Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 14

I really dont like how the AFL and team websites have changed. They are a real pain in the ass to navigate and they are structured poorly

I started using this site for the stats last year when the AFL site kept getting progressively shittier. Unfortunately there's still some stuff that you can only get from the AFL and team sites, but I like it when people post the videos here and I don't have to navigate through all their mess.

i use fanfooty for stats now but i don't like the player profiles not showing career games and stats which i cant find and trying to find news stories is putrid. I will just use the port youtube channel for the videos too.

Concussion expert Alan Pearce, who has conducted research at the request of the AFL, was also concerned Burgoyne got off lightly.

“Those are the kinds of impact tackles that lead towards long-term brain damage,” Pearce told the Herald Sun. “Dangerfield wasn’t concussed but they are the sort of heavy impacts we are so concerned about.

“This is an obvious example of rough play that can lead to long-term brain damage.”

Western Bulldogs champion Brad Johnson said only fining Burgoyne sends a “terrible message to the footy community”.

Former Richmond and Western Bulldogs star Nathan Brown believes Burgoyne benefited from the “good bloke” factor, suggesting another player without his esteemed reputation in the game would have been suspended.

“If (GWS star) Toby Greene had done the same thing the other night it would have been one or two weeks automatically,” Brown said on the Sunday Footy Show.

“Maybe there was a bit of a ‘good bloke’ factor about it.”

Lol never mind Toby Greene, what if Tom Jonas had done it? They'd have to reopen the Adelaide Gaol just for him.

We should be going back to full game time next weekend.. come on Gil wake up.
One more short round so we don't suffer because of travel first :).

Be interesting to see if the Crows are crap and the culture stays the same if that Mcasey they drafted who looked devastated to be picked by them ups and leaves.
My bold

Nah no chance. How quickly you've forgotten the much lauded "root n branch" overhaul of their culture carried out by Dunstall n Pav.

Haven't they got a designated appointment in place to oversee their club this and their club that. Maybe someone forgot to tell the players.

Whatever happened, their stats from Saturday night suggest otherwise. Ted is there to coach the Flog, we're a young list (which they're not), we're in a rebuilding phase

blah blah blah. There's some serious turd polishing going on from their paid lackies. Before they spent a 1st rounder on McAsey maybe they should've asked him

some serious Q's about what he really wanted in football and in life. Any um'ing and ah'ing should've seen them pass and look elsewhere. Especially after the

Lever Dangerfield McGovern et al fiascos. Let them wallow in their own juices and lie in the bed of their own making.

Sheesh they've gone from chocolates to boiled lollies in a hurry and to the crers posters lurking on our board we're traumatised by your fall from grace.

As the pride of South Australia we on here feel your pain and wish you get all you deserve.

I know you love to stick it to them (crows), but they're rebuilding and the result was no surprise to me, as I rate Port a genuine top 4 contender when they get things right, whereas they are definite bottom 4 material.

Freo up there will be different. They are conditioned and honest. A big 3 weeks in Qld for Port. Come away with 2 wins and finals is assured.

I know you love to stick it to them (crows), but they're rebuilding and the result was no surprise to me, as I rate Port a genuine top 4 contender when they get things right, whereas they are definite bottom 4 material.
Meh, Port's rebuilding just as much as they are.

You're a lot better settled at the top end mate. Much better.

The Crows have basically been topping up for 15 years, and now they're paying the price. I don't reckon they have finished cutting yet either. They'll get worse in the short term if they do it right.

I'm not underselling your win, it was a good one, but you're a much better side than them at the moment.

Media starting to comment on Hawthorn's top up strategy now too.

Matthew Lloyd believes Hawthorn’s reluctance to go to the draft will set them back now and in the years to come.

“They are giving away too many early draft picks and topping up. The way you win premierships, we’re talking about (Connor) Rozee, (Zak) Butters and (Xavier) Duursma – top 20 picks who change your club.

Kane Cornes used Hawthorn’s decision to recruit Chad Wingard as an example of their determination to continually top up.

“To get Wingard they gave up their best young defender in (Ryan) Burton who is 24 years of age and they give up pick 18 which is now Xavier Duursma, who is playing and has got 10-15 years at Port Adelaide,” Cornes said.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/06...for-a-long-long-time-with-current-list-lloyd/

His mate Jordan Lewis just said on radio that "there's no issue with that tackle".

Another good bloke
In other news Joseph Goebbels said there's no issue with Hitler's treatment of the Jews.

Godwin's Law

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/06...for-a-long-long-time-with-current-list-lloyd/
Gigantic Sherrin was ahead of the time?

I'm going to enjoy the Hawks slide down the ladder, but Clarkson is the one coach you'd give a pass to trying to eek out that one last flag with your aged premiership players. It'll be more what they do at the trade / draft table this year that'll see whether they try to just hang around the mark or make the hard choices now it's clear they aren't going to luck their way to a final flag with their remaining premiership players.

Concussion expert Alan Pearce, who has conducted research at the request of the AFL, was also concerned Burgoyne got off lightly.

“Those are the kinds of impact tackles that lead towards long-term brain damage,” Pearce told the Herald Sun. “Dangerfield wasn’t concussed but they are the sort of heavy impacts we are so concerned about.

“This is an obvious example of rough play that can lead to long-term brain damage.”

Western Bulldogs champion Brad Johnson said only fining Burgoyne sends a “terrible message to the footy community”.

Former Richmond and Western Bulldogs star Nathan Brown believes Burgoyne benefited from the “good bloke” factor, suggesting another player without his esteemed reputation in the game would have been suspended.

“If (GWS star) Toby Greene had done the same thing the other night it would have been one or two weeks automatically,” Brown said on the Sunday Footy Show.

“Maybe there was a bit of a ‘good bloke’ factor about it.”

Anyone who gets a suspension on a 'potential to cause injury' basis should appeal, now that the MRP has set this standard. J. McGovern may have got a match for striking Sexton, but he only got a fine for deliberately shoving the same player into the fence. Only last year McGovern got a week for shoving Essendon's Guelfi into the fence - the WCEs appealed against that one (blamed it on a chair!) but it was upheld, probably because Guelfi was concussed. This time Sexton wasn't injured, so they're clearly working on an outcomes basis. This week.

The only saving grace is that Port should get an honorable mention when he is wrongfully elevated to the hall of fame.
Funnily enough hearing Adam Cooney questioning S. Burgers credentials for a future HoF nom was refreshing "Plenty of team success only one time AA, I'm not sure" .. surprised he made it back to his car alive.