Strategy Pick 1 Watch

Definitely a need but if this is our one and only elite end of the draft pick, I will be ready to give up.

We desperately need some elite class in the midfield and have for years. Think Pendlebury. Someone with high iq who creates play and rarely ever makes bad decisions. Matt Rowell would have been perfect. He would already be our best midfielder. I'm sick of watching dumb ******* footballers at the crows.

fu**
I think we are likely to get a chance to get a gun mid as well. And we aren't suddenly going to rocket up the ladder next year, so we will have a few chances.

Thilthorpe is what we need in the forward line. He's an absolute must.

If we get number 1 pick you’ve gotta get best available irrespective of position. We desperately need a midfielder though but more than likely we’ll get a few more top end picks over the coming years

Subject to the depth & quality of the draft pool, you could trade hard into the Top 20 and some extra picks to the ones you already have and then really load up this one time on as much quality as you can get.

Next year you may be able to pick up another 2-3 solid citizens which with the 2020 haul, should result in a nucleus of something very exciting if they are all developed to their maximum level.

Gee, we're "stuck with Franklin Mk 2" :eek:

He plays nothing like Buddy mate. The buddy comparisons are ridiculous.
The only thing they have in common is that they are indigenous key forwards.

*Edit. This video isn’t even worth watching sorry. It’s just of his marks. The NAB league app has a better highlight video.

I'd argue Thilthorpes form against grown men in the SANFL is actually better than Ugle-Hagans exposed form
It's not always about the here and now especially with 17 -18 year old talls and having seen quite a bit of JUH and enough of Thilthorpe I'd be very, very confident there's a lot more to come with JUH than Thilthorpe. Thilthorpe is a long, long way ahead of JUH in physical development at this time.
I don't think we need to worry about "getting stuck" with JUH even if we bid on JUH if you see the hype the Dogs supporters are beset with and the way the club is selling him.

He plays nothing like Buddy mate. The buddy comparisons are ridiculous.
The only thing they have in common is that they are indigenous key forwards.

*Edit. This video isn’t even worth watching sorry. It’s just of his marks. The NAB league app has a better highlight video.

OK, so we take him at 1 and then Thilthorpe at 2.

Then we go the best mid with pick 1 next year.

Happy days

It's not always about the here and now especially with 17 -18 year old talls and having seen quite a bit of JUH and enough of Thilthorpe I'd be very, very confident there's a lot more to come with JUH than Thilthorpe. Thilthorpe is a long, long way ahead of JUH in physical development at this time.
I don't think we need to worry about "getting stuck" with JUH even if we bid on JUH if you see the hype the Dogs supporters are beset with and the way the club is selling him.
They'd be stupid not to match...and they will, even for pick 1.

What they need to do is trade out their first pick before the draft, either up to pick 1 or for a 2021 pick so they don't 'waste' it.

If some catastrophic spike in Covid cases hits the AFL, what’s to say the AFL won’t shut down the season and completely scrap the NGA academy resulting in no clubs getting any players? The AFL is adamant on coat cutting. It will be costing the AFL and the clubs a fortune. If it were ever to happen, this may be the season it does. Particularly if we don’t get any junior footy.

The last thing the AFL will cut is the NGA and Academy kids...

Pre-season testing for Jamarra....Remembering this is a developing tall..Athletically he's a beast. Speed, Agility/Endurance/Leap.

20m Sprint - 2.95

Agility - 8.28

YoYo (endurance) - 21.3

Standing Vertical Jump - 68cm

Running Vertical Jump (R/L) - 84cm/93cm

Pre-season testing for Jamarra....Remembering this is a developing tall..Athletically he's a beast. Speed, Agility/Endurance/Leap.

20m Sprint - 2.95

Agility - 8.28

YoYo (endurance) - 21.3

Standing Vertical Jump - 68cm

Running Vertical Jump (R/L) - 84cm/93cm
Seen a debate earlier on my twitter timeline between him and Max King. Does he stack up well against him as an AFL prospect? Even if he’s not at big as King?

Also who’s your comparison for Thilthorpe?

If we end with pick 1,2(FA) ,10 (GWS), 20, 22(Bullfrogs), 39, 54, 71 etc - I wouldn't be opposed downgrading pick 2 into multiple first rounders. Even something like pick 2 with North for 5(Thilthorp) & 14. We need to cut this list deep and with quality picks across all lines.

I would not under any circumstances split a pick higher than 3 into two lower picks

No. This rebuild will be over multiple seasons let's not take shortcuts.
The more top 3 picks we have the better we will be.

I would not under any circumstances split a pick higher than 3 into two lower picks
If we ended up with pick 1 and say 10 from GWS and Brad Wants to leave as a RFA on the right money an we get pick 2, I would still be looking to bundle up the 2 20's picks to try and get another 1st between 10-15 so we maybe get 4 1st rounders in before Edwards and then take Newchurch and Borlace with later picks / use later picks to match bids. If EVER our list management team need to earn their crust and try and secure as many high picks as they can, it is at this years end

We will coach that out of him no worries.;) I am all for drafting him, but we need to have at least 2 top 5 picks and 3 in the top 10 to really get this ship turned around. How we get there is Justin's and Hamish's problem. Problem is I don't hold much faith in Reid getting the job done.
Yep Reid is trash and only has the job because of his dad, the Crows will also need to lose enough to get a priority pick next season as well.

Don't get too carried away with pick one.

Have heard from two people, one in AFL clubland (not AFC), the idea of a lottery for non finalists for draft picks could be tested this year

The justification being the shortened season for not just AFL, but underage comps.

This will be talked about in August/September.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Strategy Pick 1 Watch