Phantom Draft - 2006

• Thread starter Thread starter HBF

OK I am stoked as I make this pick.

Adelaide pick #32 Mark Austin (Glenelg)

I really rate this bloke, he has sort of slipped under a few ppl's radars (not everyone) but is a bottom age KP defender, chiefly a CHB. Forced his way into the SANFL seniors for Glenelg and had a tough first game against an inform Clint Alleway but had a great second game. Very good natural spoil of the ball, reads the play very well and is a very smart defender and has good size. So much scope for improvement as well, has super natural talent. if he hadn't have been injured as much would have been a possible late first round pick and forced his way into SANFL much earlier.

The crows are in strife down back with the loss of Ben Hart coupled with the delistings of Obst and Gibson, the KP defender stocks are pretty thin given that we need McGregor, Perrie and Welsh up forward to cover the loss of Hentschel and Biglands who often drops forward to provide a target, and Stevens and Bock are the only other real options for CHB, hardly great players. Austin would be the perfect player to groom for CHB and learn off of one of the best in big truck Ben Rutten. Too good to pass up on.

I really rate this bloke, he has sort of slipped under a few ppl's radars (not everyone) but is a bottom age KP defender, chiefly a CHB. Forced his way into the SANFL seniors for Glenelg and had a tough first game against an inform Clint Alleway but had a great second game. Very good natural spoil of the ball, reads the play very well and is a very smart defender and has good size. So much scope for improvement as well, has super natural talent. if he hadn't have been injured as much would have been a possible late first round pick and forced his way into SANFL much earlier.

The crows are in strife down back with the loss of Ben Hart coupled with the delistings of Obst and Gibson, the KP defender stocks are pretty thin given that we need McGregor, Perrie and Welsh up forward to cover the loss of Hentschel and Biglands who often drops forward to provide a target, and Stevens and Bock are the only other real options for CHB, hardly great players. Austin would be the perfect player to groom for CHB and learn off of one of the best in big truck Ben Rutten. Too good to pass up on.

Not mine mate, i was agonising over a few, Austin included as the dees need KPD depth, however in the end i thought Benjamin was too good to pass on at #30.

Nice pick up, was hoping he might slip through to #35 for HBF so we could get him to room with Bryce and reduce the go-home factor ;)

So close. :(

Yeh good pickup Thunderstruck, was touted as a potential top 10 pick this time last year IIRC. Was considering him amoung others with my next pick. BTW is Alleway an ex-Brisbane player?

Pick 33 - Nathan Djerrkura - Northern Territory - 174cm - 75 kgs

Speed Speed and more Speed :thumbsu:

I'm still shattered my gamble didnt pay off :( Should have taken Allen with my pick at 24 then the next best mid with this pick now. Anyway, moving on the Hawks now add the excitement machine in Djerrkura. Scotch College boy who will be ready to go in the AFL next year. Lightning Speed and good skills and big motor makes him such an attractive option for recruiters this year. Carrys the footy and breaks lines, has a huge HURT factor on opposition teams if left unchecked. Type of footballer that will require a pretty hard tag to make sure he doesnt tear them to shreads in a quarter. Already pretty physically developed so the small amount of weight he needs to put on shouldnt affect his speed much at all. Whispers about are that the Hawks have been keeping a close eye on Djerrkura so it wouldn't surprise me at all if his name was called out at pick 24. Amazed he is still on the board at 33 (Starting to sound like a recruiter with the talk of "Cant believe that he is still available.....lol)

Killed it at Draft Camp so his stock surely must be on the rise. Can see him going inside the top 20 come Draft Day, only real thing against him is his height.

Nathan Djerrkura - 2.90 sec - 2nd
Nathan Djerrkura - level 14.04 - 7th
Nathan Djerrkura - 25.00 sec - 5th
Nathan Djerrkura - 8.18 sec - 8th

I now leave my favorite player to be picked up by Irel. :( Would love to add him to the Hawks list but we have heaps of his type already. [Hodge-Mitchell-Lewis-Sewell, battling for time on the ball] Josh Kennedy is already signed as our 3rd round pick so he is another in an under mid coming onto our list. Senior lists balance means i have to take Djerrkura over Urquart, and i think everybody knows already how highly i rate young Gavin. (The kid will be a star)

Have now added 2 excitement machines in Bachar Houli and Nathan Djerrkura to the Hawks list as well as a Key Defender in Eric McKenzie.

