Peter Siddle

i'm really pissed off with the n.s.w push carrying on about bollinger. he's and average medium fast trundler no more no less. there's much more upside to sids who can be genuinely menacing. i do agree though that he needs more variety and a few sessions with someone like lillee would be in his best interests. oh, and he can handle a bat too.
:D

I love a good victorian post. Despite Bollinger being our best quick this summer, averaging just over 20 with the ball compared to Siddles ten wickets at 40something (which was over 60 before his 5 wickets in the dead rubber test), of course it is the menace of Siddle that we need. Yeah it's incredibly menacing bowling short outside off constantly. Who knows where Siddle will be in 5 years but right now Bollinger is bowling much, much better.

Holding a bat is merely a bonus in a tailender, it isn't something you pick a side on, you pick your best 3 quicks. When Hilfenhaus is fit that does not include Siddle at the present.

Every ****ing post in the first page of this thread has been from interstate minions.:o

Siddle tries his heart out and bowled very well last test.

Got the first 2 wickets when the other bowlers struggled.

Has been desperately unlucky in not getting more wickets in the test season.

Always working on improving his game.

That batsman knock with Hussey which was pivotal in helping Australia winning the second test in Sydney.

If he wasn't a VIC,there would be no talk at all.

BTW,White good work son.

MOTM,just put 1 VIC in and he stars.:)Hodgeys(make 200 for Australia then get sacked) knock against Tassie.

:D

I love a good victorian post. Despite Bollinger being our best quick this summer, averaging just over 20 with the ball compared to Siddles ten wickets at 40something (which was over 60 before his 5 wickets in the dead rubber test), of course it is the menace of Siddle that we need. Yeah it's incredibly menacing bowling short outside off constantly. Who knows where Siddle will be in 5 years but right now Bollinger is bowling much, much better.

Holding a bat is merely a bonus in a tailender, it isn't something you pick a side on, you pick your best 3 quicks. When Hilfenhaus is fit that does not include Siddle at the present.

Evidence here.

Every ****ing post in the first page of this thread has been from interstate minions.:o

Those were worthy points last season against South Africa, when he was 'unlucky', 'tried his heart out and ran in hard all day' and was 'being unfairly treated because he's Victorian.'

But now those points just reek of excuses.

Those were worthy points last season against South Africa, when he was 'unlucky', 'tried his heart out and ran in hard all day' and was 'being unfairly treated because he's Victorian.'

But now those points just reek of excuses.

Come on mate.

Take those interstate VIC hating glasses off.

Siddle should not have been picked in the ODI squad. His form in the limited overs game has never been that good, even at domestic level. In Test cricket it's good to have someone who will run in all day and keep their pace up. But he isn't even getting to bowl 10 overs because he isn't looking the least bit threatening...

And before I get accused of being anti-Victorian, I would gladly have John Hastings in the team ahead of Siddle. He has shown to have a knack for taking wickets early in his spells, and is a much better option at #8 than Nathan Hauritz.

Ryan Harris would be my first choice, followed by John Hastings and Nathan Rimmington. Of course a fit Shaun Tait would be ahead of every other Australian bowler....

Siddle should not have been picked in the ODI squad. His form in the limited overs game has never been that good, even at domestic level. In Test cricket it's good to have someone who will run in all day and keep their pace up. But he isn't even getting to bowl 10 overs because he isn't looking the least bit threatening...

And before I get accused of being anti-Victorian, I would gladly have John Hastings in the team ahead of Siddle. He has shown to have a knack for taking wickets early in his spells, and is a much better option at #8 than Nathan Hauritz.

Ryan Harris would be my first choice, followed by John Hastings and Nathan Rimmington. Of course a fit Shaun Tait would be ahead of every other Australian bowler....

Have to agree with this. With the amount of cricket to be played in the coming weeks/months, now would be a good time to rest the quicks & give the likes of Hastings, Rimmington etc a taste of international cricket.

Shaun Tait will struggle to play anymore than 20/20 cricket nowadays as he has trouble maintaining his pace beyond his initial 2 overs & just becomes a liability as he starts to bowl wides & full tosses in the latter overs.

So he's the Paul Bevan of Australian Cricket? Seriously though, your last point is embarrassing. Is he the only one who's working to improve his game? I don't think so.

That batsman knock with Hussey which was pivotal in helping Australia winning the second test in Sydney.

BTW,White good work son.

