Demons16

Pick #1, Priority pick, Melbourne - Tom Scully
Well there isnt much to add to what everyone else has said, absolute gun who doesnt really lack any part to his game, deserving #1

Pick #2, Melbourne
- Jack Trengove
Massive toss up here between Trengove and Butcher, and to be honest i dont think even melbourne know which way there are going at the moment.. reason behind Trengove is imo he can do alot more for a side than butcher, he can play mid and push foward and take marks which is invaluable in a midfielder, reads the play well and is playing very well at SANFL seniors atm which will help his cause, all he needs now is an impressive draft camp

Pick #3, Richmond - Anthony Morabito
Richmonds foward line isn't in as bad of shape as ppl think imo.. rooey jnr and morton are showing signs of becoming good players and with this boost to the midfield will help them no end, he is a freak who will just add to the cotchin/deledio combination

Pick #4, Fremantle - John Butcher
Shown alot last year and injuries has cut him short this year.. the best tall in the draft and with freo getting palmer/hill last 2 years their foward line could do with a boost and i think butcher has the potential to be a star, great pair of hands and could be a gun ff for a decade or so

Pick #5, North Melbourne
- Dustin Martin
Very hard worker, who impetimises (spelling??) the kangaroos shinboner spirit who some in the media thinks is fading, and the roos will jump (get it!) at chance to get this tough at it workman like gun to compliment ziebell

Pick #8, Sydney - Kane Lucas
Highly skilled midfielder who by the time he matures will be a great replacement for an aging midfeild, Has brilliant foot skills, which im sure will prevail in the new kicking test, can play foward, could easily see him as an okeefe type

Pick #7, West Coast
- Gary Rohan
I dont think they really need another pure midfielder. Masten, Ebert, Swift, Priddis etc are all looking good and they have said they are after a small foward, well rohan isnt small nor a foward but he is LIGHTNING quick and he kicks goals, really adds something that westcoast dont currently have, forget the go home factor, they are prolly doing the better out of the judd deal.

Pick #8, Port Adelaide - Matthew Panos
Ports foward line is going to be melbourne-esque in a few years once tredrea hangs up the boots, you cant rely on westhoff and ebert to kick you winning scores, so they go for the local boy who has spades of talent at FF

Pick #9, Hawthorn
- Ben Cunnington
Tough, tough and more toughness, with hawthorns un-sociable footy leaving them this year, they will add alot of toughness to their side with Ben, he loves contested footy, good foot skills, clarko will love him, especially with Dew retiring again
(was really tossing up going for Talia here to sure up their backline)

Pick #10, Essendon
- Koby Stevens
Solid inside midfielder who will fit in well with essendon, they have drafted tall over the last few years so i can see them taking the best avaliable mid, who at this stage is koby. Good hands and finds the ball easily

Pick #11, Brisbane
- Luke Tapscott
With Voss as coach, i can see them trying to build up another star studded midfield, tapscott has a lethal kick that merged with rich could prove to be very deadly, especially crumbing to luenberger clark ruck combo

Pick #12, Adelaide
- Nathan Vardy
With tippet proving to be a livewire up foward, i can see adelaide taking Vardy with this pick, Ivan Maric just isnt and wont cut it as a ruckman imo, and Vardy was the best performed ruckman in the championships, looks pretty agile with decent skills

Pick #13, Carlton
- Daniel Talia
AA CHB, and with carlton taking yarran last year, i can see them trying to build up their defence and talia looks like a pretty solid choice,very athletic and can play either end of the ground.

i don't really know much or anything about the rest of the draftees so would be guessing on the rest

looks pretty good to me

i would switch morabito and butcher

any reasons to why you would switch them? they are very close and both would suit richmond but i would think morabito has more of an upside

dont just have morabito going to a WA club because he is from WA, that doesnt make sense

any reasons to why you would switch them? they are very close and both would suit richmond but i would think morabito has more of an upside

dont just have morabito going to a WA club because he is from WA, that doesnt make sense

Did you see what happened to Chris Judd? If Fremantle take someone like John Butcher, a victorian boy, he's going to be living on the other side of the country in a crap city. He, like most victorian boys (Another example being Robert Warnock) will get homesick and come running home which is the risk that lies in drafting from other states. Oh and Richmond do need another key forward, if you want to greatly boost your chances of winning a flag, you need 2 gun KP Forwards line Hawthorn in 08 thus the Tigers would be utterly stupid to overlook Butcher.

