OT: Where Do You Work???

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

Can believe mate:eek: I have noticed though alot of Bakers Delight's and even Brumbies franchises are putting their employees on salaries which makes it even worse and more vunerable to be ripped off for the hours you are actually putting in Vs pay taking home which when you weigh next to each other you suddenly are working for $11 and hour:thumbsd:

Thing is they play within the laws of what the government regualtes. How can getting up at between 12-3am be worthy only of the 30k I get paid, whereas other careers rake in 50k + per year. Hell, even the shop girls get paid more per hour :mad:, and after theyve been there 2 hours, its always like oh im soooo tired! Ala Easter thursday, been there for 14 hours when one walked and started complaining that she was really tired because she had to get up at 8am for a Uni lecture :rolleyes: . I hadnt sat down since I got outa bed at 11.15pm till when I got hoime at 5.30ish that night...I just crashed. Just annoys me when others think they are hard done by, and they get it easy!

What an interesting (and often funny) read this thread has been! :thumbsu:

Fancy being asked at the age of 17 what you want to be when "you grow up". :eek: Gone are the days of dedication to one company, one profession. Being one of the "older" members of BF (judging by the feedback) it is interesting to see how people today view the world of work (benefits, hours, pay etc). For me it was always about the love of the job... I could never do a job I didn't love - or maybe I just learned to love the jobs I did. ;) I wasn't a uni graduate.. I left after Year 10 (with straight D's on a report card). I worked in so many different areas I couldn't begin to list them. Some were crap jobs, but I worked my ass off and before long got promotions to great jobs. I have worked both private and public sectors, in Australia, USA and Canada. I became a great administrator (even though it wasn't my real passion, I was good at it). And one day I had enough. The glass ceiling prevented me from going any higher... I resented that. I had discovered a real interest in a completely different field and decided to follow that. At age 33 (after 17 years working) I quit my job and got accepted into Uni as a mature age student. At first I was daunted - I hated school, but here (although I couldn't understand a thing the psych lecturer said :o ) I shone... graduating with first class honours (averaging high distinctions in all subjects). It's amazing how much better you learn when it's something that interests you!:D

My advice to any young person... don't panic that you don't know what it is you want. No matter where you work, or what course you do - see each one as a stepping stone to who you WILL ultimately be. Give every job/course (no matter how shitful) your absolute best - never be left wondering "if only i'd tried harder". Life is far too short for that!

Today? I have the world's most rewarding and frustrating job - I'm a full time mother (and loving every minute of it!).

Thing is they play within the laws of what the government regualtes. How can getting up at between 12-3am be worthy only of the 30k I get paid, whereas other careers rake in 50k + per year. Hell, even the shop girls get paid more per hour :mad:, and after theyve been there 2 hours, its always like oh im soooo tired!

sorry dude,
I am sure I speak for everyone when i say those hours suck. I wouldn't want to work that clock.

BUT...

people don't get paid for effort or sacrifice.

people get paid based on their effect on the bottom line, and the size of the bottom line.

Yes I do mate, how did you pick that ?

The work is ok. I too get burnt with the "you must do -reasonable- overtime where we see fit because you're on salary".

Needless to say, that's almost every weekend.

I used to work for the Solution Centre (or whatever they call it these days) on North Terrace.

Ahh.. Adelaide.. you're always 1 person away from knowing someone else ;)

Say g'day to Yudhi for me.

Yes I do mate, how did you pick that ?

The work is ok. I too get burnt with the "you must do -reasonable- overtime where we see fit because you're on salary".

Needless to say, that's almost every weekend.

Yep...everyday pretty much at least half an hour. :thumbsd:

Is that just due to cleaning not finished or to finish production off...............pull product out of the oven????

The BD I worked at in Melbourne had the roster setup nice so it wasnt a real nessecity that you would have to stay past your finish time we had two bakers start at 4am another two at 6am and another two at 8am so we had coverage for extra cleaning or a late bake.

Is that just due to cleaning not finished or to finish production off...............pull product out of the oven????

The BD I worked at in Melbourne had the roster setup nice so it wasnt a real nessecity that you would have to stay past your finish time we had two bakers start at 4am another two at 6am and another two at 8am so we had coverage for extra cleaning or a late bake.

