Planning for 2018

Looking solid mate, I really like your forwardline dude. The three premos with Petracca at F4 is hpw I'm wanting to line up but I just haven't been able to strip enough cash elsewhere to make the changes.

Midfield looks good, you've got the two proven premos/captain options with Titch and Zerrett you then have Neale and Cripps who will be able to pump out the big scores whilst still making you cash. O'Meara and the rookies will provide you with a lot of cash generation for the season.

I'm interested in your Cam O'Shea selection, no one really knows if he's going to play on Thursday night. I'd expect a lot of people to jump on him if he's named tomorrow. If he's not named what will you do? Jump up to a Naughton or try and nail a 170k rookie

Lambert is actually my favorite Tiger, as I'm sure you can tell with the display pic. He had a really good season last year, was unreal. He's not a real ball magnet or going to kick two or three goals every single week so consistency of scores may fluctuate and I don't think he'll be able to improve that average a whole heap so he won't be a top six forward.

On Caddy I can't see his role changing a whole heap from last year, he's almost a second fiddle to Riewoldt and no one else at the club can really play that role (Other than Townsend who shared that with him over the final), I can't see a lot changing from last season.

He should get a bit more midfield time and attend a few more centre bounces with Prestia out but that won't continue in every game.
Yea cheers mate, nervous times.

O'shea only came in just before i posted the team and i am just hoping he is going to get named. I have enough cash left over to get him up to Naughton if he isn't named but i am not keen on him at all. $250k for a 1st year big bloke is not something i am keen on, his job security looks good though so i will jump on him if i have to. Cripps is probably the only other player i am not sold on at the moment, i am a big fan and i like that his ownership has dropped down to 8%. With Selwood, Whitfield, Parker, Coniglio all around the same price i may be tempted to play it a little safer and jump on one of them.

Thoughts on Harry Himmelberg? Listed as a defender and only 347K. Looks to have a similar role to Cameron as a mobile tall. If Lobb is rucking and those 3 are down there, should get a decent amount of it. Only priced at around 50 but looks to have upside and should get DPP in Round 6

Also, to the Richmond boys, do Lambert and Caddy look to have upside this year? Caddy has gone 90 AV. in the past and Lambert had a good year last year. Have been looking pretty closely at Caddy but not sure if Dimma is just all smoke, or if he really will get that increased mid time now that Prestia is out and Martin will play more forward

Caddy - Prestia shouldn't miss too many games so I wouldn't calculate his injury into the equation. He will play much the same role as last year, sitting up forward and occasionally attending some centre bounces. Last season he did take a while to build some form, he also had the injury impacted game of 11. So I can certainly see him averaging in the 80-90 range, however I wouldn't be going near him.

Lambert - Lambert has elite endurance, has the ability to rack up disposals, likes a tackle and kicks goals. He had a fantastic finals series and I can see some upside to him. I realistically see him averaging much the same, but has the ability to up his average to the 90-95 mark. The only thing that worries me is his role from week to week, so he certainly comes with some risk.

Yea cheers mate, nervous times.

O'shea only came in just before i posted the team and i am just hoping he is going to get named. I have enough cash left over to get him up to Naughton if he isn't named but i am not keen on him at all. $250k for a 1st year big bloke is not something i am keen on, his job security looks good though so i will jump on him if i have to. Cripps is probably the only other player i am not sold on at the moment, i am a big fan and i like that his ownership has dropped down to 8%. With Selwood, Whitfield, Parker, Coniglio all around the same price i may be tempted to play it a little safer and jump on one of them.
I'm not sure what I'll do if he is named, I'd have to free up cash somewhere if he's named to bring him in. His job security worries me because of all the options they have but for a rookie priced player he should be able to score well.

It's really hard to go wrong with any of those under priced premos, I felt myself in a similar spot. I've gone with Parker because he has gone over 110 previously and had a really good back end of last season but there's so little that splits them all.

Caddy - Prestia shouldn't miss too many games so I wouldn't calculate his injury into the equation. He will play much the same role as last year, sitting up forward and occasionally attending some centre bounces. Last season he did take a while to build some form, he also had the injury impacted game of 11. So I can certainly see him averaging in the 80-90 range, however I wouldn't be going near him.

