Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 14

They sign a FA and they lose the compo. Trading keeps the compo a la Monfries trade
Ah, OK ta, I have wondered how teams got away with it. Just assumed they did something with squad players.

It's not about the gameplay though, its the future legal issues.
Yeah I get that. That's where some sort of waiver needs to be in play. Players accept that certain risks are inherent in the game and when a player engages in behaviour outside the rules that that can void any sort of liability.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

It's a fair call. GC has never played on Friday night and that was their first Thursday night game.

GWS got their first Friday night games in 2017 after they made they made the 2016 PF.
I swear GC's first ever game was a Thursday or Friday.

We lose Lycett after playing Mumford's GWS, Loins lose Stefan Martin after playing Mumford's GWS. I wonder if any other oppo ruckmen have missed after playing Mumford's GWS. I see Mumford himself is out injured this week, so Marlion Pickett (and Ivan Soldo) should be safe.

The internet would be a bloody boring place short of conversation if everybody checked everything before they spoke.

Your work around here as fact checker would also dry up more than Menindee Lakes.

There are books.

Watched Ross the Boss' opinions on Footy Classified about getting rid of academies and all of that.

Reckon NGA's are a crock of shit and should be scrapped but the academies up north and with F/S should stay. No other code has anything like the F/S and sure some teams like Geelong get lucky based purely on their ex-players semen but it's unique and something special. The academies for the Northern clubs should be kept because they genuinely grow the game and help with player retention which has been an issue for *checks watch* 40 years now since South Melbourne relocated.

This applies to way too many people on this board

A casual Adelaide Crows fan and therefore an AFL expert on twitter has voiced his opinion online about the 2020 season and the 2021 AFL draft.

With the South Australian AFL sides sitting at polar opposites of the ladder, Twitter user @The119thMan proclaimed to his 32 followers this week that this season doesn’t count, because of the altered schedule and game times, so if Port Adelaide Football Club (est. 1996) win the Premiership, it definitely doesn’t count.

However, due to the Crows’ dismal performance this year, @The119thMan still believes the Crows are entitled to the #1 draft pick, which they will most likely use to pick up a homesick Victorian prospect.

“It is essentially another AFLX season.”
“Did you know that the Crows could technically snag three of the top six draft picks? This is great for us, because deliberately finishing bottom in a season that doesn’t count gives us a good chance to rebuild” tweeted @The119thMan.

Despite no likes, retweets or replies on his tweets, he then continued to tweet to nobody particular, “And for all you Power ferals saying this is your year, you know deep down that it’s not real. Who knows how well the Crows would have done if it was an actual season with full length quarters?” along with a GIF that made about as much sense as his argument.

“Can’t wait to see all these Power fans shook when we pick up the great draft picks we’ve earnt, they’ll join some of our more senior members, some of whom I can definitely name without looking at Google. #gocrows” concluded the flog.

Editor’s note: We completely agree with the above statements. Best of luck striving for the 2020 AFL Premiership*, Port.

Yeah I get that. That's where some sort of waiver needs to be in play. Players accept that certain risks are inherent in the game and when a player engages in behaviour outside the rules that that can void any sort of liability.

That contract already exists for all sorts (otherwise there would be multiple assaults), the common law doesn’t cover the concussions etc. a waiver will lose a shed load of kids though, I reckon a part of making sure it’s safe is also to stave off the likes of soccer and basketball.

Two puzzling bits of whatever I read/heard today.

1. Reading a Tiser article title with Kane saying the crows should target Ladhams. My prompt reaction was 'fu** off Kane".
2. cRowie assuming the crows will receive pick 2 for Brad Crouch. WTF?

Kane has a poor understanding of the legalities of a contract, after all he did retire mid season to spend 5 minutes in the MFS😲

Unique blend of very sh*t and very unlucky when they weren't sh*t. Somehow have attracted the most well known supporters however.

In the early 70s they played Hawthorn in a grand final and both sides had similar records. Hawks won and never looked back. St Kilda struggled for another forty years. Sidings doors moment.

Not so much “sliding doors” as completely different ones ... behind the homes of Hawthorn and St Kilda.

Hawthorn, in that time, had a demographic to get them over adversity, Saints had one that expected nothing but adversity.

TISM are Saints tragics FFS. That’s telling ;)

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app

Unique blend of very sh*t and very unlucky when they weren't sh*t. Somehow have attracted the most well known supporters however.

In the early 70s they played Hawthorn in a grand final and both sides had similar records. Hawks won and never looked back. St Kilda struggled for another forty years. Sidings doors moment.

After 1964, Melbourne had 12 premierships and Hawthorn had 1.

By 2015.....

Two puzzling bits of whatever I read/heard today.

1. Reading a Tiser article title with Kane saying the crows should target Ladhams. My prompt reaction was 'fu** off Kane".
2. cRowie assuming the crows will receive pick 2 for Brad Crouch. WTF?

I havent read the article, but I understand that they targeted him last year and he signed with us any rate. Ladhams is the natural replacement for Westhoff. Why would he want to leave outside a ludicrous monetary offer?

You wouldn't but a ludicrous monetary offer quickly changes your mind. Cannot underestimate a desperate club. Hang on, if he re-signed, was it one year only?

Not so much “sliding doors” as completely different ones ... behind the homes of Hawthorn and St Kilda.

Hawthorn, in that time, had a demographic to get them over adversity, Saints had one that expected nothing but adversity.

TISM are Saints tragics FFS. That’s telling ;)

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app
And wasn't part of St Kilda's zone changed to Hawthorn around that time, which resulted in lots of players that went on to be part of the 80s success?

You wouldn't but a ludicrous monetary offer quickly changes your mind. Cannot underestimate a desperate club.
He's contracted so he'd have to demand to leave and nominate Adelaide & then we'd either say stiff shite you are contracted and staying or demand ridiculous overs from Adelaide in a trade.. that's not the worst situation.