:eek: Our daily production during the week is around 2400-2500, with two guys, one at 1am, one at 3.30am (or 3am, depending if we have foccacia slabs on order for a cafe..). And can usually have ovens of by 9 or before if we arent on with the boss. Thru Fri Sat are a lot bigger with three guys...1am,3am,4am. My boss just ricks in whenever and somedays we could be expected to do the production + cleaning, plus cheese, plus weigh ups, plus make up a new boston icing. Other days none of that will happen..i.e, whenever one of us works alone with him, because seriously, he is as slow as they come!!

I personally dont like leaving all of the cleaning to the girls because they have enough to do as it is, so I stay and help out because of my conscience I guess :) . Lately Ive been trying to teach some of them how to get stuff outa the oven...I mean we have to serve, so why cant they bake? Theyre all too scared though! :rolleyes:

:eek: Our daily production during the week is around 2400-2500, with two guys, one at 1am, one at 3.30am (or 3am, depending if we have foccacia slabs on order for a cafe..). And can usually have ovens of by 9 or before if we arent on with the boss. Thru Fri Sat are a lot bigger with three guys...1am,3am,4am. My boss just ricks in whenever and somedays we could be expected to do the production + cleaning, plus cheese, plus weigh ups, plus make up a new boston icing. Other days none of that will happen..i.e, whenever one of us works alone with him, because seriously, he is as slow as they come!!

I personally dont like leaving all of the cleaning to the girls because they have enough to do as it is, so I stay and help out because of my conscience I guess :) . Lately Ive been trying to teach some of them how to get stuff outa the oven...I mean we have to serve, so why cant they bake? Theyre all too scared though! :rolleyes:

Yes know what you mean and thats why the BD I worked at had the roster setup the way it did, so cheese, boston icing even pana de casa could be done later plus a good clean up.

I agree though we had to serve they can learn to pull product out of the ovens:D They are very quick to go where are the vegemite scrolls when there are none out the front...............to be honest sometimes I miss it and if I had the time I would work casual baking somewhere, but Im just too flat out with my job at the moment..............double shifts today and tomorrow.

Yes know what you mean and thats why the BD I worked at had the roster setup the way it did, so cheese, boston icing even pana de casa could be done later plus a good clean up.

I agree though we had to serve they can learn to pull product out of the ovens:D They are very quick to go where are the vegemite scrolls when there are none out the front...............to be honest sometimes I miss it and if I had the time I would work casual baking somewhere, but Im just too flat out with my job at the moment..............double shifts today and tomorrow.

Oh yeah, wheres this, wheres that? How far away is this? You had this out at this time yesterday...blah blah! So annoying, they just dont get it! And when you get stuff out earlier when they ask for it, it'll be something else...and the stuff they wanted will just sit out the back for 3-4 hours, its like aaarggghh!!! And i recently found out, that some shops get their girls to do the pane di casa in the afternnon...couldnt see our girls even opening a flour bag, let alone using the mixer :rolleyes:

Nah mate not at all a bag a flour, water and a very small amount of yest would be beyond them:rolleyes:

If you put BD and Brumbies next to each other though BD is far better, Brumbies make a alot more products compared to BD so the headaches are far worse:eek:

Nah mate not at all a bag a flour, water and a very small amount of yest would be beyond them:rolleyes:

If you put BD and Brumbies next to each other though BD is far better, Brumbies make a alot more products compared to BD so the headaches are far worse:eek:

So I am led to believe. Having seen in January in melbourne the way things run as part of my award, it made me realise that there is someone behind every little mi-nute detail, and support readily available for franchisees. Brumbies is just cheap sh1t. :D

Nice to hear some Franshisors are supporting their branches. My sis and BIL had a DK and it was a bloody disaster. No support from head office (up here in QLD) - BIL had to do all the baking by himself then ice all before the centre opened at 7am. Near killed them it did. Sold it at a loss 3 years later - absolute crap!

Same problem with Dk's down here I heard on the grapevine. Not many franchisee's are very happy with DK. :thumbsd: