is incredible to say the least. Fair enough that you want to argue the point...thats what passionate supporters do, but it cant be all that bad despite our season. No team succeeds without making mistakes...and to use a short phrase from Dennis Pagan 'Failure to prepare...prepare to fail'

Sheedy will get this team right, they will get back on track. There will be instances (like Sat night with Kep on Richo) that we have to make do with what we have available...we wont always agree with them. However, as the name of another thread suggests..."The Bombers aren't that crap'

Crave said:
Mate, with all due respect...the amount of negativity you place here is incredible to say the least. Fair enough that you want to argue the point...thats what passionate supporters do, but it cant be all that bad despite our season. No team succeeds without making mistakes...and to use a short phrase from Dennis Pagan 'Failure to prepare...prepare to fail'

Sheedy will get this team right, they will get back on track. There will be instances (like Sat night with Kep on Richo) that we have to make do with what we have available...we wont always agree with them. However, as the name of another thread suggests..."The Bombers aren't that crap'

Good points Cravo- a lamentable season is nearly over. Re 2007; luck is relied on by the ill prepared. I hope we don't need much luck next year.

stander said:
Good points Cravo- a lamentable season is nearly over. Re 2007; luck is relied on by the ill prepared. I hope we don't need much luck next year.

Lets look at the positives...Johns, Watson, Stanton..beating the Pies, Pevs playing some great footy (Longy take note haha ;) ) kids finally getting a go, Hirdy playing and will play on..Fletcher a certainty for All Australian fullback and perhaps Crichton Medal, Lucas kicking a career best total goals, McVeigh playing better than ever.....and beyond all this...Lloyd STILL to return.

Id rather let all the other sides absorb the public adulation whilst we quietly fly under the radar (an effort in itself seeing as we're Essendon)

stander said:

Talk about a stupid comment, just out of interest how many coachs have you heard pumping up their dud selections?
Sheedys record is no worse than anyone elses.

ant555 said:
Talk about a stupid comment, just out of interest how many coachs have you heard pumping up their dud selections?
Sheedys record is no worse than anyone elses.

yeah like north taking jonathon Hay for two first round draft picks and now there going for youth laidley takes the cae here but maybe they couldnt afford to bottom out, then there is us taking carlton rubbish.

Sheeds did re-invigorate Tim Watson, Mcphee but lately his experiments are failing because there to old to teach new tricks

blumfieldisback said:
yeah like north taking jonathon Hay for two first round draft picks and now there going for youth laidley takes the cae here but maybe they couldnt afford to bottom out, then there is us taking carlton rubbish.

Sheeds did re-invigorate Tim Watson, Mcphee but lately his experiments are failing because there to old to teach new tricks

He didn't want to teach them new tricks, they helped us play finals and we gave up what, Pick 60 and Corey McGrath?

DaSawx said:
He didn't want to teach them new tricks, they helped us play finals and we gave up what, Pick 60 and Corey McGrath?

Its true we didnt give up much but I think it is a pretty long bow to say Murphy and Allan played a significant part in getting us into the finals. Also when you go for too many recycled players I reckon you are making a philosophical statement about not being prepared to develop kids.