Lambert - Lambert has elite endurance, has the ability to rack up disposals, likes a tackle and kicks goals. He had a fantastic finals series and I can see some upside to him. I realistically see him averaging much the same, but has the ability to up his average to the 90-95 mark. The only thing that worries me is his role from week to week, so he certainly comes with some risk.
Cheers mate. You and Tradespert have pretty much eliminated Caddy for me haha, which I was already close to doing myself. Lambert is a real smokey though. I am tempted, but I might wait and see how he goes the first week and go from there

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-20/crows-duo-locked-to-debut-against-dons

ADELAIDE will field two debutants in Friday night's round one clash with Essendon at Etihad Stadium on Friday night.
Exciting forward Darcy Fogarty and medium-sized defender Tom Doedee will run out for their first games.

no mention of Lachlan Murphy...hmm, reshuffle time

My real question is, who's replacing Brad Crouch as that 4th Midfield cog. Is Greenwood back, or will it fall to Atkins or Douglas for more responsibility? Could Fogarty get thrown into that midfield role ahead of time?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-20/star-crow-faces-extended-layoff-with-groin-pain

Let me know if this one prompts any constructive feedback. Rookies, esp O'Shea and Florent, are subject to selection obviously.

Greene is a bit of a POD and a risk. $40K left. Cheers

View attachment 472237
Looks pretty solid mate, structure is pretty standard and you have a few pods to keep it unique.

I have seen a few people running with Nank recently, what do people starting him think he is going to average? I like that he is a solo ruck but he was last year as well, do you think he can go 95+? Could be a good point of difference but you run the risk of needing to burn an extra trade throughout the year if he is not in the top few Rucks this season.

Overall very good team bud.

I've got a question lads, ignoring the price difference between the two of Jack Billings and Toby McLean who do we think will end the season with a higher average and why?

This is a fairly simple way to look at it, but I think the main thing Billings has over McLean is ceiling. They are both the same age and both have great potential, with that said Billings already has more runs on the board and has shown a greater ability to score big. Billings biggest scores last year were 151, 135 and 119x2. Comparing that to McLean who had top scores of 127, 111 and 107.

I think if Billings manages to get some more consistency this year he can average over 100, whereas McLean probably pushes to the 95 mark. With that said I now have both in my team after moving Devon smith up to McLean (Not sure if that swap will stick though).

I've got a question lads, ignoring the price difference between the two of Jack Billings and Toby McLean who do we think will end the season with a higher average and why?
I think Billings will.

The Dogs seem to have so many people rotating through the midfield, no one seems to play massive minutes in the midfield for them. I have doubts he is going to get enough minutes each week to score 90+ consistently.

This is what I've settled on I reckon. Had Dusty for ages but dropped him down to Treloar and re-shuffled some rooks around. $44k in the kitty.

I think the rookies are my weakest spot. I'll be interested to see what you guys think about the team?

PS - also looking at potentially Witts over Jacobs. Had Witts for most of last season and liked him a lot - and he comes a fair bit cheaper than Jacobs.

upload_2018-3-20_19-25-2.png

This is a fairly simple way to look at it, but I think the main thing Billings has over McLean is ceiling. They are both the same age and both have great potential, with that said Billings already has more runs on the board and has shown a greater ability to score big. Billings biggest scores last year were 151, 135 and 119x2. Comparing that to McLean who had top scores of 127, 111 and 107.

I think if Billings manages to get some more consistency this year he can average over 100, whereas McLean probably pushes to the 95 mark. With that said I now have both in my team after moving Devon smith up to McLean (Not sure if that swap will stick though).
I think Billings will.

The Dogs seem to have so many people rotating through the midfield, no one seems to play massive minutes in the midfield for them. I have doubts he is going to get enough minutes each week to score 90+ consistently.
You're right boys, I've spent the arvo trying to talk myself into having McLean over Billings. Other than a bit of a rookie swap I could bring him in without any significant changes. I've got real concerns over my forward and really want another top six forward to lock in. I think Billings has to be my man.