Good work.

I wonder if the Eagles would overlook Lucas for Rohan?

I honestly can feel a surprise coming on draft day, don't ask me why......

a) 2 key fowards? Westcoast only had lynch , geelong mooney and those 2 i wouldnt call STARS, and port tredrea in his prime, 3 clear examples that you dont NEED! 2 KP fowards.. morton and rooey jnr could more than become a top flight foward line

hawthorns big 2 (are guns) but were made to look pretty good when u have bateman, sewell, mitchell, crawford, dew, rioli etc hitting you lace out, that helps a fair bit i would say

b) for every go home story there as just as many that dont go home, i realise that there is a factor but it should not be why you chose one over the other, if one would add more to your team then you are selling yourself short, you cant base your clubs future on if someone gets homesick,
i guess melbourne should take butcher instead of trengove then?? doesnt matter who they rate higher?
and the judd deal, well 1 big name case doesnt set the precedent for others, and wc did better out of that deal i rkon, and warnock, well what has he shown?

Did you see what happened to Chris Judd? If Fremantle take someone like John Butcher, a victorian boy, he's going to be living on the other side of the country in a crap city. He, like most victorian boys (Another example being Robert Warnock) will get homesick and come running home which is the risk that lies in drafting from other states.
Boys who get homesick are clearly the exception, not the rule. If your logic actually did dominate clubs thinking Adelaide would have taken Ebert over Dangerfield...but they didn't and it's paying off. By my count there's 13 Victorians on West Coast's list and 15 on Freo's, so clearly they're not that reluctant to draft from interstate.

Did you see what happened to Chris Judd? If Fremantle take someone like John Butcher, a victorian boy, he's going to be living on the other side of the country in a crap city. He, like most victorian boys (Another example being Robert Warnock) will get homesick and come running home which is the risk that lies in drafting from other states. Oh and Richmond do need another key forward, if you want to greatly boost your chances of winning a flag, you need 2 gun KP Forwards line Hawthorn in 08 thus the Tigers would be utterly stupid to overlook Butcher.

Yes, Wirrpanda, Selwood, Braun, Hansen, Rosa, McKinley etc etc all went running back to Melbourne the first chance they got :rolleyes:

Ok, I think I forgot to mention the fact that it's not always going to happen, but you have to accept the fact that it's likely, however, choosing the local boy will almost guaruntee he'll spend his entire career there.

Pick #8, Port Adelaide - Matthew Panos
Ports foward line is going to be melbourne-esque in a few years once tredrea hangs up the boots, you cant rely on westhoff and ebert to kick you winning scores, so they go for the local boy who has spades of talent at FF
You've forgotten the likes of Motlop and Gray, both noted and very talented goal kickers.

I can't see Port taking a FF when they already have 2 or 3 50+ goal kickers in the side.

I'd have thought they'd look for an inside mid. That seems to be their most glaring deficiency at the moment.

Have you been to Perth mate, its the best city in Australia bar none. I think a country boy like Butcher would settle into that "big country town" no worries.

Did you see what happened to Chris Judd? If Fremantle take someone like John Butcher, a victorian boy, he's going to be living on the other side of the country in a crap city. He, like most victorian boys (Another example being Robert Warnock) will get homesick and come running home which is the risk that lies in drafting from other states.

This entire post is poor but the bold part takes the cake. :thumbsd:

Perth is a ripping place. Great weather, great beaches and the women are sensational. Shit I would hate to get drafted there :rolleyes:. It is ridiculous to suggest every player drafted interstate will move back. Whats to say Buthcher being a country boy will adjust to city life. Judd is the exception the rule. Dont see Buddy rushing back to Perth or Cooney to SA. I definately don't think Rich is hating life in Brisbane. If you build a good list and have success players will stay

or Yarran :)

We won't be taking a ruckman with our first pick. Rendall has already stated that he doesn't rate the talls this year at all. We have Maric, Moran, Griffin, Sellar and possibly Mckernan as ruck prospects. We may take a ruckman later in the draft or in the rookie draft but not with our first pick however.

Good to see people having attempts so early.

I would agree with ur hawthorn pick demons16, cunnington is a very similar player 2 another falcon, luke hodge

Nice effort Demons16 - nice username too.

I think Panos could slide a little though. Jake Carlisle looks pretty good as a key forward and could go up around here. Im hoping he slides to Melbournes 3rd pick though.