MOTM,just put 1 VIC in and he stars.:)Hodgeys(make 200 for Australia then get sacked) knock against Tassie.
Nah, he had a bowling average of over 40 for the summer, which was over 60 before the last test. That is why there was talk

his right arm poo has been coming out ok lately, does not quite stink so bad. has not been too straight and made more of a splash in games. but too little too late to keep his position in the side when bendy hilfenhaus comes back, who has the runs on the board.

:rolleyes:

Avoid probably our best ODI/T20 bowler like the plague? Talk about cutting off your nose to spite your face.

I didn't hear that Dirk Nannes was being ignored by Australia for the T20's this summer yet.....

Hastings?!?!

Jeezus; you Victorians never stop. :eek:

The Fox Sports cricket experts rate him, but more importantly he has the form on the board in the Ford Ranger Cup & T20 Big Bash:

FRC
Name Team Wkts Ave SR 5 10 Best
Rimmington, NJ QLD 13 20.46 29.2 0 0 3/25
Hastings, JW VIC 12 27.83 33.5 0 0 4/38
Cutting, BCJ QLD 11 26.09 33.8 0 0 3/30
Pattinson, JL VIC 11 14.18 15.3 1 0 6/48
Haberfield, JA SA 10 22.50 25.6 0 0 3/22

T20
Hastings, JW VIC 10 20.70 16.8 0 0 3/21
Heal, AK WA 9 13.00 13.3 0 0 2/13
Knowles, BA WA 9 15.78 12.7 0 0 3/20
Naved-ul-Hasan TAS 9 16.11 12.6 0 0 3/15
Harris, RJ QLD 8 20.00 15.6 0 0 3/23

Sometimes you should look past your anti-Victoria leanings, otherwise you can look a bit silly.

Yeah it's more the fact it's his first good season rather than 'anti-Victoria leanings'. Even Grant ****ing Lambert took more wickets last season in the FR cup. (3 to whatever Hastings took, wasn't in the first 45 names on the wickets chart) If he contiunes his performance next season then yeah maybe, but not now.

He looked pretty good last night. He was generating some very good pace. Heck he even hit 150 again, it has been a while since he did that i reckon. Better than that he was a lot fuller for his first 4 overs.

Since when were you in their selection options?

Oh, I see what you did there... you really are very clever, in a second grade sort of way.

Even the most die hard Tait fanbois recognise he is weak, selfish, heartless and extremely soft.

The Fox Sports cricket experts rate him, but more importantly he has the form on the board in the Ford Ranger Cup & T20 Big Bash:

FRC
Name Team Wkts Ave SR 5 10 Best
Rimmington, NJ QLD 13 20.46 29.2 0 0 3/25
Hastings, JW VIC 12 27.83 33.5 0 0 4/38
Cutting, BCJ QLD 11 26.09 33.8 0 0 3/30
Pattinson, JL VIC 11 14.18 15.3 1 0 6/48
Haberfield, JA SA 10 22.50 25.6 0 0 3/22

So, in other words, you're basing your call for someone to be included in an Australian team purely on what he has done in a mere handful of games. Against limited opposition, too.

As Spikey says, you can't select someone on that basis. Not unless they show something absolutely incredible, anyway. Hastings hasn't yet. He may do in time, but it's premature beyond belief to push him up to international level ahead of a host of more worthy contenders.

I can't believe you, of all people, have the gall to try this line out. Do you think people have short memories or something?

You, after all, were near-fanatical in telling us all prior to his utter humiliation at international level that McGain was clearly Australia's number one spinner and should be given an extended run in Test cricket.

One of the reasons you advanced over and over again when challenged by people who actually base their opinions of cricketers on their merits rather than simply where they come from was that he was such a great containing bowler and gave so few runs away per over.

But, unfortunately, when this inevitably exploded in your face, you were nowhere to be seen on here.

So please. Don't have the hide to accuse others of being too parochial for their own good. Lest you want to look like one of the biggest hypocrites of all time.

he also mentioned rimmington, (and 'etc'), who is not a victorian. picking hastings in an ODI/test would be premature but i think you need to ease up a bit on the parochialism argument.

in any case, it's 20/20 where guys like that are thrown in. green and raw, and much like the ipl, players are picked on hype even on a national scale. i would not at all be surprised to see a player like hastings plucked from nowhere this summer (again) to play 20/20.

Hastings is not an international standard bowler, mid to late 120s does not cut it at that level. His only hope is that he shows something with the bat that would warrant him overtaking Hopesless, McDonald etc. I don't see it happening. Phil Hughes who hadn't looked like making a run all summer got his Shield ton when Hastings was opening the bowling, that tells you something...

Notice that Siddle has 'back soreness'. Siddle should have just pulled out of the ODIs before the series started so the selectors didn't have the chance to work him into the ground.