This is what I've settled on I reckon. Had Dusty for ages but dropped him down to Treloar and re-shuffled some rooks around. $44k in the kitty.

I think the rookies are my weakest spot. I'll be interested to see what you guys think about the team?

PS - also looking at potentially Witts over Jacobs. Had Witts for most of last season and liked him a lot - and he comes a fair bit cheaper than Jacobs.

View attachment 472297

Nice, I had Witts last year as well, he just kept pumping out decent scores and is right on my radar for a post bye pickup.
Rookies are a bit in the wind at the moment, but we should get some more as the season unfolds. (Wigg, Bennell:praying:, Ahern, Tiziani, Higgins)

Screen Shot 2018-03-20 at 6.26.23 pm.png

I know I know Lycett is a bad move (if I kept him Id be hoping NN plays), honestly he's been Jacobs or Stef all week..... But just look at how much better my forward line looks with Christensen > ANB and only the one rookie needed to play each week o_O.

Nothing locked in yet but the deciding factor may end up being my complete confidence in being able to pick the wrong promo ruck anyway and be looking at 70s and 80s either way.

View attachment 472345

I know I know Lycett is a bad move (if I kept him Id be hoping NN plays), honestly he's been Jacobs or Stef all week..... But just look at how much better my forward line looks with Christensen > ANB and only the one rookie needed to play each week o_O.

Nothing locked in yet but the deciding factor may end up being my complete confidence in being able to pick the wrong promo ruck anyway and be looking at 70s and 80s either way.

I'll be riding the Lycett train too... Buckle up!

G'day legends, i think this team is looking pretty solid however it only leaves me with 10k in the bank. I'm struggling to see wiggle room with the weak rookie forwards this year and i'm sceptical about Christensen.

Attachments

• Final Team.png
    Final Team.png
    286.2 KB · Views: 2

OK, need advice. Can shuffle midfield a bit, but don't know which pair is better:

Z.Merrett + L.Parker

or

J.Kelly + M.Crouch

Please give a reason, so i can justify any changes to myself! Thanks.

OK, need advice. Can shuffle midfield a bit, but don't know which pair is better:

Z.Merrett + L.Parker

or

J.Kelly + M.Crouch

1st one

Merrett > Kelly

And i think Parker can match Crouch this year. Was down last season but should be back to his best with a pre season under his belt.

Z.Merrett + L.Parker

or

J.Kelly + M.Crouch

Merrett and Parker for me. Firstly I think Zerrett is ahead of Kelly, he has gone at 117 for the past 2 seasons and he's only 22. I think it will be hard for Kelly to drastically improve again after last years 23 PPG average jump, not to mention some added attention he might find. I'm not a big fan of the idea players are "must have", but Merrett is pretty damn close and could go at 120+.

Then I can see Parker and Crouch averaging much the same, I think Parker could easily push back to his 110 type of 2016 form. Crouch is a ball magnet but loves to handball, so I could see that limiting him from going well beyond 110+ into uber premium range.

Merrett and Parker for me. Firstly I think Zerrett is ahead of Kelly, he has gone at 117 for the past 2 seasons and he's only 22. I think it will be hard for Kelly to drastically improve again after last years 23 PPG average jump, not to mention some added attention he might find. I'm not a big fan of the idea players are "must have", but Merrett is pretty damn close and could go at 120+.

Then I can see Parker and Crouch averaging much the same, I think Parker could easily push back to his 110 type of 2016 form. Crouch is a ball magnet but loves to handball, so I could see that limiting him from going well beyond 110+ into uber premium range.
Thanks and thanks also to BJK#5

That's what i had, but last-minute uncertainty got to me. Thanks for the good advice :)

Hi all!

First time ever playing AFL Fantasy - friends have asked me to join this season so I have. No idea how the game works though. Do I at least have a chance with this team? Want to at suprise everyone in my league that I have a team that can compete with theirs. Pretty much combined a lot of people's line up here.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_3252.jpg
    IMG_3252.jpg
    338.2 KB · Views: 3