Our weaknesses of Speed and a KP backman have been met. :D

Pick 33 - Nathan Djerrkura - Northern Territory - 174cm - 75 kgs

Speed Speed and more Speed :thumbsu:

I'm still shattered my gamble didnt pay off Should have taken Allen with my pick at 24 then the next best mid with this pick now. Anyway, moving on the Hawks now add the excitement machine in Djerrkura. Scotch College boy who will be ready to go in the AFL next year. Lightning Speed and good skills and big motor makes him such an attractive option for recruiters this year. Carrys the footy and breaks lines, has a huge HURT factor on opposition teams if left unchecked. Type of footballer that will require a pretty hard tag to make sure he doesnt tear them to shreads in a quarter. Already pretty physically developed so the small amount of weight he needs to put on shouldnt affect his speed much at all. Whispers about are that the Hawks have been keeping a close eye on Djerrkura so it wouldn't surprise me at all if his name was called out at pick 24. Amazed he is still on the board at 33 (Starting to sound like a recruiter with the talk of "Cant believe that he is still available.....lol)

Killed it at Draft Camp so his stock surely must be on the rise. Can see him going inside the top 20 come Draft Day, only real thing against him is his height.

Nathan Djerrkura - 2.90 sec - 2nd
Nathan Djerrkura - level 14.04 - 7th
Nathan Djerrkura - 25.00 sec - 5th
Nathan Djerrkura - 8.18 sec - 8th

I now leave my favorite player to be picked up by Irel. Would love to add him to the Hawks list but we have heaps of his type already. [Hodge-Mitchell-Lewis-Sewell, battling for time on the ball] Josh Kennedy is already signed as our 3rd round pick so he is another in an under mid coming onto our list. Senior lists balance means i have to take Djerrkura over Urquart, and i think everybody knows already how highly i rate young Gavin. (The kid will be a star)

:mad: :(

Was my next pick if he lasted, one of my favourite players in the draft.

Somethings causing him to consider it carefully.

Suspect he is keen on a midfielder given drafting thus far and there is a few good ones still there. Couple of local lads in his eyes possibly

Brisbane’s pick 34. This is the Aker pick. The one we got from the Bulldogs via West Coast. My colleagues on the Brisbane Lions board deserve and demand that this pick unearth a diamond.

The talk from the supporters and even the club has been that in this draft there are few QLDers worth considering. However none of the one’s left come with the X factor that would entice me to use pick 34. I do not follow a philosophy of recruiting QLDers because it may in the future extinguish a go-home factor.

Brisbane’s first two picks were used on the Best Player Available principle. Two potential future KP guns, Thorpe and Riewoldt. Many have written that we need a replacement for Leppa and Michael, and some have said we need a replacement for Voss or Aker etc… When I choose I do not make the decisions on the bases of someone replacing another player. That is impossible. Every player is unique and comes with individual traits, positive or otherwise. No one can replace Leppa or Voss. Therefore my choice is made purely on the players ability and future potential and added value that individual brings to the current list.
Brisbane has had considerable success with players from Victoria country. Premiership players such as Lappin, Notting and recent arrivals such as Adcock and Selwood.

Considering this in mind I believe I have selected a future gun that has been overlooked, ignored and very underestimated.

Brisbane Lions # 34 - Tim HOULIHAN (Nth Ballarat/Harrow Balmoral) 10 Feb 1989 189cm 74kg

A natural athlete that can also play football. He is a bottom aged player (17years) that has considerable scope for development and upside. Almost all of the better credentialed draft prospects have had twelve months development on Tim. He meets the Brisbane Lions criteria for this draft of a running player. Well, Tim is an athlete as his results at draft camp indicate. He possesses that essential ingredient of speed and endurance and natural footballing instinct. He runs and carries the ball from defense and transforms a critical situation into an attacking position effortlessly. His second and third efforts are also present. I see him as a potential A grade defender, a deadly flanker and even a quick tall midfielder. A role similar to Embley is not beyond Tim’s potential development. He is an Academy player and this also meets Brisbane’s history of taking undervalued Academy players such as Sherman, Garner, Hooper, Wood etc…

Repeat Sprints - 30 meters

Simon Hogan - 24.67 sec
Tim Houlihan - 24.72 sec
Clint Benjamin - 24.74 sec
Joe Anderson - 24.76 sec
Nathan Djerrkura - 25.00 sec
Nathan Brown - 25.07 sec
Nathan Krakouer - 25.08 sec
Mark Austin - 25.09 sec
Mitchell Brown - 25.34 sec
Jarryd Allen - 25.36 sec

Shuttle Run (Beep test)

Simon Hogan - level 15.04
Tim Houlihan - level 15.04
Shane Edwards - level 15.04
Bachar Houli - level 14.09
James Thomson - level 14.08
Joe Anderson - level 14.04
Nathan Djerrkura - level 14.04
Will Schofield - level 14.04
Lachlan Hansen - level 14.04
David Armitage - level 14.03

Three-km time-trial

Tim Houlihan - 9:37 mins
Simon Hogan - 9:55 mins
Shane Edwards - 10:00 mins
James Thomson - 10:13 mins
Daniel Dzufer - 10:14 mins
Bachar Houli - 10:23 mins
Brent Renouf - 10:27 mins
Will Schofield - 10:34 mins
Haydyn Kiel - 10:35 mins
David Armitage/Jarryn Geary - 10:36 mins

A bit more about Tim’s athletic abilities. http://www.spec.com.au/?sp=r2004&id=3632

Brisbane’s pick 34. This is the Aker pick. The one we got from the Bulldogs via West Coast. My colleagues on the Brisbane Lions board deserve and demand that this pick unearth a diamond.

The talk from the supporters and even the club has been that in this draft there are few QLDers worth considering. However none of the one’s left come with the X factor that would entice me to use pick 34. I do not follow a philosophy of recruiting QLDers because it may in the future extinguish a go-home factor.

Brisbane’s first two picks were used on the Best Player Available principle. Two potential future KP guns, Thorpe and Riewoldt. Many have written that we need a replacement for Leppa and Michael, and some have said we need a replacement for Voss or Aker etc… When I choose I do not make the decisions on the bases of someone replacing another player. That is impossible. Every player is unique and comes with individual traits, positive or otherwise. No one can replace Leppa or Voss. Therefore my choice is made purely on the players ability and future potential and added value that individual brings to the current list.
Brisbane has had considerable success with players from Victoria country. Premiership players such as Lappin, Notting and recent arrivals such as Adcock and Selwood.

Considering this in mind I believe I have selected a future gun that has been overlooked, ignored and very underestimated.

Brisbane Lions # 34 - Tim HOULIHAN (Nth Ballarat/Harrow Balmoral) 10 Feb 1989 189cm 74kg

A natural athlete that can also play football. He is a bottom aged player (17years) that has considerable scope for development and upside. Almost all of the better credentialed draft prospects have had twelve months development on Tim. He meets the Brisbane Lions criteria for this draft of a running player. Well, Tim is an athlete as his results at draft camp indicate. He possesses that essential ingredient of speed and endurance and natural footballing instinct. He runs and carries the ball from defense and transforms a critical situation into an attacking position effortlessly. His second and third efforts are also present. I see him as a potential A grade defender, a deadly flanker and even a quick tall midfielder. A role similar to Embley is not beyond Tim’s potential development. He is an Academy player and this also meets Brisbane’s history of taking undervalued Academy players such as Sherman, Garner, Hooper, Wood etc…

Repeat Sprints - 30 meters

Simon Hogan - 24.67 sec
Tim Houlihan - 24.72 sec
Clint Benjamin - 24.74 sec
Joe Anderson - 24.76 sec
Nathan Djerrkura - 25.00 sec
Nathan Brown - 25.07 sec
Nathan Krakouer - 25.08 sec
Mark Austin - 25.09 sec
Mitchell Brown - 25.34 sec
Jarryd Allen - 25.36 sec

Shuttle Run (Beep test)

Simon Hogan - level 15.04
Tim Houlihan - level 15.04
Shane Edwards - level 15.04
Bachar Houli - level 14.09
James Thomson - level 14.08
Joe Anderson - level 14.04
Nathan Djerrkura - level 14.04
Will Schofield - level 14.04
Lachlan Hansen - level 14.04
David Armitage - level 14.03

Three-km time-trial

Tim Houlihan - 9:37 mins
Simon Hogan - 9:55 mins
Shane Edwards - 10:00 mins
James Thomson - 10:13 mins
Daniel Dzufer - 10:14 mins
Bachar Houli - 10:23 mins
Brent Renouf - 10:27 mins
Will Schofield - 10:34 mins
Haydyn Kiel - 10:35 mins
David Armitage/Jarryn Geary - 10:36 mins

A bit more about Tim’s athletic abilities. http://www.spec.com.au/?sp=r2004&id=3632

You also win the award for 'Best Write up'

:thumbsu: :D He also gets the award for formatting his write up consistent with my official results thread, very considerate mate, i'm impressed